Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 has a growing number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the transmissions shake violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,206 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Sep 112013


  • 6,000 miles


I was driving the car about 20 to 25 mph but when I tried to brake the brake did not stopped the car and there was an accident my self and my girl friend got injured and we had to go for crayaprator for long time this car is not safe at all North american Nissan is not willing to work with me nor the abc Nissan where I bought the car. Bad customer service.

- Laveen, AZ, USA

problem #45

Jul 312013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
I have the same problem with my Pathfinder that I see several people having. The shuddering is like the transmission is slipping and it has happened in various situations. It is not a sideways shudder like a shake, it is a lack of forward motion (while the engine revs to higher rpms) so severe that it feels like being rear ended and has nearly slammed me into the steering wheel more than once. I have had two different dealerships check it and both said there was no problem because it is not throwing an error code on the computer. Finally, it did it all the way to my work one morning (30+ miles) so I took it to the dealership where I purchased it again. Same results, except they tried to pass it off as a bad wheel bearing and replaced one of my wheel bearings. They called me to tell me it was ready for pick up and I refused to pick it up until the problem is fixed (I now have 40K miles, warranty is getting close to being up). I could go on and on about how this has played out, but long story short, they are now in the process of replacing my coil packs and if that doesn't work, then they are going to try replacing the transmission. It is very disappointing since the first 2 Nissan I owned were great vehicles.

- Grenada, MS, USA

problem #44

Apr 082014


  • 21,458 miles
Hello, we bought this Pathfinder in March 2014. I was driving and I slowed down to turn into a parking lot. When I turned and gave it some gas. The engine and transmission was not working correctly. The Pathfinder started sputtering, shaking and loosing power. I have been doing research on the 2013 Nissan Pathfinders. My research has come across that the Nissan motor company know there has been a problem with 2013 Pathfinders. And they have yet to put out a recall to fix the problem. I continue to drive with the shuddering, shaking and looking power. On 5/28/2014 I was coming home from work and slowed down and I thought the transmission fell out. I also lost power. It scared me. So I believe that some one needs to look into this problem. Because I think Nissan is not concern.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #43

Apr 262013


  • 60 miles


********basically we traded in our 2012 Pathfinder for the 2013 Pathfinder on April 2013.************* we immediately noticed some flaws with the vehicle. My experience with the vehicle began to shudder at low speed every once in a while. Also the hood will shake while driving over 40mph., as if it wanted to fly off. I called Nissan dealerships, spoke with service managers and they stated that Nissan is aware of the issue and working on issuing a recall. Their advice was to continue driving vehicle as normal, shouldn't result any damage. Oh, were they wrong! it's been about a year with this vehicle and the problem not only continues but, has become worse. I can't drive 5 mph without the vehicle shuddering recklessly, as if part of the engine wants to fall off. Well, now I have a new issue, on startup my vehicle throws white/gray smoke as if a bomb blew up. This is so embarrassing. I immediately took the vehicle to the dealer, they came back to say they found "sludge" in the engine, that it has to be replaced! ok, but according to Nissan they are not going to cover this, since they assume we are liable. We have maintained this vehicle properly and if this engine failed and covered in sludge, that has to be a recall. At, this point in time Nissan has communicated with me one time in a week. I spoke to the service manager, he's not very helpful in trying to resolve this issue. He just advised that we sell the vehicle back to Nissan. Unbelievable, this has become a total nightmare, I overheard some workers at the dealers discussing issues about the 2013 Pathfinder, they are aware of the issues this vehicles has, but their main goal is to sell. Not inform the consumers about this piece of crap!!!

