Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling: Engine Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

4.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,364 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Oldsmobile Alero engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Oldsmobile Alero:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Oldsmobile Alero Owner Comments

problem #14

Jul 212011

Alero 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2001 olds Alero I bought for my daughter. It has a problem with starting and stalling. Based on my research it appears to be a problem with the passkey security system. I have had the car towed multiple times, had it in the shop multiple times without resolution. It appears to be a common problem with GM cars of this era. There is no service notice available from GM on how to fix this problem. The car will just stop sometimes when my daughter is driving and I fear it could lead to a crash or injury.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #13

Mar 112009

Alero

  • 177 miles
My girlfriend bought a 2001 Oldsmobile Alero from a dealer with a 30 day warranty. The cars antifreeze mixes with the oil (head gasket). He never fixed this and dissapeared on us. This was in March 09. I was told that I might be able to contact GM and they might be able to fix this problem. I've read online that this car was recalled because of numerous problems. Please contact me kema, cornell thanks.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #12

Apr 012006

Alero 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2001 Oldsmobile Alero has been intermittently stalling since April 2006. I have had my car diagnosed by 3 mechanics all of which can find nothing wrong via their diagnostic machines. Before taking it to GM. GM hooked the car up to their diagnostics machine and drove it for 20 miles overnight and said they could not find the problem. This is very dangerous because I do not know when the car is going to stall. Unfortunately I am unable to drive the car on the highway for these reasons, it could stall and I could be killed by someone going fast and running into the back of me. I only drive the car locally in the city in which I live.

- Philadelphia , PA, USA

problem #11

May 072006

Alero 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My engine coolant, on my 2001 olds Alero, has been going down for the last 18 months. I have refilled the coolant container 3 times. When I checked it again about 1 week ago there was gel like substance in the coolant. I checked with several mechanics, all of whom said my intake manifold gaskets are leaking and oil is getting into the engine coolant, that I need to have the gaskets replaced and the engine flushed which would cost me $900. I then found out generals motors has known about this problem for at least 2 years because they replaced the defective part in new cars beginning in 2004. Canada has a class action law suit against General Motors for this same problem. So far GM has done nothing about fixing my car.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #10

Feb 082006

Alero 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,900 miles
On Wednesday, Feb 8, 2006 three lights came on in my car at the same time. They are 'service vehicle soon, trac off, & anti-lock'. these lights have continued coming on since. Week before these lights had came on. I had new hub bearings put on my car. Then once this was done about 3-4 days later these lights came. I have taken two 3 garages to have this looked at and they which they have put a computer hooked up to my car to check for any codes while the lights were on. There were no codes showing for my car. Yesterday, Tuesday, Feb 14, 2006, I was coming to a stop at a stop sign when I heard a grinding noise which I was pressing the brake in and was able to stop with two pumps to the barkes.came to a stop.. if there were to be someone ahead of me I would have rear-ended this person or maybe even rolled right into oncoming traffic in the intersection. As I surf this web sit I find they same problems other people had or having the same similar problems with their GM vehicles recently. I was given an 800 number to check for recalls I just called and there was no recall of this sort listed for this vehicle. This is definitely a safety issue that needs to be addressed. It seems off that know five people, including myself, in the same place of work have the same problems with their GM vehicle and only one was covered. This is an expensive item to be replaced and since it is a safety concern for all involved, this problem should be covered under a recall and not out of our pocket.

- Cato, NY, USA

problem #9

May 012005

Alero 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Alero gl had problems with the computer, cruise control, and the floor was leaking.** answer required***. the vehicle consumed excessive amounts of gas, the vehicle only got 208 mile per tank of gas. The rear defroster works intermittently. The ABS light, traction light and service engine light illuminated at the same time. When this happened the vehicle lost traction and ABS brakes. On two occasion this failure caused the consumer to lose control of the vehicle. The rear seat slid forward when the brakes were applied abruptly.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #8

Mar 152005

Alero 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loss of antifreeze on a GM V6 engine is due to the failure of an intake manifold gasket. Consumer took the vehicle to a service department and had the problem fixed. It happens on the same vehicle every 60,000 miles. Engine failure is a safety concern.

