Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2007 Pontiac G5 (Page 1 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,604 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G5 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G5 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

Aug 072016

G5

  • 124,802 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. While driving at low speeds, the steering wheel became inoperable without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 124,802.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #43

Jun 282011

G5

  • 69,175 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. While driving various speeds, the odometer and speedometer displayed incorrect readings. In addition, while driving 35 mph, the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the computer that controlled the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 10V073000 (steering), but the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 69,175.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #42

Apr 162016

G5

  • miles
Have no power steering at times when I start the car. I have to cut it off and restart it. Only had this car for 2 months now after purchasing from a car lot, which I still pay on at this time

- Dickson, TN, USA

problem #41

Oct 242015

G5

  • 125,620 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. While driving 35 mph, the steering wheel seized and became difficult to turn. In addition, there was a loud noise while driving and attempting to make a turn. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the power steering module and the torque synthesizer needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that there was a manufacturer's recall related to the failure that the vehicle was serviced under in 2010. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,620.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #40

Apr 202012

G5

  • 80,000 miles
Turn signal switch does not cancel; you have to manually cancel turn signal after turn completed. I've noticed more and more people complaining about this in Chevrolet and Pontiac!

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #39

Oct 292014

G5

  • 71,000 miles
After 2 repairs on a recall for the steering wheel power I have the same problem. GM is not fixing the issue but jut patching it-so the same problem is occurring over and over again. I called multiple times and GM advise me that they fixed the recall already twice and not going to fix it again. Please see link to youtube of what actually happen: Https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=Z7glen5vik4.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #38

Feb 032014

G5

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

GM has sent numerous recall letters about the faulty ignition switch on my 2007 Pontiac G5. I went to a local dealership to put in a request for parts. Seemed odd that I had to request parts for a well known safety recall. The dealership is jupiter Chevrolet at 11611 lbj fwy, garland, tx 75041. I put in this request about 7 weeks ago. I have not heard from GM or jupiter Chevrolet about the parts. I called the dealership over a week ago and had to leave a message because they could not answer the phone. Still no return call. I would appreciate any help you can provide to get my car in safe operating condition. Thanks

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #37

Sep 042014

G5

  • 102,500 miles
Steering gets so hard, I at 220lbs can barely steer the car going forward or reverse. My daughter is learning on this car for her license but I am no longer letting her drive it since the steering randomly gets hard and the electronic stability control and ABS lights have come on also. It also says in the information section traction control service. Something needs to be done from GM for these problems before they kill people.

- Guilford, NY, USA

problem #36

Jul 262014

G5 4-cyl

  • 128,259 miles
I had just got car the very next day as I was turning a corner I suddenly lost power steering. Causing car to flip. There was broken glass and went into top of hand. I was told by emt that stitches could not be put there.so they bandaged it just banged up and they said I seemed fine if I had any problems in next few hours to go to hospital. So I was not taken. Since then I've developed numbness in hand and wrist.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #35

May 202014

G5

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. The contact stated that after the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system), the steering column began shaking violently and hard to turn. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the inner steering shaft needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The current and failure mileage was 45,000.

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #34

Mar 032014

G5 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving around a corner in town at approximately 25 miles per hour in snowy conditions on a rough road; tried to accelerate to make it up a hill and the accelerator wouldn't work (could push down, but wouldn't accelerate); tried to turn the steering wheel to make the corner and the vehicle started sliding on the snow; tried to turn the wheel in the opposite direction and was unable to manipulate the wheel. Crashed the vehicle into two parked cars; the seat belt mount disconnected from the frame. The air bag did deploy. Driver was unable to shut off the engine after the wreck.

- Nemaha, NE, USA

problem #33

Apr 232014

G5

  • 23,400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G5. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the power steering assist failed without warning. The vehicle would become increasingly difficult to control. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 23,400.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #32

Mar 032014

G5 4-cyl

  • miles
I saw on the internet re-calls for GM cars and found that my particular model/year car was being recalled. The more reading I did on the subject I realized that everything that I had to have fixed on my car was being recalled. I have spent thousands of dollars getting my airbags, my steering column, my brakes, my computer sensors, the steering harness, etc. Fixed on this car only to find out that there had been re-calls. I am currently waiting for the 'local dealership' to find a 'good used' steering column for my car since mine is breaking down and they said they can't get one. I also own a GMC S-10 in which the key fits into my car and turns it on. I called the local dealership and told them that I knew there was a recall recently and that everything I've had fixed on that Pontiac G5 is now being recalled. Hope you can help me.

- Fort Washakie, WY, USA

problem #31

Nov 092011

G5 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I was just driving home an on the freeway the car just stopped, I was lucky that I could just coast in to a safe area. After awhile I turned it on an it started up.. the same thing happened today 2/26/14 I stopped at the post office and it would not turn on I waited about ten minutes and it started. It seems to be the ignition.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #30

Jul 012010

G5 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
While driving, there's a chime and all my gauges drop to zero. I get a "power steering" and "low fuel" alerts on my dashboard (and I'm pretty sure the power steering goes out). See video at: goo.gl/naw5ns.

