Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Service Brakes Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,310 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Jul 312016

G6 6-cyl

  • 212,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving on city streets, highways and the interstate, my power steering just goes out. Completely stops working. Also, sometimes my cruise control won't work because my brake lights go on without my pressing the brake. When I do press the brake the lights go off. (also on city streets, highways and interstate). And sometimes I cannot move the shifter from park without a lot of work. Like pressing and releasing the brake, wiggling or tapping of the fuses inside the vehicle and in the trunk or under the hood. Currently they say no open recalls on this car, but service providers say to check further. Found GM rebate # N140115 for the power steering issue. Apparently there may be a steering shaft problem too.GM rebate # 80317 or # 13036 for the brake/shifter problem. But Pontiac says "nothing confined to this vehicle". these are safety issues that I feel they should cover. Obviously there has been thousands of vehicles already affected. How can they say mine doesn't pertain" at best they say take it in and if service says it a manufacture defect, they may help somewhat. But the car is no longer covered by the warranty so there is not much they can do. Really?" it's a safety issue, not cosmetic or fuel saving etc.

- Stoughton, WI, USA

problem #27

Apr 012016

G6

  • miles
I took this car in for a recall I notice that the gear still in not in lock position. My brake went out no brake light appeared. They were to fix this problems it has not been done proberly.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #26

Oct 032006

G6

  • 185,598 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving 60 mph and depressing the brake pedal, the steering and brake pedal shook violently. In addition, while driving, the vehicle stalled without warning and the ignition switch beeped as if the key was inserted in the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V153000, 14E044000 (steering) and 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 185,598.

- South Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #25

Jan 132016

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering is always failing again over time once I had the recall fixed numerous of times... my steering wont let me turn the car I almost crashed good I decreased my speed, I had to shut her off than restart it... I replaced inner and outter tie rods, control arms, and struct assemly, problem still exist..brakes light illuminate when ever they want. Even if your parked without engaging it... I almost got rear ended because the driver cursed me out and said your brakes work I said yes, but when I showed her what was going on the brakes illuminate when im not on the brakes than when I pressed the brake the brake light goes off, , weird....

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #24

Mar 052015

G6

  • 168,000 miles
I randomly started smelling gas was driving one day and breaks stopped working and car randomly dies while turning a corner

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #23

Oct 082014

G6

  • 111,925 miles
While driving on the highway and approaching her exit, the electronic power steering failed and completely locked on my client's car. This is a downhill exit ramp off the highway. Her car pulled to the right and she was unable to steer her car left to follow the curvature of the exit ramp. As a result the car veered off the exit ramp, struck a pole and began to spin out of control. The car continued to spin down into the embankment and came to rest after landing on its side. The car stopped on the driver's side wheels as if it was about to roll over. The car eventually fell down on all four wheels and was facing oncoming traffic. There was a recall issued on the electronic power steering but parts to correct the problem were not made available to my client.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #22

Sep 202014

G6 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both sides of the panoramic sun roof has come unattached and leaked in my floor on multiple occasions and is very distracting getting dripped on and will eventually cause a wreck. Worst car ever!!!!! also the brakes are terrible. I've done so much work myself to my brakes and had shops do some too because I cannot afford to replace the [xxx] through a shop ever 6 mo. My passenger side rotor locked up for no reason 2 diff. Shops couldn't find a reason. The bleeding process is ridiculous and the brakes do not last more than 4-6 mo tops no matter how you brake on them. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wabash, IN, USA

problem #21

May 012014

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami Gardens , FL, USA

problem #20

Jun 032014

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #19

Jul 012014

G6

  • miles
In the last three months I've had to get my brakes replaced twice and have had to take my car into the shop because my cars power steering has stopped working. After all of that, I've gotten three letters in the mail in the last month for recalls on my car. If there's that many parts being recalled on my vehicle, why isn't GM just recalling the whole vehicle since the G6 has nothing but problems since day one.

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #18

Jun 012010

G6

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My G6 currently is not covered in the recent recalls for this problem (not manufactured in the right month): My problem is the same as other G6 owners where my brake lights will illuminate while driving, and will not illuminate when my brakes are applied, which also affects my cruise control. Over the last 3 years I have had the dielectric lubricant applied 3 times and after 8-12 months the problem returns.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #17

