Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,545 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Quest electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Quest:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Quest Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #54

Mar 122016


  • miles


My instrument panel no longer works at all. I can not tell how much gas I have, read my (which affects my ability to get an oil change anywhere), and my temperature gauge. I have ran out of gas in negative temps with kids in the car. I have attempted to buy a new instrument panel, the cost is over $300. Once I finally saved the money I was told by Nissan that the part was discontinued! I have researched this issue and discovered I am only one of hundreds with same issue!

- Xenia, OH, USA

problem #53

Oct 142015


  • miles
The gauges for the current mileage, fuel, temperature are all going in and out. This issue makes it almost impossible to know how much fuel is in the car, so I just keep putting in $15-$20 every couple of days to keep it full (where the amount is able to be seen). I make sure there is antifreeze in the radiator and the reserve bottle as well. Keep the oil changed regularly also.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #52

Jan 092016


  • 136,000 miles
Car fire. Our minivan was parked, the engine shutoff and the keys were removed from the ignition. The car sat for three hours in very cold weather in a residential neighborhood. Based on the videos, it appears the electrical system started sparking and set the engine area on fire. Eventually the cab was on fire and the entire minivan was burned and completely lost. It took 7 minutes for the fire department to arrive and an additional 11 minutes for the firemen to extinguish the raging fire. All this was caught on a neighbor's security camera. The video files are over 5 mb so this website will not allow me to upload the video files. I should also mention we drove the van earlier in the day without problems.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #51

Aug 052015


  • 130,000 miles


Nissan Quest cluster loses ability to moniter fuel and temperature, which caused me to run out of fuel while travelling at a speed of 55mph. After researching online I see there is a repair but how does the dealer not see an issue with this problem. The lcd screen essentially peel away from the screen due to heat or humidity. I see this as a danger and I feel it puts my family along with others in danger.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #50

Jun 042010


  • 98,000 miles
Children was entering vehicle and door spontaneously closed on hand. This has happened periodically since, but never with the exact same circumstances. Ie opened door to load packages, turned back around and door started closing.

- Portland, TN, USA

problem #49

Mar 232015

Quest 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
2004 Nissan Quest. Consumer writes in regards to ECM corrosion problems. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled and it would not re-start. The dealer informed the consumer the intelligent power distribution module would also need to be replaced in order for the vehicle to run.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #48

Mar 052015


  • 105,000 miles


Odometer, gas gauge. Temperature gauge, stopped working, on the left side of dash making the vehicle not be able to pass inspection.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #47

Oct 122014

Quest 6-cyl

  • 1,500,000 miles
My battery keeps going dead if the van sits more then a day. I took it to a local mechanic but he could not find the problem. When I picked up my van the left side of the dash does not work. I looked up complaints on the computer and they are the same as mine. The ECM has rusted because of the placement in the van 2004 through 2009 are in the same place. I called Nissan but the said they had no idea what I was talking about that I could not believe every thing I read on the internet. This is bad because now I can not get my van inspected because the dash does not work. I need my van to go to work. It cuts off for no reason. I cannot tell how much gas I have. I can tell how many miles I have that was the second thing that went. The first was the radio. They told me at Nissan that I had to take it to a Nissan mechanic but I can not afford $110 an hour. This should be a recall because all 2004 to 2009 van are made this way and are have electrical problems. Please help.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #46

May 312014

Quest 6-cyl

  • 121,012 miles
Drove it to a park about 1:00 P.M. stayed there til about 3:00 pm got home parked in front of house on street. Went in back yard for a bbq about 20 to 30 minutes later noticed it started to smoke under hood toward the rear of engine compartment on passenger side about where pass. Feet would be or behind glove box. Within 5 minutes we had flames and by the time the fire dept got here it was a total loss.

- Menominee, MI, USA

problem #45

Feb 072014

Quest 6-cyl

  • miles
My van indicated a problem with a mil on the dash. After getting it tested the code indicated an issue with a vent valve P0447. I replaced the suggested part and it did not fix the problem. After researching the issue, I focused my attention on the ECM as it controls all the sensors in the vehicle. I removed the ECM and noticed rust and corrosion right away. Nissan does not consider it be a defect, however the ECM is mounted under the leaf screen where water is supposed to drain. Upon removing the cover to the ECM it was discovered that the corrosion from the water ate away at the metal and created a hole in the sealed ECM and allowed water to get and cause damage to the circuit board. My problem was only 1 sensor, but it won't pass required emission in my state. There were some reports of drivability issues by others that had the dealer tell them they need the ECM replaced and it was not covered under warranty. This is a design flaw and should be replaced by the manufacturer.

- Wood River, IL, USA

problem #44

Nov 272013

Quest 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles


On November 27, 2013, while parked outside of my home, my 2004 Nissan Quest burst into flames. The car within seconds was completely engulfed in flames, and there was nothing anyone could do but get as far away from it as possible and hope there would be no injuries or fatalities. The car is totaled, and I need answers as to how a car that is parked all of a sudden bursts into flames. I believe that this needs to be investigated. My 2004 Nissan Quest cut off on me at a stop sign on October 31, 2013. When I got out of the car I could smell antifreeze. I had it towed to cowls Nissan that evening. When I got to cowls Nissan they were about to close, but I was able to rent a car from them while mine would be getting looked at and hopefully fixed the next day. The next day a representative from cowls Nissan called me and told me that the rear coolant pump needed fixing and that'"S why the car cut off and wouldn'?T start. They replaced the pump and refilled it with antifreeze. I had my windshield wipers fixed because they said as they did a courtesy multipoint inspection the wipers weren'"T working because of a wiper link issue. When I went to pick up the car I noticed on the receipt that there was an oil leak issue and air filter issue that was discovered in the multipoint inspection. They also noted that my timing chain was noisy at startup and that it would need to be diagnosed further to get to the root of the problem. At no time was I told that the car wasn't safe to drive. On November 10, 2013 I noticed that there was a humming sound coming from the car, off and on, and then the passenger side headlight went out. I took the car in to fix the headlight on 11/22/2013, but I wasn't hearing the humming sound then. I started hearing the humming sound again close to thanksgiving (11/26/2013) and planned to take the car back in after the holiday.

