Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,705 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Nissan Sentra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments

problem #3

Feb 162005

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,236 miles


This is a 2003 Nissan Sentra gxe, less than 2 months out of warranty and under 300 miles out of warranty. The first service date after the end of warranty, the dealer recommended a new fuel pump for the non-starting problem. The dates below show this problem with the fuel line was well-documented long before the warranty went out. I have taken it to the dealer 6 times in the past 18 months for the same problem. 06/11/04-- check engine light, dealer replaced spark plugs 08/09/04-- check engine light, dealer replaced coil assy-- ignition 06/25/05-- check engine light, no action by dealer-- but dealer said next time the light came on, a new fuel pump would be required. This happened out of town, so I only went to this dealer once. 07/26/05-- check engine light, no action by dealer because previous dealer did not record his diagnosis in file. 08/19/05-- car turning over but not starting. Aaa checked battery and said the battery was fine. Towed car to dealer. Dealer said car was flooded, cleaned out spark plug tubes, but did not fix cause of the non-starting. 10/21/05-- check engine light on, no action by dealer 12/23/05-- warranty runs out once in Jan. And once in Feb. 2006, the car did not turn over. When I took car in for routine oil change on February 16, 2006, advisor recommended a new fuel pump at cost of $695. The dealer called and asked Nissan usa for a goodwill claim which was denied. On Monday, Feb. 20, 2006, I called Nissan usa to file a request for this to be covered under warranty, considering the long record of this problem under warranty. I was to hear back in 24 hours. I made multiple calls through the week and received no answers and only one phone call back-- on Thursday-- to tell me that the file had been misdirected and that I should hear later. On Friday, Feb. 24, 2006, I called again and was told the claim was denied. The service rep. Could not tell me why and the advisor was not available.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #2

Oct 052005

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 32,880 miles
Purchased a new Nissan Sentra in Jan. 03'. started noticing long engine crank before start by Mar. 04'. dealer visit in Mar. 04' found no problem. Problem persisted until Sep. 04'. took vehicle to another dealer, problem was diagnosed as a fuel pump issue. Fuel pump was replaced at that time under warranty. A Nissan technical bulletin/service bulletin was issued in Jun. 05' detailing the specific issue. In Sep. 05' long crank problem returned. My vehicle is no longer under general warranty and the fuel pump is no longer under parts warranty and Nissan is refusing to help. The replacement fuel pump has the same problem as the original and now Nissan expects me to pay to fix the problem, although they have acknowledged the issue via their own technical bulletin/service bulletin. This makes no logical sense.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #1

Jun 072004

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
At 32,000 miles the consumer had to take the vehicle back to the dealership 15 times for repairs. The main issue was at 15,000 miles. The fuel pump was replaced. After that, the consumer had problems when turning, when he took his foot off the gas the vehicle sputered. The service manager test drove the vehicle and said it was normal. The consumer never experienced any problems until the fule pump was replaced. The vehicle had other problems such as 2 new fan belts, trunk flooded once. The heater control was replaced 4 times. There was a problem with the ignition switch.

- Bristol, TN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?