Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Xterra appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

The same defect exists in the Pathfinder & Frontier as well. And according to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,146 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Xterra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Xterra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Xterra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 11)

problem #203

Feb 052015

Xterra 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle ran out of fuel and the fuel gauge failed to indicate that the vehicle needed fuel. The fuel tank was replenished, but the fuel gauge still did not display the correct fuel level. The vehicle was not taken to dealer or an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 8/31/15

- Mauriceville, TX, USA

problem #202

Feb 052014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Fuel sending unit is faulty, causing truck to stall on a major highway twice with no warning (while showing there was still gas, but tank empty). Driving with my 5 year old son and almost being crashed into because of this hazard. Nissan had a recall out on few VIN #'s in which mine was supposedly not included. Nissan says they are not obligated to do anything about this problem which seems to be common with this vehicle when I look it up. The repair costs around $600 to fix. My truck has failed inspection because of this issue, so now in order for me to drive and not be pulled over, I have to somehow gather $600 together to fix this. I'm a single parent who cannot afford to fix this, and as I see all over the internet, many people have had to replace this same part multiple times on the same vehicle. Doesn't sound proper to me when it's a safety hazard.

- Aberdeen, NJ, USA

problem #201

Jul 172014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
On 5/19/2010 the NHTSA and Nissan issued a recall campaign bulletin #ntb10-031A covering certain Nissan vehicles manufactured between 2006 and 2008. The recall was to address a potential fuel gauge accuracy. Specifically, the issue can cause the fuel gauge to show the vehicle still has fuel when the tank is actually empty. This could result in the vehicle shutting down, rendering power steering, power brakes and other vehicle systems inoperable or where performance may be greatly reduced, which at highway speeds could cause of loss or control or accident. My 2005 Nissan titan was recalled for the same issue and was in fact impacted when the vehicle shut off at highway speed. I was fortunately able to control the vehicle to a safe stop and the vehicle was fixed under an identical recall. In July 2014, when my son's 2006 Nissan Xterra began to experience similar symptoms. I contacted Nissan to confirm that vehicles inclusion in the aforementioned campaign. I spoke to [xxx] and opened case [xxx]. [xxx] instructed me to have the vehicle diagnosed at a Nissan dealership (which I did), but she subsequently denied coverage under the recall stating that the VIN was not included. She stated that not all vehicles for that model year were included in the recall, but rather were offered extended warranty coverage for the specific part which my vehicle was now beyond. This was not stated in the campaign notice - I requested she escalate my concern to a supervisor. A week later I was contacted by [xxx] (no last name given) from Nissan. [xxx] contradicted what I had previously been told by stating that all model year 2006 Xterras were only given extended warranty coverage (I'm not sure if [xxx] or [xxx] were at this point lying to me) and that Nissan would not reconsider my request for coverage. This is my 5th Nissan. I'm requesting Nissan cover the ~$380 repair. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #200

Aug 012014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 132,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving the car at 40mph/around 1000rpms the vehicle began vibrating at the back end. Upon acceleration, the vibration ceased. This behavior became consistent. A mechanic independent from Nissan found that the transmission and radiator must be replaced per his conversation with the local Nissan dealership. Also advising independent mechanic that the dealership admits to having a floor full of transmissions that need repair. I investigated the class action suit filed in 2010 and already settled, but had no knowledge of this prior as Nissan did not alert me to the persistent problem since 2005 I should expect my car to develop.

- Daniel Island, SC, USA

problem #199

Jul 012014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
My fuel gauge went to zero after I just filled up, my check engine light went on. Code P0463. The fuel pump is fine, just the fuel level sensor. I have heard this is a common issue with this year, is there going to be a recall?

- Loveland, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #198

Nov 132009

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I was driving and the fuel gauge showed a quarter of a tank of gas left, the vehicle sputtered and stopped. This is an ongoing problem, so I have to keep the fuel tank semi full at all times. I have contacted Nissan and the response I get is there are no current recalls for this vehicle!

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #197

Mar 302014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While on a business trip away from home noticed the heater stopped blowing warm air. A few minutes later engine temperature spiked but then returned to normal. 50 miles later heater started working again. Took the car to a local mechanic and discovered transmission cooler within the radiator had failed, allowing the radiator coolant to mix with the transmission fluid. Paid for the replacement of the radiator/transmission cooler, system flush. Had the system flushed again 1 week after radiator replacement. Transmission now acting erratically, particular when shifting between 3rd and 4th gear. Initial assessments by mechanic suggests transmission and transmission computer require replacement. Cost of replacement exceeds the value of car even though the rest of the car is in excellent condition.

