Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Sentra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments

problem #10

Jul 082015

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 151,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the highway and suddenly lost engine power and car shut off and would not restart immediately. After waiting approximately 5 minutes the car restarted. There were a total of three different incidents ( so far) of this happening to my car. I had it checked by a mechanic and nothing could be found to be wrong ( no codes came up). I did some research and discovered that Nissan had recalled vehicles for the same issue ( cam shaft and crank sensors overheating). I called Nissan and was told that even though my vehicle appears to have the same issue it is not part of the recall. However, it is part of the massive airbag recall which makes this even more of a deadly concern..Nissan needs to recall all VIN numbers that are having this shut off issue. When I called they were very standoffish and unhelpful. I am not in a position to pay for costly repairs especially when it is an issue that needs to be addressed and recalled by Nissan....updated 08/25/15 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 09/08/15

- White Haven, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 082011

Sentra

  • 101,000 miles
The following complaint is concerning NHTSA campaign # 07V527000 and #06V223000 both of these recalls deal with the automobile I own, a 2006 Nissan Sentra, which I purchased brand new in May 2006. I have been having major issues out of the crankshaft and camshaft sensors in the vehicle and oil intake over the last 18 months. The car would die while I was driving and became very hard to start as well as the oil intake became excessive. After 3 visits to the dealerships as well as 3 visits to local auto repair shops with only temporary fixes, I was at last informed around mid December 2012 by one of the mechanics at the local shop that there had been a recall on similar vehicles. I looked the information up and was shocked to see there was a recall in 2006 and 2007 on 2006 Nissan Sentra. After speaking with North american Nissan I learned that the recall was VIN specific and my car, while being the same make, model, and year as the vehicles recalled, was not included in the recall. I spoke with a regional manager off and on for the next few weeks who informed me in the end there was nothing they could do because the car is out of warranty. I even had a diagnostic ran at the North little rock Nissan dealership on December 21, 2012 that states "crankshaft, camshaft sensors malfunctioning but in good condition, oil extremely low(which I just had it changed a few months ago), and possible ECM problem...all things stated in the recall. I have looked online and this seems to be an ongoing problem with this specific automobile regardless of VIN number.

- Searcy , AR, USA

problem #8

May 282012

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the vehicle was consuming more oil than normal. The contact was unable to locate an oil leak. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 06V223000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 71,000. Updated 06/27/12 updated 06/27/12.

- Ramona , CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 012010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Nissan Sentra. Consumer states engine light came on and vehicle suddenly slowed down and then stopped the consumer stated she had to turn off the vehicle and then turn it back on in order for the vehicle to start again. The consumer was informed the vehicle needed a new tp sensor. The consumer stated the tp sensor was replaced. However, she continued to experience problems. Updated 11/12/10.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 242010

Sentra

  • 35,184 miles
The check engine light came on and now the vehicle misses while driving and is almost impossible to start. The resulting error message is P0335 crankshaft position sensor error. There is a recall issued for 2006 Nissan Sentra and they are saying my VIN is not covered. The NHTSA action number is RQ06001 NHTSA campaign id number: 07V527000 component: Engine and engine cooling.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 102010

Sentra

  • 83,500 miles
Throttle on car goes out unexpectedly. Engine is still powered on, however acceleration is not possible.

- Platte City, MO, USA

problem #4

Jun 102010

Sentra

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A few weeks ago my car's engine started doing a stuttering thing while driving down the road or highway. It would just do it out of no where and it felt like the engine was about to shut off but it kept going. The check engine light came on after and it shows crank position sensor. I searched for this online and found this was a recall for my vehicle year, model and engine type. It stated that it could cause the engine to shut off while driving causing an accident. I took it into the dealing expecting to have this fixed under the recall but was informed that my vehicle's VIN was not on the list of affected vehicles and it would not be covered. My engine is still doing the stutter thing because I have not had it fixed yet and the manufacturer will not fix it under the recall because they say my vehicle was not affected even though it obviously was affected.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #3

Jan 012007

Sentra

  • 10,000 miles
My car had its serpentine belt going bad at 10000 miles. It makes a squeaky sound which can only be fixed by changing the belt. This seems to be a problem with many Sentra owners. Mine is a 2006 Nissan Sentra (special edition).

- Boalsburg, PA, USA

problem #2

May 012006

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Nissan Sentra 2006 4 door sedan experienced excessive oil consumption. I purchased vehicle at the end of April and I spent $2000 on a gas within 4 months. Nissan company won't fix the problem and not giving me a refund. Please help me what to do?.

- Carmel, NY, USA

problem #1

Jul 042006

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,341 miles
: the contact stated that after changing the oil in the vehicle, the oil cap was removed and oil was observed spurting from the tank while the vehicle was running. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic for inspection.

- Murfreesboro, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?