Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 has a growing number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the transmissions shake violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 5 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #172

Jun 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 800 miles


Shortly after purchasing my new 2013 Nissan Pathfinder in may of 2013, I started to experience the vehicle violently shuttering at lower speeds. It seemed as if the car would lose power and I would have to release the gas pedal in order for it to stop. I have called multiple Nissan service dealerships and have spoken with service managers about the issue but, they all say the same thing, "Nissan is aware of the issue and they are working on issuing a recall. Continue to drive the vehicle. It will not cause damage to the vehicle itself". I am reaching my one year anniversary with this vehicle and the problem continues and is becoming noticeably worse. While at first the shuttering occurred only in low speeds, it seems to be occurring while at high speeds as well. I have contacted Nissan and was told that there was not an existing recall for this issue and that my VIN was not a match for any transmission recalls. I was also told that a regional manager would get in contact with me and I was given a case number.

- Saint Cloud , FL, USA

problem #171

Jan 022014


  • 6,000 miles
While driving at a slower speed on the parking lots, around my neighborhood streets and on turns when the vehicle speed in less than 25 mph and when the RPM is between 600 and 1200, the vehicle slows down, shudders and shakes as if the transmission was going out. This happens for 4-5 seconds. I have seen this happen more often when I slow down on the parking lots or on the neighborhood streets. At that time the vehicle acts as if the it is having issue shifting down and just shakes/shudders. I have taken the vehicle to a Nissan dealer multiple times but still the problem has not been corrected. The first time I took it, the dealership told me that there was a bulletin out from Nissan and they knew what to fix and they claimed they fixed it but the issue resurfaced after few hours. The second time I took the vehicle to the dealership, they told me they could not reproduce the issue! Nissan needs to carefully investigate and fix this serious safety issue.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #170

May 052014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 31,500 miles
Since purchasing the 2013 Pathfinder, problems are relentless. Liftgate sticking and rubbing. Broken door handles, driver and passenger. Bolt falling out of alternator while driving. Airbags not working properly. Now for the past few months a shudder/vibration which happens intermittently. Usually at low speeds when turning or accelerating. Brought to dealer in 2/14 and needed reprogramming. Started happening again, brought to dealer was told they can't duplicate so there is nothing they can do. Happening again now on 5/6 and there is no answer. Afraid car will stall out in intersection causing a major accident. Same issue happening to tons of people, yet no response from Nissan.

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #169

Apr 302014


  • 9,000 miles


There is a sudden juddering shake that lasts about 4 to 6 seconds driving around 25 miles per hour. I have experienced the shaking during turns and upon hills the transmission feels like driving a stickshift and you finally feel the gear kick in and the after making it uphill or stopping uphill. Vehicle drives smooth again. My girls are very scared with the shaking I have left my vehicle at the dealership pending a fix/solution.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #168

Oct 012012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 900 miles
Drivetrain software issue: When I bought the 2013 Pathfinders, like any new owner I was thrilled.. unfortunately there were a few things I did not anticipate.. so when my Pathfinder began shuttering and shaking at 900 miles, I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs, who said they had no knowledge of the problem, who then referred me to the dealership service department, who with all of there up-to-date computer diagnostics could not fit the problem. The shuttering & shaking continue every few days. The more mile I put on the car, the worst the shakes and shutters became. Sometimes the car would shake so violently, that the engine would bog down and loose all power. So, after multiple trips to the service repair department, I finally got a straight answer.. apparently, software that controls the drivetrain, and was designed to improve the vehicles mileage, actually ends up damaging the belt drive. Not something Nissan was expecting, but knew about before I bought the car. What has happened to my vehicle, also was reported by other people earlier in the year. "the shuttering is actually the result of damage to the drivetrain from the glitch in the software". so if the shuttering occurs to the vehicle, the drivetrain is already damaged and needs to be replaced.

- San Lus Obispo, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #167

Mar 152014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 440 miles
While turning in traffic vehicle shutters and loses power. Also loses power while moving 25-30 mph in stop and go traffic. Took the vehicle to Nissan after it only had approximately 400 miles on the odometer and they replaced the transmission and torque converter. After about a two weeks the vehicle started having the same problems and I took it back in. They have now had my vehicle since 3/31/14 and is still currently at the shop as of 4/25/14. Nissan service manager stated its a problem that he feels Nissan has yet to sort out. This is a safety issue and I hope you will step in and make Nissan accountable for this problem.

