Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 2
Average Mileage:
7,621 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Titan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Titan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #79

Apr 052005


  • 3,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. The contact stated when the brakes were applied, the vehicle would violently shake. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the rotors were out of round. The brake pads were replaced and the rotors were resurfaced under warranty. The failure recurred a few more times and the manufacturer issued and unknown brake recall. The vehicle was repaired under the recall but the failure continued to recur. He stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer approximately seven times for the brake failure where the rotors would be resurfaced. The failure continued to recur. The failure mileage was 3,000 and the current mileage was 49,000.

- Woburn, MA, USA

problem #78

Jan 012010


  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. He noticed that the brakes were not opearting properly. He took the vehicle to the dealer for routine maintenance and he was informed that he needed new rotors. He stated that the rotors were replaced on June 28, 2005. He contacted the manufacturer however they did not offer him any assistance. The failure mileage was 57,000 and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Greenwich, CT, USA

problem #77

Feb 202008

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
Nissan North America has incorrectly defined the condition "brake judder" as steering wheel shake, body vibration or brake pedal pulsation while braking (emphasis mine), especially at highway speeds. My problem manifested itself at highway speeds while no braking was being accomplished, and was extreme after the purchase of new premium tires (toyo open country H/T). While a fix has been offered for "brake judder" as Nissan defines it, I was told at two different Nissan dealers that it would not remedy my problem. My problem surfaced before the 36 month/ unlimited mileage limitation, but I did not utilize the warranty coverage because my situation did not fit the definition. An independent tire dealer mechanic (who used to work for Nissan) indicated that defective rotors were indeed the problem, and internet forums and lemon law websites supported his claim. Since I had exceeded the 36 month limit by 90 days, I elected to let the local independent tire dealer install the Nissan parts. He was correct! problem solved (at least for now). I called Nissan Consumer Affairs line to complain, and to let them know that I felt that a safety recall should have been implemented because of the extreme safety implications involved--and not the company cost saving measures of a couple of tsbs and a feebly modified basic auto warranty. Nissan is acutely aware that they have a problem. She asked me what Nissan na could do for me? I replied, "pay for the parts and labor that it cost me to fix my truck, which total $747.65." She asked if I had the receipts for the repairs and I answered in the affirmative. When I disclosed that and independent tire dealer had installed the Nissan parts (done by a former Nissan technician), reimbursement for parts and labor were resolutely denied because a Nissan dealer didn't do the job (the same folks who told me I no longer had warranty coverage, and that the fix" would not remedy my particular problem). Updated 03/17/08

- Headland, AL, USA

problem #76

Jan 012006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,500 miles


I have a 2004 Nissan Titan le extend cab with off road package and towing package. I have had to have the brakes looked at about every 20K miles. I currently have 67K on it, and I had it in the shop for 3 day while waiting on Nissan Corp to decide if they would still cover the brake defect. The dealer told us they could only turn the rotors and replace the pads, which they did 2X's. now it needs new rotors and pads, and suddenly the recall is no longer in effect, so I will have to pay over $500 to get this done. I refuse, and I am still waiting on Nissan Corp to call me. I will never buy another Nissan again, their customer service is horrible.

- Kodak, TN, USA

problem #75

May 012005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. The dealer replaced the pads and rotors due to a recall on the vehicle. While coming to a stop at 5 mph, the vehicle rattled. The dealer replaced the pads and rotors again, however, the failure continued to occur. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 42,000 and failure mileage was 15,000. Updated 09/19/07

- Sunnyvile, CA, USA

problem #74

Aug 012007

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that the rotors on his vehicle have been replaced three times. The first time was in October of 2005 due to a safety recall. The second and third times were due to so much corrosion that the brake pads detached from the brakes. The power steering line has been replaced three times in two months. He also stated that the power steering failed intermittently while driving. The VIN, purchase date, speed, and recall number were unknown. The current mileage was 23,000 and failure mileage was 12,000.

- Nanty-Glo, PA, USA

problem #73

Sep 122006

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,908 miles


: the contact stated the brake pedal was soft and when making a sudden stop, the brake had to be pumped in order to stop. The brake light illuminated on the vehicle. The pads and rotors were changed twice, but the problem persisted. There was a vibration in the steering wheel.

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #72

Aug 152006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,191 miles
: the contact stated when the brake pedal was applied, the brakes shook, vibrated and stopping power was diminished. The dealership replaced the front rotors and pads five times. The first time the pads and rotors were replaced after 4,000 miles. The fifth time the front pads and rotors were replaced at 27,000 miles. The contact was unsure of the mileage in between. The vehicle was at the dealership awaiting repair.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #71

Jan 042005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1-knocking sound, sounds like a diesel engine. 2-body & steering wheel vibration at idle. 3-hissing sound when heat or ac is on. 4-rotors replaced 3 times. Still having some problem. 5-when idle in gear (idle drops below 500 steering start to vibrate. 6-vibration on brake pedal. 7-emergency brake not holding when in park.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #70

Mar 012005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,500 miles
: the contact stated the brakes became soft and spongy, and then the front end began to vibrate. The dealership determined the rotors were warped and turned the rotors. The problem recurred and the vehicle is currently at the dealership. The contact stated the rotors are not the correct size for the vehicle. Updated 03/17/06.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #69

Dec 232004

Titan 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Numerous problems have arisen with my leased 2004 Nissan Titan king cab. Including serious vibration problems that occurred upon braking to the point the vehicle was parked until the dealer finally agreed to at least 'turn' the rotors. Eventually brakes were replaced by dealer 6 months after the initial problem. Currently facing problems including a noise at startup that everyone can hear except the dealer mechanics, an overflow problem with gas tank even though just a few liters have been put in an empty tank. Additionally major problems with driver side door refusing to open from both the inside and outside. Dealer has realigned door numerous times but problem continues. Dealer states the door problem is due to a poor design with a heavy door on inadequate hinges. Occasionally have had to drive while holding door closed. Extremely dangerous considering weight of door. This truck is barely one year old and problems just keep piling up with little dealer support offered.

