Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 has a small, but significant number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the Pathfinder's transmission shakes violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,464 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Mar 222016

Pathfinder

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has been to dealer twice for this issue and issue remains: Air bag light remains on when 100 to 300 lb person sitting in passenger seat. Have received interim owner notification on NHTSA recall 16V-244. When I contacted two dealers about fixing the problem they tell me that parts aren't available. When contacting Nissan safety I am told parts will ship at the end of August. Am I to not carry a passenger until then? unacceptable. I use this vehicle for work and need to have people ride in the front seat.

- Onancock, VA, USA

problem #45

Jun 292016

Pathfinder

  • miles
Was notified of NHTSA recall 16V-244 in early June 2016 of a problem with engaging front passenger seat airbag. This specific problem was initially noted by me (owner) in November 2013. Nissan supporsedly reloaded software which solved problem, even though we continued to have indication from dashboard light of non-engagement when seat was occupied. Now almost two year later we receive this recall notice. Scheduled recall fix appointment with priority Nissan chantilly service department for 6/29/16 and was reconfirmed for appointment by dealership on three separate occasions. Upon arrival at schedule appointment (0800, 6/29/16) was rudely informed by dealership that no parts were available for fix. Lost time and not fix after almost two years and now two months from formal recall notice. Dealership didn't seem to be concerned with my concern. Now I ask for your assistance in determining whether my vehicle is safe for a passenger in the front seat, when airbag does not engage. More importantly, what is Nissan usa doing to assure dealerships are taking this recall seriously and what actions to obtain appropriate parts for fix are being taken.

- Haymarket, VA, USA

problem #44

Jun 042014

Pathfinder

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag off warning light illuminated while an adult was occupying the passenger seat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician reprogrammed the OCS and replaced the entire passenger side air bag sensor system; however, the failure recurred. Also, the contact mentioned that the vehicle was awaiting repairs per NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and explained that the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #43

Jun 222016

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 07/19/16

- Younsville, LA, USA

problem #42

Mar 212015

Pathfinder

  • 5,000 miles
We had a new 2014 Nissan Pathfinder that was less than a year old. We were hit from behind into another car. It was enough impact to total a new car. The side airbags deployed when the impact was front/back. Neither the driver or the passenger airbags deployed. I had a lot of bruising from the seat belt & my husband had a head related injury like a concussion due to the impact as well as us both having back pain issues. I feel that if I hadn't been wearing my seat belt seeing how badly I was bruised & a knot in my breast from the impact that I would have definitely hit the windshield or worse. I was in a much less severe accident when I was a child & hit my head on the windshield. That is why I feel very strongly that if I hadn't been wearing my seat belt, it failed, etc that I would have hit the windshield. I have personal experience unfortunately before I realized how important seat belts were. We always wondered why the front airbags (both passenger and driver) didn't deploy considering the impact was from the rear and front. Now that there is a recall, it makes perfect sense. The side passenger airbags did deploy, but not the front passenger... or driver for that matter. We were completely stopped in a tunnel due to a quick traffic problem when the car behind us hit us. The impact was hard enough to push us into the stopped car in front of us. They had to close the tunnel down to tow our car as well as the car behind us out of the tunnel. 2 of 3 cars were not drive-able and our car was totaled. I am sure the car behind us was totaled also. We ended up getting a 2015 Nissan Pathfinder - because we thought it was one of the safest options - & now there is a recall on those airbags but the parts aren't available. So this is very concerning... photos attached are of the side airbags that deployed. At least 2 injuries +.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #41

Jun 102015

Pathfinder

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light illuminated even though there was a passenger in the front seat. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was confirmed that the vehicle needed to be repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags); however, the part to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Cranberry Township, PA, USA

problem #40

Apr 232016

Pathfinder

  • 29,115 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Someone ran into my car and the airbag deployed and caused a mild concussion and burned on my chest area. Also, the seatbelts came loose upon impact. We were turning left and someone ran a red light and hit the side of the Pathfinder.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #39

Apr 012016

Pathfinder

  • miles
The computer in my 2014 Nissan Pathfinder continued to present difficulties. These malfunctions were documented with Nissan and the computer was in fact replaced. We were in negotiations with Nissan to warranty the computer with the powertrain warranty. On April 1, 2016 my wife started the vehicle in the driveway and went inside to let it warm up. When she went out (approximately 10 minutes later) the vehicle was gone. It had slipped into drive on its own and gone straight down into the woods, taking out two trees and hitting a telephone pole at the bottom of the hill. The airbags did not deploy. Nissan's finding were that the black box within the vehicle did not show anything and, therefore, they were not taking responsibility for it. We have all the documentation for the difficulties with the vehicle leading up the collision.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #38

