Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,027 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Sentra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments

problem #16

Jun 102011

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 128,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 6/10/11 while I was driving my 2004 Nissan Sentra 1.8L, the service engine light came on and the car lost power. I could not go no faster than 30 mph. I pulled over and had my car towed to the local dealer. They said that the head gasket was leaking internally into the #3 cylinder and that the spark plugs were unremovable. They said that one of spark plugs were fused inside the cylinder. The spark plugs were replaced at the same dealer in April 2010. At a cost of $1002.08 they replaced the cylinder head gasket and valve cover gasket. I could not afford the extra $800 to fix the spark plug problem. There was no warning before this happened other than the service engine light coming on at the same time the car lost power. I was driving on a state highway going 55 mph when this happened. I have read on here several complaints about the head gasket problem and cars losing power. My Sentra has 128,900 miles on it when the problem occurred. I keep my oil changed every 3 months and keep up with the general maintenance on my car. Since this happened all of a sudden I do believe there is a safety issue here. If I had been in the interstate (which I would have been if this happened 20 miles later) I would not have been able to pull over or avoid an accident.

- Scottsville, KY, USA

problem #15

May 122010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
While driving my 2004 Nissan Sentra (1.8 liter 4 cyl fuel injected) at low speeds it has stopped running with no warning. This has happened 5 times over the last 5 months, with the last three times happening in the last two days. Obviously this is a dangerous situation. When it's happened I've turned off the car and waited a few minutes. If I start the car too quickly the problem immediately resurfaces. There is a recall for this exact problem for the 2004 Nissan Sentra with a 2.5 liter engine. The same problem also occurred in a friend's car last year who has the exact same car, bought at the same dealership, as mine.

- Wales, MA, USA

problem #14

Feb 032009

Sentra

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that when traveling at various unknown speeds or when sitting idle at a traffic light, the vehicle would stall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was also taken to an independent mechanic for a replacement of the head gasket and fuel pump. She was notified by the dealer that the manufacturer advised them to replace the timing belt in an attempt to correct the failure. The contact did not believe that neither the dealer nor manufacturer was able to accurately diagnose the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000 and the approximate current mileage was 74,000.

- Sharon, MA, USA

problem #13

Jan 272010

Sentra

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Sentra. Whenever the contact drove the vehicle at any speed including approximately 45 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. The contact also noticed that the vehicle stalled occasionally. The vehicle was not diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 111000.

- Chickasha, OK, USA

problem #12

Jan 072010

Sentra

  • 110,077 miles
At 65mph the engine shutoff. After that incident the engine shuts down frequently and only starts after 10min approx after repeated engine cranking.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 152004

Sentra

  • 75,000 miles
Engine shuts off while driving. Started a month ago, has been happening once a week but getting more frequent. Was told it was the crankshaft sensor. There is a recall on the 2.5L not the 1.8L that I own.

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #10

Feb 012009

Sentra

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

One day my check engine light came on. I own an obd2 diagnostic reader and it gave me the code P0335 which translates to crankshaft position sensor a circuit malfunction. I did some research and there was a recall on the 2002 and 2003, and later included some 2004 models of my car (mine is a 2004) for the same failure. I called Nissan and they looked up my VIN number and told me there was no open recalls for my car. I purchased a new sensor and installed it, cleared the check engine light, and checked for any remaining codes. None were present. I tested the old sensor according to the Nissan repair manual's method and it tested good. A day after I replaced the sensor the check engine light came on again with the same failure code. I called Nissan again and explained my situation to them and they still told me my car was not in the recall. So far what I have experienced is a momentary loss of power under certain driving conditions like going uphill at approximately 2000 RPM. Also it does not want to start sometimes, which is becoming more frequently, and according to forum sites I've visited is directly related to this.

- Paso Robles, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 022008

Sentra

  • 105,000 miles
We had problems in order to turn it on. Then car suddenly stop running in the freeway. We were lucky we did not have an accident. Then the light of the engine went on. I took it to my mechanic. He told me about the recall R0606 for Nissan Sentra 2004 engine 2.5 lt took to the nearest dealer to have my car repair, they did not want to repair unless a pay for it. I had to pay because they claim that the bin was nat in their computer, Y told them that I was going to complaint to NHTSA they told me that I can do wherever I want. So I pay $275 dlls to have repaired.