- Triangle, VA, USA

problem #43

Nov 172010


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. The contact stated that the led lights on the instrument cluster malfunctioned and none of the readings could be seen. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer to have the instrument cluster replaced. The dealer stated that while attempting to replace the instrument cluster, the mileage could not be retrieved to transfer into the new cluster. The dealer stated in order to know the true accumulated mileage of the vehicle, the instrument cluster could not be changed. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #42

Jun 292013

Quest 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Vehicle lost speed dramatically on the road. Car would not drive more than 10 mph, no increase in rpms with accelerator depressed. Mechanic reports ECM failed while driving due to rust development. ECM is placed in unprotected location directly under windshield drain. Nissan offers no fix.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #41

May 102013

Quest 6-cyl

  • miles
The last number on the odometer reading is not readable. I have seen several cars with this same problem. I called Nissan and they opened a case. The case number is [xxx]. a Nissan dealer in Pennsylvania called me and told me it can not be fixed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #40

Sep 012012


  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. While driving approximately 10 mph, the contact the slip, ABS, and tcs warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel as the vehicle suddenly stalled. The failure recurred four times while traveling at various speeds. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000.

- Riverhead, NY, USA

problem #39

Aug 282012


  • 66,100 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. While parked, the contact noticed that the instrument panel gauges were not providing any accurate readings. The contact stated the vehicle had been parked for two days during a hurricane prior to the failure. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 66,100.

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #38

Jul 052010


  • 60,000 miles
I have had an intermittent electrical issue with my Nissan Quest for the last few years (since 60,000 miles, now at 100,000 miles). The dealer has been unable to properly diagnose this issue over a period of years, and it is a safety concern. Suddenly the speedometer drops to zero when I am driving and all the dashboard hazard lights go on. When I am able to pull over and turn off and restart the car, the check engine light remains on and the car is ok for a few days/weeks/months. Then it all happens again. They have changed sensors, tightened all electrical connections, and now would like to change the ABS actuator assembly. I notice online that this is a problem that many owners of 2004 Quests have, and seems to be a serious safety issue. I have not allowed my children to drive my car. I feel this needs a recall from Nissan to correct.

- Holmdel, NJ, USA

problem #37

Apr 052012

Quest 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
A family trip from St augustine heading southbound on I-95 towards w.palm beach 75 miles into journey the vehicle shuts down with no warning signs. Had this van towed to nearest repair shop 25 miles and had the throttle body replace. There was no check engine light on prior to this repair. Parts that was defective was the throttle body, ignition coil and was told by repair shop a possible defective fuel injector.

- Winter Garden Fl, FL, USA

problem #36

Mar 282012

Quest 6-cyl

  • miles
See link ECM went out on the highway, leaving my wife and a van load of kids stranded. My warranty had run out and the mechanic I brought it to told me it was rusted out and caused a fire in the ECM. The frame has a design flaw that allows snow and water to sit in the mount that holds it causing it to rust out.( the replacement has holes in it so this doesn't happen again showing that it should have been recalled! I am having the same trouble as everyone else, I get a run around from Nissan that I have to take it to their dealership pay $1500 repair bill and if there is a recall I might get paid back! I don't have $1500 to blow I have a family that needs a reliable van!

- Cheboygan, MI, USA

problem #35

Feb 012006

Quest 6-cyl

  • 29,889 miles
1). transmission - 29,889 mi. To present. Serviced 6 times. Constantly shifts up and down at school zone speed, loud clunk when decelerating at 40 mph, loud clunk when decelerating in highway exit curve. Dealer says everything is working to specs...nothing fixed. 2). brakes - 46,363 & 55,204 mi. New front and rear brakes installed. At 73,014 miles van needs new brakes and rotors. 26,651 highway miles. Wallace Nissan service said Nissan used undersized rotors for vehicle weight and tire size, hence need for frequent replacements. 3). electrical - 04/05/2010, 64,194 mi. The vdc and ck engine lights came on, van speed very erratic...5 to 40mph all by itself, stalled several times. Dealer computer diagnosis...faulty sensors in crankshaft and camshaft $209.07. 10/03/2011, 72,547 mi. Same vdc and erratic speed. Dealer's initial diagnosis, faulty throttle sensor, installed new sensor...same problem, upon further investigation dealer found the ECM unit was totally corroded and had to be replaced. $962.16. Nissan mechanics say it was a faulty design location of the ECM right under the windshield wiper cowling which allowed water to enter the ECM, corrode it and cause its eventual failure. In subsequent year models of the Quest, Nissan moved the ECM to a more protected area. 4). electrical - sliding rear door sensors continue to fail as the door shuts to prevent injury to a person with a hand in the way. Sliding doors continue to rattle even after 6 service visits to fix it. 5). electrical. Rear hatch motor and lock mechanisms continue to break down even after 6 service visits and $1,164.94 in repair costs. 6). other problems involve: Faulty backup sensors, serviced 4 times $285.88. Same drive belts replaced twice within 26,651 miles and $250, leaking sunroof and skylights, Nissan had to replace the entire roof because of severe rust. Overall, van is crap!

- Jupiter, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?