- Dobson, NC, USA

problem #196

Feb 202014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
I purchased my 2006 Nissan Xterra a month ago and when I drove off the lot it registered a quarter tank of gas but the next day as I was driving it ran out of gas. I filled up the gas tank and again it registered a quarter tank for about 5 minutes then went to E with the gas light on. I looked online and found there was a recall for the fuel sending unit and I called Nissan who told me to take it to a local dealer to get looked at. I just came back from the dealer who told me that it was already replaced with a new part and there is nothing they can do for me. If it was replaced with a new part then why is there still a problem. This is an extreme hazard as I can run out of gas in the middle of an intersection or a busy highway. I feel this should be fixed by Nissan as they know this is a faulty part and evidently even the new parts are faulty.

- Hatboro, PA, USA

problem #195

May 042010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated that the speedometer and fuel gauge malfunctioned. As a result, she was unable to read neither the speed nor the level of fuel in her vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the instrument panel needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000. The current mileage was 123,000. Updated 02/27/14

- Bush, LA, USA

problem #194

Nov 082013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 100,014 miles
Filled up with gas. Drove approx. 5 miles and service engine light came on.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #193

Oct 102013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The fuel hand gets to half a tank and suddenly goes to empty there for I am not able to track my fuel usage properly and this causes the service engine light to show the Nissan company will not fix my vehicle they say its out of warranty.

- Bryan, TX, USA

problem #192

Oct 172012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Defective fuel gauge sensor. Was not aware that there was a recall period to have sensor checked out and fixed for free. Grace period has expired and dealership which is lokey Nissan now wants to charge us nearly $700 dollars to fix. If we had known about this defect earlier via any type of communication, we would have had vehicle checked out. Since we purchased this vehicle from said dealership, we would have expected some sort of notice concerning this flaw. We have had our share of problems that should not have occurred with such low mileage, but this is over the top.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #191

Feb 132013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
One day after filling my tank with gas, the check engine light came on. After having the obd2 scanned I had an P0463 trouble code for the fuel level sending unit. The fuel level gauge stopped working after that and still does not give a correct reading. I never know how much gas is in the tank!

- Thomasville, NC, USA

problem #190

Aug 142013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Code - P0463 - fuel level sensor circuit high input. Fuel gauge does not reflect an accurate amount of fuel. Sadly this code is an ever common code across all Nissan.

- Snohomish , SC, USA

problem #189

Oct 122011

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
2006 Nissan Xterra fuel sending unit stopped working at 43,000 miles. The fuel gauge started showing inaccurate amounts, then worked intermittently, then stopped working completely. Reading the Nissan forums, this is a very, very common problem, and there should be a recall.

- Frisco, CO, USA

problem #188

May 012012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My fuel sender float does not work. I have to keep track of the miles just to be sure I don't run out of gas on a train track or in the middle of nowhere. There was a recall done for this part for 2001-2008 Nissan Xterras. Mine in an '06, but when I try to get it fixed the dealership and the Nissan manufacturer tell me that the recall doesn't apply to my VIN. Its not fair that some vehicles with the proper VIN that have this problem are allowed to get fixed but not mine with the same problem.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #187

Mar 202013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I was filling up the vehicle with gas. Next thing I know the vehicle had the check engine light on. Call Nissan and the stated is a common problem. Since then I have been out of gas twice on the streets due to a unknowing my gas level. At Nissan they stated that is not a hazard which I believe it S when it happen in busy roads or at night.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #186

Jun 112013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
We have recently began to notice the heat - this past winter did not want to blow warm/hot air unless we were stopped in trying to diagnose the problem, we found red/foaming transmission fluid in our radiator-what a surprise after draining and flushing the radiator system and the fact we did not need the heater any further thought we maybe just had a fluke thing happen. Now in driving our Xterra it has all of a sudden developed a transmission problem that endangers anyone who drives it. It starts our running smooth and then out of no where has no movement and then in an instant will lunge. We have been on the interstate and had this scenario happen in traffic - talk about scary when another vehicle all of sudden is in your back window and now on your bumper..it has caused us to be fearful we were going to be the cause of a major accident more than once. We have a 6 year old that is with us all the time and I can tell you that we are afraid to put him in this vehicle and go anywhere. We are a two income family living from paycheck to paycheck and do not know where or how we are going to get the money for repairs. Nissan denies there is a problem but rest assured, if we are in a wreck because of this issue there will be a lawsuit.

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #185

May 222013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Fuel gauge does accurately display remaining fuel in tank and service engine light has come on.

- Harding, PA, USA

problem #184

Apr 072013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 68,500 miles
Fuel gauge quits working because of faulty tank sending unit.

- Russellville, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?