Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,364 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Nissan Rogue drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Oct 202016

Rogue

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall my 2012 Nissan Rogue shakes and makes a weird noise while driving. Also transmission will go into some sort of safe mode even while driving making my not accelerate making it very dangerous while exiting the hallway. Check engine light came on saying with a code for the torque converter.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #32

Sep 202016

Rogue

  • 67,000 miles
Vehicle has an acceleration problem, on long drives the transmission overheats and it does not accelerate as intended; you step on the accelerator and it does not go over 35-40 miles per hour, and on the highway is very dangerous, my daughter almost got hit by a semi on her way home from school. She drives 2:45 hours from and to school. I contacted Nissan and told me that was my problem, that my warranty already expired and there is no way in hell they could anything I am on my own. Checked with the internet and other owners and told me the same thing; it is a safety issue, but they dont see it that way is all about the money and also they told me because it as my first Nissan; they could not help because you have to be a loyal customer of Nissan in order for me to be able to get something done. Dont know what to do. Need help!!!

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #31

Oct 182016

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
After about an hour of highway driving, the car will stop accelerating. The car was taken to the Nissan dealership today, 10/18/19, where the mechanic told us that the "transmission was overheating". they could not tell us what was causing it want install an additional piece of equipment that will provide a temporary fix. This is an extremely dangerous and scary situation; there needs to be a recall.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #30

Sep 012016

Rogue

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving this vehicle long distances it will lose power without notice. When driving acceleration will go down to 0 mph. If you put the gas pedal on the floor it will still not accelerate. This car can not be driven long distances, as it has placed my family in danger numerous times. I have had to pull over on the side of the road and allow the car to sit. Many times this has occurred on busy highways. There is no fix when this happens. I have had 18 wheelers behind me when this car has suddenly stopped. Nissan will not acknowledge this issue. When inquiring about the issue Nissan is only seeking a diagnostic fee. Through research I have uncovered that this is a huge issues impacting tons of customers. I will never purchase another Nissan.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #29

Sep 112016

Rogue

  • 68,000 miles
One two occasions, while driving on an interstate the car decelerated from 70 mph to under 40 mph with the rpms dropping dramatically. Following the first occurrence, the dealer told us they could not identify the problem and I may have hit the wrong peddle. Following the second occasion we were told it was a transmission problem and needed $3000-$6000 in repairs. After a one minute google search I found that this has been a numerous/continual occurrence for several years with the Nissan Rogue and they were well aware of the problem. Nissan stated they would not assist in repair costs after filing a complaint. How could they not have known of this problem when it is easily identified in a google search? both occurrences created an extremely dangerous situation for my family the car is 4 years old with under 70000 miles. Attached is a small sample from a google search that was available to the dealer who could not find the problem.

- Keswick, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Aug 172016

Rogue

  • 76,000 miles
I was driving on an interstate highway in heavy traffic, at 70 mph, when all of a sudden the RPM went to 5000, and the speed of the vehicle suddenly dropped. I left up on the gas peddle, and gradually pressed it, and moved over to the berm; as the car would not go above 45 mph, at the highest; without the transmission slipping too much that it would lose speed. It also it had an odor. Once I stopped and every thing cooled, it seemed to run alright. That was a week ago and it started to do it, but not as bad today; but I was on regular highway and didn't travel near as far. I took it to a garage when I left the interstate, and to the Nissan dealer today; and both said it was a defective cvt transmission, but with 76,000 miles on it, the dealer told me Nissan wont do anything about it,

- Clarks Mills, PA, USA

problem #27

Aug 042016

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The cvt transmission overheats and begins to whine., [xxx]. : thank you for writing about your concerns about your Nissan. The ntsb doesn't handle recalls and associated vehicle safety issues of that nature. However, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration does. They may be reached through their website at www.safercar.gov, where you will find complaint forms and other information. [xxx] ntsb atc investigations -----original message----- from: [xxx] [mailto:[xxx]] sent: Monday, August 22, 2016 18:33 to: Tcas subject: Nissan rouge safety issue sent from my ipad Nissan safety issue about there cvt transmission failures. Before families are killed, Nissan should have a recall on these transmissions. I own a 2012 Nissan rouge that when the transmission overheats the car starts to whine and completely loses power. This happened to me on multiple occasions on the highway and I thought L was going to get killed trying to get into the breakdown lane with no power. I stepped on the gas and L was just losing power. I have read about many similar issues online. Nissan claims that this is a safety device and when the transmission overheats is goes into safe mode. This is not a safety device, this is going to kill people if it hasn't all ready. The longer the drive and the warmer the day is when it has more potential for loss of power. I am at the point where I am afraid of going on any long distance drive because L feel I am going to loss power. This starting happening at around 55,000 miles and is getting worse.there needs to be a recall on these transmissions. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #26

