Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,398 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Titan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Titan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Sep 292016

Titan

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag warning light started blinking. Diagnostic gave code of crash zone sensor communication error. Researched issue on line and see that there is a recall for snow belt states which Maine is included but not the Titan. Contacted Nissan regarding issue and was told that they would not cover because we are outside of warrantee? find it odd that some vehicles are being covered but not this one. Previously to the airbag light issue my husband was driving on the interstate doing approximately 70 mph when the vehicle abruptly lost all power. Thankfully no vehicle behind him. He pulled over into breakdown lane tried to restart vehicle wouldn't start initially but after 10 minutes did start. No codes to be read not sure if this is related to the airbag issue but obviously not safe to have your vehicle abruptly shut down at 70 mph.

- Greene, ME, USA

problem #26

Jul 202016

Titan

  • 97,383 miles
Takata recall truck burned completely insurance company said to contact you guys for an investigation of the truck recall truck was parked in drive way then catched on fire next to building called fire department and they came and turned fire of truck was towed and the insurance company said to call U guys for damages cause its a recall on truck truck was total lost and insurance is deniing the case cause they said to contac you guys regarding the faulty truck and recall

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #25

May 222015

Titan

  • 147,676 miles
On 05/22/2015, traveling on interstate highway at or near posted speed in mild sunny weather. The truck just shut off in lane of traffic. There was no hesitation, noise, alarm, warning lights just shut down. There was no power steering or power brakes. Pulled vehicle over to rh shoulder and tried to restart it with out success.on 05/18/2015, I had the truck serviced and inspected at a Nissan dealership in anticipation of this road trip. The truck passed dealer inspection. I had the truck towed to a Nissan dealer service center and after several days the dealer told me the ECM had failed and shorted out the ignition switch. The repair bill was a little over $1400. I am not objecting to the cost of repair....I am concerned about the truck just stopping on the highway without warning. If this breakdown would have happened in the middle or driving lanes of a nearby freeway, or on a steep incline with turns the results may have been very bad. The dealership said the short and failure of the ECM were a result of a leak in the exhaust system (same one that passed inspection) and heat shorted the wiring harness. I feel the wiring harness may be too close to the heat of the exhaust system and could have been isolated as not to cause failure. Updated 8/31/15

- Kansas City , MO, USA

problem #24

Feb 162015

Titan

  • 26,583 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag warning light flashing and failed to stop. Took the vehicle to my dealer for repair also gave them my service contract information through allstate cont #; [xxx] at [xxx]. I was told as well as the dealer that the wiring harness that caused the issue was allowed to be patched and not replaced and furthermore was not a cover item even though electrical is covered in the plan. I explained to them it is against the law to patch and repair the wires as well as to time consuming to locate the 1 wire. The man informed me they do this practice all the time. So how many unsafe vehicles has allstate with the assistance of pablo creek placed in service? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #23

Sep 012014

Titan

  • miles
2006 Nissan Titan. Consumer writes in regards to air bag warning lamp recall notice problems. The dealer informed the consumer, the driver's side air bag issue, was not covered in the recall.

- Tulare, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 152012

Titan 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Sitting overnight with temperature in the 40's, when putting the automatic transmission into drive, it would keep dropping out of gear. The truck drove fine when manually shifting through the gears. Problem continued for most of a year but did not generate an error code. Finally developed an error code indicating problem in first gear of the transmission valve body with tcm. This required replacement of valve body internal to the transmission, which had been contaminated by an undetectable radiator to trans cooler leak also requiring the radiator to be replaced. I have been told this is not an uncommon problem, for which Nissan has done nothing, other than putting a special coating on bolts internal to the transmission to detect the presence of coolant. This problem can cause complete failure of the transmission. It could be easily prevent by the installation of a separate transmission cooler.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #21

Sep 022013

Titan

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While waiting for my wife to come out of a store with truck running I noticed a light flickering in the store window. My wife came out of the store and got into the truck. While backing out I noticed the flickering light in the window coming with me. When I stopped the truck I noticed smoke coming up over my hood then the cab of the truck started to get warm. I noticed a burning smell and told my wife that I think my truck was on fire. I got out of the truck, went to the front and saw the condenser fan motor on fire. I was able to extinguish the fire with a can of coke that was on the ground. A little while later it flamed up again and had to get a bucket of water from the store clerk. The fire caused over $4100 in damage. I had a recall on this condenser fan motor, had it taken care of in February 2012. Caught fire on 09/02/2013.

