Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Turns Over But Won't Start

2001 Oldsmobile Alero (Page 2 of 6)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Oldsmobile dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

8.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$405.00
Average Mileage:
92,430 miles
Total Complaints:
119 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (66 reports)
  2. replaced fuel pump (11 reports)
  3. passlock security device (8 reports)
  4. dealer reset the security system, fixed it temporarily (5 reports)
  5. replaced ignition switch & reset security system (3 reports)
  6. replace oil pressure sensor (2 reports)
2001 Oldsmobile Alero engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Oldsmobile Alero:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Oldsmobile Alero Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #99

Aug 202009

Alero

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It will turn over but wont start. I had the fuel pump replaced and that did nothing. I cannot locate where it connects to the engine to see if there's any pressure. It is one thing after another with this car. Why fix what is wrong when something else is going to mess up. If there are any CLASS ACTION LAW SUITS taking place or in the works please let me get involved. My mom also bought an Alero and sent it back after 6 months. I have come to the conclusion that these cars SUCK. The maker needs to recall and reimburse people who fell for this trap!

- , Lexington, KY, USA

problem #98

Oct 092009

Alero 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles

Turns over strong. Won't start. Right now, I have my fuel tank off, with the pump out. I came online to see how much I was gonna spend on a new one and found you guys. Whew, hopefully someone will have found a REAL fix by now, but I'm skeptical. I'm gonna try checking some wires, changing the fuel filter, and any other "relatively cheap" fixes, but I'd really like to know if there is a true FIX. Please let me know if you've had any luck yet.

Update from Nov 2, 2009: Really easy fix for me (10 min.). Read your owners manual under "passlock" and it will tell you how to reset it. If it acts up again, I recommend bringing it to a remote-start installer and have them bypass the system all together (they have to do this in order to install their products, so they'll know how. $75 max.)

Nevertheless, I'm still pissed about this, because I don't have a car lift, and I had my fuel tank off and pump hanging out. Try putting a half-full fuel tank back in by yourself (I had nothing to empty it into). WHAT A STUPID PROBLEM TO HAVE.

- , Duluth, MN, USA

problem #97

Dec 122007

Alero 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,561 miles

Well, we thought it was fixed. Drain gas tank, add fuel and treatment, ran good for awhile. Then, exactly one week after the initial problem, same thing. Go out to start the car, nothing. This time we have it towed to the dealer. They call next day to say its ready, but they didn't fix anything. Nothing wrong with it. OMFG!!!!!!!!!!! I hate this car with everything I have. I will never EVER buy another GM. Bought this little car 2 months ago to save gas instead of driving my Tahoe all the time. I know that tonight we will go get the car, and sooner rather than later, it will not start again.

- , Harrison, AR, USA

problem #96

Aug 152009

Alero GL 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

F*ck oldsmobile aleros!!!! dont buy one at all i just bought one used 4 days ago with 124,000 miles and the mother f*cker wont start, it just keeps cranking, but wont start, i thought it was the fuel pump so i searched online to see how much it would cost and i found this site and all the complaints about the same damn thing. my alero came with a full tank of gas because the mother f*cker new the fuel pump was f*cked up, i swear alero needs to fix this f*cking problem before i f*ck somebody up. moneys to tight in todays world to f*cking deal with this sh*t f*ck, and once again do not buy any oldsmobile models their pieces of sh*t.

- , Collinsville, IL, USA

problem #95

Aug 012009

Alero GL 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

My car drove fine yesterday. I had an appt to go to this morning. Went out to my car and it turns over but wont start. My "service engine soon" light and "battery" light came on stays on while ignition is engaged. Battery is not that old. What is the problem???? My neighbor thinks clogged fuel filter or fuel pump. After cruising through this website, it could be anything!! Geez. Its the only car I have. Its paid for. But right now I am unemployed and I have to move in 2 weeks. Bad timing for this kinda b.s!!!!

- , Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #94

Jul 242009

Alero 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

i HAVE AN ALERO AND IT CRANKS OVER BUT WON'T START THIS PROBLEM BEGAN ON THE 24TH OF JULY. BUT YESTERDAY ALL DAY CAR WAS FINE STARTED RIGHT UP AND SUDDENLY LEFT ME STRANDED AT SCHOOL LAST NIGHT, LEFT THE CAR IN THE SCHOOL PARKING LOT. THIS MORNING STILL WILL NOT START BUT DOES CRANK OVER. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE USED FROM A HONDA DEALER BOUGHT THE VEHICLE WITH 82,000 MILES ABOUT 9 MONTHS AGO.

