Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Pathfinder appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

According to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

3.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,234 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Pathfinder fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Dec 162013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving to work on a 30 degree morning after just dropping my son (diagnosed with sickle cell disease) to school. Had this been prior to dropping him to school he would have been sitting in the freezing vehicle for 30mins until my husband was able to get to us and this could have aggravated his condition. I was pressing on the gas pedal but the vehicle would not accelerate and I am showing a quarter tank of gas left in the vehicle so did not think that was the problem. I was able to pull to the side of the road as the vehicle stalled. I then contacted my husbands at work and he had to leave to come check on the vehicle and determined it may need gas because everything else looked ok and we had just completed a service with no mention of any issues with the vehicle. He drove me to the gas station in his vehicle where we purchased some gas came back poured it in the vehicle and it started up and was fine. I didn't think much of it until it happened again in the middle of rush hour traffic (am). I then decided to check for any recalls and found there was a recall for the same issue 2006 Nissan Pathfinder fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank NHTSA campaign #10V075000 we then addressed this with Nissan and they advised that although it is the same exact issue, my VIN number was not included in the recall so correcting this issue is at my expense. This should not be at my expense especially since there is a known identical issue with the part.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #36

Apr 022012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • miles
Known issue with fuel system (NHTSA id # 10V075000) Nissan acknowledges problems but put mileage limit on dealer paid repair. (approximately 1300 miles over) apparently defective manufacture issues have time limits regardless of safety issue associated with this. Intermittent problems caused delays in identifying this issue. This is a major safety issue that should not have been timetabled, inaccurate and then failure of the fuel gauge. This is a failure of both Nissan and the NHTSA to allow mileage to be the determining factor in limiting our safety.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #35

Jul 232008

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I am writing about my recent experience with Nissan regarding a recall on my 2006 Nissan Pathfinder, which I purchased in may of 2008 as a pre-owned vehicle. The recall with the NHTSA campaign id number of 10V075000 involves a flaw with the fuel sending unit. I never received a notice from Nissan regarding this recall, which Nissan states is an extended warranty. I noticed that there was a problem with the fuel gauge sometime ago.three weeks ago I was doing research online to try and find a solution to the problem.that is when I discovered the recall. I immediately contacted orr Nissan in bossier city 318-752-3000, since that is the dealer that I purchased the Pathfinder from. I spoke to mike in the service department who told me that I would have to pay to have the problem fixed, because the mileage was over 72,000 miles and that it would cost me around $600 had I known about the recall, it would have been within the mileage specified when I contacted them. I took the next step and called Nissan usa at 1-800-647-7261 and spoke to [xxx] at ext#[xxx]. [xxx] told me that the reason I was never notified was due to an error on Nissan's part, since they never entered my information into their computer system designating me as the new owner of the vehicle. So, the notice was sent out to the prior owners whom live in another state. At that point she opened a case for me with the case #[xxx]. I was contacted by [xxx] from 1-800-343-6913 ext#[xxx], who told me that they were not going to honor the recall and make the repair, because I did not have my Pathfinder serviced at Nissan. He then said that I would have to pay for it myself. Well, I have taken it in on numerous occasions for an oil change and regular maintenance, they did not spot it on either occasion. But, even if I had never taken it to them for maintenance, I should not be punished for servicing my own vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #34

Jan 022009

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Nissan Pathfinder. Consumer writes in regards to recall notice concerning fuel sending unit the consumer stated on January 9, 2009, he had to have the fuel sending unit replaced at a cost of $ $425.95. In July 2010, the consumer received a recall notice from Nissan stating a recall had been issued regarding the fuel sending unit. Only July 15, 2010, the fuel sending unit was replaced. However, the unit never worked properly. On October 28, 2010, the consumer took his vehicle back to the dealer and the unit was supposedly replaced. However, he continued to experience problems. After several visits to the dealer, they informed the consumer the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The consumer stated he should not have to pay for a fuel tank and fuel sending unit since both were manufactured out of specification. The consumer stated he never knew if he had gas in the vehicle.

