Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,770 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Titan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Titan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

May 012012

Titan

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a leak in the manifold that causes exhaust to leak into the drivers area of the vehicle. The vehicle was under warranty when incident happened and was told that Nissan would not cover the repairs of this leak.

- Celina, OH, USA

problem #26

Aug 202012

Titan 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Started having over heating issues in 8/2012. Eventually had radiator completely replaced in 2/14. Had transmission flushed around same time. On 3/26/14, I was on the interstate going 65mph when I lost use of the transmission, causing the engine to stall, barely avoiding a serious accident. Today found out there is a defect with Nissan radiators over heating and causing coolant to leak into the transmission, deteriorating the gears over time. Spent around $1,000 getting the radiator replaced unaware of this factory defect. Now I am without a functioning vehicle and I think lucky to be alive.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #25

Mar 152013

Titan 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Oil leaking on left rear wheel cause by a bad seal. Truck have been repaired twice by a local licensed shop, . the problem persist. It may be cause by a bad differential. Let me know if is any recalls from factory. Or any on going investigation.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #24

Mar 082014

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While doing a liquids check I noticed the coolant reservoir was low. I added distilled water to the radiator and looked underneath to look for a leak. I found coolant leaking from the transmission line at the bottom of the radiator. As I backed into my garage, I heard the coolant reservoir pressurize and start to overflow. The reservoir was filled with tranny fluid. I drained the transmission and found coolant in the transmission. I don't know how many miles I drove the vehicle in this condition but I'm afraid the transmission is damaged and I can't get the coolant completely out of the transmission. I've drained and filled it twice so far and still have signs of coolant. I talked to a local dealer and they recommended that I keep draining and flushing until the tranny fluid comes out the same color as it went in.

- Birdsboro, PA, USA

problem #23

Sep 012012

Titan 8-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
My exhaust manifold is leaking just as many other Titan owners have experienced. I did not notice a noise on mine until I went in to a muffler shop to get a price on getting a dual exhaust installed and they showed me that it was cracked. As a result, I do not know when the problem began, but I can hear it constantly now. I have since, done extensive research over the internet and have found that hundreds of Titan owners are experiencing the same problem. It doesn't seem to matter how old or new the Titan is, owners are reporting the same issue over and over again. Some are still under warranty, so they are getting a free repair, but if it is an ongoing issue, why hasn't a recall already been issued? I have been told by many muffler shop tech's that the "cast" that Nissan used was a bad "cast" and they have since fixed it. If the aftermarket muffler tech knows, than Nissan certainly should...or else they should be made aware of it by a recall being issued. Thank you.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #22

Nov 202013

Titan 8-cyl

  • 82,900 miles
Right exhaust manifold crack. Every forum on Titan's complain how the exhaust manifolds crack and leak well before their time and all been under 100K. It tells me Nissan does a poor job making that part and it's a costly job for customers to repair. This should be a recall item.

- Navarre , FL, USA

problem #21

Feb 052013

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 82,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After having ipdm module replaced (campaign number 10V517000), the ses light showed bad catalytic converters within a few thousand miles. The ipdm module failed before being replaced and it caused raw fuel to be dumped on the catalytic converters which caused them to fail. I think Nissan should be responsible for the cost of failed catalytic converters when their faulty part caused the damage. This is an expensive repair ($2,800). After looking at forums on the internet, I see many people having issues with the Titan catalytic converters and having them fail before the vehicle reaches 100K miles. I filed a complaint with Nissan and they would not help with the repair. They said the faulty ipdm would not cause cats to fail.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #20

May 112012

Titan

  • 109,000 miles
I looked outside and had a puddle of oil under the front of my truck. Got the truck to a mechanic and he informed me that the front axle popped out of place. This truck is stock, no lifts and never goes off road. So this happened under normal driving conditions. A front axle should not just pop out of place. I just got it back from replacing the rear axle and seals as both were leaking. Also the rear shackles on the vehicle rotted out. This vehicle has way too many problems for Nissan not to be recalling and fixing these issues.

- Farmington, CT, USA

problem #19

Apr 032012

Titan

  • miles
Both exhaust manifolds on my truck have cracked. The service writer at the dealership could hear it before I even said anything. This is a known issue for Nissan Titans. This could possibly allow exhaust gases into the passenger compartment.

