Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 has a growing number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the transmissions shake violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.

6.7

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,959 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 6 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #157

Nov 072013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 14,620 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder 5/13/13. In November, I felt some vibrations when I would accelerate after slowing down to make a turn. This is now what they refer to as the "shudder" it has continue to get worse. At my service appt I brought it to the attention of the service tech after my oil change, he said it may be because my car was in "auto instead of 2wd" also there was a recall on the ABS so they would do reprogram and that would more than likely fix the issue. He said it shouldn't be a big deal and if it continues acting up to let him know at my next oil change. The next time I was due for a service I was forced to go to a different dealership so I asked the service tech if he was familiar or had any other complaints... he acted clueless. So 2/26/14 it was acting up very bad, I was forced to go to gastonia because of my job and so I made an appt at the gastonia, nc dealership (which is where I purchased the car). I could not get it to duplicate. Went back to statesville dealership 3/3/14, they did the reprogramming that they said would hopefully fix it, if not they would go to next step which is to replace the torque converter or cvt. The next day, 3/4/13, my car acted up worse than it ever has. I called right then and he said bring it in so we can order parts. After waiting 1.5 hours, they told me they could not duplicate I would have to bring to drop off. Scheduled appt to leave for 3 days, took it in after it being there one day they called and said I needed to drive it with tech to duplicate. I drove around for an hour it would not act up. I told them I would leave it, until I spoke with Nissan about what to do. It happens randomly and of course it wont happen when its at the dealership. Nissan is fully aware they have an issue and needs to step up and resolve the problem rather than putting Nissan loyal customers through a nightmare!

- Claremont, NC, USA

problem #156

Nov 142013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle began to shutter. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred several times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- San Carlos, CA, USA

problem #155

Mar 012013

Pathfinder

  • 750 miles
I am having trouble with the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder's transmission that I purchased in January 2013. I have approximately 2,800 miles on my vehicle at this time, September 2013. Nissan is replacing the transmission at this time. The problem that occurred was when the vehicle would shift around 25-30 mph and/or between 40-45, the vehicle would shudder and also give the noise of "running over a rumble strip." I believe Nissan should recall this transmission and replace it with a "fixed" transmission. I also believe Nissan should us of those who have these vehicles a 10 year/100,000 mile warranty on the transmission, if not a "lifetime" warranty, or they should return our money and take the vehicles back! we have purchased a "lemon" in my opinion and we should not have to forfeit $35,000-$48,000 (depending on the vehicle a person purchased) of our hard-earned money to Nissan. Our vehicles are basically not worth any of the money we paid for them. Who would want one" do you want to buy my vehicle from me" I'll sell it to you. Thank you!

- Mountain Home, AR, USA

problem #154

Oct 082013

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 5,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When traffic slows down below 10 mph and immediately speeds back up above 20 mph, our Nissan Pathfinder may unexpectedly, and violently shutter and experience a total loss off power. This has caused potentially dangerous situations by forcing me to slow below 5 mph before car will regain normal operation. This appears be an extreme design flaw in the transmission that Nissan has yet to correct.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #153

Jun 072013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,266 miles
I bought my 2013 Nissan Pathfinder in May 2013. I first noticed the problem about two weeks after I bought the vehicle. I was driving about 15 mph hour as I was driving into a school parking lot. The Pathfinder was jerking violently. On Monday after work I drove my vehicle to the service department, but I left the dealership upset as the service manager stated that he could not keep the vehicle being that when we test- drove it, he could not duplicate the problem. A couple of weeks later. I returned to the dealership again with the same problem, but this time they did keep my vehicle to check it out. I was told they could not duplicate the problem. They did however, say that they had replaced the the torqued converted. On the third time to the dealership, they replaced the transmission. However, the vehicle continues with the same problem. The vehicle has been taken to the dealership a total of six times for the same problem.....jerking really bad. It now has several other problems such as when stopped, I feel a strong jolt as if hit from behind.the vehicle has also had other problems to numerous to mention. I am totally dissatisfied with this vehicle. I just don't feel safe driving this vehicle!!!!

- Palmview, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #152

Nov 182013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
When getting to a stop or a yield, as soon as I would accelerate, my vehicle would shake. A noticeable and violent shake where my young daughter would get scared in the back seat. I would then let my foot off and the shaking would stop and the vehicle would still move slow. I would then accelerate again. Most of the time the vehicle would move normal but a few times the vehicle would again shake. I took my vehicle in November and I was told that a bulletin was address to all dealership and that my vehicle was re-program and that no shaking should happen again. But it did. It happened about a week after leaving the dealership. I took my vehicle again on 02/28/2014 and I was advised that my vehicle was going to need a transmission replace on my new 2013 Nissan Pathfinder.

