Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2007 Pontiac G5 (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,946 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G5 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G5 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Mar 152016

G5

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service air bag message on display. Seat belt icon on dash stays on. Dealer is asking for $110 to diagnose the problem. State requires a yearly inspection, which cannot be performed due to dash icon. No action has been taken. Was mentioned in key switch recall, which was performed.

- Catawba, VA, USA

problem #21

Aug 052014

G5 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. The contact stated that the key would remain stuck in the ignition switch and the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was pending repairs under NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system). In addition, when refueling the vehicle, fuel leaked from the fuel tank. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was refueled at half a tank in order to prevent fuel leaking. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline) and 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000. Update 01/15/16 MA updated 02/04/16.

- Arkansas City , KS, USA

problem #20

Jun 252015

G5

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. While driving approximately 30 mph, another vehicle failed to stop and crashed head on into the contact's vehicle. The frontal air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained severe whiplash and bruises to the chest and arm areas that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage and VIN were not available.

- Lorin, OH, USA

problem #19

Jan 312015

G5

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Medford , OR, USA

problem #18

Sep 122014

G5

  • 117,000 miles
Owning a Pontiac G5, I was part of the ignition switch recall. After receiving service for this recall, started experiencing 'service air bag' light and verbiage on odometer intermittently. As of this date, 11/03/2014, the light and message has been coming on each time I start the car, along with the dinging associated with the message, and stays on the entire time I drive the vehicle. I have heard that there is a recall on air bags on over 8,000,000 cars, that the air bags deploy and shoot shrapnel into the driver's faces, and am wondering if my vehicle is one of them.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 032014

G5

  • 60,000 miles
GM has sent numerous recall letters about the faulty ignition switch on my 2007 Pontiac G5. I went to a local dealership to put in a request for parts. Seemed odd that I had to request parts for a well known safety recall. The dealership is jupiter Chevrolet at 11611 lbj fwy, garland, tx 75041. I put in this request about 7 weeks ago. I have not heard from GM or jupiter Chevrolet about the parts. I called the dealership over a week ago and had to leave a message because they could not answer the phone. Still no return call. I would appreciate any help you can provide to get my car in safe operating condition. Thanks

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 262014

G5 4-cyl

  • 128,259 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had just got car the very next day as I was turning a corner I suddenly lost power steering. Causing car to flip. There was broken glass and went into top of hand. I was told by emt that stitches could not be put there.so they bandaged it just banged up and they said I seemed fine if I had any problems in next few hours to go to hospital. So I was not taken. Since then I've developed numbness in hand and wrist.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #15

Jul 302012

G5 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Pontiac G5. Consumer writes in regards to seat belt, engine and other vehicle problems. The consumer stated on July 30, 2012, the seat belts had to be replaced, due to the check air bags light was flashing. She was charged $100 for a seat belt kit. One year later, while driving in the passing lane at 70 mph, the vehicle slowed down to about 20 or 30 mph. The consumer was able to get off the road. She turned the vehicle off, waited and re-started it again. The check engine light remained on. The dealer replaced the sensor behind the accelerator pedal. In December 2013, the vehicle slowed down once again, while driving at 70 mph. The dealer charged her for an accelerator pedal, and the automatic door trunk, trunk opener and the electric start, never worked since. The consumer was informed, she probably dropped the keys and broke something inside. However, everything worked up until that point.

- West Newton, PA, USA

problem #14

Mar 172014

G5

  • 120,000 miles
We own a 2007 Pontiac G5 and about 4 months ago we started noticing the air bag light coming on, but then it would go back off on its own. It has exhibited this on and off pattern for 4 months now and there is no rhyme or reason for it. We have owned the car for approximately 4 years and have never had this air bag light problem before. The car has never been in any accidents. Today we had our Pontiac G5 in to the dealership for a recall on the ignition switch, so we asked the dealership to take a look at the air bag light situation as well. We were told that there is a defect in the drivers front air bag and it will not deploy if the car is in an accident. They recommend replacing the air bag at our expense of $1063.37. In reviewing other complaints on this website is appears that several other people are having the same issue with their air bag light on the same make, model, and year of Pontiac G5 and the Chevy cobalt's. it seems to me that General Motors should be considering this air bag light problem as a safety recall since the air bag will not deploy in the event of an accident. If it is a defect, shouldn't General Motors be responsible to fix it?

