Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,706 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Titan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Titan Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jul 242008


  • 59,010 miles


ABS fails when braking over rough terrain/potholes causing loss of braking power/locking up of brakes.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #30

Jun 022008

Titan 8-cyl

  • 125,487 miles
I had total brake failure on my truck. The pedal goes completely to the floor intermittently during driving. Dealer reports they cannot find any problems even after showing them that the pedal does go to the floor. I believe it is a faulty master cylinder or brake booster, and can cause injury or death if it happens on the freeway or at any significant speed. I believe there should be a tech bulletin and a recall notice sent out asap, and the repairs to be made under warranty by Nissan.

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #29

Sep 262007

(reported on)

Titan 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
2004 Nissan Titan brake system problems. Customer states the brakes are prematurely wearing, which causes steering problems and vibration. The consumer began experiencing problems with the brakes at 12,000 miles. The dealer replaced the rotors due to them being warped. When trying to stop the vehicle, the pedal went all the way to the floor. Yet, the brake system did not slow or stop the vehicle. Nissan has attempted to fix the problem a number of times. The mechanic did notice the brake pedal going to the floor and the booster simultaneously making a noise.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #28

Jul 012004

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. While driving 20-50 mph, the brakes failed and the pedal extended to the floor when depressed. He continued to depress the brake pedal as much as possible and the vehicle eventually came to a complete stop. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that nothing was wrong. The brakes failed again and were replaced, however, the failure still persists. The failure mileage was approximately 7,000 and current mileage was 89,000. The consumer stated there are times will the brakes will not perform correctly at low speeds. The pedal will go all the way to the floor and a second later the brakes lock up increasing stopping distance. Updated 10/24/07.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #27

Sep 012007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. While driving 60 mph, the steering wheel vibrated and the brakes failed to instantly engage. The contact pulled over and looked under the hood, but could not locate the cause of failure. The vehicle was taken to the mechanic and he stated that the brakes needed to be changed. The VIN, engine size, and number of cylinders were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 63,000.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #26

Apr 042007

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Brakes on 2004 Nissan Titan chatter and make steering wheel shake when applied!

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #25

Feb 252007

Titan 8-cyl

  • 51,000 miles


Post that I submitted to Nissan: My Nissan 2004 Titan crew cab had a very scary brake problem today. I lost most or all of the braking capability in the truck. It had a clunking noise when trying to apply brakes. The brake light was on. I stopped the car. Ck'ed fluids (all ok) and restarted. Problem went away after restart. Pretty certain the dealer will not find a problem, they rarely do until it is completely broken. I have 51K miles and several brake problems. First: Is this covered by my 60K mile power train wrnty and is there a fix? I have left it at the dealer today but I need to know where the manufacturer stands (in writing or a reply to this email). Second, since this is such a severe safety issue we will assume that no reply to this email within 24hrs means the car is ok from the manufacturer point of view and no issues known to the manufacturer exists that deal with brakes or brake failure. The D&T of this submission is 3:30 pm Feb 25th 2007. Cc of this submission has bee sent to the cpsc and the NHTSA. Tks for your prompt attention. Joe.

- Monrovia, CA, USA

problem #24

Dec 132006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
I bought a Nissan Titan crew cab, new, in 2004. In June of 2006 the brakes had a complete failure and went all the way to the floor without stopping the truck. This happened several time on my way to the dealership. The Nissan dealership stated the problem was that the software needed upgrading. The saleman also noted that they have had problems with the breaks in the Nissan Titans and armadas. They upgraded the software. The process was called " misc reprogram vdc with update" which I had to pay for. They fixed the issue for that occurence. The breaks worked until yesterday, Dec 13, 2006 when the breaks did the same thing, causing me to run off the road to avoid rear ending into another car. I did not read in the owners manual anywhere, where it stated I must bring the truck in for a computer software upgrade to make the brakes work appropriately. The truck is at the Nissan dealership now to figure out the problem.

- Altamonte Springs, FL, USA

problem #23

Sep 102006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,620 miles
While pulling out of a parking lot truck brake lights came on suddenly then brake pedal went to the floor when pressed. Brakes had a grabbing effect not a smooth stop. After truck was parked and ignition turned off brakes were normal when restarted truck. Its a good thing there wasn't any traffic and road was not level with minimal traffic at that time.

- Haiku, HI, USA

problem #22

Sep 112006

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds, the brake pedal went to the floor intermittently. Other times, when the brake was applied, the pedal would not go to the floor, but when the pedal was depressed, the vehicle would not stop. The computerized brake assist system activated unexpectedly and randomly causing the contact to be thrown forward in the vehicle. The dealership was aware of the problem.

