Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 has a small, but significant number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the Pathfinder's transmission shakes violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,994 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

May 312014


  • 100 miles


The airbag warning lite comes on when the vehicle is started & frequently stays on for the entire trip even when a heavy adult is seated in the passenger side seat.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #36

Apr 162015


  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the air bags were defective and the warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer replaced the seat load sensors, occupant classification system, and reprogrammed the air bag module. The failure was not corrected. In addition, there were a defective valve body in the transmission. The valve body was replaced; however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 7,000.

- Masontown, WV, USA

problem #35

Feb 072014


  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated. In addition, when the seat was not occupied, the light did not remain illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the failure was inherent to the model vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Baxley, GA, USA

problem #34

Dec 222015


  • miles


Ongoing issue with front passenger occupant classification system. "airbag off" occasionally lights up (before moving and while moving) indicating that the airbag is off even though the passenger seat is occupied with seat belt on. Nissan OCS service record: 12/17/2013 OCS reprogrammed by dealer prior to purchase date of 1/16/2014 2,480 miles 5/16/2014 OCS reprogrammed by dealer 6,777 miles 10/24/2014 OCS seat sensor reprogrammed by dealer 13,447 1/28/2015 new airbag pressure detection sensor & controller assembly-occupant sensor installed 17,831 miles 12/22/2015 OCS checked by dealer and dealer states no problem found. Contrary to the dealers finding, the OCS light still comes on at least once a week. Date and times are being recorded. This will become a very unsafe situation in the event I do not notice that the light is on and an accident were to occur. An outside source has told me that this is a software issue because if I turn the car off when the light is on, the light will go off. Nissan has no idea how to fix this problem.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #33

Nov 152015


  • 30,600 miles
Passenger side airbag off light stays on while driving with a passenger in the seat. Vehicle has to be stopped and restarted to reset the airbag light.

- Summerville, SC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #32

Dec 112015


  • miles
We have taken this vehicle in four times to Nissan to be fixed and the airbag sensor light still comes on when an adult sits in the passenger seat while the vehicle is moving.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #31

Oct 272015


  • 17,000 miles


The airbag sensor does not consistently acknowledge there is a passenger sitting in the front passenger seat. There has been a previous recall (14V138000) for this exact issue but doesn't include my VIN. My local dealership (peoria Nissan) refused to do anything to the car since it wasn't impacted by the recall. They told me to contact Nissan corporate. I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs (case # 20615944) and they told me the reason the airbag sensor doesn't recognize a passenger is because my wife weighs 120 lbs. The vehicle isn't designed to pick up an individual of that stature 100% of the time. I believe this is completely ridiculous and they just don't want to expand their previous recall. I'm in fear for the safety of my wife who routinely sits in that seat and isn't recognized by the airbag. This happens both after starting the vehicle or while driving down the road (airbag light randomly comes on identifying not in use).

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #30

Jan 012015


  • 10,000 miles
The passenger airbag off light will come on even with an adult passenger seated. Have take this to the dealer service department and they were unable to repeat the event. Still having this issue. Mostly seems to happen if the occupancy changes while car is running. (I.e. passenger gets in after car is running)

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #29

Apr 172015


  • miles
The "passenger air bag light off" is illuminated even though an adult is sitting in the passenger seat. This seems to happen more frequently when the occupancy is changed while the vehicle is running. The vehicle will have to be turned off, then restarted to clear this condition. This seems to happen less frequently if the adult is sitting in the passenger seat before the vehicle is started. This has happened multiple times since our purchase. We have had to the dealer multiple times for this issue. They can't ever seem to duplicate it while they have the vehicle. They supposedly reprogram one of the computers, but this condition is still happening.

- Forsyth, IL, USA

problem #28

Oct 222013


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the air bag indicator light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #27

Oct 042015


  • miles


Passenger airbag does not consistently deploy when passenger in in the seat.

- Hacksonville, TX, USA

problem #26

Jun 042015


  • 32,000 miles
Purchased pre owned 2014 Nissan Pathfinder sl 4X4 wit 30,000 miles from serra visser cullman, al Nissan dealer in May 2015. Shortly after purchase noticed passenger air bag light would malfunction (meaning showing that it was off) when someone was sitting in passenger seat. Even when no one was sitting in seat it would show air ag was active when it should be turned off. Took to same service dept. I bought vehicle from. They ran diagnostics and said vehicle was functioning as it should and to basically ignore light. I was told "trust me your air bag will activate". now vehicle has 37,100 miles and starting to notice the cvt transmission will shudder/judder at certain speeds. Take for instance yesterday between 20-25 mph the vehicle just started to jerk significantly. Took to serra visser Nissan in cullman and they said that there was a technical service bulletin out on the problem and that it needs reprogrammed. The cost was 105 at my expense. I declined because this should fall under the power train warranty and proceeded to call Nissan Consumer Affairs hotline to open case about issues. I have researched online and have read hundreds of complaints about the same exact problems. It seems that none of the reprogramming, replacing transmissions, torque converters even solves the problem. Ive even read where it is a design flaw in transmission. I'm hoping they put a recall out for these issues or by back vehicles. I dont feel safe in it and certainly dont believe owners should pay to have any of these issues resolved.

