Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 has a growing number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the transmissions shake violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.

6.7

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,959 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 1 of 13)

problem #257

Nov 142016

Pathfinder

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cvt is failing. Vehicle shudders and shakes at low speeds and at speeds above 60mph. Nissan dealership knew immediately what the problem was.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #256

Aug 012016

Pathfinder

  • 49,000 miles
Nissan-usa has known about a cvt transmission issue with this vehichle. We purchased it used in February 2016. Leckner had the vehicle in stock when the announcement was made and did nothing to repair the issue. They sold us the vehicle without disclosing the information. Nissan now does not want to make any repairs, though the car id deemed dangerous as the engine makes sudden jerking and shuddering when accelerations. There have been at least two class action lawsuits where Nissan has agreed to fix the issue or change a new engine. When calling and dealing with leckner and Nissan they keep saying the issue is closed and won't do anything.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #255

Oct 182016

Pathfinder

  • 38,000 miles
I take my car to steven creek Nissan dealer located in santa clara California to fix the brake switch recall ntb16-062 on 10/1/2016. I started have having problem with my gear shift lock issue on 10/18/2016. I cannot shift my gear unless I use a screw drive. I cannot move my gear from park position unless I use a screw driver. I took my car to the dealer on 10/29 and they found that brake lamp stop switch (which they inspected on 10/1) is out of spec and adjusted back into spec and release my car. For that adjustment they charge me $160 for it which I think is unfair because they are the one who touch it on 10/1. before they touch it I never have this problem. On 10/30/2016 the problem reappeared I still cannot shift the gear without a screw driver. Car transmission is in shift lock.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #254

Oct 152016

Pathfinder

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall-transmission completely failed 1500 miles after warranty expired-started jerking at low speeds and finally just wouldnt move after it was parked.

- Kevil, KY, USA

problem #253

Nov 192014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Car was purchased new in the second quarter of 2013. In late 2014 with less than $40K, car began "shuddering". mostly at low speeds and when accelerating. Dealer could not find an issue. Driving back from vacation in late 2014, on the interstate, the car lost power and we limped off the exit after which the car was undriveable. Nissan indicated it was an issue with the cvt and the transmission was replaced under warranty. Looking back at the situation on the highway, given the loss of power, this could have been a lethal situation. Fast forward to Oct 2016 and at 88K, the same issue is re-occurring and the dealer indicated today, transmission will (again) need to be replaced.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #252

Jun 012016

Pathfinder

  • 80,000 miles
Have had continual transmission problems since purchase of this new vehicle. Bought the vehicle new and transmission replaced once already. New transmission has same exact issues as old. Car hesitates and stutters upon acceleration. Limited recourse through Nissan, only pay for parts

- South Hamilton, MA, USA

problem #251

Jul 142014

Pathfinder

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. While driving various speeds, the vehicle hesitated to acclerate. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #250

Nov 302013

Pathfinder

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. When the ignition was turned to the on position and the front passenger seat was occupied by an adult, the passenger side air bag off warning indicator illuminated. Also, when the vehicle was shifted to the park position, the vehicle rolled away without warning. The contact had to engage the emergency brakes in order for the vehicle to stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V380000 (exterior lighting) and 16V244000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #249

Jul 012013

Pathfinder

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. While driving various speeds, the vehicle jerked and switched gears. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission was faulty. The transmission was replaced, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,000.

- Scobey, MS, USA

problem #248

Dec 152013

Pathfinder

  • 5,000 miles
Nissan been selling this SUV knowing that the tramission is defective. The engine big bang sometime it jerk back and fort. Finally it blow out at 29700 mile. It was replace by warranty, but with recondition one. The vehicle should be recall for the transmission. It not safe on the road. How long will the recondion transmission last?this is $ 41000 dollar truck I paid $ 37500 out the door. Beware of buying cvt transmission everyone.

- California, MD, USA

problem #247

Jul 192016

Pathfinder

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Pathfinder is preowned by a leasing company but I have noticed for the last year that the engine shudders during acceleration on the highway and/or increasing more often on roads when I'm going to accelerate. I let up on acceleration and then continue to get it to a different speed then push on the accelerator and typically it resolves itself but could be very unsafe, especially since it appears to be an ongoing issue with others as well. My interior passenger door handle also broke (other complaints on here regarding driver side). The door handle simply quit working and appears to have no resistance. Very unsafe due to the fact that if power is lost from the vehicle the passenger is unable to exit the vehicle.

- Bexley, OH, USA

problem #246

May 022016

Pathfinder

  • 68,000 miles
The vehicle was purchased in May 2015. The vehicle had 54K miles. Within 45 days of purchase noticed that while pulling into traffic the vehicle would hesitate. This was also noticed when beginning from a complete stop. Took the vehicle into Liberty GMC in peoria, AZ where it was purchased. Was told that it was sent to Nissan and they did some reprogramming. Got the car back and it continued the same issues. Took back a week later and supposedly they put a new transmission on the vehicle. Well here we are 1 year later and the same issues are happening again. This time with the added bonus of a clunk when you hit the accelerator. Will be taking in again next week. Second issue is with my wife ( who is 8 months pregnant) sitting in front passenger seat the light saying airbag is off stays on. Nissan seems to not be taking some of these issues very seriously.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #245

