10.0

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,264.00
Average Mileage:
81,892 miles
Total Complaints:
13 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace transmission (12 reports)
  2. not sure (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2011 Nissan Rogue transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments

problem #13

Feb 122017

Rogue SV

  • CVT transmission
  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Apparently only 2008-2010 models are covered on the extended CVT warranty from Nissan (Mine is a 2011). Unreal.. So mad right now. Nissan needs to do something about this. Apparently there is a MAJOR issue. This is our 3rd Nissan and there won't be another in our future if it isn't resolved.

- , Crescent Springs, KY, USA

problem #12

Jan 202017

Rogue LS 2.5L V4

  • CVT transmission
  • 80,107 miles

I am so mad, I can hardly see straight. I have always had great success with Nissan so I purchased my very first luxury car. It is a 2011 Rogue SL. It was almost $30,000. I love the car! Love it! Up until now it has been my favorite car hands down. I purchased the best (Platinum) extended warranty they had for another $2500. It is 75,000 miles or 84 months whichever comes first.

My car has 80,107 miles on it and I was just told that I will need a new transmission. I am not even finished paying for it.

At first, I was like okay this happens to everyone once in awhile and made peace with it. However, I just looked online and found out that the 80,000 miles is the average life for a CVT transmission for the 2011 Rogue.. Apparently the 2010 rogue had problems and they extended the warranty for the 2010 to 100K but have not for the 2011.

I called Nissan and they said my warranty has expired.

I have worked all my life and now am on social security. This presents a major hardship and while I do not like to complain, I am truly upset at Nissan. When you know your $20-$30K product has a problem, you step up! You act responsibly. That is how you keep customers.. I plan on writing this on every review board and all social media that I can.

Shame on you Nissan! Shame on you!

Update from Mar 7, 2017: Please call National Safety Hotline (have Vinh #) and they will look into it. 888-327-4236.

Also a friend who is a Nissan dealer in another state told me that if enough people complain Nissan will reimburse you. Please call Nissan North America Consumer Affairs at 800-647-7261. I just talked to someone there and they are starting a case for me to see if I qualify for reimbursement. I had a third party extended warranty which expired at 75,000 miles and they are still looking into possible reimbursement so please if you have to replace your transmission, please contact them.

- , San Diego, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 152017

Rogue S 2.5L V4

  • CVT transmission
  • 82,000 miles

Car stopped while driving and would NOT accelerate. Total power loss on a major highway. This was terrifying as it was nighttime in the middle of nowhere and with my family in the car.

We were driving on a highway and suddenly started to hear the transmission give off this whiny sound (like it was struggling), then we noticed we started losing speed so had to immediately try to make our way to the right and pull safely into the emergency lane which was nerve wracking!! Once stopped we put the car in park and tried to make sense of the situation and given our location (not safe) we said maybe lets try to get the car off the freeway at next exit. Put the car in Drive and it would NOT move!!!! RPMs would go up and down but car was at a complete stand still. Some passerby saw us, offered to run a diagnostic on the car and it came back as "Torque clutch converter" .. FAULTY TRANSMISSION

Nissan previously recalled older models (up to 2010 models) because of this DEFECTIVE CVT transmission!! Yet hast recalled this year . Looking through the internet a lot of people have been put in harms way and could've been killed for loosing power on a highway because we have experienced this issue and NISSAN does not care that they are manufacturing and selling DEATH TRAPS. Coincidentally after the 60k (between 60k-85k) is when this failure is happening on most instances. Is Nissan timing this failure to happen after their warranty is up so they wont cover the damages? Is NISSAN allowed to be this negligent and have these vehicles out on the road putting so many families in danger after this issue has been reported?? Is it going to take a tragedy, an unnecessary loss of a life for NISSAN to finally man up and fix this issue????

- , Downey, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 112016

Rogue

  • CVT transmission
  • 97,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own two Nissan Rogues, one is a 2009, and the other is a 2011. When the transmission died on the 2009 Rogue, I was grateful to find out that the CVT transmission was under recall, and grateful my daughter wasn't in an accident when it died on the road. A Nissan dealer replaced the transmission. When my 2011 Rogue's transmission died, I was told by the dealer and then by customer care that even though I had purchased TWO Rogues from TWO dealers and had both cars serviced on schedule at Nissan dealers, they would not help me with the replacement of the transmission. AT ALL. Nice way to reward customer loyalty, right? Only because a very kind service associate decided to push my case up the ladder on the service side, the transmission was replaced and I had to pay $850 out of pocket, which hurt, but was a lot better than losing a car or buying a new one.

I am very grateful to this service associate for championing my cause. However, Nissan knowingly issued these cars, stopped the recalls at a certain VIN number, kept installing faulty transmissions in their Rogues, and won't do the right thing. I won't buy another Nissan, and I told my friends about their complete lack of a corporate conscience. It is a shame, because I liked the car enough to purchase two.

- , BOTHELL, WA, USA

problem #9

Jul 292016

Rogue

  • CVT transmission
  • 98,335 miles

We had the transmission diagnosed by the dealer in San Luis Obispo, CA.

