Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,094 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Nissan Rogue fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments

problem #6

May 242014

Rogue

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving in heavy traffic this car slowed down and would not accelerate when the accelerator was depressed. According to the dealer from which I purchased the car there is an apparent problem with the cvt transmission when it over heats, it shuts down and will not allow acceleration. This is also stated in the owners manual, but is not apparently viewed as a safety issue. ( don't agree), but it seems several people have to be injured or die in order for Nissan to recall these transmission's, this has happened several times. The latest being last Friday 05/21/2005 when I was stopped for red light and could not get the vehicle to accelerate.

- Millville, UT, USA

problem #5

Sep 062013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 85,081 miles
I was leaving a store and gas light came on. I knew that I had fill up before entering the I-95 interstate and I was a bit perplexed. I drove to a gas station and filled up once again and notice that the gas gauge filled to its capacity. This occurred a few months ago and I dismissed it. On 9/19/13, I stopped at a gas station and the check engine light came on. On 9/20/13 I took the vehicle to the dealership for a diagnostic and was told that I needed a fuel sending unit which would cost me $1,087. Of course, I decline to repair it because at that time I was frustrated with Nissan and didn't have the funds. Previously, I took the vehicle back on two occasions for transmission problems which I was grateful that it was under warranty. The dealership replaced the transmission and treated this incident an occurring problem with 09 Rogue. I only have this vehicle for 1.5 years and I am fearful each time that I drive. Even the young gentleman from triple a told me to get rid of it because within the last month he has to tow quite a few. My commute on interstate each day is worrisome because I don't know what is going to happen next. Now I am stuck with a new problem with this vehicle that I am still paying for and spending more money on gas because I don't know what can happen. Please we must do something with this company Nissan. I placed a complaint today 9/23/13 and was told they would call me back since they don't have any information with this type of recall. (liars) they are lots of complaints about the fuel sending unit on Nissan. It is now 2015 and I did fix the fuel sending unit and I am still having problems. My mechanic seem to think that it is electrical because I am still not able to pump gas in my vehicle. I see that the Nissan quest have been recalled for the same issue. Please recall the 09 Rogue since the complaints are similar.

- Wilmington , DE, USA

problem #4

Aug 032014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 123,400 miles
I was traveling on a highway on a long distance trip and after about 2 1/2 hours, my vehicle won't accelerate past 60 mph as I was passing another vehicle. It was dangerous this happened because vehicles(including big trucks) behind me had to brake because of my unexpected no acceleration. There were no warning lights lit on the instrument panel to indicate anything wrong. After a the rest stop, the vehicle went back to normal but did it again while returning three days later and after driving for more than two and half hours. Called Nissan customer service and was told to take it to Nissan dealer to get checked. Called dealer and I have appointment next week.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #3

Jun 082014

Rogue

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Nissan Rogue is having problems with being unable to accelerate when going up an incline with speeds of 55mph and above. This has been an ongoing problem for almost a year. I'll be doing 60-75mph and then I notice that my foot is on the floor board and I'm losing speed. The first time this happened (July 11, 2013) I lost all speed and had to pull off the interstate. It was incredibly dangerous. On top of it I wasn't able to get my car to start for 20 minutes. I took it to a mechanic after it happened who said everything was fine, and he couldn't find anything. The loss of speed has happened on at least 5 occasions since last summer.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #2

Sep 062013

Rogue

  • 85,081 miles
I was leaving a store and gas light came on. I knew that I had fill up before entering the I-95 interstate and I was a bit perplexed. I drove to a gas station and filled up once again and notice that the gas gauge filled to its capacity. This occurred a few months ago and I dismissed it. On 9/19/13, I stopped at a gas station and the check engine light came on. On 9/20/13 I took the vehicle to the dealership for a diagnostic check and was told that I needed a fuel sending unit which would cost me $1,087 which includes parts and labor. Of course, I decline to repair it because at that time I was frustrated with Nissan and was thinking about trading in the car. Previously, I took the vehicle back on two occasions for transmission problems which I was grateful that it was under warranty. The dealership replaced the transmission and treated this incident an occurring problem with 09 Rogue. I only have this vehicle for 1.5 years and I am fearful each time that I drive. Even the triple a young man told me to get rid of it because within the last month he has to tow quite a few. My commute on interstate each day is worrisome because I don't know what is going to happen next. Now I am stuck with a new problem with this vehicle that I am still paying for and spending more money on gas because I don't know what can happen. Please we must do something with this company Nissan. I placed a complaint today 9/23/13 and was told they would call me back since they don't have any information with this type of recall. (liars) they are lots of complaints about the fuel sending unit on Nissan. I am not certain if I will continue to make payments on a car that I truly feel unsafe with or write off my loss and look for another vehicle. Either way, I had to write this complaint since I have never felt so unsafe driving a vehicle.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Dec 012011

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The fuel gauge does not register properly. It will not show a full tank or no gas. It only show 80 to 90 percent full and does not go below 1/4 tank, even with no gas.

- Shelton, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?