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #42

May 222013


  • 400 miles
At 20mph car stutters/chokes as if it will shut off.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #41

Sep 142013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
June 4, 2013 I purchased a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder platinum model. Around September 2013, while ascending a small hill I noticed a shudder shake that lasts about 4 to 6 seconds. The situation happens while driving around 25 miles per hour when accelerating from low speeds. It occurs intermittently so I thought it could be the pavement however within the past year it has been more frequent. I have experienced the shaking during slow turns and upon hills the transmission feels stuck and you finally feel the gear kick in and after making it uphill or stopping vehicle drives smooth again.. it seems as if the car loses acceleration power and I have to release the gas pedal in order for it to stop shaking and then return to normal. Nissan needs to carefully investigate and fix this serious safety issue and issue a mass vehicle recall.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #40

Jun 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 800 miles


Shortly after purchasing my new 2013 Nissan Pathfinder in may of 2013, I started to experience the vehicle violently shuttering at lower speeds. It seemed as if the car would lose power and I would have to release the gas pedal in order for it to stop. I have called multiple Nissan service dealerships and have spoken with service managers about the issue but, they all say the same thing, "Nissan is aware of the issue and they are working on issuing a recall. Continue to drive the vehicle. It will not cause damage to the vehicle itself". I am reaching my one year anniversary with this vehicle and the problem continues and is becoming noticeably worse. While at first the shuttering occurred only in low speeds, it seems to be occurring while at high speeds as well. I have contacted Nissan and was told that there was not an existing recall for this issue and that my VIN was not a match for any transmission recalls. I was also told that a regional manager would get in contact with me and I was given a case number.

- Saint Cloud , FL, USA

problem #39

Jan 012014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
On an intermittent basis, the gas pedal does not engage when depressed ? the driver has to release and press the gas pedal multiple times or hold down gas pedal and then the engine revs hard and the car suddenly lurches forward. It happens both when beginning to accelerate from a stop as well as when the car is driving and in motion and the driver presses the gas pedal to accelerate (such as when passing another car on the highway). By early April 2014, this had happened at least 20 times in a four-week period and sometimes happened daily. I took the vehicle to our local dealer, who consulted with a regional Nissan warranty rep. He said he had seen the problem before, and they replaced the the brake lamp switch and relay. I have had one incident where it happened again after this work was done on April 9.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #38

Apr 302014


  • 9,000 miles
There is a sudden juddering shake that lasts about 4 to 6 seconds driving around 25 miles per hour. I have experienced the shaking during turns and upon hills the transmission feels like driving a stickshift and you finally feel the gear kick in and the after making it uphill or stopping uphill. Vehicle drives smooth again. My girls are very scared with the shaking I have left my vehicle at the dealership pending a fix/solution.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #37

Apr 092014


  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle began to shutter. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the computer needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,500. The VIN was unavailable.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #36

Mar 152013


  • 1,200 miles


About 4 hours into our return trip on Friday, March 29, I was driving on I295 around the city of richmond, va. We were in heavy traffic travelling about 75 mph when our car backfired. My wife and I looked at each other, and nothing seemed to happen to the car. So we continued driving thinking the backfire was a noise from a source other than our car. However, when I braked shortly thereafter because of traffic buildup the car stalled at 40 mph. I was stunned but quickly responded by restarting the car. From that point on the car repeatedly stalled each time we braked and/or reduced speed.

- Selkirk, NY, USA

problem #35

Sep 162013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 4,300 miles
Purchased in Aug 2013. Sept 2013 at low speeds under 25 mph, the vehicle begins to shudder and looses acceleration. Nissan dealership could not find a problem. Oct 2013 my vehicle was back in for the same issue. This time Nissan replaced the transmission. Nov 2013 back to the dealer for same issue, was told a software update was just released for a computer upgrade for the transmission. Problem still existed. Returned a 4th time in Dec 2013 and was told I must have been spinning my wheels in the snow, no problems were found. In addition to the transmission problems, the roof started leaking and the water ran behind the dashboard. A gasket needed to be replaced, shortly after I began to have electronic issues with wipers, volume control for bluetooth, radio. Some type of module was replaced this took two return trips before a problems was found. Again within a month these electrical issues returned. On Monday 3/24 the transmission once again failed as I was making a left turn from a stop. With this incident I was almost killed by a tractor trailer because I was stuck in the middle of the intersection and could not get the vehicle to move. Luckily the truck was able to swerve behind me a the last moment to avoid the collision. Restarting the car several times cleared the problem and was immediately took it back to my dealership. I explained everything that has been happening with my vehicle since purchased in Aug 2013, 33 days of service so far and no resolution. I have also filed a complaint with Nissan Consumer Affairs, case # [xxx]. Nissan admitted there is a problem with the transmission but does not have a fix. At this time the vehicle is not safe to drive and the dealer has put me in a free loaner car until they have a resolution. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Westampton, NJ, USA