After finding out the transmission is shot and would need to be replaced I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs USA and they will not agree to help in ANY WAY. I just got off the phone with them and they were the most UNHELPFUL auto manufacturer I've ever dealt with.

I've had dealings with multiple manufacturers and ALL of them have helped, Toyota has always helped and has ALWAYS paid in full. There is a problem with Nissan CVT transmissions and they need to extend the warranty as they did for 2003 to 2010, it was extended to 120,000 miles.

I was told an upgraded transmission was put in this vehicle. This vehicle cost $29,000 and to expect a repair of this magnitude at under 100,000 miles is unacceptable. I would not recommend every purchasing a Nissan and I know for sure I won't

- , San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 282015

Rogue

  • CVT transmission
  • 87,000 miles

I bought a used 2011 Nissan Rogue from a Toyota dealer in October 2015 and was initially very pleased. But on October 28, 2016, after about 2 hours of driving down an interstate, I heard a loud noise. I turned down the radio and the noise persisted. I looked down and saw my Tachometer was revved up in the red zone (6) and the car was making a loud, frightening noise as though the engine was about to blow up. I let off the gas and the Tachometer stayed at 6. Frightened, I pulled over several lanes of traffic and off the road. I turned off the engine and sat there shaking. After about 15 minutes, I turned the car back on and the noise was gone. I pulled back out onto the interstate and the CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE, which was exceedingly dangerous as there were oncoming semi's approaching at 70+ miles per hour. It slowly picked up speed and I drove 40 mph because if I went faster than that, the tachometer would jump back up into the red zone. I made it to a rest stop where I sat for a half hour with the car off, pouring over the owner's manual, trying to determine what was wrong. Finally I made it to the hotel with no further issues and called the dealer where I had purchased the car. They put a mechanic on the phone who seemed mystified, but who told me if it happened again to take it to a Nissan dealer.

I got home the following day without issue and all went well until it happened again in November on the way to visit my son two hours away. This time, the check engine light came on. I took it back to the same Toyota dealer who got the code off it and said the code indicated the car needed a whole new transmission. The warranty company appraiser came out and advised that they would not pay for a repair as they could not duplicate the problem and they were "isolated incidents". They said to keep driving it and to bring it to a dealer if it happened again.

Well, it happened again. And again. And again. The check engine light did not always come on and if it did, it turned itself off in a day or two. I commute two hours to work and back a day and with the warmer weather, the problem seemed to worsen. Once I pulled over to wait it out and was startled when the car would not reverse initially. Through internet searches, I was able to tell that the problem seems to be worse as the transmission gets hot, so I have to stop halfway to work and halfway back to let the car cool off before proceeding. This has worked pretty well so far. I have also noticed a "stuttering" though, in which the indicator on the tachometer moves rapidly back and forth around the one and a half mark and the car shakes. This goes away at higher speeds but occurs a lot when I am inching along in stop and go traffic on the interstate.

In March 2016, the light came on and stayed on so I took it back to the Toyota dealer where I bought the car. They consulted with Nissan who said the transmission was shot and needed replacement. They contacted the warranty company again with video to show duplication of the problem and eventually informed me that the warranty company would not pay them to make the repairs and that I was to take it to a Nissan dealer.

I took it to a Nissan dealer yesterday (6.8.16). We were finally able to duplicate the problem (and got video of the transmission revving up randomly to 5 and the loud noise while losing power down to 20 mph) and the check engine light came on so that they were able to pull codes. The codes indicated "a kiss of death for a transmission" according to the service manager. A call was made to the warranty company again who said they would send out an appraiser and that the problem would need to be duplicated in order for them to even consider covering it. The nightmare continues. I wish I would have replaced my Toyota with a Toyota and not a Nissan. Fingers crossed that the warranty company covers the cost of a new transmission. If they don't, I don't know what to do as I cannot afford the repair on my own and don't know what other recourse is available to me. I have a car loan (my first) and it includes payments to this warranty company. I need advice as to what to do if the warranty company refuses to pay for this. I never had this problem with my old Volvo which I sold at 450,000 miles or my Toyota Corolla which was at 350,000 miles and still going strong when it was totaled in a flash flood.

Update from Jun 9, 2016: SO HAPPY AND RELIEVED! My warranty company is paying to replace the transmission!

- , Castleton, VA, USA

problem #7

Dec 312015

Rogue

  • CVT transmission
  • 72,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Add me to list of dissatisfied Nissan Rouge owners. Over 30 years of driving multiple makes and models over 120K miles each and I never had an engine or transmission issue...until now. Major shaking/hesitation going to reverse and first gear & issues that don't allow a shift into a higher gear. My trusted mechanic ran the diag and up came 3 codes (P0725: Engine speed; P1778: Stepper Motor Function; P0868: 2nd Pressure Down). Informed me the CVT Box is the issue & the codes indicate potential internal failure (trans hasn't been taken apart yet).

Cost for an after-market trans is $3500 with another potential $1400 in labor, parts & taxes.