Sep 142011

G6

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving approximately 70 mph, another driver alerted that the brake light illuminated even though the brake pedal was not depressed. Additionally, the ignition key became stuck and released after numerous attempts. The cruise control and traction control were also inoperable. There was a recall related to the failure associated with NHTSA campaign id number 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the body control module was replaced. Three months after the vehicle was repaired the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Richmond , KY, USA

problem #16

Jul 282009

G6 6-cyl

  • 54,756 miles
I have been having issues with the brake lights on my vehicle for almost the entire time I have owned the vehicle. As it has been revealed in a recall for this vehicle (NHTSA campaign number: 09V036000) the brake lights do not function properly -- they turn on when I am not hitting the brakes and turn off when I do hit the brakes. In July 2009 I thought I had the issue fixed when I took the car to a GM dealer to be repaired under the recall. However, despite the vehicle being fixed under the recall the brake lights still do not work properly. I just got approached by someone following me a couple of days ago that my brake lights are not working again.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #15

Jan 092012

G6

  • 145,000 miles
When I press the brakelight the light does not come on, however when I accelerate the light remains on. I have taken my car to a GM dealership in2012and paid ($220) to have it "fixed". I was told by GM that this is the only fix(lubricate the BCM control). The problem has since come back and no mechanic knows how to fix it. I am afraid that while driving someone will smash into me when I brake because my lights do not come on to warn them to stop.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 052014

G6 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
01/05/2014 as I was traveling down the road, and applied my brakes. Several minutes later, a truck pulled up next to me and told me that my brake lights weren't working - however they had been just a moment before. 01/10/2014 the same thing happened on this date. The brake lights were working (however I was not breaking), and there was a driver that pulled up next to me and informed me that my brake lights were malfunctioning. I have also had issues with my cruise control. It does not work at all, however the fuse is not damaged.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #13

Dec 132013

G6

  • miles
I was following my wife last might in 2005 Pontiac G6 GT. I noticed her brake lights were on while she was driving down the road and when she applied the brakes, her brake lights would go off. This is the first time I have had to follow her in her car, I do not now how long this has been going on. She bought the car new, it is a one owner so I know no one has messed with any of the parts/wires. I started looking online about this issue and noticed there were several pages on this situation. Also, that there were recalls in the past. We were never notified about a recall. Is this something the dealership should fix or are we stuck trying to fix this issue?

- Lindale, TX, USA

problem #12

May 032013

G6 6-cyl

  • 165 miles
Brake lights are on all the time, they don't work properly drivers cannot tell when I'm stopping, when I push the brake the lights go off and when I'm not pushing the brake they go on.. ??

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #11

Oct 062013

G6 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights would remain illuminated when the brakes were not being depressed and would shut off when the brakes were being depressed. The contact also mentioned that the cruise control failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and the mechanic stated that the brake pedal sensor had to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 11/18/13 updated 11/29/2013

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #10

May 202013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
The date of the incident is not the first incident...only one of them. The problems have been ongoing. For some time now, I have experienced trouble off and on with taking the gear out of park. This doesn't happen every time, but when it does, I have to press the brake pedal several times real hard for it to release and let me move the gear stick. Also experienced our cruise control didn't work when on vacation in Florida in May 2013. Had no idea what was going on then. Thinking back on it now, the brake lights were probably acting up during that time! recently, the cruise control has been working. Clearly an electrical issue. I've had several people tell me after following me, that I'm "riding" my brakes and when I stop, the brake lights go off! I am finding that this is happening all the time now. Trying to contact our GM dealership, which knows nothing of a past recall. Contacted the national GM and they have no "active" recall for my car. Copied it off the website along with others' same complaints with the remedy to the problem to present to our local GM service department. Will have to pay for this defect if I want it fixed. I'm afraid to even drive it now with my lights working backwards!! this has been a great car for 8 years with this being the only problem that I've had. Need help with getting this past recall reactivated and paid for by GM. Asking for reimbursement for the repair if and when the recall is reactivated after I've had it fixed.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #9

Mar 042013

G6

  • 85,000 miles
The brake lights on my 2005 Pontiac G6 do not work properly. At times, they will turn on when I press the gas pedal and they will also just come on randomly. Nine times out of ten when I press the brake pedal they don't come on at all. After taking my car to the dealership, they told me it was my brake sensor. They replaced it, I paid my extremely high bill and then the next day I got pulled over by a police officer because my brake lights were not working. I called the dealership and they said to bring my car back in. I took my car back and they said there was corrosion in the brake lines. They fixed that, I paid my extremely high bill and left. A few days later, my brake lights still did not work. I even took my G6 in for the recall about the brake lights. That didn't work for long either! I tried to put dielectric grease where Pontiac is claiming there is corrosion causing the brakes to seldom work. They worked for about 2 months and just recently my brake lights stopped working again. I have had my car looked at by three different mechanics and no one can give me an answer or a solution. I've been pulled over four times in the past few months due to this dangerous issue. Without brake lights working properly, my car is an accident waiting to happen. At this point, I'm not sure what else to do!

- Irwin, PA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?