- Finksburg, MD, USA

problem #21

Aug 152006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,272 miles


: the contact stated while driving 65 mph on a freeway a vibration was observed in the front of the vehicle and there was squealing when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle had only 3000 miles when it was taken to the dealership who determined the front brakes were too old. The two front rotors were replaced however the brake problems continued. The vehicle was taken to replace the front rotors 5 times. The sixth time the vehicle was taken to the dealership all four rotors were replaced. The contact expressed concern because the vehicle continued with the brakes problem and it has represented a serious safety risk. Updated 9/13/2006 - when the brake pedal was depressed there was a popping sound, the pedal vibrated and the pedal fell to the floor. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for service and the consumer was told that the brakes on the right side were cracked and the ones on the left side were about to crack. The last technician who worked on the vehicle told the consumer she was having problems because she didn't know how to drive the car.

- Amargosa Valley, NV, USA

problem #20

Jul 192006


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Brakes go to floor, have little braking and brake light illuminates during decent down hills. That is a bad time to lose the brakes.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #19

Jun 042006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2004 Nissan truck VIN [xxx] brake pedal goes to the floor the dealership has put 2 master cylinders on it but has not fixed the problem they tell me this is normal. I have a 16 year old son who is learning to drive. This problem comes and goes but it did it to him and scared him because he thought he had no brakes. The brakes are real spongy and go all the way to the floor if pressed firmly. In a hard braking situation such as on a steep hill at low speeds the brakes goes to the floor. This has been going 2 years. Updated 07/6/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #18

May 152006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,751 miles
Brake and rear end failure.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #17

May 102006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
I recently purchased a used 2004 Nissan Titan with 15,000 miles. Soon after purchase the vehicle began to shake when braking. Now it has progressed to a violent shaking of the entire vehicle when braking, making it unsafe to drive. I am planning to replace the rotors, but from what I have read this is only a temporary fix. Nissan should recall and replace the braking system because lives depend on an effective braking system.

- Ruckersville, VA, USA

problem #16

Mar 152006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,090 miles
Since purchasing my truck in August of 2004 I have experienced several brake related issues. I've taken the truck to the same dealer for service on each failure/issue. The break issues experienced have been brake lights turning on, brakes shuddering, the truck not braking properly, brakes not working until the pedal was almost completely pressed. Recently the truck failed to stop resulting in a rear end collision. The dealer has replaced/resurfaced rotors, brake pads and replaced sensors during the past year and a half. However, I continue to experience issue after issue regarding the brakes. I have had other defects as well, but the brake issues have been the primary issue.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #15

Jan 082006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,635 miles
Problem with Nissan Titan 2004-traveling on 01/08/06 in Nissan pickup truck w/approx. 28,000 miles on it, attempted to brake, vehicle began swaying violently out of control, brake pedal went to the floor and spun vehicle 180 degrees facing North on the shoulder of the southbound lane of nys thruway. Towing jayco 23' travel trailer; the trailer jack-knifed and hit vehicle. Nys police called a tow truck because vehicle's brake pedal went to the floor and vehicle was not driveable. In the fall Nissan sent a letter to truck owners regarding a "brake judder" condition extending the warranty period.upon receipt of letter, requested that our local dealer address the issue; were informed until we experienced the "judder" problem, repairs could not commence. Since that time, tires have been rotated, oil changed, and nys inspection in December. Contacted Nissan Corp headquarters and were informed factory rep would inspect vehicle on 02/02/06 - approx 25-days after incident. Local dealership cannot inspect vehicle. No assistance by Nissan until inspection by factory representative determining fault, even though the braking system completely failed! after further investigation of this problem on several auto forum sites, it is evident that Nissan Titan's have a serious brake problem! there is no recall. We fear that someone will get maimed or killed!

- Gloversville, NY, USA

problem #14

Oct 152004

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact stated while stopping the front end vibrated. Twice while pressing the brake pedal, nothing happened and causing the vehicle to slide off the road, and dented the vehicle. The vehicle has been to the dealership nine times for these problems. The dealership rotated the tires once, changed the brake pads, rotors, and discs, and replaced the tires. The vehicle was not vibrating as much, but the problem has not been fixed. Updated 12/7/2005.

- Guntersville, AL, USA

problem #13

Sep 172005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
2004 Titan SE with big tow package. Asd of 26000 miles have had brakes replaced four times, the last time by a Nissan engineer. Also a replaced brake booster. Have already had the recall brakes, those were put on the second time, at 21000 and were problems shortly after, so the recalled brake parts do not work!!! Nissan corporation told us that they felt no responsibility or obligation to replace our vehicle. I feel a class action law suit coming up. And by the way, truck struggles towing 6500lbs, even though it is suppose to tow 9500.

- Kaaawa, HI, USA

problem #12

Jul 012005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Brake judder, lack of formal recall, denial of safety issues, lack of repair/replacement parts.

- Uxbridge, MA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?