- Snohomish, WA, USA

problem #29

Nov 112013

G5

  • 52,000 miles
The car has developed a rattling noise when the brakes are applied. During braking there is a vibration in the steering wheel. The power steering periodically is sporadic, especially at low speed. It feels like manual steering and is difficult to turn. The rack and pinion has developed a great deal of slack allowing the car to wander on the highway, making driving at higher speeds very harrowing. It is my opinion that the combination of a malfunctioning electric steering motor and the slack in the rack and pinion is the combined problem with this vehicle. It is a danger to drive in it's present condition. On November 11th while driving on a major highway, the car veered suddenly and crossed over the center line. It was windy and during the drive, I noticed the wandering of the vehicle increased. When I got home, I blocked up the front end and thoroughly investigated the wheels, brakes, rotors, tie rod ends, and the steering. I found that the rack and pinion was getting increasingly sloppy. I have purchased the parts and plan to install them myself, but I have little faith that this inferior steering system will be a long term fix. A class action lawsuit against GM for a system that puts the general public in grave danger is imminent. Not only are the operators and passengers of these vehicles at risk, but so are the lives of those on the highway that might meet one of these vehicles head on in a collision. GM better come up with a repeat recall to fix these issues the right way, or buy them all off the road. I know this affects other models as well. Cobalts, G6S, etc. What a cluster that a company like GM could make such an epic blunder and now try to sweep it out with a simplistic one-time recall that puts the same inferior quality of parts back in this machinery. I'll bet the executives at GM have been sweating this deal, and rightly so.

- Nortonville, KS, USA

problem #28

Jan 182011

G5

  • 20,500 miles
Serious safety issue here..on 1/18/2011 I got in my car went to the store. At this time I noticed a strong odor of gas inside my vehicle. Next day I started car and backed it out smelled stronger gas smell. Pulled car back in garage. Car was towed to GM dealer. GM dealer stated "nothing is wrong with the vehicle" paid $200 got car back still wreaks of strong gas smell upon starting (inside the vehicle). I have contacted the attorney general and GM. I am getting nowhere with getting this vehicle repair. Basically the two warranties aren't being used because the GM dealers don't want to wait on their money and other Pontiac G-5's have had the same problem (same year make and model) the fuel module and fuel pump are to be replaced free of charge I am getting conflicting statements on "my car not being on recall" and findings where there is a recall. I am considering giving the car back and requesting a full refund if they are not backing their warranty. I feel this car has severe safety issues and I cannot drive a vehicle that is a fire hazard/explosion risk. I was always told if you smell gas don't drive a vehicle. I'm starting to think when they sold the vehicle they knew there was safety issues as I was forced into gap insurance and an extended warranty. What good did it do to have all these protections if none of them are getting my car repaired. The first thing I did after smelling fuel was look up on recall information.. vehicles assembled in Mexico and Alabama were on recall GM stated "your car is not included" why I am having these issues with my vehicle.? the recall states the fuel module may crack and leak gas which may result in fire/explosion. This will be the third recall I purchased the vehicle new. First door locks, then steering problem, now fuel leak.

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #27

Sep 132010

G5 4-cyl

  • 31,500 miles
Pontiac G5 2007 VIN [xxx] after steering wheel recall repair in September 2010 at bill stasek, wheeling, il I started to have knocking noise from the steering wheel at low speeds on rough. After that I went to ocean Cadillac, bal harbor, fl to check the problem-the answer was that "probably" the strut needs to be replaced for about $600-$800. I said no. I contacted Pontiac.com customer service. They explained that I need to go to another dealership-lehman Buick GMC, miami, fl to check with them. The service manager responded that this is a "normal knocking noise" from the steering wheel for Pontiac G5 at all!!! the problem is that noise started after the recall service in September 2010. So typical or normal this is about my safety. The car is about 34000 miles. I request to repair my Pontiac G5 2007. GM refuse to service the vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bay Harbor Islands, FL, USA

problem #26

Feb 162008

G5

  • 32,000 miles
My 2007 Pontiac lost power steering and I couldn't turn the wheel and hit a bank. GM had a independent person look at it. Then a GM rep looked at the report and said it wasn't their fault. I ask what kind of education she had and she said that didn't matter. They looked at the car for 4 hours and no mileage.

- Wash, PA, USA

problem #25

May 072010

G5

  • 65,000 miles
The power steering failure light comes on as well as all the other warning lights and gauges quit working while driving which makes it a safety concern. We have received a notice from GM that this vehicle might have a recall because of the steering failure but have been told by our Pontiac dealer and GM that it does not. The vehicle has been to the dealer 3 times in the last month for this issue. First time, the dealer said they didn't find anything. Within a half hour of leaving the dealership, the car was brought back to the dealer for the same issue. The dealer replaced the ECM and after a few weeks the issue has returned and has been a the dealer for a week but they are unable to find problems and seem to have given up. Have talked to GM customer service during this whole time.

- Gloucester, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?