Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Xterra appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

The same defect exists in the Pathfinder & Frontier as well. And according to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,143 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Xterra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Xterra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Xterra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #61

Apr 202015

Xterra 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated that there was transmission failure and there was a component that fractured without warning, associated with fluid leaking from the radiator into the transmission. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the transmission and the radiator needed to be replaced due to a crack in the atf line that flows through the engine coolant chamber into the radiator. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA action number: DP12004 (power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 8/10/15

- Shippensburg, PA, USA

problem #60

Aug 012014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
The radiator used in my 2007 Nissan Xterra is a faulty product which caused a leak of the radiator fluid into the transmission fluid system. When the transmission heats up during longer periods of driving, the radiator fluid also heats up and effectively ruins the internal transmission parts. This has caused several issues in the shifting of the vehicle, and often times in very dangerous situations where acceleration is key to avoiding accidents.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #59

Apr 152015

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
We just discovered our 2007 Nissan Xterra (117,000 miles) is one of the many Nissan to have the radiator crack and leak coolant into the transmission and transmission fluid into the cooling system. The car now needs around $6,000 in repairs to fix the transmission, radiator, etc. We bought a warranty from the dealer when we bought the car in 2010. The warranty covers the transmission up to 120,000 miles. We have taken the car to the dealership for the last five years for regular service and was never informed about this design defect. The dealer will not fix the transmission as covered in the warranty.

- Silverthorne, CO, USA

problem #58

Mar 282015

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 3/28/15, parking my 2007 Nissan Xterra (126,0000 miles) in tampa, fl. Before I had the car in "park", there was a loud noise, the engine started smoking and a lot of purple/green/gray fluid leaked out from the bottom of my car. Afraid to move the car, aaa towed it to the Nissan dealership in tampa. When the tow truck driver arrived and saw the color of the fluids, he quickly determined that my car had leaked both transmission and radiator fluid. He said he heard that this was a problem with Nissan Xterras. I was shocked! since purchasing new in December 2006, I have always taken my car to Nissan for all service. Other than a few oil changes, all service has been performed by Nissan dealerships and their certified technicians. Just prior to this incident, my car had been shaking. I had been to Nissan with this complaint in the past, but after repairs were made it seemed to go away. At no time was a transmission problem mentioned as a possibility. I have lived in different areas in Florida and used only Nissan dealerships for service and repair, willing to pay more for repairs than an independent repair shops, that Nissan dealerships and service would know my vehicle best & be proactive, alerting to any potential future problems, I felt protected. The last major repair was in July 2014, at 113,000 miles at autonation Nissan, delray, fl. Complaint was severe shaking, and stumbling when accelerating. Repairs were over $1,000; a transmission issue was never mentioned, even after further repairs were needed. I was never informed of transmission problems with Xterras until Saturday at the dealer in tampa, who said he alerts all Xterra owners to be proactive with radiator replacement. After the comment I did research online. I was unaware of the class action suit settled with Nissan; I was never notified of a problem history with Nissan Xterra transmissions and radiators.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #57

Mar 222015

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
Transmission control unit fried by defected radiator failure. I am now one of the many 2007 Xterra owners taken by the Nissan motor corporation who put out a defective product and now refuse to stand behind it. Me and the wife were stopping to get a bite to eat, ended up being a final stop. After picking up the food the truck would not crank, gauges worked, horn and lights but still would not crank. Had it towed to the house and then contacted the dealership. Then it gets worst, the dealership "technician" replied with the exact same description of problem over the phone that I gave to him when I called to have it towed to the dealer. The symptoms are no crank, milky looking radiator fluid and the automatic transmission fuses keeps blowing. Now I contacted the Nissan motor corporation and got no "joy" when I found out that the were offering a big fat nothing!!!!!! I guess this is what you get for buying a Nissan :(

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #56

Sep 042013

Xterra

  • 98,000 miles
My 2007 Nissan Xterra started having both transmission and cooling system issues back in September 2014. After a few trips to our mechanic it was discovered that the vehicle had a cracked radiator and was allowing both coolant into the transmission and transmission fluid into the cooling the system. Apparently this is a well known issue and there was a class action lawsuit against Nissan, however the terms of the settlement only cover vehicles under 100K miles. By the time we found out the vehicle had just passed 100K (106K) and now Nissan refused to cover it! I'm now looking at a $5K - $6K repair bill and Nissan refused to budge.

- Grass Valley, CA, USA

problem #55

Mar 062015

Xterra

  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contamination of the transmission with anti freeze due to leak in cooling system, resulting in transmission failure.

- London, KY, USA

problem #54

Feb 022015

Xterra

  • miles
2007 Nissan Xterra. Consumer was told to pay a $2500 copay because his vehicle was over 80,000 miles. Consumer doesn't comply because he inquired about vehicle problems before the 80,000 mile mark. The consumer stated while his was driving, she noticed the vehicle began smoking and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where a diagnostic test revealer the radiator and transmission needed to be replaced due to coolant and oil mixing.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #53

Oct 012013

Xterra

  • 95,000 miles
I took my Nissan Xterra 2007 into boulder Nissan in October 2013. At the time, it had under 100,000 miles. Upon examination of the car for lack of heat, they said they flushed it and eventually I would have to replace the radiator. They did not tell me that there was a class action lawsuit against Nissan for defective parts leaking coolant into the transmission. I returned to Nissan in Jan. 2015 for the same problem and was hit with a bill for $5,200 to replace the radiator, transmission, timing chain and thermostat.

