Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Pathfinder appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

According to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
102,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 8 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #146

Mar 282014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 118,845 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle was bought from dealer early 2010 with around 40,000 miles. There was no knowledge of a manufacturing design defect inside of the radiator. A leakage due to an internal tube inside the radiator causes transmission fluid to be cross-contaminated and become mixed then over time destroys both the transmission and radiator. Nissan manufacturer won't help with repairing this problem. On top of that, the mileage makes me ineligible for extended warranty. It is 10 years/100,000 miles which ever comes first. Help me please!!!! I don't have $10,000 to pay for this repair when its not my fault. This is a manufacturer defect and they don't have an official recall on this problem but an out of reach warranty. Failure happens after 100,000 miles mostly.

- Southaven, MS, USA

problem #145

Mar 222014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 105,624 miles
Vehicle began to shake as if riding over bumps at approx 60-65 mph and then when approaching a stop a jerky shift would occur at approx 5-10 mph. Service engine soon illuminated car would not accelerate more than 10 mph so my wife pulled into a parking lot and shut the car off. The car would not start again and had to be towed. I had the code pulled from the ECU and it reported error "P0717 input turbine speed sensor circuit no signal". after searching online I found a lot of information on defective radiator in 2005-2010 Nissan Pathfinder, xtera and frontier which allows coolant and transmission fluid to mix and causes transmission failure which was also confirmed by contaminated coolant in the radiator. This is a safety concern as there were no signs of this failure like so many people have reported until its sudden failure and there should be a recall in place. www.carcomplaints.com/Nissan/Pathfinder/2007/transmission/coolant_leaked_into_transmission.shtml.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #144

Feb 142014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I always take my car in for service at glendale Nissan and so last year in July of 2013 I asked were there any recall on my car I was told no. So in Feb of this year2014 I started experiencing some problems with me heat inside the car. They checked it and told me my transmission fluid was mixing with my coolant and I needed to replace both and its gonna cost me $5600. I asked was there a recall on this and I was told yes and my car wasn't covered because of the mileage. I instantly got upset because I always take my car in for service to this dealership. I was told I could try to replacing the radiator and drain the transmission but that was no guarantee how long the car would work. I did just that..now my car is staying idle while driving and it wont idle down for a period of time. I tried calling the 1800nissan1 number and explain my problem and they told me they can't help me and nothing they could do. This is so wrong! I've spent so much money at this dealership its ridiculous. Ive replaced my computer, belts, hoses, spark plugs, oil changes, drain my transmission fluid.so much I cant even remember everything. If they know that this is happening to these cars and put out a recall for this how can they get away with this! im a single parent of 5 children there's no way I can afford this!! and this is my only car I have for transportation!! this is just plain wrong! they shouldn't be allowed to get away with this!

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #143

Mar 142014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Nissan path finder was recently was diagnosed with a complete failure to the transmission due to a failure of the "radiator assembly" that failed and allowed water to get inside the transmission containment and this caused catastrophic failure to the transmission. Requiring now that the whole transmission needs to be replaced. The only warning I got was the failure warning light from my car, and at that point its already damaged. Looking for an explanation I turned to Nissan and I learned that this is recognized by Nissan defect and thought my vehicle hasn't been completely abandon by Nissan Corp. I still have to contribute $2.5K towards repairs for a known failing design, that fixing it could have prevent the much more costly result of leaving it as is. What happened to Nissan standing by their product and making good on poor design? even what's more is that I was mailed a letter regarding a class action reimbursement in legal lingo that I didn't fully understand and felt it didn't apply to me since id have no expenses. Yet it now makes sense as to what its purpose was.. it was to monetary reimburse those with Nissan's at my similar age and mileage for repair they performed due to admitting it was a faulty design. I cant help but wonder what harm would it have been to publish an advisory letter and allow the consumer the right to make repair prior to a complete failure. Additional Nissan Consumer Affairs dept. Need a personality training as they are unable to say anything unless it is pre-scripted for them. I'm beginning to rethink my forth vehicle purchase to not be a Nissan.

- Port Hueneme, CA, USA

problem #142

Feb 272014

Pathfinder

  • 40,912 miles
Bought 2007 Nissan Pathfinder fall 2010. Dec 2010 in for oil change at dealership. Sent home paper w/ boxes checked showing transmission & coolant "may need future attention" nothing else brought to our attention. 40,912 miles on truck. Dec 2013- 99,279 miles- took truck to dealership- wasn't heating at idle. Found to be low on coolant, contaminated transmission fluid, and oil sludge in the engine (oil light did not come on) they flushed fluids, refilled them & told us to change oil every 1,000 miles for a few months to ensure clean. Jan 13 2014 another oil change, another checked box stating transmission fluids "may need future attention" even though flushed 18 days ago. Feb 10 2014 another oil change, another checked box stating coolant "may need future attention". this seemed to be routine and nothing more since fluids routinely need changing. Feb 27, 2014 -103,000 miles- engine light on, drove immediately to dealership. Diagnosis: Coolant had leaked into the transmission from the radiator ruining both. $5,000+ to fix.found there are over 110,000 Nissan Pathfinders with exact problem, Nissan is/has been aware of this, but since there is no recall they don't have to inform owners. There is a class action lawsuit. Because of this, warranty was extended to 100,000 mi. But, this is happening right around or after 100,000, it is too late. Nissan will only pay for anything over $3,000, but are installing rebuilt transmissions that cost just that, so we are still paying total cost. Visits show that at 40,912 & 99,279 miles they knew this was the problem did not inform us since they would have been liable. A mechanic of 30 years explained that low coolant and cold on idle means there is a leak which will also cause oil sludge. Visits 1& 2 mos later also showed signs of leakage. Signs were all there and ignored! dangerous if happens while driving.