- Gainesville , FL, USA

problem #166

Dec 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles


I purchased a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder the day before thanksgiving (2013). Almost immediately, I noticed a shudder (jutter) when accelerating from low speeds. The car loses power during acceleration and a strong vibration/shaking (shudder) is felt. I returned the car to the service department and was told that the transmission had to be reset. Less than one week after this procedure (Dec. 2013) was done the shudder returned. In Jan. 2014 the service department replaced the torque converter. By Feb. The shudder had returned yet again. As of April 19, 2014 the car continues to shudder upon acceleration and has yet to be repaired because the service computer only shows "minor" error codes and technicians have been unable to duplicate the severe shudder. The vehicle is unsafe to drive as it loses power upon acceleration. This is my 3rd purchase from Nissan. I have a tremendous amount of money invested in this vehicle and Nissan refuses to correct the problem. I have filed a complaint with Nissan, have an open case, but have been unable to speak with the representative because her workday is over promptly at 5 pm and mine is not. I have tried to contact her two dozen times, but my calls go straight to voice mail. It is clear that Nissan has a problem with the cvt transmission used in the 2013 Pathfinders and that they do not stand behind their product. What is it going to take to get Nissan to address this issue" do people have to be hurt or killed because of these defective transmissions, or is going to take a congressional investigation (like GM") to get Nissan to work with its' owners and correct this problem" why are these vehicles still being sold" Nissan continues to sell these vehicles with defective transmissions to unsuspecting customers who will be burdened with unsafe vehicles which have diminished values with virtually no recourse against this automotive giant.

- Washington , GA, USA

problem #165

Oct 302013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 5,604 miles
Brought Pathfinder into get serviced October 30, 2013 at 5,604 miles as the car was shuddering when accelerating. Dealership had car and reprogrammed the transmission. On November 8, 2013, we brought the Pathfinder back in for service as the shuddering continued. At 5.945 miles they found that the transmission had failed and the dealership then replaced it. On March 25, 2014, we again had to bring the Pathfinder in for service as the Pathfinder would shudder when accelerating. At 10,075 miles the transmission was then replaced again due to it failing. We then lodged a formal complaint with Nissan na and requesting a replacement automobile because we do not feel safe driving the Pathfinder with an 8 week old daughter inside. The claim was then formally declined by Nissan with no explanation except that they are extending our warranty. I am absolutely disappointed with both Nissan na and the NHTSA for not moving forward with a formal recall because this is a serious issue that affects the acceleration of a 6,000 pound SUV.

- Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #164

Apr 072014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I purchased the vehicle in July 2013. In August 2013 I began to notice a skipping/chugging sensation at a low speed and which seemed to only when going around corners at the time. I called that August the vehicle was inspected by Nissan. When it was brought in they told me they could not duplicate what I had described. The skipping/chugging sensation continued throughout the next several months. I again brought the car back to Nissan in December for the same issues. However the skipping/chugging had got far worse, in occurrences and intensity. At this time the technician at Nissan was able to reproduce the skipping/chugging told me that it was "skipping on ice". I explained to the service department it had been ongoing and that I did not believe that skipping on the ice. I was told that it would be logged into the system and they would have note of it. The skipping/chugging has continued throughout the winter. The intensity is far worse, and occurs each time I am accelerating the vehicle between 5-25/30mph. I have also experienced power failures when getting out of the car. The car will turn off then turn on its own, then take multiple attempts to shut it off. I brought the car back to Nissan on April 7, 2014. Once again, they were able to reproduce the issue. This time telling me that my transmission in my vehicle is failing. At this point I am waiting to hear back if they will replace the parts of the transmission that is failing, or the entire transmission.

