Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,534 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Versa drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Versa Owner Comments

problem #12

Nov 092016

Versa

  • 107,149 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Versa. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart, but was not accelerating. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing where it was determined that the power train failed. The failure mileage was 107,149.

- Ringglod, GA, USA

problem #11

Oct 112016

Versa

  • 78,912 miles
On 10/11/2016 my cars check engine light came on for the first time ever since I bought the car, while I was driving home from work on the freeway, my car would shift hard trying to get into a higher gear and then when I pressed on the gas pedal you could hear the car accelerate but it would not shift and aside of the check engine light coming on that is why I brought it into the dealership and they diagnosed it as well as found out there was an outstanding recall on the cvt program in that year make and model of car. Mind you this is the first I hear of such recall when I have had this car for over a year and this such recall came out on 08/12/2015. I never received anything via mail, email, or phone. I have not changed my address nor phone number in years so I don't see why they did not get in contact with me or my dad. I believe that if this was taken care of last year when this all came about I would not have to be in this situation where they treating me with such disrespect and as if I don't know my rights as a customer. I was given the run around at one dealership and the other dealership was "on my side" and all I want is my car to be fixed and not be taken advantage of because I am a female.

- Woodland, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 192016

Versa

  • 39,030 miles
Brake failure today while driving. When I pressed the brake, the pedal went all the way down to the floor. The car didn't respond. Thank god I was coming out of a parking lot and not on the busy highway when this happened or it could have been a fatal situation. Also experiencing cvt judders and vibrations constantly. Transmission feels like its struggling and will die soon. I only have 39000 miles on the car.

- Lansdowne, PA, USA

problem #9

Dec 262015

Versa

  • 12,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2014 Nissan Versa S will not exceed 23 miles per hour. It happened first on 12/26/15 and I had it towed to a Nissan dealership. They called several hours later saying the car was fine and was unable to find a problem. Today it happened again 12/28/15 I was leaving a from a doctor appointment and once again the vehicle would not go faster than 23mph. I drove the vehicle about 3 miles into the nearest Nissan dealership and had them drive it so they could see what I meant. They did drive it and said they will give me a loaner car and would diagnose more tomorrow. This is a safety hazard for sure, .

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #8

Dec 102015

Versa

  • 30,000 miles
Car started acting up about two weeks ago had the car for a year and a half now when I drive it accelerates very slowly and when I brake it makes this rumbling noise when the car is turned on as well there is a clicking sound that is very loud when I accelerate also and turn on the engine had the car checked twice by two different mechanical places and they test drove on both occasions and they said its coming from the transmission stated I should take it to Nissan to get it looked at feel it's to short of a time for the transmission to be acting up if that because the car has been maintained with oil changes and has the proper maintenance since purchased

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Sep 102015

Versa

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that the gears slipped on several occasions. The contact also stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to replicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V507000 (service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact mentioned that the recall remedy repair was schedule for mid October of 2015. The failure mileage was not available.

- Ardmore, OK, USA

problem #6

Aug 042015

Versa

  • 15,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started the Versa after being parked for at least 30 minutes and was exiting a shopping center. Exit requires driving up a significant incline to access busy three lane road. At the crest of the hill, during pause waiting for access point to enter traffic, Versa would not move even with excellerator depressed. Tried several times and Versa instead rolled backwards, gaining momentum while going down hill backwards. Brakes failed, pressed all the way to the floor and would not stop car until a curb was hit. Later, exiting the same location and crossed in 2 lanes, the Versa running but the transmission would not move the car. Zero rpms. Car stopped dead in its tracks and would not move even shifting gears trying anything and everything to get out of the oncoming traffic. After several attempts to move the car, the Versa died. Versa then would not start and only made 'clicking noises'. five people in the car all at risk during this serious drivability concern. Once able to restart the car, the trans and engine sinked and Versa then drivable. Exited the roadway. Drove the vehicle in less populated area to the dealership. This all following a complaint to the dealer in may that the transmission was making unusal noises which they claimed was normal for the 2014 cvt.

- Marana, AZ, USA

problem #5

Oct 012014

Versa

  • 40 miles
I purchased a 2014 Nissan Versa from maita Nissan in sacramento (now called sacramento Nissan) on September 12, 2014 and I'm just not satisfied. The VIN number is [xxx] I purchased a 2014 Nissan Versa from maita Nissan in sacramento (now called sacramento Nissan) and I'm just not satisfied. This car does not at all sound like a new car. I drove it off the lot with 9 miles on it, but immediately noticed how difficult it is for the transmission to smoothly get into gear. It's loud and almost sounds like it's completely broken. When I put the car in reverse I hear a loud clunking sound whether it's on a flat surface or in the driveway. I've discussed hearing this sound before 4 different times and also went to the Nissan service department 4 times. I'm being told nothing is wrong. I didn't purchase a "brand new" car to have all of these problems. I called Nissan Consumer Affairs and advised them about the issues and requested a buy back. After waiting 3 weeks for an answer, they advised me on 4/9/15 that they are not going to accommodate my request. I feel this car has an unsafe transmission and braking system. Please investigate this issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 302014

Versa

  • 9 miles
I purchased this car brand new and have been unsatisfied ever since. The car seems to have a transmission problem. The transmission is loud and seems to lag when I'm attempting to accelerate. Even at low speeds, it's loud. I also smell coolant on a regular basis and the car shifter makes a loud clunking sound when reversing whether I'm on a flat surface or in the drive way. This is not characteristic of a "brand new" vehicle and it needs to be looked into and recalled.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 082014

Versa 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I had an accident on 4/8 in the parking lot of my job and a truck slammed into my passenger side and no air bag deployed. She had accelerated due to a manual transmission in her truck. The estimates for body work was $28.92, $500 and 5, $658.32 more than half totaled I have problems with the car, the brakes, idiot light, steering and acceleration and jumps as you back out.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #2

Mar 052014

Versa 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 560 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that while turning at various speeds, the vehicle lost acceleration power. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure could not be duplicated or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 560. Updated 06/10/14 MA the consumer stated there was a hesitation when accelerating from a stopped position or when slowly accelerating. Updated 07/23/14

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #1

Nov 052013

Versa

  • 12 miles
We recently (2 Nov) purchased a 2014 Nissan Versa with the 5 speed transmission, our problem is with down shifting from 5th to 4th. When shifting from 5th to 4th the shifter will randomly lock up and you have to coast to the side of the road and physical move the shifter in every direction till you can shift again or if you"re lucky as you?re coasting and fighting with the shifter it pops loose and you can shift into a lower gear. It seems like the shift linkage locks up and the car won"T go fully into 4th. My wife has taken off work twice and attempted to have the car repaired at our local Nissan dealer (leglue Nissan, alexandria, la). Both times she has been she told by the service manager after a short test drive nothing is wrong with the car, all the 2014 Versas shift like that. We have contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs and received a similar answer basically that they are aware that the Versa has a hard downshift from 5th to 4th but that this is normal for the vehicle. Also, let me at this time alleviate any concern about us being unfamiliar with the operation of a manual transmission vehicle. We presently own four passenger vehicles with manual transmissions, one being a 2009 Versa with the 5 speed transmission which has never given us a problem and several pieces of farm machinery and between both of us have over 70 years of experience operating them.

- Colfax, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?