- Hendersonville , TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #141

Feb 212014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 132,600 miles
The radiator is leaking into the transmission.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #140

Feb 232014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car failed to accelerate leaving me vulnerable to accident. This is a well known problem and it is already on this site with 2 supporting documents. However, the investigation has been opened since 2012 Feb and no results. The director of operations [xxx] sent to the nc consumers council on 18 Feb 12 with no published results. I am thinking that maybe some money under the table went to [xxx] from Nissan. Okay the last part was a joke but really 2 years open investigation. Please help. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kapolei , HI, USA

problem #139

Dec 212013

Pathfinder

  • 134,800 miles
My car started to rattle and lose power at 45 mph. I drove it home and tried to reverse it in with no luck. I immediately knew I had a transmission issue. I parked the car for two days and took it to the dealer who later informed me that my radiator coolant fluid had mixed with my transmission fluid and destroyed my entire car. They quoted me between 7000-9000 to fix the car. I contacted Nissan who informed me that there is nothing they can do because they extended the warranty twice to up to 100,000 miles. I find this ironic since after extensive research the issue usually occurs after 100,000 miles. Nissan has know about this problem for 7 years and has chosen to ignore the issue and not issue a recall. Now the consumers have to foot the bill.

- North Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #138

Jan 072014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 100,100 miles
Radiator cooler leaking water into transmission, and transmission oil into cooling system. Transmission stuck in 3 gear, engine overheating due to sludge inside radiator, a total disaster for a low income individual trying to make ends meet.

- Santa Rita, GU, USA

problem #137

Feb 192014

Pathfinder

  • 85,000 miles
Driving car in rush hour traffic and car completing stopped. It took about 10 minutes to start. Once the car started it cranked for about 10 seconds before it actually started. At dealership, the car was diagnosed with needing two new cam sensors. After paying $621 for this, mechanic test drove car and found it to be "bucking" and diagnosed that the radiator fluid had leaked into the transmission and we needed a whole new transmission. Nissan is requiring $2,500 deductible even after they realize they made a faulty radiator/transmission.

- Turnersville, NJ, USA

problem #136

Feb 242014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 99000 miles truck failed to take off then all of sudden took off then going down the highway the truck wouldn't accelerate. During a road trip which caused a 3 day delay and 3000 dollars in repair. Now fast forward to 111,975 miles and was going up hill at light and truck started rolling backwards and sputtering, took it to Nissan dealership stated that coolant in transmission repair cost 7246 and still owe 9200 on truck.

- Kapolei, HI, USA

problem #135

Jan 292014

Pathfinder

  • 102,000 miles
We started to have a very loud and creeping noise when we put the car in reverse. Sounds like we were pulling something very heavy and the car could not resist it. Then, we also started to notice issues such as a delay in gear changes and more noises now when driving forward or in reverse. We took the car to the dealership today and they diagnosed it with a "broken trans cooler line in radiator which made the coolant leak and mixed with transmission fluid. They want us to replace the entire transmission, radiator, and flush engine block bringing the price close to 7K. I started to research this and I'm definitely adding my complaint and will surely call Nissan to see what options they will give us. 2/20/15

- Mint Hill, NC, USA

problem #134

Feb 172014

Pathfinder

  • 102,000 miles
Transmission fluid is milky colored. Loss of coolant. Transmission slipping. Somehow coolant in transmission fluid.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #133

Dec 022013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 114,740 miles
I was driving on the freeway and as the freeway was coming to its end where you have an option to go on another freeway or into the city area, my car completely died and all of the lights on the dashboard lit up. I was trying to roll and steer myself into a safe area so that cars would not come crashing into me from behind as it was at night @ 7:30 pm. After waiting a minute, I started it back up and the vdc and check engine light came on. It was drivable but somewhat jerky and stalled once again on my way back home. I tried to get the car home safely so I can have aaa tow it to the nearest shop near my home if needed. I was able to get home and then took it to a shop where both cam shaft sensors were replaced for $500. Car drove better but then started shaking at 40 mph or 60 mph unless I put it in overdrive or let off the gas and tried again. Driving in overdrive helped. My mechanic was unable to diagnose the issue so I then found another shop that was full-service where they did a full diagnostic. I received the call about 5 hours after drop-off where he explained to me that this is a common issue with my vehicle and year and that there is a defect in the radiator which allows coolant to mix with transmission fluid and ultimately destroy the transmission. He also recommended as a fix that I get a whole new transmission, radiator and hoses and that the transmission that would go in it would be a newer model Nissan Pathfinder transmission where they have changed/corrected the design and wouldn't incur this issue again. He stated it's a matter of time before the vehicle completely stops running and that I was one of the lucky ones that it still does run. As I have just paid this car off a few months earlier, the new costs incurred to fix the problem correctly, would run me anywhere from $5,600-$7,500. My vehicle's value is $8,000 according to edmunds.com.