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #151

Feb 042014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 24,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When you roll up to a stop sign or an area that requires you to yield, when you begin to start climbing in speed, the entire vehicle shakes. When you let your foot off the gas it stops. If you push your foot further down (accelerating ) it stops. Also, when you are in over drive, it occurs more often than not. I have contacted the dealer. However, because this issue does not arise when needed, there has not been any instances available for the technicians to witness which therefore, they can not diagnose it, nor is there a check engine light.

- Sanford, ME, USA

problem #150

Jan 312013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
Shortly after purchasing the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder in December 2012, we noticed the vehicle shaking when accelerating or decelerating. This occurred in both the 2wd and the 4WD/variable transmission settings. The recall notice received said the continuously variable transmission (cvt) chain might slip and cause the vehicle to "judder", which it did many times. The vehicle acts like the engine will die when stopping or accelerating from a stop, causing hesitation that could result in an accident. After the recommended "reprogramming of the transmission control module (tcm)" by the dealer, the problem continues and now one year and several complaints to the dealer later we were advised to "open a file" with Nissan to document the problem, though no one has said if it can be repaired. Along with this complaint, we are also contacting the national Consumer Affairs dept of Nissan North America. The "slipping" occurs daily and according to the original recall notice, this might result "in future damage to your vehicle's transmission".

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #149

Sep 062013

Pathfinder

  • 1,100 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated shortly after the vehicle was purchased it would hesitate and jerk while shifting gears. The vehicle was taken to the manufacturer for a diagnostic test where the dealer stated that it needed a new transmission; however, the dealer only reprogrammed the computer. The problem persisted so the contact took the vehicle back to the dealer. The dealer stated they would need to test drive the vehicle in order to duplicate the failure before installing the new transmission. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and as a result declined to repair the vehicle the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure was 1100 miles.

- Richmond , VA, USA

problem #148

Oct 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
I have leased a brand new Nissan Pathfinder. After driving the car for a month I had noticed that the car was attempting to stall each time I made a right/left turn - it was almost like gas was getting to the engine. On February 11th, 2014 I went to the dealership where I purchased the car to have the brake recall repaired on my car, and I had mentioned to the service manager about the stalling of my car each time I made a turn. After they had finished with my car, they had advised that they investigated my concern and couldn't find anything. I currently have 4700 miles on the car, and my plan is to speak with the dealership in regards to possibly turning the car in and getting a new truck all together (not a Pathfinder since I have researched and found that this is a recurring problem for them). I have a three and five year old, I feel extremely uncomfortable driving the car with this known issue from the manufacturer.

- Bloomfield, NJ, USA

problem #147

Feb 182014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 5,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving car between 20 miles car will start to be make noise and it's like going of railroad tracks and it loses speed. Nissan is replacing transmission.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #146

Jul 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,200 miles
Vehicle started showing sudden shudder/judder at low speed (up to 30 mph) in July, 2013. It happened four times. Nissan dealer was informed about it. First day of winter; around October 20 vehicle lost power and transmission slipped twice from stop to go and another time in low speed. Since then the problem of power loss and transmission slip occurred 9 time very randomly. There is no way to duplicate it. Dealer checked the vehicle 4 times so far and has not found any problem or code. Nissan Consumer Affairs have been informed. This has become a safety hazard because - when vehicle loses power during close/busy traffic situation in a city like pittsburgh, pa it creates chances of getting hit from behind. Already narrowly escaped from one incident like this. Vehicle currently has 12100 miles. So far power loss issue always occurred in cold days; up to 36F. Engine never shut off in any of the occurrences.

- Blawnox, PA, USA

problem #145

Jan 162013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,400 miles
We bought a Nissan Pathfinder 2013 brand new from Nissan dealership. After 2 months, SUV transmission shuddering occurred. We contact the dealer ship and manufacturing people they replaced (October. )transmission to refurbished. December 2013 same thing happen but took it again to same dealership workshop, they said they didn't find anything. Asked us to get used to driving this SUV. But it's been going on. Finally we took it again to different dealership we bought this from, they found same transmission issue. Nissan manufacturing & dealership fighting their best to not to replace a new car or new transmission. Only refurbished transmission and it won't come with extended warranty. Current miles on the SUV is 15,821.. we really hate to be their ginny pig with this small kids. Reason I'm writing this to you cause, we are really frustrated, not safe to drive this vehicle with small kids. I have 5 year old and 6 month old at home. When I drive this vehicle I'm scared and pray before when we go anywhere and we are uncomfortable due to back shuddering problem (loosing power). We felt we been cheated and got no justice for the money and time we spend on this piece of junk we bought. We already spend a lot of money for this vehicle don't have enough money to spend on lawyer, so would you please do some investigation, please consider our issue seriously. My kids are 5 year old and 6 month old. We felt like we spend more time and energy on this issue more than our kids. Its breaking our heart that no one care.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #144

