Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 has a growing number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the transmissions shake violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 8 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #112

Nov 092013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles


Driving along at a relatively slow pace around 45 mph the transmission shook and shudders. It feels like going over rumble strips. The vehicle has done this multiple times this weekend at 25 mph and at 45 mph. The vehicle is 2.5 months since purchased new. It has been to the dealer for this issue 500 miles ago. The transmission was replaced with a factory remanufactured transmission and is starting to do the exact same problem it had prior to the replacement. Nissan had the vehicle for 23 days to replace the trans and additionally had the vehicle for 3 days to repair the a passenger air bag seat sensors when it failed during the delivery. Nissan is aware of the problems with the Pathfinder transmissions that the buyers are having and continue to sell these vehicles to the consumers. This was a very expensive purchase and the expectations were high. Those expectations have been lost Nissan has refused to refund the purchase price to me or replace the vehicle. This is my second report to NHTSA. My first ODI was 10547158. I have sought legal counsel. In my opinion Nissan is negligent in selling these vehicle when they are aware of them having these problems with the transmissions and they have no fix that adequately solves the issue. I will return the vehicle to the dealership. This is not right that a brand new vehicle has to go back to shop for more downtime after already being out of service for 26 days out of the first 45 days of ownership.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #111

May 292013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 9,847 miles
This vehicle was purchased new in December of 2012. In less than 12 months, I have lost complete confidence in the manufacturing of the vehicle and its ability as a reliable, safe and acceptable option to meet the needs of me and my family. The details of each incident to date are listed below. The vehicle is now under review for repurchase by the corporation, and will sit in the dealership's parking lot until a resolution is reached that maintains my safety. 12/13 - 10 miles - purchased. 5/29/13 - 9,874 miles - dropped off for service, experiencing 'shudder' when accelerating after coasting, issue occurred at various of driving between speeds of 25-40mph and 1000-1500rpm. Dealer unable to replicate issue, car returned. 7/16/13 - 12,645 miles - dropped off for same issue, able to duplicate, replaced torque converter per bulletin ntb13-064A. 7/19/13 - 12,655 miles - car returned for check engine light and passenger side front wheel noise. O2 sensor failed and was replaced. Support bearing on drive axle frozen, passenger side front drive axle replaced. 9/9/13 - 15,825 miles - dropped off for continued 'shudder', similar driving conditions. Entire transmission replaced as required per ntb 13-086. 10/29/13 - 16,930 miles - returned for again experiencing 'shudder' when accelerating after coasting, issue occurred at slightly lower speeds, similar rpms. Dealer unable to replicate issue, case opened for potential repurchase.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #110

Oct 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
The 2013 and 14 Pathfinder have a faulty cvt transmission that Nissan can't seem to fix. The cvt will "judder" between 18 and 35 mph. It feels like riding over rumble strips. This is a problem as the car can not accelerate during the judder and it is also an unexpected behavior which could cause someone to panic. For instance, if you try to pass or pull out in front of someone, you may find the car not moving. Nissan has tried multiple fixes for this - started with tcm reprogramming, then torque converter replacement, then entire cvt replacement. Many vehicles, like mine, are on their 3rd cvt. Worse, they are replacing them with remanufactured cvts. This is a serious defect that has safety implications. I pulled out in front of an oncoming vehicle with plenty of distance/time if my car was working properly but when my cvt started juddering and my vehicle slowed, I was almost hit.

- Milton, GA, USA

problem #109

Apr 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles


Purchased vehicle Jan 2013. Vehicle shudders continuously when traveling at constant speed around 40 mph. Also shudders violently and loses power when turning at low speed, approx. 5 to 10 mph. Source feels to be transmission. Happens every time driven.took back to dealership where purchased May 2013. Technician drove it and said they couldn't feel anything wrong. Took to another dealership in October. They reprogrammed the ABS system because they said there was going to be voluntary recall issued soon. That had no effect on problem, still as evident as ever. Now faced with third trip to shop to try to get something done. Seems to be common complaint based on what I read.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #108

