Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,156 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Rogue seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Aug 082014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


I have called the Nissan recall line to put a complaint on my Nissan, rouge, recall no. Ntb08-095A and did not want to accept my claim since they state that my vehicle does not apply under this recall. My vehicle has this specific defect with the air bag and Nissan has stated clearly that they are wanting to fix this air bag (OCS) problem. This is a major safety issue that my vehicle has, on the passenger side air bag being suppressed which could fail to provide adequate protection in the event of a crash. I am overly concern that if I do have an accident that I am not protected any of my family members will be hurt, I would like the NHTSA to advice me what I can do since this has been a recall that I have looked it up in the recall site of the NHTSA. Thanks,

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #18

Apr 092013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 98,442 miles
Twice during April 2014 my 2008 Rogue was at the dealer to diagnose why passenger airbag light would not shut off. Was told by dealer that the code was in the past tense and they could not do any diagnostic testing since it was not an active code (B1018). Without doing any testing, I was told that to fix the problem they would need to replace the passenger front seat cushion ($2,500). Was told that Nissan recall 2008-10-07 did not apply to my vehicle. Filed a complaint with Nissan usa Consumer Affairs on 4/22/14 and requested that my vehicle be included in the recall since Nissan is aware of problems with airbags in the 2008 Nissan Rogues. Nissan refused my request and stated that airbags are secondary safety equipment and they would not fix the defect since seat belts are considered the primary safety feature. At this point I don't know if my airbag system is even operational since the light remains illuminated. Nissan has issued recalls on the Rogue and other models for defective airbags so I think the problem is impacting more vehicles than they realize and I don't feel I should be paying out of pocket to repair. What more can I do to get Nissan to step up and fix the problem?

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #17

Jun 152014


  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated while an adult passenger was seated in the front seat, the air bag sensor light illuminated indicating that the air bag system was off and that the air bags would not deploy if a crash occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who indicated that the occupant classification system located in the front passenger seat was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the NHTSA campaign number 08V521000(air bags, electrical). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the identical failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- King Wood , TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 282014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


My airbag starting flashing after a oil change and tire rotation, call dealership was told how to reset it.the next day it came back on, I tried to reset again it would not reset, called dealership today told them I found recall online, was told my VIN number was not included in recall, not sure what to do now.

- St Peters, MO, USA

problem #15

May 152013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 60,350 miles
The car was not in an accident. The airbag indicator light had come on so I took the vehicle to andy mohr Nissan in avon Indiana to have it checked. The shop diagnosis was that the front passenger seat airbag sensor had malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. Evidently, the sensor is imbedded in the bottom seat cushion requiring the replacement of the cushion. Without replacement, the airbag will not engage. The estimated cost of repair was over $3,200, and the car had just fallen out of warranty by 350 miles. The cost of this seat cushion including labor is roughly one-third of the value of the vehicle. Through an internet search, I found out that there was a recall on these 2008 Rogues for this very problem. I contacted the dealership and was told that they would look into it. I later received a call informing me that although these vehicles were recalled, our VIN number did not show up in the recall. I find it hard to believe that the one problem that we have had with this car is the same as those recalled, but ours is not on the list. This puts us in a no win situation. First, it makes the vehicle dangerous. Second, we cannot afford to spend one third of the value of the car to fix this safety issue. Third, it kills the resale value of the car since we will have to make any potential buyer aware of the issue.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Aug 292013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
I noticed air bag light flashing in dash panel about a month ago. Had the car serviced at Firestone, suggested I take it to a dealer. I also noticed the passenger seat air bag sensor says "pass airbag not on" even when I have a passenger. I did a computer search to see what the problem could be (possibly minor, take it to autozone). Unfortunately, there are quite a few Rogue owners that had the same issue, and also saw a recall (08V521000). When I phoned Nissan North America, they said my Rogue was not in the recall because it was manufactured "elsewhere". I took it to the dealer, who gave me an estimate of $1,800 to repair!!!!!!! are you kidding me"?" I believe it may have been manufactured "elsewhere", but the defective part was made at the same place, and should be covered under the recall. I have owned this vehicle since I got it from the dealer at the beginning of 2009. No accidents. I'm the owner and driver."