- Andover , NH, USA

problem #163

Dec 142013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 150 miles
Purchased new 2013 Pathfinder and within the first week noticed a shudder in the transmission, however it was an isolated and didn't think it was an issue. As time has passed this has gotten more and more frequent. Then recently with only 2000 miles on the car, we were making a left turn the car shuddered and felt like it was going to stall, and car would not accelerate past a few mph. This being highly concerning from a safety standpoint prompted us to take the car into the dealer. Dealer looked over car said they were to reprogram the tcm as this is a known issue. After reprogramming dealer could not duplicate issue and told us that was all that could be done until they could personally duplicate the issue. Nissan dealership said they have owners on their 2nd and 3rd transmission and no permanent fix. The car has since shuddered and lost acceleration three times in the 24 hour period since dealer returned car. After much research it appears to be a known issue for over a year and for Nissan to continue to sell a knowingly defective and unsafe car should illegal.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #162

Oct 162013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 10,211 miles


Transmission shudders / judders at light acceleration during low speed. I took my vehicle to dealership on 1/05/2014 with 10,211 miles on it. Their technician confirmed that this is a known problem of 2013 Pathfinder, they gave the transmission a update. The problem continued so upon going back to the dealer they then installed a new transmission. It has not even been 3 weeks and we are already losing power and starting to shudder again.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #161

Sep 162013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 4,300 miles
Purchased in Aug 2013. Sept 2013 at low speeds under 25 mph, the vehicle begins to shudder and looses acceleration. Nissan dealership could not find a problem. Oct 2013 my vehicle was back in for the same issue. This time Nissan replaced the transmission. Nov 2013 back to the dealer for same issue, was told a software update was just released for a computer upgrade for the transmission. Problem still existed. Returned a 4th time in Dec 2013 and was told I must have been spinning my wheels in the snow, no problems were found. In addition to the transmission problems, the roof started leaking and the water ran behind the dashboard. A gasket needed to be replaced, shortly after I began to have electronic issues with wipers, volume control for bluetooth, radio. Some type of module was replaced this took two return trips before a problems was found. Again within a month these electrical issues returned. On Monday 3/24 the transmission once again failed as I was making a left turn from a stop. With this incident I was almost killed by a tractor trailer because I was stuck in the middle of the intersection and could not get the vehicle to move. Luckily the truck was able to swerve behind me a the last moment to avoid the collision. Restarting the car several times cleared the problem and was immediately took it back to my dealership. I explained everything that has been happening with my vehicle since purchased in Aug 2013, 33 days of service so far and no resolution. I have also filed a complaint with Nissan Consumer Affairs, case # [xxx]. Nissan admitted there is a problem with the transmission but does not have a fix. At this time the vehicle is not safe to drive and the dealer has put me in a free loaner car until they have a resolution. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Westampton, NJ, USA

problem #160

Mar 152014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,450 miles
Transmission shudders / judders at light acceleration during low speed. I took my vehicle to dealership on 3/19/2014 with only 2450 miles on it. Their technician confirmed that this is a known problem of 2013 Pathfinder but Nissan does not have a proper fix. He also said that I was the third customer complaining this problem on that day alone. He reprogrammed the tcm. However, transmission shuddering continues. It is getting worse and more frequent. Nissan needs to admit this problem and recall all vehicles with this transmission!

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #159

Dec 072006


  • 7,000 miles
Traveling approximately 55mph when my Pathfinder shuttered. I slowed down not knowing if my car was going to stall. I took Pathfinder to local Nissan and mechanic stated he did not find anything wrong with the car & until the shutter is duplicated and witnessed by them then they could log it in. A few days went by & I was turning into the residential area that I reside at approx 15mph & the SUV shuttered again. I took it back to Nissan and another mechanic who check out the car after several hours stated he could not duplicate the problem & was not able to log it in either. Ever since I have been having issues. At this point I am concerned it is a safety issue since I don't know what else to expect from the Pathfinder. Mechanics are helpful either. I came across several blogs talking about the same issue & it seems the mechanics are clueless about the problems the Pathfinders are having.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #158

Feb 272013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
Shortly after purchasing my 2013 Nissan Pathfinder, I noticed a shudder when accelerating at low speeds. This has randomly happened at least 10-15 times in the past year. After a stop or slow to around 10 miles per hour, the car shudders on acceleration. Many times it happens during a turn with acceleration but it also has had the problem during straight acceleration at low speeds. The dealership was made aware of the problem during multiple services but techs were not able to duplicate the problem and did no repairs.