- Lafayette, CO, USA

problem #52

Nov 222014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 118,543 miles
I bought my 07 Xterra 6 months ago from transitowne amherst and the dealership told me nothing was wrong with the vehicle. Now 6 months down the road the transmission has gone terminal due to the known problem where coolant leaks into the transmission and causes it to fail. I believe any dealership should have checked to make sure that a vehicle they were selling would not have this issue before they sell it.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #51

Oct 012014

Xterra

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is one of the many transmission issues with 2007 Xterras where the coolant leaks into the transmission and destroys it. The repair cost is 8500 dollars if the 100000 mile extended warranty has been passed. I contacted Nissan and they told me that this is my responsibility despite the hundred of complaints regarding the exact same issue. When driving at any speed, when the Xterra changes gears there is a rough vibration that keeps getting worse the longer it goes for. Had I not learned about this on my own Accord this could have resulted in a very bad accident.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #50

Nov 032014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 90,400 miles
Sitting at light in the left lane, waiting for it to turn green and all of a sudden the car started making a loud racing sound. Not sure if it was transmission or engine making the noise. I looked at my gauges and saw the temperature gauge was on H. I had to wait for the light to turn green, because I was at an intersection, in the left lane, to get on the highway and there were cars on my right and cars going in the other direction. As soon as I could move, I pulled over to a safe spot, but before I could, the car started overheating and smoke started coming out of the hood. It was towed to my garage and after my mechanic looked at it, he said this is a known issue for Nissan Xterras 2007, because the radiator is defective. The coolant mixes with the transmission and the car stops running! apparently, Nissan knows that the part is defective so they extended warranty to 80,000 mile and anything past that I have to pay. Well, I have 90,400 miles and can't believe that Nissan can get away with knowing a part is defective and not recalling all trucks affected. They certainly changed the radiator design for the newer vehicles, admitting that it is a problem. They should recall the cars and replace the defective part. It is all over the internet, because the problem is so widespread and Nissan will not take ownership of it!!!!!!. please look into this and look on the internet to see how common this issue is for Xterras and all the people that got screwed by Nissan. Thank you.

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #49

Jan 062014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 98,560 miles
Radiator cracked leaking coolant into the transmission.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #48

May 242013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 101,052 miles
Transmission failure due to engine coolant from leaking coiling system.

- Lithia Springs, GA, USA

problem #47

Sep 072013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 96,400 miles
Nissan sent a warranty notification letter that the radiator could crack and leak into the transmission. The letter stated the warranty ran out at 80K miles. They would not replace the radiator and transmission until there was an actual problem. I didn't start having problems until about 96K miles. When I brought it in to the dealer, I was told it would cost me $3000 my part to fix it and they would cover the rest. I have not been able to afford to make the repair at this time. Nissan knew the part was bad and still did nothing to correct the problem.

- Maynardville, TN, USA

problem #46

Jan 012007

Xterra

  • miles
From the day 1 I purchased this vehicle water is dropping from ac on a passenger side. Dealer tried to repair, even changed mats. Did not help. There is a bad smell inside the vehicle if I keep it locked after using ac.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #45

Jun 142014

Xterra

  • 102,000 miles
A defect caused a crack in the transmission radiator which leaked fluid into the transmission causing unexpected catastrophic transmission failure.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #44

Jun 122014

Xterra 6-cyl

  • miles
My transmission is ruined because both the radiator antifreeze and the transmission fluid have mixed. My wife could have had a serious accident.

- Duxbury, MA, USA

problem #43

May 072014

Xterra

  • 111,000 miles
This week my sons 2007 Nissan Xterra would not start and we had it towed to a Nissan dealership near his college in scranton pa. Yesterday we were informed that the transmission and radiator need to be replaced, at a cost of around $5000! this is shocking because my son insists that he noticed nothing amiss with the operation of his truck until it he was unable to start it. After spending 10 minutes on the internet, I learned about the Nissan transmission class action lawsuit. We have been religious in terms of scheduled maintenance, and overall care of the vehicle. We were not aware of the cooling/transmissions problems plaguing Nissan trucks. In addition, I have had the vehicle serviced at two separate Nissan dealerships, one in New York and another now in pa. It is disgraceful that neither Nissan dealership mentioned anything! this morning I contacted Nissan corporate and was told that since the vehicle is over 100,000, there is nothing they can do for us. I do not have $5000 and do not know what to do with my sons Nissan. As others have mentioned in postings, there likely many others with vehicles over the 100,000 marker, now just experiencing the negative effects of the defective manufacturing by Nissan. There should be a second class action suit filed against Nissan!!!

- Atlantic Beach, NY, USA

problem #42

Dec 182013

Xterra

  • 125,000 miles
Radiator leaked into transmission just after 100,000 miles. So why didn't Nissan tell us this was going to happen?

- Sun City, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?