Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,334 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Rogue drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Jan 302014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problem we are having is the car will hesitate as if the engine stalls but the tachometer shows a steady RPM. This hesitation lasts for just a few seconds but is very sudden. The car then starts going as if nothing has happened. There are no lights coming on to indicate any problems. When I have had the car at the dealer they check for a trouble codes and there aren't any. This has happened many times at different speeds and different conditions. The first time I just had turned a corner and started to accelerate and it hesitated three times within 10 to 15 seconds. Our speed dropped to almost a stop then started as if nothing was wrong. Other times I have been accelerating from a stop light and have had the car come almost to a stop. I have almost been rear ended three times. I have been driving at a constant speed on the freeway and had the car drop from 65 mph down to 40 mph in heavy traffic. Again almost causing a major wreck in heavy traffic. The car again started up as if nothing was wrong. Another time I was merging onto the freeway into traffic doing 70mph and had it hesitate down to 40mph in front of a semi. He had to lock his wheels to avoid rear ending me, he could not get over. I should have been able to merge without any trouble. I had enough room had it not hesitated. This last time I was turning across two lanes onto an entrance ramp to the freeway when it came almost to a stop midway across the first lane I was crossing. An oncoming car had to swerve into the right lane to avoid me. Had the car not been able to move right we would have been hit in the passenger door at about 50 mph. My wife could have been killed. I have called the service manager at our dealership but he will not call back. I have called Nissan corporate at 1-800-343-6913 X[xxx] and left messages with [xxx] but she will not return my calls. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Milton, OH, USA

problem #48

Jul 282014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 124,354 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact also stated that excessive force was applied to the accelerator pedal and the vehicle failed to accelerate without warning. The vehicle was restarted and the vehicle failed to shift out of park. The failure occurred on three different occasions. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 124,354. Updated 9/29/14 the consumer stated the manufacturer was notified and did not offer any assistance due to the vehicle being out of warranty. Updated 2/26/2015.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #47

Jul 112014

Rogue

  • 168,000 miles
The transmission died on my 2008 Nissan Rogue. After purchasing the vehicle in June 2008, we heard "whiring" noises. The vehicle was taken to the dealership of purchase and we have the notation that customer complained of whiring. Result was there were no issues. Car has continued to whine through the years, in the past year, it became worse. We took it to our mechanic to be evaluated, and immediately he knew the problem- the cvt transmission. The mechanic did some research and found that Nissan had extended the warranty, very quietly. Since I drive 70+ miles to/from work, my car was already over the warranty limit. Hence, left with 2 options, replacement via a Nissan dealership costing $5,000 as no viable mechanic will touch the problem. Or get rid of the car. This type of repair was not in our budget nor were we in a position to purchase a new vehicle ( this one was paid for). There was no guarantee when the transmission would go out, other than it eventually would. Lately, the noise had become much worse and we feared the worst. Thank goodness, the car died in our driveway and not the highway. Nissan knew this was a problem, apparently from the beginning, and is not accepting responsibility.

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #46

Jun 142014

Rogue

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving at highway speed there is a sudden loss of power no matter how far you depress the accelerator the vehicle will not go any faster and you are coasting you can not go any faster. This happens when going up hill on when there is a greater load on the transmission. You can not maintain speed in heavy traffic this creates a very dangerous condition for the occupants of the car as well as those around them. When taken to the dealer I was told there is a technical bulletin for all Rogues that the transmission over heats and it goes into safety override mode so it doesn't blow up. In light of this all Rogues need a transmission cooler installed at a cost of $1300.

- Peckville, PA, USA

problem #45

Jun 182014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Traveling long distance on the highway. Engine would not respond to the accelerator in a normal manner accompanied by whiny noises. Pressed accelerator to the floor and rpms would increase extremely slowly and not above 3000 rpms. Continued for the remaining 2.5 hours of our trip. This happened again on our way home multiple times. Had extreme difficulty after exiting the highway and having to stop. Vehicle barely moved forward.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #44

Jun 182014

Rogue

  • 85,000 miles
Driving and suddenly the car went from 70mph to 50mph. Unable to get it to go any faster. Transmission in some sort of safe mode from overheating or something. I was almost run into by the car behind me. This is the 4th time this has happened and every time I have only narrowly avoided a collision. Nissan says they have a fix for the problem, however the parts are on restriction, meaning that the dealer can't even get them in. This needs to be fixed and a recall issued asap before people start dying from this problem.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #43

