Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,233 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Titan fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Titan Owner Comments

problem #20

Sep 072015

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle lost power and restarted after numerous attempts. The contact stated that the fuel gauge was not registering. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V074000 (fuel system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 02/05/16

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #19

Jun 092010

Titan 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
I was riding down I25 when my truck engine unexpectedly quit. At 75 mph it was all I could do to change lanes and pull over to the median without causing an accident. The fuel gauge showed that I still had 1/4 tank of gas. I tried repeatedly to start the truck without success. After scratching my head for a while I called my son to bring me some gas. After adding gas the truck started up after a few turns of the ignition. Not knowing what the heck had happened I continued driving the truck. Unfortunately I ran out of gas again some week later, this time in a neighborhood where the speed issue was not quite as severe. Since that time I've ignored my fuel gauge and determined when to refuel by mileage. This is really aggravating because there is a recall on Titan fuel senders for model year 2005. However Nissan is telling me that my VIN is not covered by the recall.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #18

Jul 292014

Titan 8-cyl

  • miles
While driving on freeway truck shut off. Gas tank read quarter of a tank but engine shut off-car was out of gas.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 302014

Titan 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that the fuel gauge malfunctioned and inaccurately displayed that fuel was in the vehicle when it was empty. The failure caused the vehicle to shut off because there was no fuel in the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 10V074000 (fuel system, other ); however, the VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000...updated 10/07/14

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #16

Dec 132010

Titan 8-cyl

  • 52,500 miles
1st incident occurred during rush hour traffic. I was driving around 25mph when my Titan started to stall and then came to a complete stop, was just about rear-end by delivery truck. I was stuck on the street in the middle of traffic for 2 hours before a tow truck was able to come tow truck. I had mechanic look it over and it came out that I had run out of gas, mechanic looked at fuel gauge and it was reading of tank but would not start. Once couple gallons were added truck started right up. Mechanic stated that fuel gauge is reading wrong, mechanic looked up to see if there was any recalls. There was a recall for the 2005 Nissan Titan for the fuel system not reading correctly. But dealer stated that my VIN number didn't fall into that recall. Mechanic stated it would be over $900 to fix. So I had to tell the mechanic not to fix it. Over the years, I have run out of gas about 3 more times due to the fuel gauge not reading correctly. Last time I ran out of gas my infant son was in truck and was just about side swiped from another vehicle at an intersection. I need to do what needs to be done to get my Nissan Titan added to this recall, I cannot afford to pay this to be fixed. Recall id #68299 ? fuel system, other: Storage:fuel gauge system.

- Sunnyside, WA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Dec 302012

Titan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that when driving various speeds, the fuel gauge reading would fluctuate even though the fuel tank was empty. The failure recurred despite the actual fuel level. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. There was a voluntary recall issued by the manufacturer that was related to the same defect. The contact's VIN was not included and the vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the air conditioning unit and heater would not circulate air properly through the vents when activated. There was also an abnormal clicking noise heard from the vehicle. There were also occasions when the air conditioner would independently shut off. The air conditioner blower motor was replaced by the dealer however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #14

Oct 012012

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that the fuel gauge failed to register when the fuel tank was full or empty. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where repairs were made under NHTSA campaign number 10V074000 (fuel system, other) however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was made aware or the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 91,000....updated 07/22/13

- Lansdowne , PA, USA

problem #13

Aug 252012

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated while driving 50 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnose that the fuel sender unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 10V074000 (fuel system). The failure and the current mileage was 91,000.....updated 10/11/12 updated 10/16/12

- Hudson , WI, USA

problem #12

Apr 132012

Titan

  • 107,455 miles
This vehicle has more common failures than any I have seen. Both of the rear leaf spring shackles rotted out. The rear axle seals are now leaking. In 6 months I have replaced 2 oxygen sensors and now for the 2nd time I am replacing the evap canister control valve. Nissan seems to ignore all of these issues and has redesigned many of these problem areas in newer models however does not own up to fixing the issues on vehicles that are on the road.

