Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 14
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
103,270 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Dec 182015

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 07/13/16 updated 08/03/16.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #21

Jul 022015

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, smoke emitted from the engine compartment. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed flames emitting from the engine, which melted all the wires and valve covers. The fire department was not contacted. A fire extinguisher was used to extinguish the fire and no injuries were reported. Four months after the failure occurred, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 115,000..........updated 04/01/16

- Hartsville, SC, USA

problem #20

Apr 172012

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I am writing this for my husband. My daughter's car (which is in my name) was parked in her driveway for 3 weeks while she was out of the country. This morning approx. 10:30am., tue. 17th. 2012, her dad wanted to get it cleaned up for her before she came home tonight. Her dad put the key in but the car would not start. He figured that the battery was dead (the battery was only a few months old). He pulled his vehicle next to the 1998 olds Intrigue and hooked up the battery cables. When he went to start the Intrigue, there was a very loud boom (he described it like an M-80 going off) and he then saw flames!!! underneath the hood. He ran and got a fire extinguisher to put out the fire. As the smoke cleared, he saw pieces of broken plastic/metal on the driveway in front of the car and the intake manifold had blown 10 to 15 feet into the garage!!! if someone had been standing near the front of the car, they might have been very seriously injured or even killed. My husband talked to a couple of people he knows (one is a mechanic), after the explosion, and they had never heard of anything like this happening to a vehicle! I just thank god no one was standing in front of that car!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #19

Mar 132001

Intrigue

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall id 75918- engine and engine cooling GMC owner center, I own a 1998 Oldsmobile and has had several problems with the window regulators failing, signal lights, electrical, cooling system and coolant warning light since owning the vehicle in 2000. Engine and gaskets have blown, water temp has blown and after costly repairs, the low coolant light still goes off and on. Dealership always have to have light on to detect issues and still never detect anything. My coolant and levels are always checked and filled and the light still triggers on and off for awhile then return on again throughout car history. In 2008 my coolant light was acting up and I had vehicle checked out and fluids at appropriate level. Vehicle ended up overheating on interstate and I had to replace water pump and something else. Light went out for awhile and vehicle checked out. In 2009 light came on and vehicle checked and all fluid levels correct. Light still comes on and blinks and goes off for awhile. Smells like oil or something burning in car. I was on consumer recall site and saw this engine and engine cooling recall from 2009 regarding the spark plug wire retention. I don't recall receiving this notification. I believe the last recall letter I received was in 2008 regarding the steering. My vehicle was taken to shop for that and checked out at that time. Can I still have my spark plug wire retainers replaced for this recall?

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #18

Dec 292011

Intrigue

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact stated that oil was dripping onto the manifold abnormally, causing smoke to be released from the front end of the vehicle. The dealer was contacted and advised the contact that her VIN had not been included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The current and the failure mileages were 140,000.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #17

Nov 222011

Intrigue

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owned a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked and shut off when the engine engulfed into flames. The contact also stated that the vehicle was shut off for approximately thirty minutes prior to the failure. The fire department appeared on the scene to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent repair shop. The failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 180,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Elkton, MI, USA

problem #16

Nov 152011

Intrigue

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact stated that the front passenger vent released smoke while driving. The contact inspected the vehicle and found flames in the engine area. The contact was able to extinguish the flames and the vehicle was towed to the contact's home but was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Cleveland , OH, USA

problem #15

Nov 022007

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall on vehicle that caught fire the consumer stated she received a second recall notice on June 8, 2011 regarding a possible engine fire. However, the vehicle caught on fire November 2, 2007. The vehicle was destroyed. Prior to the fire, the consumer experienced several other problems with the vehicle, such as; transmission problems, the dash/steering instrument panel and cruise control compartment would become extremely hot.