Jul 152013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
My wife purchased her 2013 Nissan Pathfinder on 04/06/13, from metro Nissan in montclair California. The vehicle had only 35 miles. At approximately 3000 miles, the vehicle's transmission began to shutter and jerk the vehicle when driven at approximately 20 miles per hour. Initially, it occured not too often and we did not think much of it. The shuttering got much stronger as time went on and became more often. During these occurances it appeared that the vehicle lost power which caused the vehicle to slow down. This created a safety concern due to nearly being struck by vehicles a few times while puling out of driveways and merging into highway lanes. Its a safety issue and Nissan needs to fix. On 10/29/13, I dropped off the Pathfinder at metro Nissan, with aproximately 6281 miles. I test drove vehicle with a technician. The technician observed and felt the vehicle shutter and tremble at approximately 20mph. The transmission was replaced, due to internal damage, with a new transmission. The new transmission appears to be fine but I have read numerous reviews online from around the us with similar problems and concerns. Some have had transmissions replaced and problem have continued. My question is, what is Nissan going to do to fix this problem. Its truly a safety hazzard and my wife and I are concerned that the problem will return. Nissan or dealer does not seem to have solution or fix for the problem.

- Covina, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #107

Oct 172013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,043 miles
Transmission shuddered, squeaky noise in the brake system with my foot off the brake pedal.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #106

Oct 112013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,500 miles


Upon accelerating, I noticed jerking/shuttering. This has happened 2-3 times since then. Taking to dealer tomorrow.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #105

Jul 122013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 3,250 miles
Incident happen multiple times from July 20th 2013 up to September 2013 only in hot days with outside temperature around 85 degrees. All situations were very similar. I will describe just one. I was trying to merge to traffic from right to left. I moved slowly around 25 mph and I sow that I can merge to line so I accelerate lightly to around 30-32mph where RPM was around 1000-1500rpm. When I was changing lines car start shake like I'm going trough slow down strips, I remember speed because I got scared and I took look to dash if engine light is on and if engine is shutting down. I saw RPM still up and car started move normally after 1-2 sec. When I pressed accelerator. I thought that car will stop and I will get hit by car coming from rear. I had 2 years old daughter in car with me at that time. No so funny Nissan. I visited dealer 2 times. Dealer tried to replicate issue but they did that at morning when is not so hot. They couldn't replicate it and they sent me home with nothing because Nissan didn't released recall for my VIN.

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #104

Oct 212013


  • 20,140 miles
My husband and I purchased the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder, November 2012. We traded in our Chevrolet Tahoe and decided with gas prices increasing we needed a vehicle that we can save a little on. We put our trust in Nissan. About 11 months after purchasing, I was leaving work and backed out of my parking space proceeded to the stop sign. At the stop sign I accelerated and it moved forward a few feet, then it made a loud noise. Before I knew it the car was on, but would not move. Would not move forward or in reverse. The good thing is I had a person behind me that noticed I had car problems and pushed the car out of the lanes of traffic. Got the car towed to Nissan dealership, and they just informed us that they could not figure out why the card is not working. The transmission is going into gear, just not moving. Now their shop manager has decided to replace the entire transmission. This is one week that we have been in a rental....should get our car Friday. Will my car ever drive the same again with a new transmission ?

- Vail, AZ, USA

problem #103

Jul 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
We, like many other owners, are having problems with the cvt transmission in our 2013 Nissan Pathfinder 4X4. At low speed acceleration, transmission shakes violently and power is lost -- cannot speed up. Also happens at high/highway speeds. It is an intermittent problem but a dangerous one, both when trying to speed up from rolling start or when passing/accelerating at highway speeds. I have contacted Nissan, taken to a dealer where they say they will replace torque converter. I hope this will help but most other owners reporting similar issues say these are not fixes and problems recur. Will report back. Beyond the transmission issue, our hood also buffets significantly at highway speeds. It visibly shakes and when I asked the dealership to fix, they said they could not recreate and it wasn't dangerous.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #102