- Farmington, CT, USA

problem #11

Aug 122010

Titan 8-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
In August of 2010 was the first time I experienced a problem. The vehicle lost power and died while driving on a main street going approximately 45 mph. Later I discovered that the vehicle was out of gas despite the fuel gauge being at 1/4 tank. Today, after nearly 1 1/2 of keeping my truck above 1/4 tank and logging my miles, the vehicle engine power died on me and failed to start because once again it was out of fuel...this time reading just under 1/2 tank. Both situations are extremely unsafe and caused unnecessary stress. I've called the dealer and they are aware of problems with the fuel sending unit on the Nissan Titan model trucks but can not do anything without the official recall. It is widely known that there is a recall on some of the Nissan Titan models and should be extended throughout all of the failing fuel systems before myself or someone is faced with extreme injury.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #10

Nov 152011

Titan

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact also stated that the fuel gauge displayed a reading indicating that fuel was in the fuel tank at the time of the failure. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and the contact was advised to take the vehicle to an authorized dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred while driving 45 mph. The vehicle was taken to another independent repair shop and the contact was informed of the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V074000 (fuel system, other:storage:fuel gauge system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #9

Nov 152011

Titan 8-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
The instrument panel fuel gauge displayed that the vehicle still had fuel. The vehicle stalled on the highway, in traffic, and was out of gas. At the time we had no idea what was wrong and only knew it would not start. We had the vehicle towed to the Nissan dealership who diagnosed it was out of gas and the fuel sender was faulty. The fuel sender resides inside the fuel tank according to the dealership but they will not fix it at their expense. Our particular VIN # is not covered for the identical issue that is under a current recall.

- Republic, MO, USA

problem #8

Aug 292011

Titan

  • 54,100 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that the fuel gauge system was providing inaccurate readings. The dealer and manufacturer made the contact aware of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V074000 (fuel system, other: Storage: Fuel gauge system) but the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 54,100.

- Bedford, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 262010

Titan 8-cyl

  • 1 miles
For some reason my truck was not included in this recall and it should have been. My 2005 Nissan Titan VIN is [xxx] make: Nissan. Model: Titan. Model year: 2006 manufacturer: Nissan North America, Inc. Mfr's report date: Feb 26, 2010. NHTSA campaign id number: 10V074000 N/a. NHTSA action number: N/a. component: Fuel system, other:storage:fuel gauge system. Summary: Nissan is recalling certain model year 2005-2009 Titan, armada, and infiniti QX56 vehicles. The instrument panel fuel gauge may inaccurately display that the vehicle still has some fuel, typically about one quarter tank, when the fuel tank is empty. Consequence: This could cause the vehicle to run out of gas and stall on the highway, which could cause a crash. Remedy: Dealers will replace the fuel sender unit inside the fuel tank with a new improved sender card. This service will be performed free of charge. The safety recall began on March 22, 2010. Owners may contact Nissan at 1-800-647-7261. Notes:owners may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to www.safercar.gov. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #6

Nov 082010

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact was driving 65 mph and towing an rv trailer when the sender unit shut off. The fuel level gauge would inaccurately display fuel levels and would show that the fuel tank was at least one quarter full when empty. The contact inquired with the dealer in regards to NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V074000, (fuel system, other: Storage: Fuel gauge system) but was advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The manufacturer confirmed that the vehicle was not under recall and provided no further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 150,000. Updated 05/05/11 updated 05/13/11

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #5

Nov 282010

Titan

  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The dealer was contacted who stated that the fuel pump would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was awaiting a response. The vehicle was repaired by an authorized dealer. The current mileage was approximately 162,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 155,000.

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #4

Aug 162010

Titan 8-cyl

  • 107,595 miles
2005 Nissan Titan pickup fuel filler defect causing gas to back up and gush out of fill line whenever I attempt to fill tank with gas. It appears that the flapper that covers the fuel opening has broken off and is blocking the fuel filler line.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #3

May 302009

Titan

  • 35,000 miles
The safety recall was not free at the dealership.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #2

May 072010

Titan 4WD 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Titan. On May 7th I ran out of gas while my fuel gage was still showing 1/4 tank. I was on a fairly narrow state highway in Wisconsin and came close to someone rear ending me while I was on the side of the road. I filed my complaint with Nissan and just heard back from them today that there is a recall on the 2005 Titan for this issue, but my VIN number was not included in the recall. Even though my truck is running out of fuel unexpectedly also.

- Lone Rock, WI, USA

problem #1

Dec 062005

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
While putting gasoline into my 2004 Nissan Titan it spills back out of the tank. The gas will go into the tank then the pump will stop and then gas will spuw back out. This normally happens several times before I can get the tank full. This has happened more than one time, it happens anytime my tank is low and I am ready to fill up with gas. The tank has been replaced by the dealership. This has not solved the problem.

- Coweta, OK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?