- Tupelo, MS, USA

problem #33

Nov 012007

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Four years ago I had problems with my 2006 Pathfinder stalling while driving, so I took it too a dealership. They told me it was a problem in my tank. To make it short. I spent over a $1000 dollars to get it fixed. It sound like recall id# 10V07500 Pathfinder fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxillary tank recall id# 19956. I have the dealers name and number. I cant remember the date. Read more: www.automotive.com/2006/49/Nissan/Pathfinder/recalls/19956.html#ixzz1N6mocpdi.

- Athens, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #32

Apr 072011

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that after taking the vehicle in for a regular service. Upon leaving the check engine light illuminated and then her fuel gauge started to malfunction and read empty when she knew that there was a full tank of gas in the vehicle. She took the vehicle back to the dealer when the light illuminated and they advised her that the fuel sender unit had failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the fuel sender lever. The manufacturer advised her that her vehicle was not included in any recalls and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 82,500. Updated 05/24/11

- Troy, MO, USA

problem #31

Mar 242008

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Nissan Pathfinder. Consumer requests that warranties be applicable to his vehicle the consumer stated the fuel sending unit was operating sporadically. The consumer was informed his vehicle was not included in the recall and the vehicle was over the warranty miles. The consumer received a warranty notification in the mail which stated his vehicle was included in 80,000 miles or less warranty. On March 24, 2008 the vehicle was taken to the dealer, because there was an odor of anti-freeze coming from the vehicle. They determined there was a leak in the radiator and it was fixed under warranty. In April 2008, the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer twice, because he continued to smell anti-freeze. They checked the vehicle both times, but did not find anything wrong with the radiator and could not find any leaks.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #30

May 082010

Pathfinder

  • miles
2006 Nissan Pathfinder. Consumer would like to file a complaint against kelly Nissan regarding recall notice when the consumer arrived to pick up his/her vehicle, the dealer informed him/her that a $48.75 service charge was due even though they never mentioned it previously. Two weeks later, the fuel gauge failed and the consumer had to make another appointment. The consumer was informed that if the technician was not able to perform the job, there would be a charge. The consumer stated when the fuel reading was 49, a straight line flashed, and the empty light illuminated. The consumer stated the problem has been going on for a month. When the tank was filled up, the dte line flashed and the empty light illuminated.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #29

Oct 062009

Pathfinder

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that he had to replace the fuel sending unit on the vehicle one year ago because the fuel gauge was not reading accurate fuel levels and the vehicle would continuously run out of fuel. The contact tried to have the vehicle inspected to ensure that the fuel sending unit was installed correctly, but the manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxillary tank). The manufacturer would not provide any further assistance. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.

- Ravenna, OH, USA

problem #28

Aug 072010

Pathfinder

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated when dispensing fuel into the fuel tank to the full capacity level, the fuel gauge displayed a reading of "empty". the failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle completely stalled on several different occasions due to the lack of fuel in the fuel tank and inaccurate readings. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing who confirmed that the failure was related to the fuel sending unit. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank). The VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 91,000.

- Gleason, TN, USA

problem #27

Apr 142010

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

National headquarters consumers affairs department: 10/10/10 in the past few months beginning May 2010 have been attempting to communicate with the Nissan rep. For the northern region. I was recently informed by rep in Sept 2010 that Nissan refused my request for assistance in replacing the catalytic converter in my 2006 Nissan Pathfinder that currently, as of Sept 24, 2010 has 86,000 miles. You see back in April 14, 2010 I was informed by nalley Nissan of Decatur ga. That I needed to have the catalytic converter replaced on my 2006 Pathfinder, and that they could do the job for $1,200 -$1,500 at the time my vehicle had approximately 80,000 miles or less yet when I had work done at nalley Nissan on April 14, 2010 the mileage was documented as by nalley Nissan as being 125,000 in an attempt as not to repair my vehicle under the manufactures warranty free of cost. On May 24, 2010 I had a second opinion done as well as some repair work done and at this time 1 month later my car read 81,254 miles reading on the odometer knowing all of this had transpired the Nissan rep informed me that Nissan would not replace or assist in getting this matter taken care of. Is it common that the converter should have to be replaced in a car so new. As well as the records being falsified so my vehicle would not qualify for replacement of the converter. It is virtually impossible to have had 125,000 miles on 4/15/10, and 81,254 miles on 5/24/10 not to mention that as of Sept 24, 2010 my reading is 86,000 miles. Also, I have been informed that a code for the gas sensor is being displayed, the fuel reading says empty yet I have just put $45 worth of gas in the tank also these parts would not be kept in stock if not for frequent replacement of said parts. I have copies of both receipts showing this to be a fact. Vehicle id # awaiting your response updated IVOQ 11/19/10

- Stonemountain, GA, USA

problem #26

Jul 072010

Pathfinder

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the fuel tank was pressed against the fuel sensor and caused the system to indicate that fuel was in the tank. The fuel gauge bounced around and gave inaccurate readings for the actual fuel level. The contact stated that the failure was similar to recall 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxillary tank). The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000 and the current mileage was approximately 64,000.