Oct 232013


  • 2,700 miles


I just filed a complaint last week regarding my air bag on my 2 month old Pathfinder and this week I had trouble with my transmission. Approximately one month ago when I was accelerating onto the highway my car seemed to get stuck in second gear and would not go above 30 mph. The rpms were going up to 7000 without any additional power. This only lasted for about 10 seconds. The dealer checked out the car and said that nothing was wrong with it and that it may have been a communication problem with the transmission. It happened again this week, again trying to merge onto a highway. The speed limit on the highway was 55 and my Pathfinder would not accelerate past 30-35 miles per hour for 1/4 to 1/2 mile. It is quite disconcerting when a tractor trailer rides up on your bumper going at least 55 miles an hour and you have no power to accelerate to get out of the way. Once again, no warning lights came on the dash so I am sure that when I take it back to the dealer next week they are going to once again tell me that nothing is wrong with the vehicle. Obviously this is a safety concern when the transmission can just stop responding like that. I don't know how Nissan can use the excuse "because it didn't trigger a internal warning with the computer, nothing is wrong." Clearly something is wrong and since Nissan really needs to address this issue.

- Perry Hall, MD, USA

problem #101

Oct 132013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 7,200 miles
Received my Pathfinder back after 15 days in the shop for replacement of ABS modulator and shuttering in the transmission. Nissan service dept. Told me they did a modification to the transmission to stop the shuttering. Service manager told me there was still a shutter at around 20-30 miles an hour and that was just how the vehicle ran. Left for a 500 mile trip day after picking up for these fixes. On the hwy. It lost power on hills and shutter was harder then before. RPM's were higher than normal which decreased gas mileage by 5 mpg. Called service dept. And they told me to take the overdrive off. Vehicle did run slightly better on the hwy. But once on surface streets it would hesitate (not move for 2-5 seconds) and then lunge forward when taking off from a stop. Other times it wouldn't move at all. When in reverse it would not move then would jerk backwards. Also would roll forward on a slight decline even when in drive or reverse. Finally on the way back home the vehicle's RPM's went to 5000 and got stuck there, check engine light came on. We pulled off the highway at nearest exit. On the off ramp vehicle stop moving. Fortunately there was no one behind us. Had vehicle towed to a Nissan dealer and they said the transmission has 3 modulators that went out. Vehicle has now been out of service for more than 30 days and the transmission is back ordered. Nissan corporate has contacted me and wants to do a repurchase or replacement. Replacement would only mean that we would be getting the same defective transmission but in a different Pathfinder. Repurchase means we are out a lot of money.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #100

Dec 122012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
I purchased my Pathfinder in November 2012. At about 1000 miles into ownership (less than a month, my vehicle started shuddering and acting like it was going to stall. When I took it in for the first service they told me they checked for it and couldn't find anything. Then they asked me to bring it back in for a computer update. It still shuddered. At the next service repeat the same scenario and they couldn't find anything again. The shudder is progressively getting worse at this point. When I took it back for the 3rd service I told the dealership again and was told the same thing again. Repeat one more time in 9/13 and they told me I needed a new transmission. A new transmission was put in on 10/7 and I picked it up on 10/8. I left for a beach 800 mile trip on 10/9 and the shuddering is still happening and now when I turn my wheels while slowing down (entering my garage/braking in a curve) the brakes will not hold and the vehicle will surge as if out of control. If I leave it running for a 10 or so minutes in park then try to put it in drive the vehicle tries to surge away from me as if I cannot control it unless holding the brakes down. Last week the vehicle jumped across 2 lanes of oncoming traffic then quit. I quickly started it again and jumped into a parking lot. The dealer picked it up and told me they could not duplicate the problem and would do anything to help me. In fact they said it was driver error. The last I heard when you press the gas the car should go and when you press the brakes the car should stop. It is now sitting in the dealer parking lot because I am extremely afraid of it. They told me it was just fine and to come and get it. I almost died last week in it and it is not safe. The dealer will not help me nor Consumer Affairs at Nissan are helping me. No one should be driving this vehicle. So now I am out $44,000 for an unsafe car.

