Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,199 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Quest seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Quest:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Quest Owner Comments

problem #17

Jan 072014

Quest

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. While driving various speeds, the front passenger side air bag off indicator illuminated when an occupied was present. The failure recurred sporadically. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign numebr: 16V244000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #16

Sep 062014

Quest 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
My husband was accelerating after being at a complete stop at a sign and there was an exhaust pipe in the middle of the road. The pipe hit our muffler and after about 500 yards, both the passenger and driver's airbag deployed and the car alarm went off for 15-20 minutes. After having the van towed to an autobody shop, they could only find one point of impact in the muffler. We spoke to Nissan and were told that there was no known issues and they would not do anything about the issue. Our insurance is now totaling the vehicle.

- Batesville, IN, USA

problem #15

Apr 012014

Quest 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, there was an abnormal scraping noise heard from the front end of the vehicle. The contact also mentioned that the air bag warning light would illuminate intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the driver's side caliper, brakes, rotors, front brake, front driver's side wheel bearing, passenger's side lower control arm, and the frame needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 114,000. Updated 06/15/16

- Lisle, IL, USA

problem #14

Sep 302013

Quest 6-cyl

  • 70,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on a local single lane road in the early evening (dusk) and the weather was clear and dry. The drivers air bag deployed. There was no impact with the vehicle.

- Tinton Falls, NJ, USA

problem #13

Aug 232010

Quest

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. The contact was driving 45 mph when the entire front end of the vehicle began shaking violently. The tires were changed and new tires were installed but the shaking persisted. The tire sensor and air bag warning light continued to illuminate continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that there were no recalls on the vehicle and did not attempt to repair or inspect the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Rutledge, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Apr 072009

Quest

  • 85,000 miles
We bought our Quest used from a Honda dealership in December 2008. We were told it was in very good condition. The electric doors do not always open or close when we want them to... they seem to have a mind of their own. The passenger airbags turn themselves on and off. After only driving it for a few months, the front end started popping when we would turn a corner. We checked the lower ball joints, being as this is a typical characteristic. There was no problem with them. We continued to drive it. About 3 months ago, the van started shaking real bad when we would brake, and the front tires started lifting tread. We took the van to a mechanic to check the alignment and source of shaking. He told us the alignment was fine... no adjustments were needed. He said the popping was the ball joints. We bought two new ball joints, and upon removing the control arm and ball joint assembly, we realized the problem was in the rear bushing of the front control arm, not the ball joint. The rubber is rotted out. You can not see this problem until you remove the whole arm. I was told I had to hit a curb really hard to break these, but have not hit any curbs hard ever in this van. I feel the dealer should have to fix this, since I have noticed this is an extrememly reoccuring problem with this year/make/model. Upon replacing the tires, the new ones treads are lifting. They were replaced 6 weeks ago.

- Highland, CA, USA

problem #11

May 092008

Quest 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

5/10/08-just had a front end collision in our 2004 Nissan Quest minivan carrying myself, husband & 3 children-one in a carseat. Driver in other vehicle failed to yield to my right of way and impact was made by my van to the side of her car with me going approx. 35mph and she was going about the same. My body came forward even with the seatbelt buckled, my sons chests are bruised from the seatbelts and none...none...of the airbags in that van deployed!!! we bought the van for safety reasons! we purchased it because of the side curtain airbags & not even the front airbags deployed! I want this looked into and I want some answers as to why they didn't deploy. Were there even airbags in the van? obviously we haven't seen the damage in daylight hours, but at those speeds and since we hit head on at the very least the airbags in front should have deployed. Thank you.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #10

Jan 112008

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,079 miles
On 1-11-08 I was involved in a single car collision in my 2004 Nissan Quest. I was avoiding another vehicle and swerved into a cement barrier wal, head on. I then tried to correct the vehicle and struck the right front bumper into another cement wall. Neither airbag deployed. My vehicle has been looked at by progressive and a body shop, plus sent for diagnostics to a Nissan dealer. Everyone agrees the airbags should have deployed.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #9

Jun 012007

Quest

  • miles
My 2004 Nissan Quest passenger airbag sensor light occasionally comes on, signaling that it will not deploy, while my wife is seated in it. She weighs 120 pounds. Though the sensor is supposedly working correctly - I would describe this as a design flaw. The sensor usually recognizes her in the seat, but if she sits off to the side, cross-legged or with a foot propped up, it does not work. Nissan usa and our dealer say everything is fine and will not adjust anything or allow the airbag to always deploy. I advised them of my wife's weight and size - and they say the seat and airbag are fine. A passenger of this weight should always have an airbag deploy, regardless of foot position, if the car is flipping over or whether one's body is centrally located over the seat. Nissan disagrees. "passenger wasn't sitting correctly: R.I.P. -Nissan".

- Dunwoody, GA, USA

problem #8

Jul 092007

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. While driving 65 mph, the contact drove over a tie down strap and both front air bags deployed without warning. There was no crash or any type of impact involved. The driver sustained minor burns on her left wrist and bicep along with bruises on her hip. The front seat passenger sustained minor burns, cuts, and scratches on her chest. As of July 10, 2007, the dealer has not inspected the vehicle to determine the cause of failure. The current and failure mileages were 37,500.

- Vermilion, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 312005

Quest 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer experiencing delays in having the recall repairs performed on the 2004 Nissan Quest. The consumer received 2 recall in the last 6 months. The last on was received January 2005 but the dealer hasn't contacted them to bring the vehicle in to correct the problem due to lack of parts.

- Hilo, HI, USA

problem #6

May 202005

Quest

  • 12,000 miles
I have a 2004 Nissan Quest which had a recall to fix a problem where the front passenger airbag sensor would cause an airbag to still deploy even if a child was sitting in that seat. After the recall was performed, my "passenger airbag disabled" indicator remains on even with an adult (weight 105lbs) in the passenger seat. We have brought this to the dealership and they report that the manufacturer says this is how it is intended to work and they will do nothing to fix the problem. The safety of my wife is at risk when I drive this vehicle since the airbag will not deploy during an accident when she is riding in the passenger seat.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #5

May 132005

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Passenger air bag will not deploy in the event of a crash. Bill ray Nissan of longwood, Florida is unwilling to fix.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 012004

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles
My van has been repeatedly in the shop since the day we bought. First it was the internal light relay, then noise from the ac, then the dvd/radio didn't work, then rattles from doors, back windows and seats, then all the recall items lastly more rattles in the back and the passenger airbag sensor which ive been informed cannot be fixed. "they haven't come up with a fix for that problem yet.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 082004

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer received NHTSA recall 04V103000. Took vehicle to the dealership and recall failed. The advanced air bag requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard no. 208, occupant crash protection. Air bag for the front passenger seat was to be turned off when certain occupants, such as small children, were in the front seat.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #2

Jul 202004

Quest

  • miles
When an adult sits in the front passenger's seat the air bag would shut off. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem. Consumer is a 128 pound adult.

- Kensington, MD, USA

problem #1

Aug 192004

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer noticed while the passenger was sitting inside of the vehicle the air bag light appeared on the dashboard and remained on. The air bag light was deactivated because the passenger weighed 120 pounds. The weight sensor activated and malfunctioned. The consumer was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the consumer that the vehicle was operating as designed. The consumer informed the mechanic that this problem has occurred more than once and has not been resolved. Please fill in additional information.

- Vienna, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?