Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,987 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Rogue engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments

problem #13

Oct 222016

Rogue

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car increases in RPM but does not accelerate. Its as if it is stuck in cruise control at 20 mph but you are on the highway trying to do 55. Has happened a few times. Very scary and dangerous

- Jericho, NY, USA

problem #12

Apr 232016

Rogue

  • 24,000 miles
Fuel pump failed leading to stall on busy interstate, creating a safety risk for 3 passengers in the vehicle. Nissan failed to notify me ahead of time that the fuel pump failure was under active recall - I could have had it repaired ahead of time. As it turned out, the stall occurred over 375 miles from my home, and forced me to overnight in monroe la, including hotel and rental car costs - as I had to abandon my car there while they waited to obtain a replacement fuel pump. Nissan could have alert me and I could have proactively replaced the defective fuel pump, but they did not despite my using the Nissan dealer for routine oil changes. Neither dealer nor corporation notified me of the safety risk or recall. The failure has so far incurred direct costs to me in excess of $1000 plus loss of two days of my time, and the near miss risk safety event for 3 persons. I am very unhappy with the vehicle and with the corporation.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #11

Sep 152014

Rogue

  • 500 miles
I purchased my 2014 Rogue from bates Nissan in killeen, tx on 9/4/14 and from the start on the full tank of gas given to me when I purchased the vehicle, the engine would stall at stop lights/stop signs and going around corners. When I called the bates Nissan service department, they told me that I was using the wrong type of gas, that I needed to use premium. We then started bringing it to the next closest dealership, garlyn shelton Nissan in temple, tx. We have brought it there a total of five times now, even leaving it overnight several times. They say that they cannot duplicate the vehicle stalling while it is there and therefore can do nothing. I provided them with codes that I had my stepfather pull off the vehicle after it stalled in my parents driveway, but Nissan said that they cannot use those. The only option that they give me is to leave the vehicle where it is when it stalls and have it towed to the dealership without restarting it so they can read the codes that way. This is impossible because it is unsafe for me to leave my vehicle in the middle of very busy city streets until a tow truck can come. It never stalls just sitting somewhere convenient. Nissan did allow some testing to be done this time, but gave me the vehicle back saying that everything was fine.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #10

Nov 012014

Rogue

  • 3 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very sluggish when accelerating. Very dangerous when merging into traffic on highways and parkways

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #9

Sep 202015

Rogue

  • 42,000 miles
On 9/20/15 while driving on I-85 near montgomery, al the car stop running and would not crank on 9/21/15 car was towed to jack ingram motors montgomery, al on 925/15 jessica, service rep at jack ingram motors called stated that the fuel pump fail and would have to be replaced and part was ordered. On 10/02/15 jessica, service rep at jack ingram motors called stated that part order was canceled by Nissan Corp. Re-ordered.

- Tallassee, AL, USA

problem #8

Sep 022015

Rogue

  • 35,000 miles
The issue presents itself when the temperature is above 90 degrees and I have been driving the car for at least 20-30 minutes. When the car is at a complete stop and you transition from the brake to the gas, the car does not immediately respond. It is as if you are not pressing the gas pedal at all. You can press it almost all the way to the floor before the car will respond. When it starts to occur, it is consistent with occurring every time the car comes to a stop. There does not appear to be any other issues while the car is in motion. This is extremely dangerous when you are making a left or right turn or accelerating from a stop light. I have almost been rear ended several times because the light has turned green and my car will not immediately accelerate. I took the car to the dealer on 9/15, about 2 weeks after this started. I was informed that this might be due to the fuel pump recall. They replaced the fuel pump and drove the car without experiencing any issues. As I was driving home from the dealer that afternoon, the issue presented itself again. I called the dealer and was told to bring the car back the following morning. They kept my car for 3 days. They were able to replicate the issue at the dealer while connected to a computer. They spoke to Nissan engineering and sent them the files. Nissan engineering didn't know the cause and said to "drive it until it gets worse". my car was almost at the end of the 36,000 mile warranty. They replaced a brake sensor to see if that worked. I picked up the car and brought it back to the dealer the following week when the issue presented itself again. They recorded more data to send to Nissan. Again, they requested more data from me yesterday. While in the car with the technician recording the issue, my car would no longer accelerate over 20 mph while revving the engine. This car is unsafe to drive.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 052015

Rogue

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When starting the vehicle in the morning, there was a chassis control system error. When trying to drive, the accelerator is not very responsive and it is like the engine is being held back. Once driven a bit, then other errors begin to come up regarding AWD malfunction, and all the collision and blind spot displays are illuminated in error. Took the vehicle to the dealer once and they reset the computer and replaced a ground wire. A few days later it happened again. Took vehicle back to dealer and they kept it for over two weeks and replaced the ABS module. Had the vehicle back about a week and it is now doing it again. Vehicle is over 36K miles and was when dealership first worked on it. Now that is has happened a third time, the dealership is saying it is out of warranty and they don't know what to do. This error affects being able to drive this car safely and Nissan needs to figure out what is going on.