- Bascom, FL, USA

problem #14

Dec 232009

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • miles
1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. December 23, 2009, husband was leaving work around 3:30 pm and when he came to a stop sign he noticed the vehicle smoking, and then noticed a small fire. No vehicle issues prior till. The fire department was called and fire put out. The vehicle has endured yet another issue. We left it with a mechanic and $1300 that same day; he claimed the car was repairable. He could never determine the cause of fire. We are trying to peruse legal issues with the mechanic because he never responded to us nor did he repair our vehicle and kept our money. We did not receive the recall notices till recently, nor did we know there was a recall issue involving small engine fires. I am a disabled veteran and at the time was pregnant. We endured a lot of heartache due to no vehicle that following year. Is my situation a lost cause or can you still help me with the issue? unknown engine fire.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #13

Mar 052011

Intrigue

  • 165,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact noticed that the vehicle had caught on fire from under the hood. The fire department was called and extinguished the fire. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact did not inform the dealer or manufacturer of the failure. The current and failure mileage was 165,000. Updated 03/24/11

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #12

Apr 192010

Intrigue

  • 282,083 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

98 olds Intrigue, coming home from school, tried to avoid a car coming off the onramp. Had car on cruise hit the gas alittle and the car took off. Tried to stop, after several attempts the car finally stop, almost hitting the car in front of me. After I got out the engine caught on fire. The car is a total lose.

- Mears, MI, USA

problem #11

Apr 012010

Intrigue

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The vehicle was parked, and engulfed into flames. The vehicle was completely destroyed. The failure occurred after a recall repair was performed under NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified of the failure which there was no resolution. The failure mileage was 115,000.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #10

Jan 082010

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • 215,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. He stated that after parking the vehicle he noticed that there was oil leaking.he also noticed smoke coming from underneath the hood.there were flames that caused the engine and the whole front end to burn. The dealer was contacted and they stated that they would send someone to diagnose it. There have been no repairs done to the vehicle. There is a recall, NHTSA campaign id number: 09V116000 component: Engine and engine cooling.the failure and current mileage was 215000. Updated 5/20/2010 updated 06/17/10

- Wyndmere, ND, USA

problem #9

Dec 172009

Intrigue

  • 110,000 miles
Intake manifold failure on a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue, coolant leaked into oil causing a hydrolock. This could have easily caused the engine to explode if I had been on an interstate. Supposedly this is a common problem with these vehicles according to the mechanic. This leak can also cause a fire. I had to have repairs conducted to the tune of more than 2K.

- Brookings, SD, USA

problem #8

Jan 312009

Intrigue

  • 145,000 miles
I had bought a 98 Oldsmobile Intrigue around the middle of January from a private owner out of the classifieds. About 2 weeks later, the day I got induced to have a child, my car had started a fire in the hospital parking lot. Then in may, I got a safety recall notice in the mail. I wanted to know what exactly I can do to fix this problem, we had to junk the car because it was not fixable. I do still have the title though.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #7

Jun 192009

Intrigue

  • 127,873 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact took his vehicle to the dealer for the recall repair, but the parts were unavailable. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle caught fire. The contact pulled the vehicle over and extinguished the fire before the fire department arrived. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The failure mileage was 127,873.

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #6

May 222009

Intrigue

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. While driving 3 mph, the vehicle caught fire under the hood. The contact stopped the vehicle and extinguished the fire with a rag. He burned his fingers in the process. He allowed the vehicle to cool down and noticed that it started back up roughly. He then taped the two burned spark plugs. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000. The dealer repaired the spark plugs. The manufacturer has not been notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 104,000.

- Old Orchard Beach, ME, USA

problem #5

Aug 232005

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue. While driving at any speed the vehicle stalled. The dashboard lights came on only after the car stalled. Had coast to the side of the road, tried several times to restart vehicle. It finally restarted. After several days vehicle stalled again. Had the car on diagnostic test and they could not duplicate the problem or find anything anything wrong. Diagnostic test was done twice. Replaced all the gaskets, the brain box, fuel filter. Spent several thousands of dollars for repairs. This problem started about 6 months ago. Updated 11/02/05

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #4

Mar 182004

Intrigue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
My 1998 olds Intrigue has been leaking oil for over a year. Has been worked on by numerous mechanics and nobody can seem to can seem to find the cause or where exactly the oil leak is coming from! please provide any info possible!

- Willowick, OH, USA

problem #3

Jan 152003

Intrigue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
The piston rod blew a 2.5 inch hole through the engine casing at 158000 km. We had to completely replace the engine. The engine warning light never came on to warn us that a major part failure was about to take place. The back shoulder belts have never functioned properly. The brakes seem to need frequent replacement due to corosion of parts. Could you please let me know if anyone else has complained about a blown out engine? thank you

- Orleans,, UN, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?