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #132

Sep 102013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 159,000 miles
I was driving on the expressway and my car suddenly would not accelerate. I made my way to a street location and pulled my car on the side of the road. I shut the car off. It would not start. I had it towed to a mechanic and he said that it is the transmission.

- North Miami, FL, USA

problem #131

Jan 292014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 111,349 miles
For the past week when ever I drove my car the entire vehicle shudders, shakes and has a harsh upshift when it is changing gears. It happens the most on highways going at high speeds (55-65 miles). I took my car into a Nissan dealership on 1-29-14 to get it checked out. The dealership diagnosed my car with a "broken trans cooler line in radiator which made the coolant leak and mixed with transmission fluid. Advise replace entire transmission, radiator, and flush engine block as well as replace thermostat, (price to fix: $5938 + 9% tax)". I researched this issue online and found this to be a common defect issue that Nissan has been dancing around since 2007, as well as a class action lawsuit being filed against Nissan. I bought the car on July 28, 2011, so I have only owned the car for a little over 2 years in which the dealership I purchased the car from did not inform us of this warranty being offered by Nissan from the lawsuit or informed us of the possible transmission problem. I had the car completely checked out by a mechanic in November of 2013 and it passed with no issues. Now here we are 2 months later, and over 100,000 miles and my Nissan experiences this issue. This can be a very detrimental and dramatic failure, causing massive safety issues if I continue to drive my car, especially on highways going high speeds. I contacted Nissan this morning to see if they are going to stand behind their product and since I am only 11,000 miles over their "warranty" (which has high deductibles), they denied to help and I am left holding a $6500 price tag to fix my car.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #130

Jan 102014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I request that the dot NHTSA investigate manufacturer defects in 2007 Nissan Pathfinders cooling system and transmission as unexpected failure relates to driver safety. My 2007 Pathfinder with 90,000 miles caused a major collision with a deer as the transmission began to fail. Driving home, at around 40mph, up a hill (engine under load @ 2,200-2,500 RPM) the whole car began suddenly to "shudder"- similar to the feeling/ sound of riding over highway rumble strips. This resulted in a loss of control over the speed of the vehicle and a noticeable distraction leaving me unprepared as a large buck ran out from the tree line attempting to cross the road- the buck did not make it across. As I have found in my research afterwards, there is a widely known manufacturer defect in which engine coolant mixes with transmission fluid. The resulting "goop" shreds the internal parts of the transmission rendering it (along with the radiator and components) completely useless. These vehicles are unsafe for the roadways as this problem occurs suddenly and unexpectedly without warning. I consider myself lucky for being alive- now, but since Nissan nor any other organization is willing to recall or replace this vehicle/ affected parts, I am stuck, forced to drive on the road being a hazard to others and myself.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #129

Jan 132014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The truck began shifting gears very roughly and slowly with a strong jerking motion to the truck. When taken for diagnosis was told that the transmission fluid and coolant were mixing due to a faulty radiator and thus got into transmission causing the need for replacement of radiator, flushing of fluid lines and transmission replacement approx. Cost $6000. After researching this problem, I see multitudes of other Nissan customers have had the same problem. This issue is extremely unsafe on roads. My car falls outside the extended warranty given due to this problem. In addition, if my Pathfinder did fall under the warranty, Nissan only assists with payment to replace radiator not the damage done transmission because of the faulty radiator. This absolutely needs to be investigated further!

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #128

Jan 242014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
My vehicle just completely shut down without any warning signs or previous issues. I have taken very good care of this vehicle and the radiator has a manufacturer defect that allowed transmission fluid to leak into the radiator causing catastrophic damage to my radiator and transmission that Nissan will not take any responsibility for and will cost me upwards of $5,200 at least.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #127

Sep 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Vehicle began to vibrate at speeds of approx 45 mph. Over a short period of time, the condition worsened - the vibrations became more aggressive and began to occur at higher speeds. After investigation by Nissan, they advised that there was an issue with the radiator and possibly transmission that was no longer under warranty because I was outside of the 100,000 mile limit. The coolant is leaking into the transmission fluid cooler line and ultimately right into the transmission, thereby causing damage that may or may not be repaired with a new radiator and transmission. Apparently, this is a know issue with these vehicles and Nissan neglected to alert consumers. At this time, the vehicle is inoperable.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?