- Tahoka, TX, USA

problem #6

Jun 092015

Rogue

  • 14,731 miles
When driving in exceedingly warm conditions, heavy traffic (such as stop and go) or constant uphill terrain, quick acceleration from full stop becomes difficult. Engine becomes loud, rpms rise to between 4000-6000 but vehicle speed does not exceed 40mph. Engine must be turned off for a few minutes for normal drive to resume.

- Whitestone, NY, USA

problem #5

May 122015

Rogue

  • 22,400 miles
While driving at 65 mph in traffic on a bridge with no shoulder my rouge died. The engine shut off completely, my breaks locked up and were hard to push. This bridge is extremely dangerous and has fatal accidents on a regular basis. I have never felt so scared and helpless as I prayed the other cars could see that I was not moving. This is extremely dangerous and could have been fatal.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #4

Aug 152014

Rogue

  • 800 miles
I bought new Nissan Rogue select 2014 on July 13,2014. For the first month it was working excellent. Suddenly I started hearing a click sound ( some times louder). This sound I feel coming from engine near right front wheel. I reported this in my first 1000 mile inspection, but service department said it is normal. Then I drove same vehicle of my friend, I did not feel any such sound. During my first service ( 6 months service) I again mentioned same thing to service dept. This time they explained that this is coming because shifting from back gear to driving mode. But if it is normal then why other vehicle does not have this kind of sound. Also, some times it is very scary. We feel that something is broken. But we are not getting any help. Thanks

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 072015

Rogue

  • 13,293 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway at 70 mph, the vehicle made a very loud "clunking" noise and started descending rapidly, I was able to get over to the breakdown lane, the error message that came on was "emission system error" I was instructed by the owners manual to check the fuel door to see if it was open, it was not, they also said that it may be that there was under 3 gallons of fuel in the tank which there was not. The manual also stated that it was okay to drive the vehicle at 45 mph, when I started the vehicle again, another error message came on when I tried to go, it stated "chassis system error". I took it to the dealer, darlings Nissan, they hooked up to the computer, they cannot re-create the issue, yet the service department has told me that it is not safe, that they do not want me back in my vehicle until they have found something, they have had my car for over 2 weeks with nothing being found. They are having a regional tech come to test drive extensively to see if he can find something. I have read all the numerous complaints on this vehicle and I have come to one conclusion, Nissan does not make a good quality product and I am sorry I ever switched from my Explorer to this horrible contraption of a car.

- Old Town, ME, USA

problem #2

Sep 282014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 9,600 miles
I had a severe accident with my 2014 Nissan Rogue AWD which almost killed me and my entire family. It was a miracle that we are alive. However my wife has some injury on the neck....updated 10/20/14 on 9/28 early morning, we were driving (in middle lane) on freeway (I-5 - southbound) at a normal speed and all of sudden I heard a big sound in the front of the car. I was alert but before I could react, the next moment my car rolled on the passenger side and then upside down (on the front hood and front part of the roof) and got dragged and at the same time turned. Finally the back of my car hit the curb with full force and then it rested on the passenger side (between exit 109 and 108) but now it was facing northbound. I broke the windshield to come out and with the help from passersby; I could safely bring my wife and 3 year old out of the car. All these happened so quickly but I remember what happened as I did not blackout. Neither my car hit any other car nor did anything hit my car. And luckily there was no truck or car following us. It's a brand new 2014 Nissan Rogue which I bought in Jan 2014. I still cannot understand how come such a serious failure could occur. The vehicle is now totaled and I have logged a complaint with Nissan but I am still waiting for a reply. I want this to be investigated as I do not want other families to experience what we have been going through. Updated 05/21/2015

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #1

Jan 122014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
On Sunday January 11th, 2014, my family and I were on our way home. After stopping at a service station my husband pulled onto the highway and was accelerating to the appropriate speed and the car just got stuck at 6500 RPM's and 60 mph. It stayed that way for about 5 miles, we could slow down but the RPM's were still stuck at 6500 and the engine was making a horrible sound, the car would not accelerate and several times we had to ride the shoulder of the road. When we finally reached the road we live off of my husband was able to slow down and turn while turning the awful noise got a little lower but a new noise was heard, a whining sound. After turning, the car lost all gas, nothing happened when the accelerator was pushed and then finally it started to go again. We arrived at our home my husband opened the hood and told me to press the accelerator a little and then he saw small puffs of smoke. I smelled something like burning rubber while sitting in the drivers seat and my husband said he smelled something sweet under the hood. This car was bought brand new on January 4th, 2014, it had 25 miles when purchased. The mileage on January 11th was around 500. This is a dangerous vehicle, I am waiting on the dealership to call and let me know what they find.

- Molino, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?