- Canon, GA, USA

problem #157

Nov 072013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 14,620 miles
I bought a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder 5/13/13. In November, I felt some vibrations when I would accelerate after slowing down to make a turn. This is now what they refer to as the "shudder" it has continue to get worse. At my service appt I brought it to the attention of the service tech after my oil change, he said it may be because my car was in "auto instead of 2wd" also there was a recall on the ABS so they would do reprogram and that would more than likely fix the issue. He said it shouldn't be a big deal and if it continues acting up to let him know at my next oil change. The next time I was due for a service I was forced to go to a different dealership so I asked the service tech if he was familiar or had any other complaints... he acted clueless. So 2/26/14 it was acting up very bad, I was forced to go to gastonia because of my job and so I made an appt at the gastonia, nc dealership (which is where I purchased the car). I could not get it to duplicate. Went back to statesville dealership 3/3/14, they did the reprogramming that they said would hopefully fix it, if not they would go to next step which is to replace the torque converter or cvt. The next day, 3/4/13, my car acted up worse than it ever has. I called right then and he said bring it in so we can order parts. After waiting 1.5 hours, they told me they could not duplicate I would have to bring to drop off. Scheduled appt to leave for 3 days, took it in after it being there one day they called and said I needed to drive it with tech to duplicate. I drove around for an hour it would not act up. I told them I would leave it, until I spoke with Nissan about what to do. It happens randomly and of course it wont happen when its at the dealership. Nissan is fully aware they have an issue and needs to step up and resolve the problem rather than putting Nissan loyal customers through a nightmare!

- Claremont, NC, USA

problem #156

Nov 142013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle began to shutter. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred several times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- San Carlos, CA, USA

problem #155

Mar 012013


  • 750 miles
I am having trouble with the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder's transmission that I purchased in January 2013. I have approximately 2,800 miles on my vehicle at this time, September 2013. Nissan is replacing the transmission at this time. The problem that occurred was when the vehicle would shift around 25-30 mph and/or between 40-45, the vehicle would shudder and also give the noise of "running over a rumble strip." I believe Nissan should recall this transmission and replace it with a "fixed" transmission. I also believe Nissan should us of those who have these vehicles a 10 year/100,000 mile warranty on the transmission, if not a "lifetime" warranty, or they should return our money and take the vehicles back! we have purchased a "lemon" in my opinion and we should not have to forfeit $35,000-$48,000 (depending on the vehicle a person purchased) of our hard-earned money to Nissan. Our vehicles are basically not worth any of the money we paid for them. Who would want one" do you want to buy my vehicle from me" I'll sell it to you. Thank you!

- Mountain Home, AR, USA

problem #154

Oct 082013

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 5,200 miles
When traffic slows down below 10 mph and immediately speeds back up above 20 mph, our Nissan Pathfinder may unexpectedly, and violently shutter and experience a total loss off power. This has caused potentially dangerous situations by forcing me to slow below 5 mph before car will regain normal operation. This appears be an extreme design flaw in the transmission that Nissan has yet to correct.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #153

Jun 072013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,266 miles
I bought my 2013 Nissan Pathfinder in May 2013. I first noticed the problem about two weeks after I bought the vehicle. I was driving about 15 mph hour as I was driving into a school parking lot. The Pathfinder was jerking violently. On Monday after work I drove my vehicle to the service department, but I left the dealership upset as the service manager stated that he could not keep the vehicle being that when we test- drove it, he could not duplicate the problem. A couple of weeks later. I returned to the dealership again with the same problem, but this time they did keep my vehicle to check it out. I was told they could not duplicate the problem. They did however, say that they had replaced the the torqued converted. On the third time to the dealership, they replaced the transmission. However, the vehicle continues with the same problem. The vehicle has been taken to the dealership a total of six times for the same problem.....jerking really bad. It now has several other problems such as when stopped, I feel a strong jolt as if hit from behind.the vehicle has also had other problems to numerous to mention. I am totally dissatisfied with this vehicle. I just don't feel safe driving this vehicle!!!!

- Palmview, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?