Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

3.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,970 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Pontiac Aztek engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Pontiac Aztek:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Pontiac Aztek Owner Comments

problem #9

Apr 162011

Aztek

  • 41,506 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It started running on its own and the RPM's went up to 3000 in park gear. I took it back to colonial service department. They looked at it and decided that I needed to have my iac - idle air control motor replaced. The next day 4/28/11, I picked up my car and drove it home. It seemed as though everything was fixed and working fine. Until, I drove my car on 4/30/11. That is when my car's RPM went up to 3500 in park gear. I was able to drive my car from South boston, MA all the way to the car dealership in watertown, MA without stepping on the gas pedal at a speed of 40 mph. Now the dealership is saying I need to replace the tps - throttle position sensor. I am not sure this is going to fix my problem but I know that I needed to report this to NHTSA. Most likely you will be received another email from me shortly. This is something that needs to be address and resolved. I do not want to be in my car and have an accident because of this problem. I don't want it to seem like this problem was never reported to Pontiac or NHTSA. This can save a lot of peoples lives. Please have someone research this problem and get back to me. Previous email sent to cac@Pontiac.com on 4/24/11- dear sir or madam, I am presently having a problem with my 2003 Pontiac Aztek. Within the last four days, while driving my car it started coasting/driving on its own with me not having to press the gas pedal. Like on 4/24/11, I was driving at a speed of 40 mph on the road. I took my foot off the gas pedal and the car continued to drive by its self at that speed and I was not using the cruise control. Matter of fact I never use the cruise control. When I stopped the car and it in park the RPM needle went between 2000 -3000 rpms. Surge or reving my engine very loud. I believe this is very dangers and would like for you to tell me what needs to be done to fix this problem. I took it to the colonial GMC car dealership in watertown, MA on 4/18/11 and 4/23/11 because this problem is not showing up.

- Boston , MA, USA

problem #8

Dec 132008

Aztek

  • 49,177 miles
The engine started to run hot and after investigating the problem at home we discovered that the engine cooling fans were not working. We did not find any leaks or disconnected belts or hoses. We have not had a professional look at it yet but we are very certain that the fans are not coming on.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 042008

Aztek

  • 70,000 miles
Aztek is 5 yrs old 70,000 miles. Have had problems with stalling after the first few months (was bought brand new!) couldn't find any problem! 9/4/08 was driving late from a game and broke down in the middle of the highway. Had diagnostic done - misfire in cylinder 6. took it to dealer - costing me $4000 to fix! needs 2 new heads!!!!

- Dover, NJ, USA

problem #6

Jan 142008

Aztek 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had the intake manifold replaced by GM 1 1/2 years ago. Now my Aztek has 82,000 and cylinder #4 has no compression - the rocker gasket had stopped working $800 later - two weeks later I have no compression in cylinder #6. my car is just 5 years old! GM needs to stand behind their product.

- Coquitlam, 00, USA

problem #5

Sep 012006

Aztek 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
Intake manifold gasket leaks. Problem evidenced itself at roughly 58,000 miles. It appears to be a common defective condition.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #4

Aug 012005

Aztek 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,171 miles
Ses light and all dash lights came on, took to salerno duane in newton NJ whew I purchased my 2003 Pontiac Aztek new. Was told intake manifold leaking and the cause of lights, ses and dash lights. $1100 later, lights still going off and on. Now told instrument cluster problem. $250. For parts plus labor. I am very angry that I was told that it was the intake manifold gasket, that I paid all that money and now they say it is something else. I argued with the dealer that I will not pay for instrument cluster or labor and they agreed. I also feel that I should be reimbursed for the intake manifold gasket and labor since this was obviously not the problem in the first place and they took advantage of me. There is no proof that the intake manifold gasket was leaking, and even if it was, it should be on a recall from GM because it is a common problem for GM motors. When is anybody going to take responsibility for this.

- Dingmans Ferry, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 072004

Aztek 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,874 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service engine soon light kept coming on. Every time I had an oil change I did mention it. Was told it was a problem with the gas cap. Water leaked from evaporator. Found body of water in body pass through connector; carpet wet underneath. Evaporated drain hose was missing, hose replaced. Seats were removed, carpet dried and floor pan and sprayed carpet with odor eliminator. Dried water and cleaned corrosion from connector.

- College Park , GA, USA

problem #2

Mar 122004

Aztek

  • miles
While stopped in traffic the consumer put the vehicle into park. When the consumer attempted to put the vehicle back into drive the shifter would not move. When the consumer turned the vehicle off the shifter could be moved again. This problem also occured while the consumer was waiting to back out of her driveway.

- Ardmore, OK, USA

problem #1

Nov 122003

Aztek

  • miles
When driving at any speed check engine light appeared on the dashboard. Consumer took the vehicle to the dealer to be inspected. However, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle also rolled forward while on a slight incline. The ignition switch attempted to start the vehicle although it was already started. The rear hatch could not be opened by the button on the inside of the vehicle. The brakes failed while attempting to come to a stop. When the vehicle was on and in park the gear selector could not be moved into drive unless the vehicle was shut off then turned back on. The consumer heard a whining noise coming from the steering wheel. An odor was coming from the vents when the A/C was on.

- Ardmore, OK, USA

Not what you are looking for?