Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,177 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Plymouth Neon transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Plymouth Neon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Plymouth Neon Owner Comments

problem #6

Oct 312002


  • 71,514 miles


These problems were found during a replacement of our third transmission. We are really upset with Plymouth/Dodge auto. We had this car for only a year and it has been nothing but trouble. Like I said, 3 transmissions, 1 engine due to head gasket problems. Now, the oil pressure sending unit, vehicle speed sensor, and the rear main oil seal. ----dims 11 IVOQ entry after 12/12/01 cut-over to artemis-------769336.

- West Valley City, UT, USA

problem #5

Aug 132001


  • 61,550 miles
When brake is pushed the turn lights would light up and brake lights wouldn't brighten. This was (08/13/01). In 10/10/01 was able to drive forward in reverse and neutral, didn't have a reverse, transmission replaced. In 03/12/02, found oil in the antifreeze reserve and radiator, replaced engine due to head gasket problem. In 04/15/02, transmission doing the same thing back on 10/10/01, transmission is replaced again. In 10/31/02, transmission replaced for the third time, due to shifting hard, and same problem as 10/10/01 and 04/18/02. Also, at the same time the speed sensor went out so there was no speedometer working. We also had to replace the rear main oil seal because it was leaking and replaced the oil sending unit. ***dims 11 IVOQ entry posted after 121/12/02 cut-over to artemis--------769334.

- West Valley City, UT, USA

problem #4

Oct 152001


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Transmission slipping out of gears and clunking into reverse. Dealer was notified, and rebuild transmission under extened warranty. Feel free to provide any further information concerning this matter.

- South Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #3

Jun 042001


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Started transmission problems June 2001. Car slips out of gear while driving! valve head replaced. One week later stall and gear slip at stop sign. Main gasket replaced. 3 weeks later another stall and gear slip. Dealership tell me that nothing is wrong with car. Mid Oct. 2001 engine became loose on freeway. Got local mechanic to install new engine mounts. Nov. 13th service mgr at barwick motors in California drove with me. Admitted that I had transmission problems and that barwick automotive would get my car working. One hour later he phoned to say that there was nothing wrong with car! this car is dangerous. I could be killed. What a pile of * * * *!

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #2

Feb 012001


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Transmission gears are sticking. Took vehicle to dealer, and they want to rebuild transmission.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #1

Jun 011999


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The transmission problem does not seem to affect the handling of the car. The noise occurs after the car is completely warmed up, whether the car is moving or stopped and is heard when the car is in or out of drive. It is a grinding noise. The air bags did not deploy in a collision. The dealership advises that I 'just go buy a battery.' I think it is unreasonable for a car to have these problems after two years, although the mileage is high, these are not hard miles in my opinion.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?