Aug 052016

Rogue

  • 130,000 miles
Lost power when driving on an interstate highway. Engine RPM kept increasing buy the transmission wouldn't shift. Was able to get off the interstate to safety. Let the car sit for a short period and fortunately was able to resume my trip. Based on research it seems this is a known, ongoing problem with the cvt transmission and many drivers have had near misses because of

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #25

Jun 172016

Rogue

  • 82,000 miles
I was driving my car on a highway with speed limits of 70 miles per hour as I was going up an incline my car wouldn't accelerate past the speed I was going. Once I made it over the incline I was able to accelerate again. We were then entering the exit ramp and my car just quit. My husband told me to put the car in park and start the engine- it then started up and we were able to exit the ramp, but the car had little acceleration so we turned off the air conditioning and that seemed to help. On our way back home my husband drove the car on the highway and after driving a while the car lost acceleration again. We shut off the air conditioner and then it was ok. We took the car a Nissan dealership and was told that they needed to add an aulxillary transmission cooler to the transmission so it would not overheat. Also they had to replace ransmission valve body. I had them do the repair at a cost to me if of $1,013. Nissan would only pay $750 to the cost. I told the rep at Nissan that we had no warning of the transmission going, no warning lights came on it just stopped. I told the this was a huge safety issue - this could of caused a major accident. I also felt that Nissan should of paid the whole cost since they had to add a device to my transmission that wasn't on there when I purchased the vehicle. At the time this happened I had 82,000 miles on my car- they said they extended the warranty to 75,000 miles for the cvt transmission. I had to take my car in again today, Aug 2, 2016 because of the vehicle shaking when I put my air conditioning on and a rattling noise when I am in reverse and starting to go while the air conditioner is running. I am told this is a separate issue and it is going to cost me $1,200 for a compressor that is failing. Another cost to me the consumer for Nissan's lack of accountability for their mechanical failures.

- Garfield Hts, OH, USA

problem #24

Jul 082016

Rogue

  • 790,000 miles
Loss of power goes into limp mode intermittent pull feels like transmission is slipping and failing I was on a major interstate doin 65 mph I am absolutely sure that there is something wrong withe the transmission been whining since I purchased it wit 49000 miles kept taking it back and said nothing was wrong

- Franklinville, NY, USA

problem #23

Jul 072016

Rogue

  • 72,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cvt failed on Nissan 2012 Rogue at 72650 miles disabling vehicle in the hov lane on the highway. Service bulletin on cvts on years 2010 or older extended warranty to 120,000 miles (because of failures?). concern is whether Nissan actually corrected cvt issues on latter year models. Never had a transmission fail with so few miles.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #22

Sep 162015

Rogue

  • 65,000 miles
When driving the cvt transmission will overheat and lose all power, usually while you are driving on the freeway for a time frame of 20 minutes to an hour or so into your trip, which really sucks in heavy traffic because you can't do anything but hope you get to the safety of the side before you are smashed by an 18 wheeler or any other vehicle which could cause a serious accident. Nissan knows of this and will not recall these transmissions my vehicle is only 3 or 4 years old and I will not take it on trips over 50 miles or so. I have noticed many people have this issue and Nissan will not fix it they actually lessened the warranty in 2010 from 10 yrs 120,000 mile to 5 yr 60,000 without really addressing the issue! Nissan has lost my respect and will not purchase another unless this issue is taken care off through a massive recall!

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #21

Oct 242015

Rogue

  • 33,776 miles
When you accelerate, there is a loud squealing noise that occurs from under the hood. I took the Rogue back to the dealer and they told me the serpentine belt was bad. I had it replaced...and shortly after that the squealing noise was back again I took it back to the dealer and they me the serpentine belt was bad again! the car only has a total of 34,000 miles on it and the 2nd belt only has about 500 of those miles on it. I also noticed that the Rogue has a vibration to it at times when the squealing occurs. I asked the dealer if there could be a problem with the cvt due to the squealing and vibrations when accelerating and they told me "no". I asked other auto service shops and told me that it sounds very much like the cvt is starting to have issues. I also looked up problems with the Rogue on these issues and see that many others are having the same problems but Nissan is not having any recalls on this however, I did find a service bulletin for one of Nissan's other vehicles(murango) that has cvt squealing and similar problems and that is bulletin ntb 08104 but nothing for the Rogues. Why is that when their transmissions are almost the same?

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #20

Jan 312016

Rogue

  • 77,600 miles
While driving my 2012 Nissan Rogue back to NJ from md, my car began to slow down even while I was stepping on the acceleration. Rpms would soar up any time I stepped on the pedal so I pulled over to the side of the road, let the car cool for a few minutes then tried to start it up again and as I stepped on the pedal the car barely accelerated (just inched along), leaving me to call aaa and have it towed back to NJ. The car was brought to a Nissan dealership, the next day I received a call that my transmission needs to be replaced. The car is only 3.5 years old (well taken care of) and even though it has 77,000 miles on it, a car as new as this one shouldn't be having transmission problems. I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs and after going back and forth with them a few times they decided they are not going to help me because the car is out of warranty, mind you back in 2003-2010 they put out an extended warranty program on all Nissan Rogues due to transmission problems, so they acknowledged the issue then I don't understand why they aren't acknowledging the issue now. I am still paying the car off and now they expect me to pay $4,000 to have the trans fixed. After researching this I have found that the cvt transmissions in Nissan cars is not an uncommon problem, actually a very common issue. There needs to be a recall on this! looking for any help I can get on this because the transmission is a very expensive fix!