- Regina, 00, USA

problem #68

Oct 182005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I have a 2004 Nissan Titan, which I bought from East Carolina Nissan. I have returned the vehicle three times for repairs to the brake system. They have replaced parts each time. The brakes still do not stop the vehicle. I wrote the manager and he said he would not refund my money or replace the vehicle under the federal lemon law.

- Morehead City, NC, USA

problem #67

Jun 012005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
When applying brake pressure at no particular speed the steering wheel violently shakes. The brakes do work, but the steering wheel is affected. The consumer went to the dealer, who said they could turn down the rotors, but the problem would return. The consumer did not want the rotors turned down, he wants them replaced. The consumer contacted Nissan of North America several times, and they will not return calls or discuss the issue. The consumer filed a complaint with Nissan. No repairs or corrections have been made at this time. The consumer felt this was a temporary fix.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #66

Aug 012005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
A 2004 Nissan Titan. While the consumer was driving the brakes failed. This has happened at least three times. When pressing on the brakes they will not hold. This did not happen every time. The brakes, and anti-lock brake light came on. When contacted the dealership they told him that rotors needed replacement, and they have been reengineered by Nissan. Consumer has been waiting at least 2 months for the replacement. The most recent incident occurred on 8-1-05.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #65

Mar 302005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
Approximately four months after purchasing my 2004 Nissan Titan I gradually began experiencing a 'shudder while braking' problem. The problem quickly escalated and became greater and greater. On March 30th, 2005, I took the truck into passport Nissan of marlow heights, Maryland for repairs. At this point I learned through the service manager that Nissan was aware of the problem but they did not have permanent repair kit for the problem. My truck was out of service for one day and they returned my truck indicating that they resurfaced the rotors and replaced the brake pads. This procedure was only a temporary solution for the problem. Approximately 4,000 miles later the 'shudder w/braking' problem re-occurred. Just as before the problem escalated and became greater and greater. On July 07th, 2005, I returned my 2004 Nissan Titan to the same dealership for the same repair. On July 12th, 2005, I picked up my truck and discovered that no repairs had been made and the problem still existed. The service manager indicated to me that parts were on order. As of the date of this report, the problem still exist and Nissan does not have a corrective repair kit for this defect. The service manager also indicated that Nissan of America was aware of the problem and that they were working on a solution. To my knowledge there has been no recall for this defect and there probably should be one. The brakes on my truck are terrible and at time appear ineffective, especially in wet weather. In my opinion Nissan has not addressed this problem appropriately. I am aware of other Nissan Titan owners who are experiencing the same problem and none of them have received notification about this defect or anything that Nissan is doing to rectify the defect.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #64

Jul 222005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles
Having front rotors replaced for the second time due to warping. First failure occoured around 3000 miles with lots of brake shudder. Rotors and associated hardware were replaced and problem resolved. Second failure occouring at 7500 miles with brake shudder. Rotors replaced again by dealer.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #63

Jul 152005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
Contact states she leased a vehicle from lia Nissan with 17 miles on it in 9-04. She heard a squeaking noise in the brakes. Also, the brakes went all the way to the floor. She took vehicle to a Nissan dealership in 1-05. They could not find anything wrong with the brakes. About 2 months later around April or may she noticed the steering wheel shaking when applying the brakes, and she would have to pump the brakes to get them to stop. This happens every time she applied the brakes regardless of the speed she was traveling. She has never had any warning lights to come on. Her husband told her that the shaking in the steering wheel was probably because the rotors on the brakes were bad. She called the dealership again, and they said there was a recall on the brakes, but they did not have the parts to fix it and they would mill the brakes down until the parts came in, to help eliminate the shaking. She never received any recall letters. A recall number was not available. In late may her husband took the car in to have the brakes milled down again. They put them on a waiting list for when the parts do come in. Today (7-15-05) when she went in, she was #18 on the waiting list; where in may she was #10 on the waiting list. The dealership will not relinquish any kind of receipts or documentation of the vehicle ever being there.

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

problem #62

Jul 112005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
At 6000 miles, the front brakes vibrated and pulled to the right on application. This occurred again at 11,000 miles and again at 15,000 miles. On all occasions the dealer resurfaced the rotors. Nissan advises they are aware that the rotors are too small but doesn't consider it a safety issue so they are only repairing the trucks as parts become available.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #61

Apr 142005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Brake rotors became warped with only 5,000 miles on my 2004 Titan SE crew cab. Dealer says have to bring it in for 2 fixes, that they know don't work in the long run, before Nissan will allow them to order the parts for the permanent fix of installing larger heavy duty rotors along with some other parts. This is a very dissappointing reponse from Nissan for a very serious and very common problem. Also, I've spoken with approx. 5 Titan owners and all have the same problem.

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #60

Jun 062005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
Nissan has acknowleged that the brakes on Nissan Titan are inadequate. This causes the rotors to warp under even the lightest use. They told me that the demand for the replacement parts is very high, therefore the remedy is to go the dealership, have the rotors turned twice before they will order parts. I asked to order the parts right away without turning the rotors first and they declined. Meantime, I am driving a brand new truck with 6000 miles on it with warped rotors. I do not feel that I am in imminent danger however this is a braking problem which in my opinion is of utmost importance.

- Clackamas, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?