Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,356 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Sentra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Apr 102009


  • 46,000 miles


I was driving on a city road around 40 miles per hour. It stopped while I was driving. The engine light came on immediately, then all warning lights. It would not immediately start, had to leave in the turn lane with flashers on. We came back an hour later, and it started then. The vehicle is an 04 Sentra 1.8 S. after reading on the internet about recalls, we called the company, and they informed us there were no recalls on our particular VIN number. But the part replaced at our shop was the crankshaft position sensor, the same part that was recalled.

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #13

Jan 052009


  • 60,014 miles
At first my car was hesitating while I was driving and then the check engine light came on. I was having trouble starting it and it would stall occasionally. I took it to a shop and the problem was resolved for a few weeks. Today my car stalled twice in one minute and would not start back up. I managed to pull it into a parking space at work and I tried to start it again in the afternoon. I took a few tries and then it stalled when I tried to back out. My car was shaking and it had a bad smell. I decided to park it and I will have it towed to a shop tomorrow.

- North Potomac, MD, USA

problem #12

Feb 262008

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the vehicle would idle and lose power frequently while driving less than 75 mph. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and they discovered metal pieces under spark plug number 1. the mechanic removed and replaced spark plug number 1; however, the failure persisted and has been to the dealer. On a separate occasion, the vehicle would stall. An independent mechanic removed the intake manifold and found even more metal pieces in the engine from the power valve. Two of the power valves were irregularly shaped and were broken off into the engine. The failure has not been remedied. The failure mileage was 69,000 and current mileage was 70,000. Updated 01/14/09. Updated 01/15/09.

- Denver, IA, USA

problem #11

Sep 252008


  • 66,900 miles


While driving my 2004 Nissan Sentra ser 2.5, the car suddenly stopped for no apparent reason. Fortunately, the car following me did not collide with me. It would not restart immediately, but did start within about 10 minutes. I had a computer reading done today, and the code was P0340. The parts person mentioned that Nissan vehicles had previously had a recall for cam shaft sensors. I researched the internet and did find the exact description of my problem. I had not received any notice of that recall (campaign number 06V242000).; I would have answered that recall. Now, my question is this: What can be done to correct this defect in my car?

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #10

May 132008

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Driving vehicle @ 60 mph on highway and the vehicle sputtered and jerked several times and then ran ok. Stopped and parked the car for four hours and then drove home and it did it again at 55 mph. 5-13-08 it happened two more times at low speeds and actually died. It started back up and then ran fine. 5-31-08 dealership stated that the problem is the crankshaft sensor.

- Lawrenceburg , KY, USA

problem #9

Mar 312008

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 64,000 miles
I received a notice from Nissan stating that my vehicle was to be brought into a dealership and an ECM reprogramming was to be performed to correct the crankshaft position sensor issue. I did so back in January of 2008. My ECM never emitted any sort of error code, but I was having spontaneous stalling approximately twice a week. After the reprogramming, the problem stopped until approximately a month ago, when it stalled very hard while I was driving down the freeway. The "check engine" light came on, and I assumed it was just a misfire of the sparkplugs. It began stalling spontaneously at a rate of approximately 1-2 times per day then. Three weeks ago, I replaced the spark plugs, and took it to autozone to have the code checked. It stated that my crankshaft position sensor was faulty. I do not believe that a reprogramming of the computer will take care of the problem caused by the manufacturer's defect. I am worried for my safety while driving my vehicle, and would like Nissan to compensate me for the replacement of my vehicle's crankshaft position sensor.

- Kewaskum, WI, USA

problem #8

Jul 102007


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


2004 Nissan Sentra lost all power while driving. Consumer states that the vehicle completely shut down while driving 65 mph. Mechanic determined the failure was the crankshaft sensor. After the crankshaft sensor was replaced, the engine light illuminated and the vehicle would idle rough until it warmed up. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was determined the vehicle had a warped head. The mechanic informed the consumer there was a known problem that defective head bolts could cause the head to warp. The consumer believed the problems he experienced were related to the recall. The consumer contacted Nissan and provided his vehicle identification number. Nissan stated his VIN was not included in the recall.

- Midlothian, TX, USA

problem #7

Nov 232007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Sentra. There was a recall on the engine and engine cooling system; however she was never notified. She has not experienced any failures related to the recall. The dealer advised her to contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Vehicle VIN number is included and was advised to call and report the issue, because her engine light has continue to come and hesitate to started on numerous occasions. The failure and current mileage was 61, 967.--ds

- Camden, NJ, USA

problem #6

Aug 272007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 55,450 miles
My 2004 Nissan Sentra ser spec V showed the service engine soon light on August 28, 2007. A certified mechanic used a diagnostic tool to determine that the car had a malfunctioning crankshaft position sensor. Upon doing some research on the internet, I found that Nissan has issued a recall on some 2003 and 2004 Sentra and Altima with this problem. However, when I contacted my local dealership, I was informed that my car was not eligible for the recall warranty work and that the extended warranty I was given at the time of purchase does not cover this particular problem. If Nissan has acknowledged this problem and my car is having the problem, why do they refuse to fix it?

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #5

Feb 022007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Driving 65 on highway the vehicle stop running.

- Turners Falls, MA, USA

problem #4

Aug 172006

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 8,800 miles


: the contact stated while the vehicle is at an idle in heavy traffic, the engine stalled and would not restart. The vehicle was pushed aside out of traffic, and after an extended period of time, the engine restarted. The vehicle was seen by a dealer who replaced the crank sensor. After the replacement, the problem persisted. The dealer could not find a probelm. Updated 09/13/06.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #3

Mar 032006

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 100,400 miles
1) car began to run rough/surging/stalling for no apparent reason. 2) something has entered the engine causing marks on piston top/cylinder bores and damaging the spark plug. 3) brought car to dealer and was told spark plugs and air filter were to blame. I changed spark plugs and air filter. This allowed car to run better but still runs rough/surges/won't idle properly. Brought car to local garage and they inspected cylinder bores and found damage to piston and a 2nd piston/spark plug. They informed me that there is a recall for Sentra's but that my car was not included. This recall covers screws falling into motor. Called the dealer and was told the car needs to be reset because of the air filter was not an original replacement brand filter. When told about damages in motor there was no reply. When asked if there is a recall for my vehicle I was told there wasn't one. Called Nissan and was told about a recall and that my car is covered but after further review they changed their mind and said that my car was not covered. My car is the same make/model/engine size as the recalled vehicles. I'm trying to get my car included in the recall.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #2

Apr 082004


  • 4,400 miles
While driving 35 mph engine stalled. As a result, vehicle lost power.

- Gales Ferry, CT, USA

problem #1

Apr 082004

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,490 miles
2004 Nissan Sentra. Born on date of April 2003. Bought in Oct 2004. Currently has 4495 miles. Car stalled twice. Brought to dealership on 04/02/2004 to check for problem (4331 miles). No failure codes indicated in memory of computer. On April 8th the car was involved in an accident. Son has memory loss from stop sign to when car came to rest. He does not have full memory recall. It is coming back but is spotty. He currently recalls talking to a paramedic, a small bumping sensation and dashboard lights coming on (like when the car stalled before). Is there any other information about these cars? I know there is a recall for cars built from Jan 2000 to March 2003 for cases of stalling. We got this car brand new. Only Nissan has performed any mntc. Oil change.

- Gales Ferry, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?