Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,414 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Nissan Sentra miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments

problem #7

Mar 012014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

N/a

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #6

Nov 162010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles
Over the past 3 years, I've had my 2002 Nissan Sentra ser spec V into Nissan 15 times for service. They have yet to fix it. Every 1-7 months I have to bring it back. The car has shut off and stalled on me in traffic, which is very dangerous. The ECM has been replaced twice many others have reported problems with the ECM online I believe it is bad, as well as other parts, and Nissan needs to issue recalls on this car. Problem # / date / problem / solution #1 1/31/08/service engine soon (ses) light/recall R0712 reprogram ECM (update of the software). Evap leak (#1), resecure fuel cap #2 8/23/08/ses/idle air control reset (#1): Performed idle air relearn, reset ECM set idle, adjust idle control valve. $165 #3 1/9/09/car won't start/codes P0605, PO183, P2128, P1229, P0122. Replace ECM unit (#1) due to pulling too many codes // main harness pin test, repair fuel pump wire in main harness, $449 #4 1/28/09/ses / code P0455 evap gross leak (#2). Repair fuel lines, replace "O" ring, $302. #5 6/6/09/ses, stalls on highway / code P1456 evap very small leak (#3), recurred gas cap. #6 7/12/09/ses, no power / code PO233, replace throttle chamber (#1) #7 7/21/09/ses/code P1456 evap small leak (#4), replaced vent control valve #8 7/28/09/car shuts off in traffic / performed air idle learn (#2) #9 12/2/09/car shifting hard / santa monica Nissan determines there is no communication between the sensor and the ECM (computer), which means it's an electrical problem, and they want to do a pin test for $575 #10 12/7/09/ses/replaced throttle assembly (#2) #11 12/24/09/ses/replace radiator #12 4/24/10/ses/diagnostics showed tp sensor, performed idle control learn volume (#3) #13 5/12/10/ses, car stalls / replace throttle body sensor (#3) #14 11/6/10/ses/repaired ground wire at ECM #15 11/16/10/car shuts off in traffic / replace ECM, charge $111.50 for car rental I have a document with more info and receipts I can email, fax or send to you.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 282003

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Multiple complaints; none mentione din summmary.

- Orem, UT, USA

problem #4

Feb 012003

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R spec-V and in the one year that I had the vehicle, I've had a couple of things replaced due to defective parts. First, I had problems starting the vehicle and it was later determined that it was the fuel pump. Then they had to replace the clutch bearing because of some noise while shifting. Then they had to replace the cam sensor as the vehicle did not start one day. The vehicle constantly loses oil and one time it was bone dry after 3,500 miles. This seems like a constant problem for this model based on previous complaints. All in all, poor manufacturing of the engine components. After the floor mat recall, they replaced the floor mats and secured it to the carpet. Now, the carpet gets caught on the clutch pedal, so I have to shift the floor mats all the time.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #3

Mar 012003

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 9,900 miles
While on a major highway at 4:30pm driving about 60 mph, the accelerator stuck causing the 2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R to accelerate uncontrollably. The floor mat had come loose and jammed the accelerator. I had to shift to and kick the pedal loose. Very nearly caused a major accident. This fault was the subject of an earlier recall, but the solution by Nissan does not solve the problem. The floor mat easily comes off the puny little peg on the floor.

- Houston, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Jan 012002

Sentra

  • miles
While driving 15 mph engine surged up to 30-35 mph, and consumer lost control, hitting telephone pole. Engine light was illuminating. Dealer contacted.

- Rotter Dam Junction, NY, USA

problem #1

Dec 012001

Sentra

  • miles
The throttle got stuck wide open, the floor mats are not secured enough which cause the problem, if this happens to a inexperienced driver they could be killed very easily!

- Grass Valley, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?