- Alto, GA, USA

problem #99

Oct 202013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,200 miles
Transmission shuttering problem: Traveling on los osos valley road, slo ca. Accelerated out of a turn to about 25 miles per hour; when the vehicle shuttered 5 to 6 times. Minimal loss of power, and then resumed to normal. Feels like vehicle is going over speed bums, but there are none. This 2013 Pathfinder is new, with 2200 miles on it. This is now the fourth time this has happened. The shuttering seems to happen when coming out of turns, while accelerating up to 30-35 miles per hour. Nissan needs to come clean on this issue. So far, they are playing "take into a authorize service dealer". most likely, Nissan knew of this problem and is hoping that all new 2013 Pathfinder owners will act as a "vehicle delivery service" to resolve Nissan transmission problem. Not quite..

- San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

problem #98

May 102013


  • 3,500 miles
This vehicle would buck and jump due to the transmission factory problem, we with dealership and they rebuilt this original one and told me there were problems across the states. This lasted about 3 weeks I went back to dealership and they had to have a service technician drive it with computer attached to throw a reading this took about 4 days. The Nissan main headquarters agreed to put a new one in and said they had a fix this was close to Sept. Holidays transmission box came but had a motor in it, then I had to call back headquarters because they were a month behind on fixing the ones they were ahead of me, so I had to get upset with them and they sent one in about 2 days. Now that has been about 3 weeks and my vehicle is jumping and bucking again, headwater will not fix this until a technician drives the vehicle again and computer must throw a code. I am tired of having to wait on a fix I am making $547 payment for 7 months and it has been in the shop most of this time.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #97

Aug 062013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Driving 45 miles per hour on a straight level road, while accelerating to 40 mph, the vehicle began shaking violently; then began shuttering along with a drop in power; after 3 to 4 seconds, the vehicle returned to normal driving. This was the third occurrence since I purchased the 2013 Pathfinder three months ago.. reading now, NHTSA database indicates multiple consumer complaints regarding the Pathfinder transmission issue.

- San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

problem #96

Sep 132013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the Nissan Pathfinder on August 5, 2013. Within 2 weeks, the vehicle would shudder when driving between 20-30 miles per hour and suddenly lose power. I tried different types of gasoline without success. I finally brought it back to the dealership on September 13. They said it needed a "sensor in the transmission", they would order the part and I could bring it back the following Wednesday. I brought it in on Wednesday. I was told it would be an all day job. Near the end of the day, I was told that the part didn't fit and they had ordered another would be in the following Monday. They arranged for me to get a rental car. They had the car for another ten days. They called for me to pick it up. While driving back from the rental Agency, with the service advisor in the car, it did it again! they did not offer another rental or to take it back and fix it, so I took it home. A week later, the shuddering was so bad, that I took it back in again. They ordered an entirely new transmission (another week to receive the part and install it). (why put a new transmission in a new car that already has a new transmission that had been rebuilt once already when they put in the torque converter?) it makes no sense. Meanwhile, I'm terrified to have to take this car back again.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #95

Sep 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,100 miles
Intermittent transmission shudder ranging from mild to violent with accompanying decrease of power. Shudder primarily occurs at low speed in the 20-40 mph range but has also occurred at highway speeds when transmission is not shifting. Shudder seems to be caused by a variety of variables including speed and degree of inclination of the road. Loss of power has occurred in potentially dangerous passing situations, took to the dealer 2 times and I already did my 3 times, first reset the computer, second change the torque converter and I know the 3 going to be the transmission change.

- Jamaica Plain, MA, USA

problem #94

Apr 192013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 410 miles
Intermittent transmission shudder ranging from mild to violent with accompanying decrease of power. Shudder primarily occurs at low speed in the 20-40 mph range but has also occurred at highway speeds when transmission is not shifting. Shudder seems to be caused by a variety of variables including speed and degree of inclination of the road. Loss of power has occurred in potentially dangerous passing situations.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #93

Mar 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
Vehicle has a periodic shudder as if I was driving over a ripple road for several seconds. The shudder occurs at various speeds usually during light accelerations. Over the months the shudder has periodically re-occurred up to the present time. The vehicle now has 1,721 miles.

- Perth Amboy, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?