- Los Angles, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 182008

Sentra

  • 78,000 miles
While driving my car at slow speeds the engine died. This resulted in reduction in steering and braking ability. No accident or injury occurred though. Engine would crank, but not spark plugs would not fire, so car could not be started and had to be pushed to the curb to get it out of traffic. Car was towed to mechanic who replaced the camshaft timing detector and reprogrammed the computer which solved the problem. Old part was disposed.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #7

Aug 262008

Sentra

  • 96,946 miles
Mt wife's car suddenly died without warning. The dealership told us it was a defective crankshaft position sensor. It was a $589 repair. I know that Nissan has had other model years with recalls over sensors causing sudden engine loss. This incident with my wife happened while she was entering a freeway on ramp. She and her coworkers were towed back to her office. The next day the car started right up and was running fine. I drove it to the shop but it suddenly died after running for about 3 minutes. Luckily I was on a side street.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #6

Mar 202004

Sentra

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light came on right after I purchased car -dealer kept the car for a few months and check engine light problem repaired...came on again and again and again-dealer kept saying they repaired the problem but I needed a new motor 10/2007 -the car stayed at the dealer until 1/2008 that is when I could pay the $5800. Cost of a new motor (est was $2400) check engine light came on again 6/2008 dealer repaired -sd "needed computer update"-check engine light on again and running ragged again 7/30/08. I want to be reimbursed for the engine replacement and for Nissan to buy the car back at trade in value and I will never purchase another Nissan.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #5

May 172008

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
My 04 Nissan Sentra 2.5L QR25 engine is eating oil 4.5 quarts in 300 miles due to a precat failure on oem header which when failed on deceleration sucks material back into the engine causing piston rings and inner seals to fail and can lead to engine fire. I have found this info also on other model Sentra too.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #4

Nov 122007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
I have a 1.8 liter engine (Nissan Sentra) and it is experiencing the same problems that are listed on NHTSA campaign 06V242000 for the 2.5L engine. The 11/12/2007 is the third sensor failure and engine cutoff since June 2007. The dealership has replaced the same sensor each time, and I have been lucky to have been on fairly empty freeways at the time of the failure or I would have been in an accident.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 152006

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,500 miles
Situation recurring: Long crank time before engine turns over and starts. This situation occurs when vehicle has been running for thirty minutes or more and is turned off and turned right back on as well as when vehicle sits overnight and is started in the morning. Problem!

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #2

Mar 202005

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,010 miles
I have a 2004 Nissan Sentra (1.8 engine, auto trans). On two occasions I have experienced the engine unexpectedly revving up while stopped at an intersection with my foot on the brake and not the accelerator. Several months ago, I was stopped at a traffic light, car in drive, foot on brake. The engine began steadily increasing the idle speed and the engine revved (with my foot ton the brake the whole time) to I would guess 2500-3000 rpms. Just as quickly, revving ceased and the engine returned to a normal idle speed. The increase and decrease in idle speed probably occurred over about 5-8 seconds. About two weeks ago, I had a similar episode, again while stopped at a light, with the car in drive and my foot on the break. This time, the engine began to rev at an even higher RPM rate. I put the car in neutral and the car revved violently at a rate that must have been approaching full throttle. It sort of revved full and then backed off slightly several times before I turned the ignition off. Once the engine shut off, I restarted the car and everything was back to normal. I took the car to the dealer and they could not duplicate the problem. They adjusted the idle but I have no confidence that the problem is resolved. This is a safety issue, it is my daughter's car, and I am concerned. I suspect a computer failure of some kind. Nissan must be pressured to resolve this issue.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #1

Feb 072004

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 9,000 miles
I was driving down the road after having the car repaired twice already and then bolts fell out of the engine. This caused the car to stall the same as when the catalyst was burned up. The catalyst had been replaced along with the engine. I still have problems to this day with funny smells and rattles.

- Granby, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?