- , Chicago, IL, USA

problem #93

May 052009

Alero 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car has been nothing but trouble since the month after we bought it. First the service engine light would stay on. got that fixed then the low tire pressure light stayed on Got that fixed. Then the started went out. next we had trouble with the fuses. Fixed that now the stupid thing wont start. New battery.turns over cranks then dies. Now nothing on the instrument panel works. Car still wont start. Finally got it started took it to diagnosis center couldn't find anything wrong. Said it could be the alternator but tested it and it's good tested the fuel pump its good. Oh my favorite is put the car in park and it cut off. Started after 15 min next day wouldn't start yet again. after working on it 3 hours it started like nothing was wrong. This car is a piece of sh*t and I wont my money back.

- , Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #92

Dec 232006

(reported on)

Alero GLS V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

I have 2001 Alero with 62,000 miles. It had been running fine till about 6 months back, when my car won't start. It would crank, but won't start. Got it towed to the dealer. The dealer said that there was a problem with lock cylinder and had to be replaced. Since it was under warranty, I did not pay anything. OK.. the car ran OK for 4 months, and then it happened again in the parking lot of a mall.. it won't start.. tried many times.. it would crank, but wouldn't start.. got it towed to the dealer and for some strange reason, it started a the dealer.. very strange.. the dealer this time said that ignition lock had to be replaced.. cost me $315! OK.. but 2 weeks later, the car stops on the highway.. fortunately, I was able to pull on the curb.. it would crank.. but wouldn't start.. got it towed to the dealer again.. and strangely enough, the car started as soon as the tow truck drop the car at the dealer.. the dealer could not find anything wrong with the car.. this is horrible.. I am very nervous to drive the car.. I see many of you folks have similar problem? What have you guys done? I can not keep on running this car and it would die on me in the middle of the winter! Any thoughts.. suggestions on what could be wrong will be greatly appreciated!

- , Collegeville, PA, USA

problem #91

Mar 012009

Alero V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,466 miles

Last December this car wouldn't start. It turned over but no ignition. Took it to Olds Dealer. Repaired for 600. most covered by extended warranty program. Feb 2009 it would not start. Towed to Repair shop. It worked for the repair man, kept it for over a week until it began again not to stopl. Wanted to put in another pump. Declined the idea as it was recently done. Sent to another repair shop. Checked it out decided it was fuel pump also. Said the parts are made in Mex and are some time defective. $685. for new fuel filter and pump. One week later it won't work. Same problem. Sent it back for repair. Stated it was a leak in the pressure tube of some such. Ran home. My grand daughter has the car for College. She takes my Buick when her's doesn/t work. Today it won't work. I don't feel that the fuel pump was the problem. I think it is some other thing. It is a poorly designed car. She will not buy another American car. I don't blame her. Any idea??

- , Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #90

Feb 092009

Alero GLS 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

This peice of sh*t started out needing turn signals replaced thank god they were under warranty due to being recalled however when the warranty was up all hell broke loose I had the engine replaced,fuel injectors fixed for nothing because its the fuel pump the car stalls on me in frront of my sons school when its time for everyone to be picked up can u picture a traffic jam full of school buses,daycare vans, and angry babymamas that was there cursing and shaking there heads, not to mention I had to be pushed up hill to avoid traffic car wouldn't start after 3 hours so of course battery went dead had to get car towed home

- , Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #89

Jan 032009

Alero GS 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After reading some of the other rants, I'm gonna replace the fuse in addition to the filter.

I was driving on a short run & it just died! Got it stopped, waited a moment, then it started. Since then it's been hard to start, like fuel starvation.

Too bad, it's a nice little car with plenty of zip!

- , Fort Myers, Fl., USA

problem #88

Oct 172008

Alero 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I have a 2001 Olsmobile Alero. I had a new fuel pump put on , a new fuel injector, and new relay switch and fuel sensor, and after all that a new battery. I get in it try to crank and it turn over but won't crank. The Security light keeps blinking, this happen after the car wont crank. I'm afraid to spend anymore money on this car thinking that it's a waste of money, money that I just don't have for every other week car troubles. I don't understand why is it that the Oldsmobile Dealership has so many complaints on the car, why is it that they have not done a Recall on ALL of the Oldsmobile Alero. After I have already spent 400.00 plus for repairs, I get in it to go to the store, get back in it and it wont, crank. I'm sick and tried of this sh*t. Can someone please help me?