problem #34

Feb 272013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
Shortly after purchasing my 2013 Nissan Pathfinder, I noticed a shudder when accelerating at low speeds. This has randomly happened at least 10-15 times in the past year. After a stop or slow to around 10 miles per hour, the car shudders on acceleration. Many times it happens during a turn with acceleration but it also has had the problem during straight acceleration at low speeds. The dealership was made aware of the problem during multiple services but techs were not able to duplicate the problem and did no repairs.

- Canon, GA, USA

problem #33

Jan 312013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
Shortly after purchasing the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder in December 2012, we noticed the vehicle shaking when accelerating or decelerating. This occurred in both the 2wd and the 4WD/variable transmission settings. The recall notice received said the continuously variable transmission (cvt) chain might slip and cause the vehicle to "judder", which it did many times. The vehicle acts like the engine will die when stopping or accelerating from a stop, causing hesitation that could result in an accident. After the recommended "reprogramming of the transmission control module (tcm)" by the dealer, the problem continues and now one year and several complaints to the dealer later we were advised to "open a file" with Nissan to document the problem, though no one has said if it can be repaired. Along with this complaint, we are also contacting the national Consumer Affairs dept of Nissan North America. The "slipping" occurs daily and according to the original recall notice, this might result "in future damage to your vehicle's transmission".

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #32

Feb 222014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
It was time for a oil change and I was wondering why was it when you pull off the car stutters come to find out it needed a transmission and when the guy told me he even said they have had lots of them like that so why would you keep selling.

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

problem #31

Nov 282013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle juddering while traveling at low speed, it feels like it going to stall. Nissan is aware of the problem but they say they can't recreate. They called in to mossy Nissan in national city, ca to test drive the car with the foreman of the shop, and the problem recurred, he felt it, but we didn't have the computer hook up to the car diagnostics. I took the car back in for the same thing, I left the car there for 2 days and hey said they couldn't duplicate it. Also it has a coolant leak that has not been fixed after 3 times. They smell it but can't find the problem.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #30

Jan 022014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Sudden lose of power on accelerator for about 4-5 seconds on low speed. It is very dangerous situation as I could possibly struck by another vehicles from behind.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #29

Aug 192013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,196 miles
Vehicle began to shudder. Was diagnosed as a bad transmission. The transmission was changed and problem returned at 3079 miles on the vehicle.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #28

Jun 292012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
While driving at a speeds of 40 or below the vehicle will begin to shake/shudder. It will continue for approximately 5-10 seconds. It also appears to loose power. The dealership has looked at it and reprogrammed it but shortly after leaving it began to do it again.

- Fort Collins , CO, USA

problem #27

Sep 022013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Car jutters when accelerating after a stop and when turning. The car was purchased in June, and has done it about 15 times since. The first time we took it into the dealership, they reset something in the transmission and said that should fix the problem. Well, it didn't fix the problem. We took the car back to the dealership twice, they test drove it and said they never experience the juttering. Therefore, they haven't done anything about it. Now it's December and I received a recall notice for something else regarding the antilock brake system software. I am very dissatisfied with this car and the service that Nissan has provided; they haven't helped me one bit even after filing a complaint with Nissan corporate.

- Brawley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?