- Colton, CA, USA

problem #18

Mar 302010

Titan

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated there was a leak coming from the exhaust manifold, causing the odor to enter through the air conditioning unit. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 012011

Titan

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that while the vehicle was at the dealer for routine maintenance. The dealer found that the intake manifold was cracked. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000 and the current mileage was 124,000.

- Pompano Beach , FL, USA

problem #16

Nov 102010

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Both exhaust manifolds have gone bad due to cracks and thus have exhaust leaks.

- Stafford , VA, USA

problem #15

Jan 012010

Titan

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that a ticking sound was heard from the vehicle during startup. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the mechanic confirmed that the right and left manifold was cracked. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 90,000.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 012009

Titan

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated the vehicle was being serviced by an authorized dealer for routine maintenance, when he was informed that the exhaust manifold was cracked. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- Cookeville, TN, USA

problem #13

Aug 182011

Titan

  • 113,000 miles
Driverside exhaust manifold cracked approx two weeks after passenger side exhaust manifold replaced due to crack.

- Webster, MA, USA

problem #12

Aug 012011

Titan 8-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Cracked exhaust manifolds on both sides of V8 engine as diagnosed by Nissan dealer. Result -- will leak raw exhaust gases into passenger compartment and into atmosphere. Investigation reveals cracked manifolds to be a huge problem for Nissan Titans and large numbers of Titans are affected. Nissan emission warranty only covers 8yrs/80,000 miles. But since these exhaust manifolds are clearly defective due to improper design and pose a serious safety threat and emissions problem they should be replaced at Nissan's expense regardless of vehicle age or mileage.

- Paso Robles, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 202011

Titan

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, a noise was heard coming from under the hood. The vehicle was maneuvered to the shoulder of the road and the contact noticed exhaust fumes were leaking from the engine manifold instead of the tail pipe. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 66,000. The VIN was unknown.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 272011

Titan

  • 97,900 miles
I was having an issue with my engine stalling with around 97,900 miles on my 2005 Nissan Titan. At this time, my check engine light also came on. I took it to the dealership to get the problem code read and they said I had faulty bank 1 and bank 2 catalytic converters. The dealer said the stalling was due to a recall, NHTSA campaign id number: 10V517000. My complaint is that I had no problem with my catalytic converters until this recall issue. Since my catalytic converters and exhaust manifold are one piece, it cost $2,827.28 to have them replaced and I do not feel I should have to pay this, since this problem stemmed from their recall issue.

- Laurel, DE, USA

problem #9

Mar 082009

Titan

  • miles
The contact owns a 20O5 Nissan Titan. While driving approximately 25 mph and accelerating from a complete stop, the engine stalled without warning. After waiting a few moments the engine was restarted. The failure recurred on a different occasion and the engine failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis and they replaced the relay switch at the owner's expense. A recall notification was received two years later after the repair. The recall was associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 10V517000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact planned to notify the manufacturer to verify whether the vehicle was included in the recall. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Melrose, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 032010

Titan

  • 76,000 miles
2/3/10: 2005 Nissan Titan breaks down on hwy 71 at the light right before the entrance to the airport. My 120 lbs fiancÉ has to work to push the truck out of the lane with cars racing by at 60 mph with our 8 month old daughter. 2/4/10: Engaged terry wisdom with maxwell Nissan in round rock and he worked to have my ECM relay switched out and charges $340.06 for the repair.12/29/10: Received recall notice advises to contact Nissan dealer. 12/30/10: - engaged service advisor at maxwell Nissan in rr about the recall and their recent work in February. She advised I have to call into Nissan's 800 numbers in order to move forward with the recall. She offers minimal assistance with bridging that gap. I asked her to have her supervisor engage. Supervisors calls back and advises that I have call into Nissan's 800. Provides documents, I ask for assistance? and states his dealerships can not get involved. I should have "consider Toyota or Ford with my purchase" but my issues are with a Nissan. Contact Nissan North America – kala advises to go back to the dealership to have the part re-replaced due to the service took place in Feb and this recall states anything before November has to also be replaced. File # 7042010 – engage GM for maxwell Nissan and I inform him of the history with this issue and customer service experience I've received with his service department. "have I considered going to back to the dealership where I purchased the truck from" compares my experience to his dell hard drive crashing. I advised that my check for service if February was cut to his dealership and for assistance with the engagement, he would not. I advised that I was going to post my experience on youtube or facebook, "if you do, do not come back to this dealership!" service advisor manager – "it is sad to see our society come to the point of having to use social media"

- Austin , TX, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?