- , Memphis, TN, UK

problem #87

Nov 302008

Alero 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

Just paid $700 to have the fuel pump replaced on my daughter's car. It lasted 5 days!!! Now it turns over, tries to start and runs ragged with a sound like someone is beating the crap out of the car from underneath, then dies. The fuel cap has been replaced also. The gas tank is full. I can't keep it running long enough to trade it in. I won't sell it because I wouldn't wish an Alero on my worst enemy!!!

- , Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #86

Oct 242008

Alero 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

I bought this car last winter in Feb. By April, I was replacing the Intake Manifold gasket. This cost about $750.00. Then about 2 1/2 months later, the engine went out in the bastard. Had that replaced, that was $1600.00 The car had been running good, I have been keeping up with the oil changes and maintenance and the car still acts up!! I keep a full tank of gas in the car since about 2 weeks ago, I go out to my car to go to lunch and the damn thing won't start! Turned out to be a fuel pump relay switch! ($17.99) that my fiance and I found out after the car was towed. Then the car just stopped one day, wouldn't jump and the battery kept draining. Had the car towed to the shop so the starter could be replaced and it turned out to be the battery!!!! That was $250 by the way! I have had nothing but problems from this car, and there was a class action suit against GM, but it only involved Manifold gaskets. I missed out on that one too!! This car is a waste of time and money, no wonder GM stopped making the damn piece of sh*t!! I hate this car and I am currently shopping for a new car!!!

- , South Bend, IN, USA

problem #85

Oct 022008

Alero 2.2L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

i have a 2001 olds alero that just won't start. i was told a fuel pump was needed put one in, plus a fuel filter. didn't start. i was told a module put one in didn't start. after getting a tune up and putting in crank and cam senors it still won't run. at wit end, can some one help me.

- , Opa-locka, FL, USA

problem #84

Oct 082008

Alero 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

there are too many people on this site alone with a problem with this car!!! Oldsmobile won't own up to it and we are stuck trying to figure out there mess. I can't rant long, I have to go tow my daughter's car back home. I think a class action lawsuit is in order.

Update from Jun 7, 2009: After two pump changes, having the computer checked and nothing worked, we finally found the problem!! Twice we paid $600 to have the problem fixed and it didn't help. We found the problem now. A loose wire!!! YES a loose wire to the gas tank!! $20 repair. Have all wires checked by a "trusted" mechanic. He will probably find a loose one. The computers won't pick it up. They have to be manually checked.

- , Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #83

Aug 292008

Alero GL 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

well glad im not alone as the rest of the complaints the dam thing wont start been playing around with the fuel pump, relays,different sensors, nothing !!!!!!!!! was reading this site tonight and ran across something i havent even thought of. complaint #2 mention the passkey to where you turn the key on for 10 mins. then try to start, well tried everthing else ! dont think it will work? well it did but i waited 20 mins. because i was busy typing this . well end result is it started after being dead for 2 weeks. now the ? is how do you fix the passlock system? if any one knows please reply

- , E. Rochester, NY, USA

problem #82

Jul 302008

Alero 3.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 49,710 miles

Is there a Canadian phone number for complaining about this? We haven't managed to get it running yet. This is my daughter's car- my Honda Accord has never had any kind of problem. I would like to support manufacturing in our country but I learned a long time ago you have to go with what works.

- , Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada

problem #81

Jul 212008

Alero

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

first of all i would like to say that this is bullshit!!!! why should i have to pay to fix this piece when i didn't brake it? after calling a gm dealer i was informed to call general motors to let them know of the situation, when i did the person there told me they haven't even had enough people call and tell them about it to start an investigation, i got pissed and now i am letting all of you know that you need to call and complain about this piece of sh*t we all bought so they will do something about it.

the number is 1-800-222-1020 and make sure you have your VIN # when you call and maybe they will finally do something because i really don't want to have to pay $450 to have them work on it for 10 minutes and then turn around and it do it again!!!!! more than likely it is your security system

- , Kearns, UT, USA

problem #80

Mar 012008

Alero LS 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

Same problem here where car decides not to start, stranded right now 400 miles from home working out of town. This has happened several times, replaced fuel pump the last time, and now it has happened again. Will go and try the passlock security advice you gave in the morning before I have it towed somewhere for yet another "Don't see anything wrong" from mechanic. If anyone hears of a final solution please email me at wilksjane@yahoo.com.

- , Decatur, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?