Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,657 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Nissan Versa suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Nissan Versa Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #141

Aug 212016


  • 2 miles


My vehicle has long time problem of springs. Last time I was driving at 45 mph speed the front spring broke, causing severe damage of front tire. After long time Nissan recalled front spring. But I have rear spring broke again. My rear spring broke after I try to drive from parking lot. I have talked to Nissan North America they are not willing to help customer. Broken spring problem is a part of Nissan Versa. It is dangerous and I cant trust my car.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #140

Jul 222016


  • 50,000 miles
I am a us marine serving in germany. Nissan has been refusing to replace my front springs in accordance with the recall because I am not in North America. Last month one of them broke on the highway. Luckily, no one was hurt.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #139

May 192016


  • 87,000 miles
A recall was done on the front spring coils. I took my car in to have recall completed only to find out my back spring coils are also damaged. I don't understand why the front can be recalled and the back coils are also defected the reasoning why they are not under a recall.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #138

Jul 112016

Versa 4-cyl

  • miles


I scheduled an appointment and went to Continental Nissan 5750 S la grange rd countryside il on July 11, 2016. The dealership stated that if they believe corroded parts need to be replaced, I would be responsible for their cost. I spoke to [xxx] my case #[xxx], she being a representative of Nissan assured me as the letter states: "this repair is free of charge for parts and labor." The discrepancy forced me to leave the dealership without repaid. Two additional calls were placed to [xxx] on 7/11/2016 asking for coordination with the dealership in order to repair the vehicle. I had to wait three weeks in order to get the vehicle into any local dealership. The car is disabled with a broken coil spring and has been towed without repair. A seven year old vehicle exposed to Illinois winters should have corroded parts. I reviewed the part cost through Nissan with my VIN and the coil spring cost is roughly $5.63 or $6. the additional parts within the front suspension vary from $11.51 through $354.20. The dealership mentioned a half day of labor in addition to cost of the suspension parts. The recall letter says approximately 3 hours for repair at no cost. Why would I have to pay for a recall? the fact that the recall came 7 years after the 2009 manufactured car is very concerning. I ask that the car be towed at Nissan's cost and repaired at Nissan's cost immediately! I imagine that many other consumers have run into this issue and wonder if a class action suit is necessary to prompt the manufacturer to do as they state in writing and over the phone. I request an investigation of current practices of process and policies. I believe my human rights have been violated based on the impact of their business operations and services. Thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Darien, IL, USA

problem #137

Jun 252016


  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle failed Virginia sate inspection citing both right and left front ball joints needing replaced. This vehicle has just over 50,000 miles and it seems odd that both ball joints have failed at such a low mileage. With Nissan recall of other parts of the front end this seems like another part failure.

- Stephens City, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #136

Apr 202016


  • 70,000 miles
Loud clunking/popping noise coming from front of car while driving.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #135

Apr 122016


  • 83,000 miles


Nissan currently has a campaign open to replace front coil springs in northern states. My rear coil spring is also cracked/broken and Nissan is refusing to replace it.

- Hudson, OH, USA

problem #134

Mar 292016


  • miles
My Nissan Versa was recalled last year for faulty coil springs. The letter said that parts will be ready in January 2016. I made an appointment with my dealer to have the parts ordered and replaced. It is almost April 2016 and the parts are not available. I call my dealer once a month, they have now chosen to screen their phone calls and will not answer any service calls about the recall. I think that Nissan is not prepared to handle this recall on the Versa.

- South Hamilton, MA, USA

problem #133

Oct 132015


  • 81,870 miles
2 rear springs broke while driving in city (already had front springs replaced due to recall)

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #132

Jan 192016


  • 5 miles
I have Nissan Versa since 2009.I bought it brand new from Nissan of reno. Since last year fron driver side broken coil it happend again on passanger side spring broke. I call deler to find out why did it broke both of spring with in one year. They have no answer

- Kings Beach, CA, USA

problem #131

Dec 222015


  • 108,000 miles


Coil spring rusted and broke.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #130

Dec 212015


  • 130,000 miles
My Nissan Versa was recalled for front springs to be replaced. I had already had the springs replaced because they broke. I was informed that I had to have the springs replaced again to satisfy the recall. The struts were rusted out, but were not part of the recall. I had to pay to have the struts replaced when the dealership broke them removing them to replace the springs. The struts and springs are one unit and should have been part of the recall. The springs did not need replaced. I was charged over $250 for a recall repair that was supposed to be covered by Nissan.