Apr 272016

Pathfinder

  • 44,314 miles
I was on a trip to the store, all of a sudden my Pathfinder acted as if it had no power when I was getting ready to get going from a stoplight. This same thing occurred several more times throughout the drive. On one occasion my family and I were put into an unsafe situation. As I was trying to make a turn in an intersection my Pathfinder had no power and almost caused me to be hit by oncoming traffic. Another issue is with the brake lights wouldn't go off once I got to a stopping point. They stay on and don't go off without the fuse for the stop light being pulled.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #244

Apr 222016

Pathfinder

  • 47,000 miles
The transmission has given me problems for the past year and a half. Initially when I took it to the dealership they said they could not recreate the problem. When accelerating from a complete stop the vehicle would shudder and struggle to get into a higher gear. The car would go slower than it should based on the pressure applied to the gas pedal. This shuddering would also occur when accelerating on the freeway. I could be going 55mph and then needed to merge or pass and when the gas is pressed a strong shudder would occur sometimes feeling like the car would stop at any second. I mentioned this to the dealer two more times. There were some software updates and eventually, last July, they said I needed a new transmission. A 2 year old car with approximately 40K miles. That is unheard of. After the transmission replacement things seemed to be working fine. Every now and then I would feel a slight shudder but wasn't sure if that was actually occurring because of what I was used to before. Well it definitely was and got noticeably worse. When accelerating from a complete stop the car would move and seem to be stuck in gear. I could push the gas pedal down to the floor and would go no faster than 20 mph. This was a problem as I was in traffic numerous times when this occurred. I took it back to a different dealership and they said it was a software update that was needed. The update was applied last week and the problem has gotten worse. Accelerating from any speed whether from 0 or 55 the car gets stuck and doesn't go any faster, this happened several times in one day on the highway and luckily no accident occurred. The car is now back at the dealership. I have a family with 2 small children and am afraid to put my family in the car. Nissan has really disappointed me with this and it seems this is an ongoing and known issue for 2013 Pathfinders.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #243

Mar 092015

Pathfinder

  • miles
There is a violent shudder/judder that occurs during turns, uneven roads, up hills, slower speeds during traffic. Gears do not seem to change and operate smoothly. Judders into next gear losing power and control of the vehicle that scares everyone in the car. As consumers we all purchase new vehicles for reliability and safely. You stick to a brand you know and trust because of prior experiences or word of mouth referrals. Nissan has tried to give me a harder time fixing these issues by asking to replicate the issue or record while driving, which is also extremely dangerous and illegal. These issues are surprisingly are all over the internet, yet I have not seen a fix to date, ownership from the manufacture of the problem or recall. People's lives are at risk in these faulty auto's every day and yet nothing seems to be done. After having my second transmission installed, wheel barring replaced, rubber strips from roof replaced as well as driver visor I will soon file for a lemon claim. Please take my issues serious and help save people that could possibly lose their lives because of these faulty transmissions.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #242

Apr 162016

Pathfinder

  • 90,000 miles
My car lost power brought it in for service needs a new transmission. At 89,000 miles shouldn't need a new transmission been reading up on it and a lot of people are having to get a new transmission on the cvt transmission that Nissan is using. Starts with a finding noise when driving long distances than just lost power won't move car still running. It shutters like puts puts and shuts off. Had to have it towed. They told me transmission is going. I payed 30,000 dollars for this car 18 months ago still owe 21500 on it and do not have 5000 on a new transmission at this point I don't want the car anymore.

- Otisville, NY, USA

problem #241

Apr 112016

Pathfinder

  • 33,000 miles
Issue has happened multiple times in 1 day. When pressing the accelerator vehicle does not react. It has happened while moving at multiple speeds or stopped. I press the brake and go to accelerate again and it will not accelerate. Or I can be stopped at a light and press the accelerator and vehicle will not react. Issue is happening about 4-5 times during a 15 mile drive. This is happening on flat surfaces. It looks like the RPM increase very little but even if I continue to press down further on the pedal it will not accelerate.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #240

Mar 162016

Pathfinder

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle vibrated, decelerated, and momentarily accelerated. There were no warning indicators. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road and called a local dealer who advised her to drive the vehicle to the shop. The following day, the failure recurred. The technician kept the vehicle for a couple of days, but was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but stated that nothing could be done. The failure mileage was 59,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Ft Worth, TX, USA

problem #239

Feb 152016

Pathfinder

  • 53,500 miles
My Pathfinder stalls and will not accelerate when I come to a complete stop on an elevated surface. We just bought our 2013 Pathfinder (53.5K miles) less than 2 weeks ago. It is certified pre owned and under powertrain warranty 7 years/ 100K miles. When I took the issue to the dealership, last week, I was told that the car did not throw a computer code and when they test drove my car they did not have any issues. They did however tell me that when they tried to parallel park it on a hill, it accelerated as soon as they put it in drive, to which I explained I never put my Pathfinder in park, I only came to a complete stop, on a hill and it would not accelerate. This is terrifying considering my 6 month old baby has been in the backseat when this has happened on multiple occasions in less than 2 weeks.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #238

Feb 122016

Pathfinder

  • 21,000 miles
Vehicle stalls at various times while driving, will not accelerate while pressing on gas pedal. Has now happened 6 times in 3 months. Stalled also, while on cruise control going downhill and would not engage until on level surface for 15 seconds, lost 35 mph during this incident. Passenger side front airbag light is illuminated indicating that no one is in seat while seat is occupied. I have several photos and dates of this particular problem.

- Covington, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?