THIS WAS 2011 ROUGE PURCHASED NEW in August 2011 and the tranny is shot after 72K!? Call my dealer and they confirm the warranty expired at 60K (convenient) then find out Nissan had issues with this so bad that the 2003-10 models got bumped to 100K warranty (also convenient). They didn't go far enough! A transmission should not go after 70K in a $25-30,000 investment! Stand by your product, admit the error & man up Nissan!

I had thought this was a good, solid car & told anyone who asked likewise. However I will never purchase another Rogue & most likely another Nissan product again, and I will tell everyone I ever come across to do the same.

- , Chalfont, PA, USA

problem #6

Oct 012015

Rogue ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

DON'T BUY A NISSAN ROGUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I purchased a 2011 Nissan rogue brand new from the dealership in January 2011. I've kept up with all of my scheduled maintenance, currently have 70,000 miles on the vehicle and it already needs a new transmission. Noticed problems with the way the car was running before the standard 60,000 miles warranty expired and took the car in for a checkup and dealership told me nothing was wrong. Now they're telling me that I need a new transmission at 70,000 miles.

Researched online and saw that Nissan extended the transmission warranty for 2008-2010 Rogues because it was aware of this problem. Obviously, Nissan failed to fix the problem because it's still occurring on the 2011 Rogues. There's absolutely no way that a vehicle like this should need a new transmission at 70,000 miles when all of the scheduled maintenance was performed. Called the customer care line and Nissan wants me to split repair cost with them. Good try but this is unacceptable.

Nissan is selling a product they know is damaged. This is my first and last vehicle purchase from Nissan.

- , Indianapolis, USA

problem #5

Jul 232015

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

NO help from Nissan denied claim. Junking car. I bought a Nissan every 5 years for the last 30 years, never again. Some one start a class action suit please!

- , Nebraska City, NE, USA

problem #4

Jun 052015

Rogue 4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 64,454 miles

I called dealer and corporate Nissan and got no help except to be told I could take to dealer and have problem 'diagnosed' (I already had it looked at by a mechanic in western MD where it first had problem and again today at a transmission shop)... And only dealer can 'diagnose' and then contact their 'regional' office.... This costs money at dealer to 'diagnose' and it is apparent what the problem is- does not maintain speed on steep hills and revs up way too much at that time. It also starts revving up on down hill grades and I have to put in 'neutral' to prevent more damage. There is a burning smell.

Anyway, my car has 64,000 miles and the warranty only goes to 60,000. If this was a 2003-2010 then the warranty for transmission had been extended to 120,000. Supposedly, the 'problem' with the transmission is 2003- 2010 was fixed. This costs $3509.10 to repair/replace at the transmission repair shop. I hate to think what it would cost at Nissan Dealer.

BTW, I had Toyotas most of my life, then got a 2008 Nissan Rogue which had transmission problem and the transmission was replaced under warranty at 58,000. I should never have bought another Nissan. Guess I am a slow learner...

- , Rockville, MD, USA

problem #3

Dec 082014

Rogue SV 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the first year of owning my Rogue, I called the dealership complaining about the high pitched whine of the transmission. I was told that it was normal for the CVT type of transmission. I brought it in for other regular service checks after that. In May of this year(2014) I knew that something was really wrong and the noise was different than it had been.

I brought it in to Norwich Nissan for the transmission to be checked. I have an invoice where they charged me $117.00 to diagnose it and a statement saying "transmission checked, no problems found". So this was at 70,000 miles, then at 82,000 miles in December, the transmission completely went. Had I been told in May that there was a problem, I may have been able to repair it and not need a completely new transmission.

I had a very trusted licensed mechanic who has done work on other vehicles for my family initially diagnose it and he said that the transmission had been going for a long time and didn't just happen. He also spoke to the mechanic a Norwich Nissan(CT) and said that the guy was kind of a jerk on the phone. I had also felt this about that service dept. in the past as well. After dealing with corporate Nissan for several weeks, I was finally told by my case handler "Lauren" that Nissan would do NOTHING for me since the vehicle was out of warranty.

I can't believe I spent 30,000 dollars on a vehicle only to have this happen after only three years!

- , Sterling, CT, USA

problem #2

Oct 212014

Rogue 2.5L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

This is similar to the problems they had with the 2003-2010 models. The class action lawsuit resulted in the warranties being extended to 100,000 miles. I called Nissan consumer affairs in Cool Springs TN 615-752-1000. They have a "Goodwill" program and said they would consider paying for the repairs. Not surprisingly my case was denied.

My only hope is to pay for the repair, file the complaints, and join a class action lawsuit at a later time to recover my expenses.

Needless to say this is the last Nissan I purchase.

- , Nolensville, TN, USA

problem #1

Apr 152014

Rogue

  • CVT transmission
  • 68,000 miles

Transmission instantly failed without warning while driving 25 mph on street. Had car towed to garage, mechanic says transmission is shot. First contact with Nissan dealer indicates car is out of warranty since mileage over 60,000. I have heard that Nissan has had some recall issues and other Rogue models have transmission problems. I hope that Nissan will respect a loyal and forthright customer (I have owned Nissans for 14 years) and take care of this issue for me. No way should a transmission fail in just 3 years and 68,000 miles. I will never buy another Nissan unless I get some satisfaction here.

- , Rossville, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?