- Springfield, NJ, USA

problem #19

Oct 302015

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
On 10/30/15, I was driving my Nissan Rogue and pulled out at a light in abingdon, va onto a main highway. It was dark and around 7:00 P.M. and had just began to accelerate. The vehicle suddenly made a really loud noise that sounded almost like driving a vehicle with a flat and then there was an odor that smelled like something on fire. I gave it gas, but it would not accelerate. I almost got rear ended as I was pushing the gas trying to get out of the road and unable to move the vehicle. I had my 10 month old daughter in her car seat in the rear of the car. With help I was able to push vehicle partially out of the road. My daughter and I sat on the side of the road for almost three hours before a tow truck came to pick us up. I contacted Nissan in bristol and was told that the power train is not under any warranty. The vehicle only has 81,000 miles on it. I thought the vehicle had a 5 year 100,000 mile warranty, but was told that was not the case. My concern is I was almost rear ended due to the transmission going out. Took vehicle to a transmission shop and was told the torque had literally exploded sending metal throughout the transmission. After researching, I saw where Nissan had reimbursed people for transmissions and extended powertrain warranty to 10 years/120,000 miles. It has a cvt transmission. I was without a vehicle for over 2 weeks. The vehicle has since been repaired but there is still a noise and the repairman said that I was going to need to get a driveshaft for the vehicle as it had been damaged as well. I am still paying on this vehicle and I do not feel safe driving it. My husband contacted Nissan and he was told it was not under warranty. I contact Nissan on 11/16/15 and was told it was under warranty until 1/13/16. But I had to have it repaired at a Nissan dealer. Vehicle was repaired by amoco asking for reimbursement. Thank you.

- Lebanon, VA, USA

problem #18

Nov 102015

Rogue

  • 50,000 miles
After the vehicle gets warm the transmission will intermittently whine (started after 50,000 miles. It increases with speed and is most noticeable with the window open. It also starts to loose power if you continue to drive it. If you park and let the truck sit for a few minutes the whining stops. Took it to the dealer today and they say they cannot do anything about it. I also had a 2010 Nissan Rogue which did the very same thing at almost the same mileage. Nissan did replace the cvt transmission on that one.

- Bridgeton, NJ, USA

problem #17

Aug 142013

Rogue

  • miles
Start with fuel gauge read incorrectly, check engine light off and on vehicle start stalling with out warring, ari bag lihth always on and still on as of today ABS light came on and off fill like the truck is pull a load always oil leaks, A/C don't cool ect

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 122015

Rogue

  • 33,000 miles
Just bought the car @ 33,000 miles. Noticed almost imediately that there was some whining and squealing from the transmission at various times and speed (both on city streets at lower mph and on highways) it would stop when I depressed the excellerator. It wasn't constant and I couldn't pin point when it was accuring but it happened enough. Read all sorts of things and simialr stories with these Nissan cvt transmissions, so I called the dealer (carmax) and they set up an appointment and took it in. Their guys agreed adnd send it to a local Nissan dealer as it's under warranty, the local Nissan dealer is trying to say it might be the wheel bearings. I'm beside myself and the carmax service people are fighting for me as they agree with me. My research shows numerous issues with this exact problem over several Nissan cvt transmissions on numerous makes of vehicles.

- Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #15

Sep 272015

Rogue

  • 86,000 miles
Coming home on I-94 South of madison, wi. Had the cruise set at 75 mph started going up a slight grade and the cruise kicked off so I applied gas to the point I had the peddle to the floor and still losing speed, slowed to 55 mph until I crested the hill and gained speed for the next hill and again slowed to 60 mph and then gained speed again on the flat parts. I made it to my exit, stopped, put it in park, then in drive, the problem went away but for how long, is this the beginning of the end" there is 86,000 miles on it and the more I research it the more irritated I get, it is doing the same thing all the other one's on youtube video's from 2008 to 2010. The problem still exist, the extended warranty on the cvt has to be extended for all cvt's no matter what year, these things are an abomination and I have no money for a repair like this. Watch this video, same thing happened to me: Https://www.youtube.com/watch"V=gg_zf1eo0pw

- Dousman, WI, USA

problem #14

Sep 252015

Rogue

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that it was difficult to shift the vehicle from the park position. In addition, when changing gears, the vehicle independently shifted back into the park position and was unable to change gears. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the interlock brake shift needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 11/20/15

- Beaverton, OR, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?