Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,530 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Versa fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Versa Owner Comments

problem #17

Aug 012011

Versa

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There seems to be a problem starting my 2007 Nissan Versa (cvt) in the mornings. Doesn't happen every time but when you go to start it cold the car will not start and sometimes takes up to 30 seconds to start. Other times you can be driving at around 25 mph and then the car hesitates and the speedometer drops to zero and the care hesitates for about 3-4 seconds and then picks back up. I took to abq reliable Nissan and they say they cannot duplicate the problem but I can see by the Nissan forums that I'm not the only one with this problem. It's not safe (car hesitating in traffic) and not starting is a major problem. Should have bought the Honda fit!

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #16

Nov 102009

Versa 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I purchased my 2007 Nissan Versa in 2007. In 2008, I began to notice intermittent starting problems(hard to crank engine); the car would not start after prolonged cranking attempts. In May 2008, I took the car to the dealership to undergo diagnostics and repair; they found the problem to be a faulty fuel pressure regulator and replaced the part under warranty, five months later, the problem reappeared. I took my Nissan Versa back to the dealer for the same repair, in November 2009, and the dealer refused to repair my car being that I was roughly 2,000 miles over my warranty period. Since then the cranking problem with my Nissan Versa has become more prevalent and as a result I've recently had my first battery replacement because I destroyed my original battery from extensive cranking! the Nissan Corp. And North american Nissan should honor the numerous complaints for a serious issue!

- Anniston, AL, USA

problem #15

Feb 012011

Versa 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
2007 Nissan Versa bought brand new in Oct. 06 - has had "extended" crank since day 1, but now has faulty fpr (fuel pressure regulator) failure at 54,434 miles. Warranty expired at 3/36,000. Car will not start intermittently leaving me stranded for 15 minutes or more. You have to "pump" the gas to try and get it to start and heavy odor of fuel in cabin of car results. Had to spend $101.86 to get it diagnosed to see if Nissan would help, which they denied my claim. I have read numerous complaints on Versa's from 2007-2009 model years. Since my car is the first model year it has the old faulty fpr. As a result of extended cranking and having to crank car multiple times it has killed my battery which now needs replaced as well. This should not be happening, as Nissan is well aware of the problem, they need to make it right.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #14

Feb 082011

Versa

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Significant loss of fuel efficiency at around 51K miles in January 2011. All of a sudden had to start filling tank up more frequently and noticed it would shudder at random. On February 8, 2011 I was sitting idle in a parking space in park with engine running and the engine shuddered and then shut off. Battery was fine but engine would crank but not come on. Was told fuel pump needed replacement, Nissan would not acknowledge as a problem and said I would be charged 3 hours of labor to replace while the service station I use said it would only require 1 labor hour. Had it replaced for almost $600. I bought what I thought was a reliable car, but after this and having the fuel door becoming disconnected frequently, I am not feeling confident.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #13

Jan 102011

Versa 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
In 2008, we began to notice intermittent starting problems with our 2007 Nissan Versa; the car would not start after prolonged cranking of the starter. In May 2009, we took the car to the dealership to undergo diagnostics and repair. They found the problem to be a faulty fuel pressure regulator and replaced the part under warranty. Five months later, the problem reappeared. The Versa went back to the dealer for the same repair, in November 2009, and again replaced the part under warranty. Since the last repair, the Versa was driven infrequently during the first half of 2010, and therefore, didn?T accumulate significant mileage. In the summer of 2010, the car was driven regularly again, with the starting problem reappearing in October 2010. We have not been able to take the car in for service until January 2011. This marks the third repair for the same problem. Unfortunately, the Versa has exceeded the factory warranty (38K miles) and we are paying out of pocket for this repair. This problem is not isolated to us. I have done some research on this issue and the same problem is shared my many other North american Versa owners across many enthusiast internet forums, car sites, blogs and other locations. With that in mind, I called Nissan Consumer Affairs and stated my case. The reply was simply that Nissan has not recognized this problem as a recall or campaign. We made the decision to purchase a new vehicle based on safety and reliability. We have lost confidence in our Nissan Versa, as every time we take the wheel we?re left wondering whether it will or will not start. I cannot accept the fact that a modern, low-mileage, three-year-old vehicle will occasionally not start, thereby, creating a situation of potential danger to family. While this problem does not constitute an imminent threat such as a brake failure or tire defect, having your car become inoperable can lead to dangerous outcomes as well. Nissan is not addressing a significant problem.

- Portland, OR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Dec 052010

Versa

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact believed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The dealer was notified who advised the contact to call the manufacturer. The contact attempted to contact the manufacturer but to no avail. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #11

Aug 152010

Versa

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Having issue with hard start with vehicle taking a long time cranking in order to catch. While reading other consumers issues with their Versa dying out in traffic I would like to avoid that as I have a baby on the way.