- Harvey, LA, USA

problem #20

Jul 062013

Titan

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan titian. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated to the contact that the air conditioning condenser fan had melted the engine wiring harness, which needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000.

- Dingmans Ferry , PA, USA

problem #19

Aug 012013

Titan

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle, smoke emerged from the hood as the vehicle caught fire under the hood area. The fire was extinguished by the fire department and a police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not inspected to determine the cause of the fire. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000.

- Lucedale , MS, USA

problem #18

Nov 222012

Titan

  • 31,740 miles
Going home from work, while driving every time I put the right turn signal on I noticed the light at the dashboard flashes so weird and then disappear. I made five right turns that night all acting the same thing. The next day I took the truck to the garage and had it checked they found out that the wiring inside the lamp assembly was melted, the wire was tied with plastic string wrap so tight that made the insulation of the wire melts and created a short circuit. The whole inside of the combination lamp assembly rear, rh of my truck was melted. They cut the plastic string wrap and then put some electrical tape on the wires, they have a hard time of putting the lamp assembly back into the truck and until now I did not replace the rh rear combination lamp assembly.

- Nanticoke, PA, USA

problem #17

Apr 122012

Titan

  • 92,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Titan. The contact stated the wiring harness is broken between on the rear driver side door. The dealer was notified of the problem. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 92,450 and the current mileage 92,850.

- Bedford, VA, USA

problem #16

Sep 012011

Titan 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Catalytic converter went out & needed to be replaced in order to pass a smog! $2400 to fix and the mechanic said there was nothing left of the honeycomb inside when there should be!! recall needs to be issued!!

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 272011

Titan 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Traveling in heavy morning traffic and the vehicle simply quit in the midst of hundreds of vehicles. It would not fully restart but would only rough idle a time or two. Vehicle had to be towed and it was determined that the ipdm/ECM had failed. The parts were replaced and as soon as I began leave the repair facility the "service engine soon" light came on. It was determined that one of the catalytic converters had failed...due to raw fuel being dumped into it as result of the failure of the ipdm/ECM. A few days later, as I was researching catalytic converters online, I came across a Nissan recall - NHTSA campaign id 10V517000 and realized that this was the exact situation but that I had not received notice of said recall. I contacted Nissan regarding this situation and reimbursement for the repairs and they advised that I'd have to take the vehicle to one of their dealers for inspection before they'd consider reimbursing. I did so and they did reimburse for the ipdm/ECM repairs. However, when I asked about the catalytic converter failure...which was an immediate result of the ipdm/ECM failure, the dealer (and Nissan Consumer Affairs) indicated that I'd have to get an estimate & "restart" the process. While doing so, I learned of numerous examples of this very same thing happening when ipdm/ECM fails & dumps raw fuel into the catalytic converter. So, I obtained the estimate from a Nissan dealer and recontacted Nissan Consumer Affairs and began the process again. In the meantime, I did learn that it is not safe to drive a vehicle with a damaged converter as it can cause the engine to fail...thereby causing a dangerous situation on the road...for myself and others. Nissan has now refused to pay to repair the catalytic converter which was damaged by the failure of their recalled part...and I am wondering if your office can help me in this particular situation.

- Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

problem #14

Dec 022010

Titan 4WD

  • miles
I own a 4X4 loaded 2006 Titan le which is my primary family vehicle. Around 80K, ECM module went out causing car to stall out and lose all power in the middle of traffic (with my kids). Lucky not to be nailed by an on-coming car, I had the car towed to the dealership and module was replaced due to recall. One week later while vacationing in the mountains the battery randomly fried, we replaced it. However immediately following, the anti-theft alarm would randomly sound off, the dvd player wouldn't work (hasn't worked since), the sunroof was malfunctioning and wouldn't open and close properly. Once we returned, the dealership couldn't find anything wrong (except the dvd player, which no one could explain). About two weeks later the check engine light came on and we found that the first catalytic converter on the passenger side had blown..followed not long after by cracked exhaust manifolds and the drivers side catalytic converter bad..dealership wants $3000 just for the catalytic converters!!! I should not be responsible for the cost of replacement! this clearly is a manufacturers defect and not a isolated case, Nissan must do something about this! I hear rumors of a class action...it is a huge safety hazard!! I'm hoping they do the right thing and just fix it, without having to get lawyers involved.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #13

Aug 122011

Titan

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Titan. The contact stated while driving 30 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who stated that the problem might had been caused by a defective fuel filter or battery. As a precaution the contact replaced both parts. The repair did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who referred him to the dealer to have the vehicle inspected. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 136,000.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 212011

Titan 8-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Nissan Titan (36K miles), 2006 model. The ABS control module went bad causing the car speedometer to quit working as well as the cars transmission to jump into and out of gear while on the road. Caused the car to slow dramatically on the interstate and could cause a crash. I brought the car into Nissan at rivergate in tn (thinking this was being caused by the current recall tied to the emc, engine control module) and they told me it was the ABS control module and it would cost $1,500 to repair, where the emc costs $2 to repair. Makes me wonder if Nissan correctly identified their current issue with the cars electronic controls, or maybe that they've chosen to tie the recall to a cheap component and allow the dealer to then jig the consumer for the higher priced component. In either case, I feel this is a safety issue.

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #11

Mar 082006

Titan

  • 26,383 miles
Recall id # 08V284000 - equipment:electrical:air conditioner recall date:Jun 27, 2008 component:equipment:electrical:air conditioner model affected:Titan units affected: 180664 recall details recall id # 10V074000 - fuel system, other:storage:fuel gauge system recall date:Mar 03, 2010 component:fuel system, other:storage:fuel gauge system model affected:Titan units affected: 340000 recall details recall id # 10V517000 - engine and engine cooling recall date:Oct 28, 2010 component:engine and engine cooling model affected:Titan units affected: 747480 recall details recall id # 10E019000 - suspension:front:control arm:lower arm recall date:May 20, 2010 component:suspension:front:control arm:lower arm model affected:Titan units affected: 1873 recall details recall id # 06V064000 - latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch recall date:Mar 08, 2006 component:latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch model affected:Titan units affected: 427 recall details recall id # 07E046000 - equipment recall date:Jul 03, 2007 component:equipment model affected:Titan units affected: 3500 recall details recall id # 06V459000 - electrical system recall date:Nov 30, 2006 component:electrical system model affected:Titan units affected: 96500 recall details I have owned the vehicle since 7/2007 and only recieved 3 of these recall letters. So of these issues are just now popping. Only 2 of the issues have been taken care of. Per the dealership I would be contacted and have not received any calls to get these matters taken care of. I feel this vehicle is unsafe since the issues have not be addressed.

- Bullhead City, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jan 042010

Titan

  • 30,073 miles
I own a crew cab le. Check engine light came on 2 months after ipdm was replaced. I took it to Nissan dealer and they did a diagnostic. They recommended to replace mass air flow sensor and recheck. The part is $273.38 and it is not covered by the warranty. The truck had 30,000 miles at the time of diagnostic. I paid out of pocket to replace part.

- Silver Spring , MD, USA

problem #9

Jan 042010

Titan

  • 30,073 miles
I own a crew cab le. Check engine light came on 2 months after ipdm was replaced. I took it to Nissan dealer and they did a diagnostic. They recommended to replace mass air flow sensor and recheck. The part is $273.38 and it is not covered by the warranty. The truck had 30,000 miles at the time of diagnostic. I paid out of pocket to replace part.

- Silver Spring , MD, USA

problem #8

Sep 082009

Titan 8-cyl

  • 27,805 miles
The truck stalled while driving on the road once. It also stalled at start up when I got home and 2 more times the following day and at the dealership during the drop. The dealer replaced ipdm because it was only 1 month passed the warranty but under 36,000 warranty.

- Silver Spring , MD, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?