- Joplin, MO, USA

problem #25

Sep 012010

Pathfinder

  • 43,008 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated the fuel level indicator would read inaccurate fuel levels. The contact located a recall that directly related to the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000, fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxiliary tank) however the dealer advised him VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The fuel sensor has not been replaces. The failure and current mileages were 43,008.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #24

Oct 052008

Pathfinder

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. While the contact was driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning due to the lack of fuel. The fuel gauge displayed an inaccurate reading and would fluctuate from a half tank to a quarter of tank, even though the fuel tank was empty. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on three occasions and each time the fuel lever sensor was replaced. Recently, the vehicle was repaired under the NHTSA campaign id number 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxiliary tank). The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Indio, CA, USA

problem #23

Jan 272010

Pathfinder

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. While driving 30-35 mph the check engine light came on and the gas gauge did not register the correct amount of fuel. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who stated that the problem was with the fuel sensor. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the fuel sensor needed to be replaced. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle was not related to the recall. The contact referenced recall NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000, fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000. The current mileage was 51,100.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #22

Feb 172010

Pathfinder

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated she was driving at 50 mph when the heater and defroster failed. The windows had to remain open in order to keep the windows from fogging. In addition, the contact stated the vehicle would exhibit an unusual increase in engine rpms intermittently. The vehicle was inspected by a local mechanic who advised that radiator fluid leaked into the inner cooling system and into the transmission, causing the heater failure. The mechanic performed a transmission flush and replaced the transmission filter and radiator. Within five months, the transmission failed. Additionally, the fuel level gauge would sporadically read inaccurate fuel levels, causing her to run out of fuel twice without warning. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxillary tank) but was unable to confirm if her vehicle was included with the recall. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and current mileages were approximately 118,000.

- Paron , AR, USA

problem #21

Jul 052010

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 52,024 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. While driving approximately 20-30 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and noticed that the fuel level gauge had failed. He then refueled the vehicle and noticed that the check engine warning light had illuminated and the fuel level gauge was fluctuating from various level reads. The dealer advised that the fuel sending unit had failed and would need to be replaced. The contact located NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxillary tank) but was advised by the manufacturer that his VIN was not included with the recall. The failure mileage was 52,024 and the current mileage was 52,900. Updated 10/13/10 also, the air bag light illuminated. The dealer stated the passenger side seat belt assembly failed and needed to be replaced. Updated 10/19/10

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #20

Jun 302010

Pathfinder

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. While driving approximately 60 mph the fuel gauge began to display that there was 1/4 tank of fuel in the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact that his vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V075000, fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure continued to recur. The failure and current mileages were 40,000.

- South El Monte, CA, USA

problem #19

Jul 182008

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the fuel gauge was faulty. The fuel gauge would indicate that there was fuel in the vehicle when the tank was empty. Occasionally, when the contact added gasoline to the fuel tank, the fuel gauge would not indicate that fuel was added. The contacts vehicle stalled three times because it was out of fuel and the fuel gauge displayed otherwise. The manufacturer stated that there were no related recalls and offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired when the complaint was filed. The current mileage was 66,328. The failure mileage was approximately 33,000. Updated 10/20/10 updated 10/21/10

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 012010

Pathfinder

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that after refueling and restarting the vehicle, the check engine light came on. The fuel gauge also displayed empty. The contact stated that NHTSA recall campaign id number 10V075000, fuel system, gasoline, storage auxiliary tank was related to the failure; however, her VIN was not a part of the recall. Nissan advised her that they would not accept diagnostic test results from an independent mechanic. The manufacturer also stated that the repair cost would be at the owners expense. The failure and current mileages were 38,000.

- Columbus , OH, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?