Oct 222013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 5,822 miles
We only had the vehicle a few months when the entire vehicle would begin shuttering when we would turn to the right or when we would accelerate. It would also lose power upon acceleration. We took it in to the dealership at which time they replaced the torque converter. Shortly after receiving the vehicle back it began doing the same thing. We took it back and they replaced the transmission. After receiving it back the second time the problem was gone for a few weeks and then came back again. A specialist from Nissan came to look at the vehicle and had no clue what was wrong with it and recommended we replace the transmission again. I have had my vehicle for 8 months and it has been in the shop a majority of that time. Our passenger side air bag also turns off and Nissan has no way to fix that either. Nissan has given us a few options, all of which entail us either eating thousands of dollars or driving a broken vehicle. Worst experience I have ever had with a vehicle. I will never purchase another Nissan again and would not recommend any Nissan product to any car buyer.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #143

Nov 282013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle juddering while traveling at low speed, it feels like it going to stall. Nissan is aware of the problem but they say they can't recreate. They called in to mossy Nissan in national city, ca to test drive the car with the foreman of the shop, and the problem recurred, he felt it, but we didn't have the computer hook up to the car diagnostics. I took the car back in for the same thing, I left the car there for 2 days and hey said they couldn't duplicate it. Also it has a coolant leak that has not been fixed after 3 times. They smell it but can't find the problem.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #142

Jan 022014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Sudden lose of power on accelerator for about 4-5 seconds on low speed. It is very dangerous situation as I could possibly struck by another vehicles from behind.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #141

Oct 102013

Pathfinder

  • 2,693 miles
The problem started within the first two weeks with shuddering.at the time that this happened, I was unsure as to whether the vehicle was about to stall.I immediately returned it to gray-daniel Nissan North service department and explained what I had experienced.the service writer informed me that they had not had that problem before when I was called back, I was informed that they could not find anything wrong and that the problem could not be duplicated. At that time I had the technician ride with me.as soon as I left the dealership with the technician in the passenger seat, the shudder occurred.he felt it and upon return to the service department he told the service writer that he felt it. Nothing was done about it that day.I had to reschedule an appointment to bring it back.I was told that they reset something and that this should take care of the problem.it did not.I have taken my vehicle back an additional 3 times for a total of 4.each time I am told they cannot duplicate it.on Wednesday, January 29th, I was told by the service department that the technician could not duplicate the problem. Again, I am told that if it happens again to bring it in. The saga continues and I am still left with a new vehicle that has problems.this problem did not just occur in September when I made my purchase. Research shows that this problem has been there for a while. But as a consumer, are we told that there may be an issue with the vehicle you are about to purchase? no. All that I believed in and trusted (Nissan reliability) is now coming back to haunt me.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #140

Jan 252014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 8,600 miles
We bought a new Nissan Pathfinder 2013 in June 2013 - we love the car but we started to experience hesitation upon acceleration in certain situations. We reported it to the dealer during a visit to replace a warranty issue, the dealer said there was nothing wrong but they were able to replicate it once. Later on when we noticed it again, we took the car back and this time it was at the dealer for 8 days. We experience hesitation, slight jerking with the car when driving on slow speed. Well, a week after we took it back from the dealer while driving back home we experienced this violent jerking and hesitation, the car loses power, picks up, loses power and so on for a stretch of 40-50 feet on the road or for around 4-5 second of driving. Myself, my husband and two kids were shocked when we felt the car jerking and how noticeable it was! it's not something I experience every time I drive the car, but this is not a safe drive. In this one particular incident, I didn't know what to do, press on the gas peddle or slam the break! if I was driving in heavy traffic (which I do for my commute every day) or driving on icy roads, I would have probably ended up in an accident. The dealer seems to know the problem exists, but insists on a computer reading while the car is experiencing the issue and states that if there are no lights on from the computer or no alerts from the sensors then the car is functioning fine. Honestly, I'm not comfortable driving this car anymore. What if this problem has no sensor to monitor it? this is really scary that I'm driving a car that I thought was safe when I bought it, even worse, with my kids in the car, I feel like I'm driving at the mercy of the car and the cvt and hoping that when it randomly happens again, I'm not driving near a lot of cars and ending up in an accident!

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #139

May 302013

Pathfinder

  • 3,000 miles
Pathfinder shook uncontrollably and lost power. Has happened multiple times. Even after a transmission replacement, problems still occur. Has happened on highway at random intervals, causing other drivers to have to brake suddenly behind us.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #138

Aug 192013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,196 miles
Vehicle began to shudder. Was diagnosed as a bad transmission. The transmission was changed and problem returned at 3079 miles on the vehicle.

- Clovis, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?