- Cullman, AL, USA

problem #25

Dec 302013


  • 0 miles
The airbag in the passenger seat shows as "off" even when a full grown adult sits in the seat. The issue is intermittent but has been happening for quite some time. Communications with Nissan Consumer Affairs have resulted in no solution. They have indicated that since the computer is not showing an error code they cannot fix it. They did not acknowledge the long string of customer complaints on the subject.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #24

Sep 012014


  • 2,800 miles
The passenger airbag off indicator light is coming on when there is a adult passenger is in the seat. After repeated complaints on it, nothing has been done by the Nissan service center to resolve the issue. I am forced to video capture every thing while driving to show it as a evidence, as they are not taking this seriously.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #23

Aug 152015


  • 7,985 miles
The passenger side airbag light was staying on in my car, I took it to ray shultens and they put in new sensors and recalibrated the seat. The day after the repair as we were driving on the interstate I noticed the light was on and my son was in the seat. Him shifting in the seat did not change anything and the light stayed on which indicates the airbags will not deploy on the passenger side if we were in an accident. I had to pull off the interstate, have him get out and restart the car. This happened again this past weekend with myself as the passenger ( grown adult 5'6", 140 lbs). Today I took it into the dealership for repair, but was told they couldnt come up with any diagnostic codes and " that this is how the system works, there is no weight limitation on the system and if you shift in the seats it could turn off the airbag, and that this is normal and how the system was designed". I am concerned for the safety anyone driving in this car as a passenger. It is unbelievable to me that this can be considered "normal". this is a safety issue and my car should have a passenger side airbag in it that works!

- Hood River, OR, USA

problem #22

Feb 032014


  • 4,000 miles
I have taken my Nissan to the dealership 5 times now for the same issue. The airbag light comes on, indicating that the airbag is deactivated, even when I am sitting on the front passenger side of the car. I am an adult women. I brought it up to their attention - they could not duplicate the issue. I told them that it does not do it all the time. Then it happened again - I took a picture, they said the same thing and did whatever to it - kept my car for a month, I went to pick it up and it did it again, while driving. This time I took a video, called it in to Nissan, again. They called in a specialist (why they didn't do it when they had the car for a month is beyond me). He looked at it and said there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. He continued by saying that the seat belt is all I really needed anyway. That if it happens again I need to turn the car off and wait 10 sec. And the car would realign itself, that it was probably due to the way I was sitting on the seat and the car knows what to do. I am done with Nissan - they are basically telling me that when it happens, let's say on the freeway, as it has, if I want the airbag, I need to pull to the side of the freeway (dangerous), let it sit for 10 sec. And then re-join traffic(dangerous) or I keep going without the benefit of the airbag. I bought the car because I wanted a safe car for my new grandchild - the salesman can testify to this. I can't trust the car, I will not sit anyone in the front passage seat because I do not know if the airbag will work when needed - but then again, according to Nissan - "all I really need is the seatbelt".

- Centerville, UT, USA

problem #21

Jul 172015


  • 23,985 miles
Over the last 6 months the front passenger air bag light will come on occasionally indicating the air bag is not working even though there is an adult in the seat that weighs over 140 pounds. Once we drove it that way to the Nissan dealer where the service manager saw the light on but said they had no way to fix it. We have no idea if the airbag would work if in an accident. The latest incident was July 17, 2015.

- Greeley, CO, USA

problem #20

Dec 152014


  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. When the vehicle was turned on, the air bag warning light illuminated. When an adult was seated in the front passenger seat, the warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on five occasions where the air bag warning sensor was replaced; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 200.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #19

Apr 282015

Pathfinder 4WD

  • 3,300 miles
Passenger air bag light stayed on with a passenger weighting 195# occupying passenger seat, light stayed on for approx 5 minutes. This is at least the fourth time light has been on for different lengths of time up to around 20 minutes at interstate speeds. Have had to Nissan dealer on 4 different occasions and been told no problem found.

- Belpre, OH, USA

problem #18

Apr 212014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the air bag warning light flickered. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags), but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on more than three occasions where a code was reset. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Beaumont, CA, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?