Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,803 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Quest AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Quest:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Quest Owner Comments

problem #6

Mar 282006

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles


Purchased this vehicle 3 months ago, used. We have had nothing but problems since. The main problems are: The roof leaks, whether it's the sunroof or something else causing the leak remains to be seen. Dealer claims no leak found, but everytime it rains there is water in the van, which now reeks of mold. The passenger power sliding door will not close properly on the first try. It keeps opening up right as it goes to close. Dealer claims fixed but still have to make 2 or 3 attempts before it will finally work. Door would not close at all 2 times in the last week. Manual override did not release the door. After waiting 5 minutes and trying again, the door would finally shut. The A/C does not blow out cool air on very hot (over 80 degrees) days.

- Chatham, NJ, USA

problem #5

Apr 072004

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,035 miles
Purchased 2004 Nissan Quest in January of 2004. The air conditioning system emitted a very foul (musty) odor the first time I used the system in March. I took the van to the dealer. They admitted that there was an odor, but could not locate the source of the odor. The van was taken to a different dealer on 9/16/04. I took it back to the dealer where I bought the van on 9/23/04. When the smell returned, I took the van back to the dealer on 10/20/04. I have had numerous neighbors and friends ride in this van. As soon as they would sit in the van, they would ask about the smell. Took the van back to the dealer on 6/7/05 as the smell had returned. This time the dealer replaced the in-cabin air filter (scheduled maintenance) and sprayed lysol in the vents and A/C ducts. The van continued to smell and was returned to the dealer on 6/21/05. This time, the service technicians disassembled the dash to access the evaporator. The moisture drain tube (which is clear) was brown. The service manager told me this. Nissan cleaned the tube and reassembled the dash. Since each of these repairs was warranty work, I requested that Nissan pay for a rental car. Since Nissan claims that no repair work was done, I had to pay for the rental car each time. I conducted some research and learned that mold and bacteria is a common problem for automobile A/C systems. Most car manufacturers have a fix for this problem. Nissan does not. I mailed a letter to Nissan Consumer Affairs. Their representative called once and told to take the van back in for service. Each time I took the van back to the service department, I would call the Consumer Affairs. He never returned my phone calls. During my last service call with Nissan on 6/21/05, I gave the service manager a copy of a document that lists the technical service bulletins (tsbs) that most car manufacturers have for treating the mold and bacteria. Nissan does not have a tsb for this issue.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #4

Jan 032005


  • miles
Nissan Quest 2004 has been in for service 5 times. Tire problems, console lights (possible short) and rear interior lights. The air conditioner failed, the door handle fell off, the front driver side tire was continuously losing air.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #3

May 062004

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,400 miles


A/C problems, rattles, sliding doors raking paint off of sides of vehicle.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #2

May 252004

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 385 miles
(1) ever since buying the vehicle on May 1 2004, the A/C system on this vehicle has been performing poorly. (2) on a 100 to 110 degree day in phoenix Arizona, the A/C at best can blow 60 to 70 degrees out of the front vents even when the vehicle has been driven for 1 hour. My other 2 vehicles and my friend's 2004 Honda Odyssey all blow 40 degrees out of their front vents. The Quest A/C system is unacceptable especially with 6 month twins in the vehicle sweating. These readings were measured with a thermometer. (3) the Quest has been at the dealership 4 times. The first time they found the freon level was undercharged. They recharged the freon and check for leaks in which none were found. 2nd and 3rd time, the dealership said they cannot do anything since the A/C system was operating within their specifications. At 104 degrees, the A/C system can blow 72 to 78 degrees and still be within specifications. The specification range is unacceptable where other vehicles can easily perform better. This is becoming a safety issue living in a hot climate. I bought this vehicle with my twins in mind. If we knew the A/C system was going to perform poorly then we would have not purchase this vehicle. 4th time:after calling 1800nissan1, we took the Quest to another dealership for a second opinion. They consulted with Nissan assist and lower the freon pressure. This did not help. Called 1800nissan1 again and they said they cannot do anything else. I'm at the end of my rope.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #1

Jun 172004


  • miles
Air conditioning does not feel like it is blowing as cool as it should. Also, hot air coming from floor vents.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?