- East Sparta, OH, USA

problem #129

Dec 232015


  • 108,000 miles
Driver side front coil spring broke while driving. Appeared to be very rusted.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #128

Jul 282015


  • 119,758 miles
A large piece of the front coil spring on the passenger side broke and fell off on the road, as I backed out of my driveway and turned into the street. I heard a clunk in the front and something falling on the road. The remaining spring on the car was still in place. I had my repair shop replace the springs.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #127

Nov 052015


  • 98,000 miles
The drivers side front suspension coil spring fracture in my model year 2009 Nissan Versa rusted/corroded and broke while driving on the highway at approximately 70mph. The noise was apparent and the car immediately began pulling slightly to the left. I pulled over to examine the vehicle and could not find any specific reason for the noise and continued home. I took the car into mccarthy Nissan and was told that the front coil spring had rusted/corroded and cracked and that driving the car in that condition was extremely dangerous and required immediate replacement of the front coils.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #126

Jun 182013


  • 25,985 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. In addition, the front and rear coil springs fractured. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who replaced the passenger side front coil spring, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic who replaced the front driver side coil spring. On another occasion, the contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who indicated that the rear coil springs needed to be replaced. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V573000 (suspension) and was concerned that the recall remedy would fail to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,985. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/05/16

- Newburyport, MA, USA

problem #125

Oct 152015


  • miles
On 10/15/2015 went to Nissan dealer for routine oil change(mileage 50938)during inspection mechanic found both lower control arms O suspension bad and was replaced at the cost of $895.24 also 4 wheel alignment was was done at the cost of $109.95.when back home I look for recalls on suspension system on Nissan Versa and find out that there is recall on coil springs effective as of 09/14/ the time of service I was not informed by the dealer about this recall and when I contacted them and ask when coils will be replaced I was told that they don't have parts and I have to wait till Nov/Dec 2015 for the coils to be some research re:lower control arms failure on Nissan Versa and find that it may be related to coils failure as it is part of the suspension system interconnected to spring coils.corrosion of coils can cause the tension on the springs to fail and cause the other parts of the suspension to go bad like in my case.I my be lucky that coils on my car not broke off yet but for sure they all ready cost me a lot of money and may cost me more because the problem is not fix yet.get in touch with Nissan but was told that even the arms are the part of suspension system interconnected to coils-the coils are not cause of arms failure.I do not agree with Nissan opinion on this and I told them that I will file complaint to NHTSA. Because of Nissan refusal to accept they fault and solve the issue I do not have other option left but file complaint and make other Nissan Versa owners aware about the problem they may have with their cars as I did.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #124

Nov 012015


  • miles
Someone told me that there was a recall on my car for the suspension

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

problem #123

Aug 132015

Versa 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Nissan Versa. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle coil springs fracture issues. The consumer stated while driving, she hit a small pothole and heard a loud bang. The consumer and her husband thought it was a flat tire, but after pulling over, they did not see anything. They continued to drive, but then they heard another strange noise and smelled burning rubber. By the time the consumer pulled into the driveway, the tire on the front passenger side was burning. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The consumer was informed both front springs were broken on the right side. The consumer stated a couple of years ago, the left rear spring was replaced. Also, the muffler was replaced twice.

- Olean, NY, USA

problem #122

Apr 252014


  • 50,000 miles
My passenger side front spring broke and speared my tire, luckily while I was parking. When I got it towed to the mechanic, they showed me that the left spring was cracked and ready to break as well. I had to pay to have both replaced. Mechanic informed me that this is a known issue. I'm very concerned that this might happen again while I'm driving with my 8 year old in the car.

- Watertown, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?