Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2005-2007 Xterra appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

The same defect exists in the Pathfinder & Frontier as well. And according to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,886 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Xterra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Xterra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Xterra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Feb 262016


  • 80,400 miles


Recently check engine light came on and had it diagnosed as the fuel gauge sensor. After filling gas tank with gas now gauge stays below empty and low gas light and check engine light stay on. Dealer said an extended warranty had expired and mileage had also been extended to 72000 miles. I just hit 80000 miles. The dealer wants $550 to fix. Way too much for a known default.

- Altamonte Springs, FL, USA

problem #23

Feb 102011


  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. While driving at various speeds, the TPMS light illuminated constantly and the wheels felt loose. The contact mentioned that the fuel gauge malfunctioned and failed to display the correct fuel level. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the light was reset, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 10V075000 (fuel system); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000.

- Boyton Beach, FL, USA

problem #22

May 012012


  • 55,000 miles
Vehicle gas gauge does not work. Faulty fuel tank sending unit. Ran out of gas in traffic.

- Delran, NJ, USA

problem #21

Mar 022015

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles


1. engine light on - remains on, need to reset - at 77000+ miles fuel gauge is off chart when full tank is filled up fuel gauge is unreliable, need to use the speedometer to gauge gas tank VIN# is not on the recall list under fuel tank recall campaign 10V075000 VIN# id for recall=engine only=campaign# 10V517000; total recall listed = 5 for 2006 Xterra models 2. tire pressure light is on continuously=TPMS = not on recall list/campaign, can this be added"? all tires are have correct recommended psi; yet light is on continuously, reset works only temporarily TPMS - as of Oct 2014; at 75000 miles need dealer to fix all recalls, can this be done?" plse advise asap. Bought the car used/pre-owned.... thank you for your attention & time.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #20

Nov 202014


  • 132,500 miles
Rear passenger doors keep locking and won't open/unlock at all. Oem parts were used for actuator and other issues, however it has happened again. Very unsafe, as if they jam, we can't exit the vehicle and have to climb to the rear hatch or through the front seats. If there were an accident, it would be detrimental.

- Lakeview , OR, USA

problem #19

Aug 212014


  • 98,500 miles
The radiator cooling water got into the transmission fluid. This caused strong vibration that we had to get off the road in the middle of a highway. The damage was required to replace the radiator and flush the transmission. It started other problems with the transmission safety switch that caused engine trouble alert. After few weeks the car stalled altogether and we now had to tow it to a garage. This is a problem that was reported before and I do not understand why Nissan does not fix the problem and repair the damaged units.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #18

Dec 182013


  • 99,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, all the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the fuel sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 99,000.

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #17

May 012010


  • 75,000 miles
Vehicle fuel gauge does not function properly. When tested with a diagnostic reader the code P0463 came up indicating a fuel level sensor malfunction. That meant at least a $600 repair from the Nissan dealer for what apparently is a common malfunction due to a defective fuel pump module assembly. From what I have read concerning this subject it is a common occurrence for this make and model of Nissan, yet the company dismisses any complaint as invalid. There was a recall for previous generations of pathfinder vehicles for the exact same problem.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #16

May 042010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated that the speedometer and fuel gauge malfunctioned. As a result, she was unable to read neither the speed nor the level of fuel in her vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the instrument panel needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000. The current mileage was 123,000. Updated 02/27/14

- Bush, LA, USA

problem #15

Feb 122011

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 96,347 miles
I really do not know where to begin. My truck would not start 8/26/13. I learned that the dreaded radiator coolant leak had finally destroyed my transmission computer system and transmission. I first learned that this could become a problem in February of 2011 when my vehicle was at about 96,300 miles. The Nissan dealership gave me a number to call, I did and was told at that time that I could pay $6000 out of pocket and possibly be reimbursed later as my vehicle VIN was not in the current list of vehicles being offered the "special warranty coverage". I was given a case number and told I would be mailed information about all future matters regarding this problem. I did not have $6000 then, I do not have $3000 now. That is the amount of the deductible the Nissan dealer says I would be responsible for paying if Nissan honors the time I initially reported this problem to them. I need some help. My husband is active duty navy and I kept this vehicle serviced and did everything I was supposed to do to make sure this vehicle stayed in great condition and now I have a vehicle that is no longer working. I hope you can help us.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #14

Apr 172012


  • 36,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated that while having an oil change performed, she was advised that the positive battery cable was defective due to corrosion. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician verified the failure and stated that the battery needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 38,000.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #13

Oct 012013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
While driving, check engine soon light comes on, fuel gauge reads empty and empty fuel tank light comes on. Nissan said that warranty extension expired March 2012. Will not repair for free, .