Apr 212016

Pathfinder

  • miles
Passenger side airbag turns off with adult sitting in passenger seat. The malfunction occurs when sitting still or in motion. The vehicle has been to the dealership 6 times for the issue. The implementation of the recall was the first attempt to fix the problem. Three attempts later Nissan directed the dealership to replace all components for the passenger side airbag and the problem is not fixed. Of note, the dealership is very courteous, provides me with a loaner vehicle each time, but acts like my car is the only Nissan to ever have this problem. 2014 Nissan Pathfinder platinum 4WD 30,000 miles

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #37

May 312014

Pathfinder

  • 100 miles
The airbag warning lite comes on when the vehicle is started & frequently stays on for the entire trip even when a heavy adult is seated in the passenger side seat.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #36

Apr 162015

Pathfinder

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the air bags were defective and the warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer replaced the seat load sensors, occupant classification system, and reprogrammed the air bag module. The failure was not corrected. In addition, there were a defective valve body in the transmission. The valve body was replaced; however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 7,000.

- Masontown, WV, USA

problem #35

Feb 072014

Pathfinder

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated. In addition, when the seat was not occupied, the light did not remain illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the failure was inherent to the model vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Baxley, GA, USA

problem #34

Dec 222015

Pathfinder

  • miles
Ongoing issue with front passenger occupant classification system. "airbag off" occasionally lights up (before moving and while moving) indicating that the airbag is off even though the passenger seat is occupied with seat belt on. Nissan OCS service record: 12/17/2013 OCS reprogrammed by dealer prior to purchase date of 1/16/2014 2,480 miles 5/16/2014 OCS reprogrammed by dealer 6,777 miles 10/24/2014 OCS seat sensor reprogrammed by dealer 13,447 1/28/2015 new airbag pressure detection sensor & controller assembly-occupant sensor installed 17,831 miles 12/22/2015 OCS checked by dealer and dealer states no problem found. Contrary to the dealers finding, the OCS light still comes on at least once a week. Date and times are being recorded. This will become a very unsafe situation in the event I do not notice that the light is on and an accident were to occur. An outside source has told me that this is a software issue because if I turn the car off when the light is on, the light will go off. Nissan has no idea how to fix this problem.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #33

Nov 152015

Pathfinder

  • 30,600 miles
Passenger side airbag off light stays on while driving with a passenger in the seat. Vehicle has to be stopped and restarted to reset the airbag light.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #32

Dec 112015

Pathfinder

  • miles
We have taken this vehicle in four times to Nissan to be fixed and the airbag sensor light still comes on when an adult sits in the passenger seat while the vehicle is moving.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #31

Oct 272015

Pathfinder

  • 17,000 miles
The airbag sensor does not consistently acknowledge there is a passenger sitting in the front passenger seat. There has been a previous recall (14V138000) for this exact issue but doesn't include my VIN. My local dealership (peoria Nissan) refused to do anything to the car since it wasn't impacted by the recall. They told me to contact Nissan corporate. I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs (case # 20615944) and they told me the reason the airbag sensor doesn't recognize a passenger is because my wife weighs 120 lbs. The vehicle isn't designed to pick up an individual of that stature 100% of the time. I believe this is completely ridiculous and they just don't want to expand their previous recall. I'm in fear for the safety of my wife who routinely sits in that seat and isn't recognized by the airbag. This happens both after starting the vehicle or while driving down the road (airbag light randomly comes on identifying not in use).

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #30

Jan 012015

Pathfinder

  • 10,000 miles
The passenger airbag off light will come on even with an adult passenger seated. Have take this to the dealer service department and they were unable to repeat the event. Still having this issue. Mostly seems to happen if the occupancy changes while car is running. (I.e. passenger gets in after car is running)

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #29

Apr 172015

Pathfinder

  • miles
The "passenger air bag light off" is illuminated even though an adult is sitting in the passenger seat. This seems to happen more frequently when the occupancy is changed while the vehicle is running. The vehicle will have to be turned off, then restarted to clear this condition. This seems to happen less frequently if the adult is sitting in the passenger seat before the vehicle is started. This has happened multiple times since our purchase. We have had to the dealer multiple times for this issue. They can't ever seem to duplicate it while they have the vehicle. They supposedly reprogram one of the computers, but this condition is still happening.

- Forsyth, IL, USA

problem #28

Oct 222013

Pathfinder

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the air bag indicator light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #27

Oct 042015

Pathfinder

  • miles
Passenger airbag does not consistently deploy when passenger in in the seat.

- Hacksonville, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?