- Chadwick , MO, USA

problem #13

May 062014

G5

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V04700 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The vehicle had not exhibited the failure.

- Lakeworth, FL, USA

problem #12

May 012014

G5 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When the front passenger seat is occupied, the passenger side air bag shuts off. There hasn't been an incident. I'm reporting the failure of the front passenger side air bag for reporting purposes. When the car goes into the shop for recall repairs, I'll have the air bag problem repaired.

- Magalia, CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 032014

G5 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Driving around a corner in town at approximately 25 miles per hour in snowy conditions on a rough road; tried to accelerate to make it up a hill and the accelerator wouldn't work (could push down, but wouldn't accelerate); tried to turn the steering wheel to make the corner and the vehicle started sliding on the snow; tried to turn the wheel in the opposite direction and was unable to manipulate the wheel. Crashed the vehicle into two parked cars; the seat belt mount disconnected from the frame. The air bag did deploy. Driver was unable to shut off the engine after the wreck.

- Nemaha, NE, USA

problem #10

May 172010

G5 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I never had an accident with the car and the airbag light when on for no apparent reason. I called GM my reference # [xxx] they would not replace the airbag due to the warranty over 4,000 miles over. I finally got them to pay for 1/2 the airbag and it was very expensive, but they never said what was wrong I am finding out now that the recall may be part of the problem I had earlier. Is there anyway I can get back the money I spent on a new airbag that should not have had to have been replaced due to this recall with the ignition? I am worried now that because of the airbag problem I have greater potential of the iginition problem as well. GM did not want to help me with this problem and after several days and persistance they finally went half on the cost with me, but I felt then that it was a safety issue and they really didn't care. I was in an accident last year and the safety air bag did not deploy.

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #9

Mar 032014

G5 4-cyl

  • miles
I saw on the internet re-calls for GM cars and found that my particular model/year car was being recalled. The more reading I did on the subject I realized that everything that I had to have fixed on my car was being recalled. I have spent thousands of dollars getting my airbags, my steering column, my brakes, my computer sensors, the steering harness, etc. Fixed on this car only to find out that there had been re-calls. I am currently waiting for the 'local dealership' to find a 'good used' steering column for my car since mine is breaking down and they said they can't get one. I also own a GMC S-10 in which the key fits into my car and turns it on. I called the local dealership and told them that I knew there was a recall recently and that everything I've had fixed on that Pontiac G5 is now being recalled. Hope you can help me.

- Fort Washakie, WY, USA

problem #8

Jul 022012

G5

  • 90,000 miles
Service air bag is appearing when passenger is seated.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 102010

G5 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Same issue as cadilac recall for passenger presence module defect..will not detect passenger presence in seat, passenger airbag light stays off...airbag will not deploy in an accident.

- Selma, AL, USA

problem #6

Jan 172014

G5

  • 79,052 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph and crashed into the passenger's side of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and a police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The dealer performed an inspection to determine the air bag failure but was not able to do so. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,052.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #5

Aug 102013

G5

  • 120,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle lost control. The vehicle crashed into a tree and the airbags deployed. There were no warning light indicators on the instrument panel. A police report was filed and there were no major injuries. The driver and the passenger was not injured. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contacts residence. The vehicle was not inspected nor diagnosed. After the accident the right rear passengers side back wheel locks up. The vehicle was not inspected nor diagnosed. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) after the failure occured. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120000. Dyd

- Milfield, OH, USA

problem #4

Nov 232012

G5 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
My service air bag light is on. Never hit nothing or anything. So some malfunction. All the wires underneath is together checked them. So not sure what it may be.

- Everett, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 102012

G5 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
"service airbags" screen keeps popping up on dashboard. I've noticed many others with a Pontiac G5 2007 or Chevy cobalt have the same issue. When the light is on, I was told by a dealership, that the airbags will not deploy. The passenger seat doesn't register anyone sitting on the seat even when someone is sitting and buckled up.

- Wasco, CA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?