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #13

Sep 182013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 45,650 miles


I was driving down the interstate when my airbag warning light started flashing, and the "airbag off" indicator lit up for the passenger side airbag. After doing some research I discovered that this problem was possibly related to the OCS sensor malfunctioning, and that this was a known issue with a recall (08V521000). I called the recall center and was told that my car was not covered under this recall, and that I should take my vehicle to the dealer. I took my car to the dealer on 10-2-13 for them to run a diagnostic. Was informed that in fact, the OCS had gone bad; but again told that it was not covered under the recall, and would cost $2819 to fix. I have since escalated my case to the regional level, given that my car has less than 50K miles, was purchased brand new, and a sensor should last well beyond that! I was told by the regional office to submit a complaint, and that they will further research my situation.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #12

Oct 152012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated the front passenger's side air bag warning light illuminated. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign number: 08V521000 (air bags, electrical system) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000.

- Newberry, FL, USA

problem #11

May 202013


  • miles
Airbag occupancy sensor error.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 272013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I own a 2008 Nissan Rogue which I purchased new. The air bag warning light has recently started blinking on the instrument panel. The dealer told me that it was a failure of the occupant passenger sensor. There was a recall on the same model year for the same issue (campaign id number: 08V521000) but the dealer told me that my VIN was not included. The failure listed in the recall is the exact same failure experienced in the vehicle. Then the dealer told us that it would cost around $3000 to repair!!! we have contacted Nissan but so far they have not agreed to do anything. Since day one, the passenger sensor has always been erratic and often would not work when a passenger was in the seat. We mentioned it to the dealer numerous times but they never agreed to fix it. Now the entire airbag system in the car in not functioning and is creating a safety hazard.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 092013


  • 112,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the OCS unit would need to be replaced. Later the contact was informed of a recall for NHTSA campaign number: 08V521000 (air bags, electrical system) but the dealer stated that the mileage was too high to honor the recall. The manufacturer was notified who stated the same. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 112,000.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #8

Jan 012013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • miles
The airbag light is flashing in the console. I failed inspection because of that.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #7

Apr 022012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
2008 Nissan Rogue air bag indicator light. Dealership says passenger side occupant sensor is bad. Currently not covered by any recall.

- Lucas, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 022012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that the sensor for the airbags failed and the warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000. Updated 6/4/12

- Stone Ridge, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 012012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
NHTSA previously conducted a recall on 2008 Nissan Rogues for problems with the passenger seat sensor not connecting properly with the SRS, making the SRS indicator flash and rendering the passenger airbag useless. I purchased my Rogue used a little over a year ago, and when the problem arose, checked your database to find if there was a recall. The Nissan customer service folks tell me that my VIN is not associated with the recall. A brief search on google hoping to help me figure out how much this repair would cost, indicates that I am not the only Rogue owner affected by this. I wonder if the recall was sufficiently broad. It is possible that this malfunctioned on its own, but wanted to make you aware.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #4

Dec 122011


  • 60,539 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated constantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who removed the air bag from the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,539.

- Oldsmar, FL, USA

problem #3

May 232011


  • 41,974 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer after locating NHTSA recall campaign id number: 08V521000 (air bags) and was informed that the VIN for the vehicle was not included in the recall. The contact believed the failure listed in the recall was the exact same failure experienced in the vehicle. The failure mileage was 41,974 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #2

Jan 032008

Rogue 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. While driving 30 mph, the contact was involved in a front end crash. Neither the front or side air bags deployed. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. It was undecided as to whether the vehicle was destroyed. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 12,800. Updated 02/05/09 updated 02/09/09.

- Stanton Island, NY, USA

problem #1

Dec 312007

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 800 miles
Got into a car accident going less than 30 miles per hour. Cause over $6,000 worth of damage. The car was in the shop for over 2 months; waiting on parts for a band new car currently in mass production. Had to replace both air bags, both driver and passenger seat belt, bumper, head lights and most of the front of the car.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?