Nov 142012

Rogue 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My girlfriend and I own a Nissan Rogue that has a faulty cvt transmission that has needed to be replaced twice within the past two years. We discovered that it was faulty because the vehicle decelerates while on the freeway. As the car slows, you can press on the accelerator, but the car will not go above whatever speed it was lowered to. If you need to slow for whatever reason, the car will be relegated to a crawl which is a huge danger on the freeway. With that said, Nissan replaced the transmission initially and while we believed our problems were solved, about a month ago we discovered that the car was once again decelerating while we were bringing my girlfriend┐'s year and a half year old niece back home with us from los angeles. Thankfully we were able to make it back home and immediately took it to a Nissan dealership. Again, it was the same issue with this transmission and again we got it replaced. We were told by the Nissan mechanic that the phoenix heat quickly causes the cvt transmission to break down and told us that it will likely happen again within two years. It was at this point that we decided to contact Nissan and push for a lifetime warranty on this transmission. We can't afford it financially and we don't want to risk it and continue on with our vehicle if we know that if we push it, it could be unsafe. I escalated this issue through their Consumer Affairs department, but after speaking with their representatives, I was told that there was nothing that they could do. Not only that, but they contradicted their own mechanic and refused to admit that this is a real issue. Instead they opted for a lets wait and see approach. This is completely unacceptable for myself, my family, and anyone else who may be affected by this faulty transmission.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #42

Apr 232014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
After driving for about 45 minutes on the highway, the vehicle lost power and began decelerating rapidly. After pushing the gas multiple times, the vehicle remained unresponsive and would not accelerate. The vehicle decelerated to 20mph which was very dangerous in an 80 mph speed zone on a state highway. I pulled over and turned off the vehicle for 30 minutes. Upon starting it up again and continuing on my trip, the vehicle repeated the problem within another hour of driving. When this occurs now, vehicle will not accelerate from a full stop. This is extremely hazardous in toll booths or red lights, as other cars take the Liberty of driving by as I am pumping the gas. Randomly the car will kick back into gear and jut out into traffic, which has almost caused two different accidents.

- South Weymouth , MA, USA

problem #41

May 302014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 78,445 miles
We bought a car last Monday on May 26, 2014 at antwerpen Nissan security dealership (1701 woodlawn drive, baltimore, md 21207). Please find the car details: Year: 2008 make: Nissan model: Rogue body type: 4dr sl fwd trim: Sl black VIN: [xxx] odometer: 78321 with a dealer warranty for one month or 1000 miles, powertrain only ; for the total cash delivered price of $13,000 (thirteen thousand us dollars) already paid by check on May 26, 2014. The second day we were facing problems with the car as the motor was overheated in very few miles, it was smelling smoky inside and the motor was making cracking noises even when it was turned off. We called immediately the sales manager and let him know that we want to turn the car back as it is not functioning properly. The day after we almost get an accident in the traffic that put our life in danger. The car lost power while driving: Gas pedal was fully pushed down and the tachometer showed 3500 RPM while the speed hardly reached 20 mph for about 2 miles till we pulled over at bel air road. We decided to call the general manager for turning the car back as it was within the warranty and I was very clear to him that I do not want that car any more. He agreed to do so, and on last Friday May 30th, 2014, they carried the car from our home location. We requested the money back. Since that day we have being waiting for days and hours in the dealership offices for a response of our request, but they lied to us all the time and last night after many attempts on deaf phone calls the response was: No, they are not giving us the money back. The car dealer pretend that this dangerous car has no problems at all !!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #40

Apr 012014

Rogue

  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated while attempting to accelerate the vehicle hesitated and shuttered. The contact indicated that the defect was also present while driving at low speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the transmission was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 146,000.

- Gulf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #39

Jul 012011

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Nissan Rogue loses acceleration unexpectedly, placing the driver in very dangerous situations. When driving up hill, after losing acceleration with heavy traffic following, where other vehicles have to slam on brakes or dangerously swerve to get of the way of our Nissan which is barely moving forward. Several semis have had to make extremely dangerous maneuvers in order not to rear-end our Nissan. First transmission replaced with 66284 miles - now second transmission is doing the same thing at 126000 miles. Very unsafe! have read of many other similar situations with Nissan Rogue cvt transmissions.

- Rye, CO, USA

problem #38

May 162011

Rogue

  • 85,000 miles
Vehicle has sudden loss of power due to overheating of transmission fluid causing vehicle to go into a limp mode reducing speed to approximately 40-50 mph. Happens when driving at highway speeds for 2 or more hours. Once coming to a stop, the vehicle will not accelerate at all...completely powerless. Have had to a Nissan dealer 4 times receiving nothing more than a band-aid temporary repair by draining some of the trans fluid rather than installing a better transmission cooling system. Nissan has know about hundreds of cases over the course of 7 years and to date has no credible repair, thus totally ignoring consumers safety. There are tens of reviews regarding this by concerned consumers. This is a fatality( if not already) waiting to happen.

- Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #37

May 112014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving West from St. Louis, mo to boulder, co and about half way into my drive my 2008 Nissan Rogue S AWD had a sudden loss of power. It would not accelerate but the RPM of the engine climbed when I pressed the pedal. I came to a stop and I could hear the transmission making an whining noise. I checked under the vehicle and did not see any fluid leaks or any damage. When I got back on the road the car worked normally for a while but then began to have the same problems. This occurred for the rest of the trip, sometimes working normally, and sometimes not.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #36

Apr 162014

Rogue

  • 135,000 miles
Began to lose power after 2 hours of driving-was told at dealer that car was going into safe mode. Fluids were changed at considerable cost approx 6 months ago. Yesterday I attempted to accelerate from a stop at a traffic signal and without warning I had no power, had to coast to safety. There were no sounds, no lights of warning on dash. Dealership indicates transmission needs to be replaced at a cost of $3500. They will not entertain any warranty compensation as we have passes the extended 120,000 warranty. Clearly there is a problem with the cvt component, very disappointing.