- Elmhurst, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 102010


  • 40,000 miles
2006 Nissan Xterra fuel gauge. The gauge drops to E and sends a check engine code to the dash and doesn't read how much gas is in the Xterra at any give time. I have spoken to Nissan dealership and they have said it wasn't part of the national recall of other Nissan fuel tank issues. This is ridiculous I am still in the 60000 mile engine warranty and it should be covered my the fuel pump 60000 mile warranty as well.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #11

Apr 102010


  • 50,000 miles
2006 Nissan Xterra fuel gauge is not working which will cause me to run out of gas on the side of the road. This is a dangerous situation and not a typical maintenance problem.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #10

Apr 022010


  • 44,000 miles
2006 Nissan Xterra obdii error code P0463 - fuel level sensor a circuit high input: Essentially, filling up your gas tank is not registered by the gas gauge, so you run the risk of running out of gas and getting stranded somewhere. The estimated repair cost is very high...

- Lawrence, PA, USA

problem #9

Nov 232009


  • 40,000 miles
Error code P0463 I had 1/4 of a tank of gas and went to fill up. After filling up my gas tank, I turned on the car, at which point the needle did not register the full tank. After driving a couple miles, the check engine light came on. I went directly to the dealer and was told that it was a fuel sending unit/sensor and that it was no longer covered after 30K miles. After returning home and doing research, I went online to after performing a search, I came across many others who have experienced the same problem. Apparently it has something to do with the fuel sending unit. A similar problem was found on the 2000-2004 Xterra models and a recall was performed when the vehicle would stop after not getting any fuel, posing a great danger. It seems that something in the unit is faulty and will corrode over time. There is a general consensus that everyone who is having the problem is experiencing the same thing after having the vehicle for over 3 years and with around 39K-49K. If this problem existed in previous models, and it was recalled, the 2005-2007 Xterras, frontiers, and pathfinders should get this fixed at no charge to the customer!! why wait for accidents and possible deaths, especially since the problem lies in an integral part of the vehicle. Cost of repair ranges from $300-600.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 312009

Xterra 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. While driving 25 mph, he noticed that the fuel gauge illuminated and was reading empty and the service engine light was illuminated as well. He stated that while the failure was occurring the vehicle continued to drive normally. The contact was in the process of taking the vehicle to the dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer informed the contact to have the vehicle inspected by a certified dealer. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage was 54,000. Updated 10/21/09 updated 10/20/09

- Grey, ME, USA

problem #7

Jul 242009


  • 66,812 miles
The contact noticed that all of the dashboard instruments were malfunctioning. The vehicle was not diagnosed by the dealership and the contact noticed beforehand that the air conditioner had stopped functioning. The current and failure mileage was at 66812. Bml

- Watchung, NJ, USA

problem #6

Jun 052009


  • 65,000 miles
The gas sign drops after filling up indicating E with a light on and the check engine light comes on which has stayed on ever since June 5, 2009. There are times when we would switch drivers and wouldn't know how much gas there are, that's a problem. We purchased the Nissan X-terra in 2007, but it is the model year 2006. The problem does occur within two years after purchasing the vehicle. We believe there should be a recall on repairing our vehicle because it is apparent that the defect came from the manufacturing of the vehicle. We are still stuck with this problem and we shouldn't have to pay for repairs. If this problem doesn't get solved, there will be further actions. Figuring that since we are loyal customers, there should be some kind of understanding.

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #5

May 102008


  • 46,234 miles
2006 Nissan Xterra off-road fuel gauge no longer accurately reflects the actual fuel level in the gas tank. After a full tank of fuel, only goes to 3/4 level on fuel gauge low fuel light indicator no longer works either fuel level does not go below 1/4 level, even when actual fuel level is almost empty.

- Arvada, CO, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?