Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,610 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Titan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Titan Owner Comments

problem #18

Jul 182007

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear axle seals leaking fluid onto rear brakes, rear differential failure from leaks.

- Gloucester, MA, USA

problem #17

Nov 052005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle new. At 7000 miles I started experiencing severe brake shudder whenever I applied the brakes. The dealer replaced the front pads and rotors and turned the rear rotors. Brakes should last longer than 7000 miles.

- Columbus, MS, USA

problem #16

Dec 102006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles
I bought my 2005 Nissan Titan crew cab 4X4 le new in may of 2005. Since then I have had to have my brakes/rotors replaced and resurfaced 3 times do to sever brake vibration. The first time was at 7500 miles, second was at 15000 miles and now at 25000 miles. This is horrible and very dangerous. The brakes are obviously undersized for a vehicle that is advertised to tow 10,000 lbs, and I am having these problems without ever towing anything.

- Quarryville, PA, USA

problem #15

May 232005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 941 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 941 miles, 9 days after buying the vehicle; the front brakes would make a sound when stepping on and letting off the brakes. It also felt like they were dragging. A lot of brake dust was also noted on the rims. It felt as if the front brake pads were worn out. The dealer checked all 4 brakes and gave my husband a "reason" why the pads were wearing so soon. Brakes on front found to be at 12mm with no abnormal wear...rotors were said to be ok as well. Also noted a snapping noise when turning left, slow turns, sharp turns and when we almost would come to a stop. During road test they said they could hear the ABS click and it was normal as was all other suspension. And for some reason the state inspection sticker had not been updated prior to our leaving the lot.

- Eddington, ME, USA

problem #14

Mar 112006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,443 miles
I purchased my 2005 Nissan Titan on September 28, 2005. I noticed a vibration beginning in late February 2006 when braking. On March 11, 2006, the brakes were reported within normal limits during regular scheduled maintenance at 17344 miles. The service technician reported that the rotors were warped and recommended an updated brake kit if the vehicle had not already had it. The service advisor stated that there was no need to do this work until the brakes needed to be replaced and that the vehicle was still safe to drive. The vibration has consistently worsened since that time and the entire truck vibrates when braking. I feel that this is a manufacturer's defect. I have owned many other trucks and never required brakes or rotor repair within 6 months of purchase. I have researched different websites to discover there have been no recalls in this area.

- Show Low, AZ, USA

problem #13

May 102006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
: the contact stated while applying brake pressure at various speeds the front of the vehicle vibrates. The vibrations can be felt in the steering wheel and the driver's side floor board. The problem occurs without warning and has progressively become worse. The vehicle has not been inspected.

- Edina, MN, USA

problem #12

Mar 022006

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving downhill 30mph on a wet road, brake pressure was applied and there was a front end vibration as though the ABS engaged. This was followed by the vehicle's rear end sling around and striking some brush and trees with minor damage. No injuries were sustained and the police were not contacted. The vehicle was seen by a dealer which replaced the rotors, but suggested the accident could be attributed to the wet road conditions.

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #11

Feb 172006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Warped rotors, 4 attempts to repair with less than 17000 mi. The problem has just started for 5th time, less than 1000 miles after 4th attempt. The truck is only used for a family car not for heavy duty use.

- Tuolumne, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 032005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,200 miles
I purchased a new 2005 Nissan Titan le. The factory installed brakes are unsafe and inadequate for the vehicle. When the brakes were applied, the steering wheel would shake terribly. The dealership said they replaced the rotors due to the fact that the factory rotors were too small for the truck. The truck now has 7,000 miles on it and the terrible brake juddering is back. It makes the vehicle much more difficult to stop. It's a safety hazard.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #9

Dec 232005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
: the contact stated while stopping the brake pedal shook. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, who stated that during assembly the discs and rotors for a maxima were placed on this vehicle. The dealer offered to replace the discs and rotors, but the contact declined. The dealer indicated there could be multiple vehicles produced at the same plant with the incorrect braking components.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #8

Sep 142005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The consumer owns a 2005 Nissan Titan pickup truck and has to replace the brakes at 2,700 miles. The dealership is the one that changed the brakes. The dealer said that if they had to change the brakes again to bring the truck back in. The front rotors and pads were replaced, the back rotors were resurfaced, and the pads were replaced. The truck is driving fine now. The consumer has not contacted Nissan.

- Mcfarland, WI, USA

problem #7

Aug 052005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,600 miles
I was driving on route "a" state blacktop coming into a sharp corner and when I applied the brakes the front wheels began to shimmy very hard. It caused the 2005 Nissan Titan pickup to lose contact with the highway causing it to leave the road and overturn. The truck was totaled and I received minor injuries. Air bag and seat belt saved me. Nissan knows they have a problem and I was not notified about a possible brake problem until it wrecked me. They should be responsible for recalling all their trucks with this problem. If I would have died in the crash, no one would know the cause. I do not have the money to buy back the truck from the insurance company for the proof of warped rotors causing the accident. It also appeared the rear brakes did not work because the ABS system was confused? I could use some help here.

- Cameron, MO, USA

problem #6

Aug 282005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Nissan Titan. The consumer states on August 28, 2005 while driving 50 mph the vehicle in front of consumer's vehicle stopped suddenly. When applying the brakes the vehicle shook. The more the brakes were applied the more the vehicle shook. Consumer's vehicle went off road. This vehicle was too hard to control because of the shaking. The vehicle has not been looked at for shaking. There was a recall, and T recall repairs were performed a couple of months ago.

- Medisto, CA, USA

problem #5

Feb 202005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Major brake problem new rotors and new brake pads increased the problem now a major pull to center. They turned the rotor on the back brakes.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #4

Apr 122005

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Purchased a new 2005 Nissan Titan 4-door pick-up truck in February 2005. Both the manufacturer as well as the dealership knew of an existing safety problem regarding the braking system of both 2004 and 2005 Titan pick-up truck models, but failed to alert myself of the problem. I had to threaten to sue the dealership to provide and install the manufacturer's suggested replacement parts to resolve the issue. The replacement parts were installed less than 60 days ago, and the problem has resurfaced. When I spoke with 2 separate Nissan corporation representatives, they provided me false information, and they told me they considered the matter closed and if I was not satisfied then I should contact a lemon-law attorney! I demand the manufacturer and the dealer to refund my money entirely! they fraudently sold me a vehicle that is not safe to be on the road. Additionally, 2 additional problems regarding the driver's power seat and the radio have surfaced and the both the dealer and the manufacturer have done nothing to fix these problems as well.

- Wakefield, RI, USA

problem #3

May 012005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Nissan Titan. There was bad vibration when the brakes were applied.

- Centre, AL, USA

problem #2

May 272005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact states at 2500 miles the vehicle began to shake while braking. The rotors were rotated on the vehicle. There is a new brake kit available, but the service dealer and Nissan indicate the rotors have to be turned 3 - 4 times before they would replace the brakes. The rotors that are manufactured for the vehicle are too small for the design of the vehicle.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #1

May 132005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
Brakes and rotors inapt to handle vehicle weight and stopping requirements. At 6,000 miles front pads were worn away and were grinding into rotor, rear pads at 30% remaining. Took to dealership now waiting 5-7 days for parts because of availability. Changing front rotors and pads, resurfacing rear rotors but leaving old pads on them. Not sure if old parts available

- Hemet, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?