- Feura Bush , NY, USA

problem #35

Feb 222014

Rogue

  • 39,144 miles
Car would not shift out of park at times )with brake applied properly), or would eventually shift out of park after many attempts, then failed to shift out of park at all, making the vehicle inoperable...updated 04-16-14

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #34

Dec 102013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Mientras coducia el vehiculo perdio toda la potencia Y dejo de trabajar la trasmicion, esto me ocurio en tres ocaciones. El 2/12/14 lo lleve a la garantia Y reemplasaron la trasmicion sin costo, reemplasaron el crossmember por un costo de $430.

- Naranjito, PR, USA

problem #33

Feb 102014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
I noticed a whinning sound coming from my vehicle. I took it to a mechanic who then reported it was the transmission. I then took my car to a Nissan dealership and they confirmed that it was the cvt transmission (carrier bearing area). I was not aware that there had been issues with the cvt transmissions in Nissan. Nissan had extended the warranty however due to me the consumer not being made aware of the issue that Nissan was having, I didn't know that I should be on the look to see if my car was having issues until I heard the whinning sound. I drive a lot for work, therefore my car has 123,233 miles on it but is very well taken care of and is only 5 years old and has no other issues. I am currently battling with Nissan to have them fix their defective product (cvt transmission). Nissan should be made to correct these defects in their products regardless. Nissan knows of the issue, but from the research I've been doing online they are not taking responsibility for the defective products. Americans should not spend their hard earned money on products that are defective and then companies bailing out. Companies need to take responsibility!

- Del Valle, TX, USA

problem #32

Dec 032013

Rogue

  • 76,000 miles
The cvt transmission in this vehicle has already failed once and was replaced. The brand new cvt has less than 5K miles on it and I am experiencing the same problems. The problems include lack of acceleration in the 0-20 zone with accelerator pedal in full accel position there is little to no acceleration. While driving up hills in the entire speed range there is a lack of ability to accelerate especially at freeway speeds creating a potential unsafe slow speeds issue. This is a common problem in the 2008-2010 Rogues. This is unacceptable as this vehicle has been well maintained, has relatively low mileage, and should still be a reliable car, please consider a recall of the cvt's in these vehicles. This should be a safe and reliable vehicle for my family.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #31

Oct 262012

Rogue 6-cyl

  • 123,227 miles
I noticed a whinning sound coming from my vehicle. I took it to a mechanic who then reported it was the transmission. I then took my car to a Nissan dealership and they confirmed that it was the cvt transmission (carrier bearing area). I was not aware that there had been issues with the cvt transmissions in Nissan. Nissan had extended the warranty however due to me the consumer not being made aware of the issue that Nissan was having, I didn't know that I should be on the look to see if my car was having issues until I heard the whinning sound. I drive a lot for work, therefore my car has 123,233 miles on it but is very well taken care of and is only 5 years old and has no other issues. I am currently battling with Nissan to have them fix their defective product (cvt transmission). Nissan should be made to correct these defects in their products regardless. Nissan knows of the issue, but from the research I've been doing online they are not taking responsibility for the defective products. Americans should not spend their hard earned money on products that are defective and then companies bailing out. Companies need to take responsibility!

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #30

Jun 012010

Rogue

  • 40,000 miles
I own a 2008 Nissan Rogue that has had ongoing problems with the cvt. When I first experienced the problem, Nissan did not even know/acknowledge there was an issue. When traveling during the summer on the highway at high speeds (70-80 mph) I would randomly lose power to the vehicle. For instance, if I was driving with the cruise control on, it would shut off and gradually start to decelerate. Stepping on the gas did nothing. In some cases, I would be driving down the highway only able to go about 25 mph. Additionally, when coming to a complete stop, for example when exiting the highway and waiting at a light, the car is very slow to respond to start moving again. After taking my car to three different dealerships, Nissan finally began to acknowledge there was an system issue (not after making me spend $400+ for a transmission flush). They said that the combination of elevation, heat and high speeds was causing the transmission to overheat and go into "fail safe" mode. Finally last summer (July 2012) Nissan replaced the transmission in the vehicle. Now, one year later and only 20,000 miles on the new transmission, I am having the same issues. Most bothersome, however was the last few times this has happened, it was not hot and I was not driving in the mountains. After 30 minutes of driving about 82 mph with 65 degree weather, I lost all power to the vehicle. I had to merge with traffic that was moving at least 70 mph and I was only able to move at 40 mph. Nissan has said that they are aware of the continued issue, but because the cvt is technically performing as it should, they will not cover it under warranty. They said they are developing a coolant, but is this a real solution? bottom line, this is not a safe, reliable vehicle. Every time I get in my car, I wonder if I will be able to get where I need to go in a timely and safe fashion.

- Aurora, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?