- Mililani, HI, USA

problem #10

Apr 302010

Versa

  • 61,000 miles
While driving on entrance ramp and accelerating, vehicle suddenly died with no power to the steering, brakes or acceleration. Vehicle was in center lane had trouble steering to the right to get to shoulder. After turning key back and forth several times, the lights and dash came back on but would not start. Car cranked but would not start. Car was towed to dealership. Was told the fuse to fuel pump blew. That would not explain the electrical system shutting down. If I was in traffic, this would have caused accident with no control over vehicle steering. Waiting on cause for fuse to blow from dealer.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #9

Dec 182007

Versa

  • miles
I purchased my Nissan Versa July 2007. That winter, I was having hard start issues on a full tank, the car seemed to be slowing down when I had my foot on the gas, I was getting about 18 miles to the gallon, and the car made funny noises. I took it to the dealership three times. On the third visit, they told me that the fuel pump regulator had been recalled and needed to be replaced. For about 3 months, the gas mileage was great, and I had not problems starting the vehicle. Then, I the next winter, I was having hard start problems again. The dealership told me it must just be the cold weather. Well this past winter, yet again hard start issues. I am also getting poor gas mileage, slowing down when my foot is on the gas, etc. I took it back to the dealership, and the technician said "oh well, you are out of warranty...I can help you find a good price." I should not be having these issues with a new car. The scariest part is the slowing down while my foot is on the gas. This is especially noticeable when I have it on cruise control.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #8

Feb 112010

Versa

  • 68,000 miles
My car has not been turning on once a month and now it's about once a week it was crank at all. One time I was driving on the highway with my kids and it just completely stopped. Please help me! I bought the platinum warranty on the car and the dealer refuses to even acknowledge the fact that it might not start. When I have taken it to the dealer it happens to turn on but it's not like I know when and where it will not turn on. I have been doing research and have found that lots of Nissan Versa owners are having the same problem. They say it is the fuel pump. I told the dealer this and they refuse to even humor me that it might be just that. A recall is in order please!!!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #7

Sep 202009

Versa

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2007 Nissan Versa. The last week I have had nothing but problems. The first time I took it in was because it would not start. They told me it was a fuel pump. It was replaced. After I got the car back it started to have no power when I pushed on the gas petal. Because of this I was almost hit several times trying to pull out into traffic. The transmission would not shift and the RPM's would be very high. If sounded like the motor was going to blow up. I have taken it into the shop again and now they are claiming that it is a mass air flow sensor. This vehicle is only 2 years old why are these things happening? I have had people slam on their brakes so that they would not hit me even when the gas petal is all the way to the floor trying to make the vehicle move. This is a very serious problem.

- Kaneohe, HI, USA

problem #6

May 082009

Versa

  • 7,000 miles
Car lost power going through an intersection. After I stopped then car did start up again. Dealer had no idea what could be wrong. I've read online about this happening to other people and they said it was the fuel pump. This is a 2007 Nissan Versa sl hatchback.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #5

Feb 152008

Versa

  • 12,000 miles
Purchased car July 2007. In spring 2008, fuel pump replaced due to car (a) getting poor gas mileage (B) taking 2-3 cranks to start (C) feeling like no power was getting to the pedal. Started having issues again February 2009. Went on a trip March 2009 for two weeks. When I returned, the car took 5 minutes to start with a full tank of gas after cranking at least 5 or 6 times. Taking to the dealer next week. Today, started fine, but no power behind pedal and poor mileage. Should have kept my beat up truck, which was just as reliable.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #4

Apr 212007

Versa 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. When the contact started the ignition, the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel and remained lit until the engine was turned off. The failure has been occurring ever since the vehicle was purchased. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer on twelve occasions and they stated that the fuel cap failed. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 400. Updated 03-04-09 updated 03/05/09.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #3

Aug 302007

Versa

  • 5,000 miles
I purchased a brand new Nissan Versa in August and the mileage stated on the car was 35/28. The car is only getting 27/17 which is very poor and the dealer states that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. Nissan refuses to help stating that the window sticker is just and estimate, beware of Nissan.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #2

Nov 212007

Versa 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My specific complaint is false advertising. When I purchased my vehicle Nissan advertised the vehicle a Versa with cvt trans as getting 30/36 mpg. My vehicle has never gotten anywhere near these figures. My last fill up, mostly highway miles was 22 mpg. The service dept. States everything is running correctly in the engine. It is funny but now the service dept tells me the mpg is 28/33 not 30/36. I bought a car that I thought was going to have good fuel economy and it is not much better than my SUV.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #1

Feb 072007

Versa 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 615 miles
Purchased a 2007 Nissan Versa sedan in Jan 2007. Three weeks later the service engine soon light came on. Subsequently while trying to pump gas into the car the gasoline overflowed out the filler neck. Car only had 1/4 tank of gas and we could not put any more gas into the tank. Took the car to the dealer where they told us that the vent control canister, hoses and drain were frozen solid. Technician questioned whether this was a design flaw. Still waiting to hear from manufacturer. The valve assy and canister assy were replaced and the hoses were thawed out and re-used. Problem solved? we washed the car twice at an automatic car wash where we got the underbody wash. The temperature that week was in the single digits. Technician suggested no more automatic car washes till manufacturer decides what to do.

- Temperance, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?