- Port Jefferson Station, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 222005

Alero 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,825 miles
Our 2001 Alero had the lower manifold gasket fail at 64000 miles, the gasket was replaced at a cost of $562. The shop tells me that this is a very common problem with this engine. There were three 3400's in the shop the same day mine was repaired.

- Prairieville, LA, USA

problem #6

May 122004

Alero 6-cyl

  • miles
Problems with high engine idles and shifting through all the gears. This would occasionally occur when the vehicle was started from a cold engine. The transmission was shifted into drive and without the consumers foot on the gas pedal, the vehicle shifted through all the gears. The engine displayed a loud rumble sound. When the consumers foot was taken off of the accelerator it shifted forward. A connector was replaced which appeared to be the problem. The symptoms later appeared. A broken wire was replaced in the harness connector.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #5

Mar 192004

Alero

  • miles
I have a 2001 Alero and I am experiencing problems with my intake gasket leaking, and continual problems with my wheel hub bearing.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #4

Jul 012002

Alero 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This complaint is in regards to problems my wife and I are having with our Oldsmobile Alero. We initially used the better business bureaus's autoline arbitration process and although the arbitrator said that the car qualified for the Ohio lemon law, he thought that there may have been a misunderstanding between us and the dealer. What a joke. If you listen to the audio tape of the hearing it is obvious that General Motors was aware of the problem. The following is part of the initial letter that was sent to the better business bureau since you have a restriction set on how much info can be supplied here. Please note that the car is paid for. Date: 08/18/2003 re: William G. marsh 2001 Oldsmobile Alero  odometer reading = 9198 possible violation of the Ohio lemon law better business bureau (B.B.B.) arbitration our 2001 Alero has been in for repeated repairs of shaking (like dieseling) and stalling problems when the air conditioning is being turned off, as it was designed. August (2002) of last year when we were on vacation in shipshewana, Indiana, this problem became very severe. Along with an oil change light that came on (without reason) at 5,454 miles, bill reset this. The following day our low tire pressure light came on at 5,580 (without reason).

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #3

Dec 092003

Alero 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
Failure of intake manifold resulted in coolant leaking into the engine after only 40,000 miles, I am finding this is a common problem often resulting in engine failure.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #2

Aug 232003

Alero 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,200 miles
My car would turn over, but wasn't getting any fuel to the engine. The service engine soon light came on and there had to be code stored in the computer, but the dealer couldn't find a problem with the engine. They also ran my battery down attempting to start the car the first time and first diagnosed it as a dead battery. Then the dealer "diagnosed" it as a problem with the oe alarm and that it needed resetting. Then three days after it was "repaired" it did the same thing and yet again it was towed to the same dealer and diagnosed and repaired the same way as the first time again. The problem I have is that if it ever failled to restart in an emergency or in dangerous place, that it could cause and injury/death and serious damage. If this problem just now happened twice within two weeks and I've had the car 2.5 years, then that should tell the dealer that there is a problem.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #1

Aug 062001

Alero

  • miles
I bought the call on 7/31/01 and it broke down on me 8/6/01. The engine was repaired by yark and returned to me on 8/14/01, on 8/16/01 yarks called me and asked me to return my car that Oldsmobile called them and said the valve springs were defective and that they suggest to change the rest of the valve springs in my new car. I dropped my car off on 8/17/01 and I just received a call that my car once again is ready for me to pick-up. I have talked the yarks general manager and the service director about how unhappy I am about my car. To me my car is not new any more, it's more of a used car since the engine had to be fixed. The car was built in a air conditioned building on an assembly line-that is a new car. My car was build in an assembly line but has been reworked (repaired) in a garage. I understand anything man made is not perfect, but I believe that we have to stand behind our work. My car only had 383 miles when a valve spring broke and caused major problems. I make my first car payment on my "new" car next week and I have only had it in my position for a total of 8-9 days. It's not going to feel like a new car anymore. I don't feel like I can depend on this car. I guess what I would like and I'm in the process of doing is trying to talk to a GM regional sales rep. About my problem and to see what we can do. Anyhow this is my report. Thanks for taking the time to review my situation. Sincerely, wendy jensen.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?