Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Pathfinder appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

According to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,500 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Pathfinder exhaust system problems

exhaust system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments

problem #2

Apr 142010

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

National headquarters consumers affairs department: 10/10/10 in the past few months beginning May 2010 have been attempting to communicate with the Nissan rep. For the northern region. I was recently informed by rep in Sept 2010 that Nissan refused my request for assistance in replacing the catalytic converter in my 2006 Nissan Pathfinder that currently, as of Sept 24, 2010 has 86,000 miles. You see back in April 14, 2010 I was informed by nalley Nissan of Decatur ga. That I needed to have the catalytic converter replaced on my 2006 Pathfinder, and that they could do the job for $1,200 -$1,500 at the time my vehicle had approximately 80,000 miles or less yet when I had work done at nalley Nissan on April 14, 2010 the mileage was documented as by nalley Nissan as being 125,000 in an attempt as not to repair my vehicle under the manufactures warranty free of cost. On May 24, 2010 I had a second opinion done as well as some repair work done and at this time 1 month later my car read 81,254 miles reading on the odometer knowing all of this had transpired the Nissan rep informed me that Nissan would not replace or assist in getting this matter taken care of. Is it common that the converter should have to be replaced in a car so new. As well as the records being falsified so my vehicle would not qualify for replacement of the converter. It is virtually impossible to have had 125,000 miles on 4/15/10, and 81,254 miles on 5/24/10 not to mention that as of Sept 24, 2010 my reading is 86,000 miles. Also, I have been informed that a code for the gas sensor is being displayed, the fuel reading says empty yet I have just put $45 worth of gas in the tank also these parts would not be kept in stock if not for frequent replacement of said parts. I have copies of both receipts showing this to be a fact. Vehicle id # awaiting your response updated IVOQ 11/19/10

- Stonemountain, GA, USA

problem #1

May 202010

Pathfinder

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. While having the vehicle inspected, the contact was informed that the catalytic converter was leaking. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the vehicle was performing normally. The current and failure mileages were approximately 79,000.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?