Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Service Brakes, Hydraulic Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,532 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Sep 082014

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), 14V153000 (steering), and 14V224000 (power train). The parts needed for the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lampasas, TX, USA

problem #21

Aug 252014

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), 14V153000 (steering), and 14V224000 (power train); however, the parts needed for the repairs were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain about when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #20

Feb 152012

G6

  • miles
Had car fixed with dealership from a recall involving the brake lights not functioning properly in 2009. Recently the same issue with the brake lights has been occurring, identical to the recall issue. I.e. brake lights go on while driving and do not function while braking. When bringing it into the dealership they told me it would not be covered under the recall as it was already serviced for the recall and is probably another issue even though the car problem is identical to the recall issue and want me to pay out of my own pocket.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #19

Nov 252011

G6 6-cyl

  • 91,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Yesterday while trying to pull into a parking spot, my steering column locked up and I could not control the vehicle. There was a steering column notice showing on the radio dash column. I thought if I turned the car off and back on again, the problem would go away. It didn't. I waited about 20 minutes before turning the car back on again to see if the issue had resolved itself. (this also happens with the engine light. Sometimes in the earlier morning when it is cold, the engine light will appear upon first turning the vehicle on. I turn the car off and back on again and then the engine light disappears.) I immediately took the vehicle to the dealership. I was told that it was the sensor in the steering column and that everything would cost about $800 + tax to fix. My husband started researching this issue online to see what other owners were saying. I am really surprised that just about 90% of folks are complaining about the steering column, that GM is aware of the issue, and is not listing a recall. When speaking to the dealership, of course they made it seem like the repairs they have completed on steering columns were minimal. Since I have had my car, I have had to have the intermediate shaft replaced twice.the steering column had to be greased once. Every year my brakes are being replaced, and about twice a year, one of the two if not both tie rods need replaced. I have had to pay for four key fobs. My trunk leaks water. My front head light needed replaced as it leaked water. Not cheap. I can go on an on with the repairs but have reached my "character limit". I feel like I got a lemon. Would like to complain to someone in authority, but dealership is no help.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #18

Sep 222011

G6

  • miles
My brake lights are stuck on until I push my brake pedal down, then they turn off. My brake lights now will not turn on when they are supposed to until my brake pedal is pushed all the way down.

- Sebring, OH, USA

problem #17

Jul 232009

G6

  • 37,272 miles
My 2005 G6 brake lights stay on 24/7 very hard to get out of park. I cannot use the cruise control. The position of the pedal is affecting everything. It's unsafe! they are telling me I need to pay $300.25 to replace the BCM. Nothing else is wrong but what they state in the recall papers. Why do I have to fix a problem they recalled??

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #16

Jun 202011

G6

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own a 05 Pontiac G6. This vehicle has a chronic issue with the brake pedal sensor. When the sensor is having issues, it is extremely hard to get the car to go from park to drive. More importantly though is then the sensor causes the brake light to work in reverse. When you apply the brakes, the lights go off, when the pedal is not depressed, the light stays on. We have had several sensors replaced and now have been told the "fix" is the electrical lubricant. This electrical lubricant is only good for a few months. Obviously, it is a half[xxx] "fix". we have been to several "former" Pontiac dealers only to have been told we are "out of luck". this is an extremely dangerous situation. While driving at night, if you depress your brakes and no lights come on it could lead to a rear-end collision.thankfully this last time my husband was warned of this event by a gal who was driving behind him. My husband has been pulled over by the police because they thought he was drinking. He was told that a characteristic of a drunk driver is that they "ride their brakes". GM needs to get this corrected!! it is not safe. We purchased this vehicle for my husband who drives 50 miles round trip to work everyday. This is an accident waiting to happen. We are seriously contemplating trading in the vehicle for another one because of this and other issues with the G6. It has been a lemon since we got it between this brake issue, a "clunking" noise when turning (which we were told is "nothing" from our former Pontiac dealers) and the panoramic sunroof leaking and noise issues, which as well we were told nothing can be done about. (we had standing water in the vehicle w/ the leaks) this brake issue needs to be looked at!!!! we will not buy another GM vehicle because of this crappy service and lack of care in getting this vehicle recalled. What is it going to take"?" I have seen other complaints addressing this same thing. I would implore NHTSA to see what can be done about this. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Indiana, IN, USA

problem #15

Feb 022011

G6 6-cyl

  • 21,250 miles
For past six months, my 2005 Pontiac G6 would lurch forward and back slightly when I would come to a complete stop. Car has low miles (now at 21,525). However, I heard a severe squeal/grinding when pulling my car out from parking space. I took the car to GM dealership. Dealer informed me that both front and rear rotors need to be resurfaced. Rear brake pads should be replaced as well. Decided to do all pads, resurface all rotors. Based on what I have seen reported elsewhere on internet, this is a serious problem with the G6 brake system, or, oem rotors that were installed.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #14

May 012010

G6

  • miles
I have purchased both brake pads and rotors every 8-10 months. I usually try to go longer because it gets to be expensive. It's the same problem. It starts with a pulsation or "bumping" when I brake, even gently, usually at high speeds. But when I look at the old pads, they were hardly worn down. Once I tried resurfacing the rotors but it didn't help; I had to buy new ones only to find that these too soon wore down and warped. I haven't found a remedy. Many others in auto forums and online message boards have also experienced similar problems, suggesting that it is due to poor design of the braking system.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #13

Oct 042009

G6

  • 88,097 miles
Due to constant warping of the rotors, excessive pressure was put on the rest of the braking system causing the front left tie rod to snap. This caused the vehicle to lose control and veered in a left 90 degree angle into oncoming traffic. Other vehicles were able to swerve so there was no impact with me. I have had constant problems with the rotors warping on this car and have gone through about 3 pairs during 80,000 miles. All parts have been repaired by my personal mechanic with gmac telling me that brakes are not covered under the extended warranty that I purchased with the car.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 032009

G6

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just bought a 2005 Pontiac G6 and I have problems along with many many others. First of all the rotors are very warped and when I drive on freeway and hit the brakes the whole car shakes and feels very unsafe!! and the second problem is the steering column pops when making turns, left and right..I think a recall is in order. Please please help me and many others thanks

- Canal Winchester, OH, USA

problem #11

Jun 162009

G6

  • 89,500 miles
My power steering light had been coming on intermittently for the past few days. Yesterday while leaving a parking garage the power steering light came on. I continued driving and as I went to turn the wheel, the power steering went out while making a left turn (5-8mph). I nearly ran into a pillar in the parking garage. I turned the car off and back on and the problem went away, but the power steering light stayed illuminated. After searching the internet for some time, I came across hundreds of similar problems. A few of the same problems occurred while people where driving on the interstate which could have been deadly if someone would have been going around a turn or just switching lanes. I just don't understand why there hasn't been a recall to fix this problem. The car industry want us to stick behind american made products but are unwilling to fix potentially deadly problems until the inevitable occurs and someone losses their life because of a problem they know about. Maybe that's why many are buying quality made foreign made products. Over the five years I had the car I have had numerous problems this car has been a money pit. The hood latch broke, the power window motor went. The rotors have to be replaced more often than I change the oil ( that's ridiculous), the bearings went bad, the six disc factory cd player stops working and sticks constantly, the blower for the heater and ac only works on high, the panoramic sunroof leaks which has caused water to accumulate in the trunk and now their is a mildew smell ect.........

- Wexford , PA, USA

problem #10

May 152009

G6

  • miles
Pontiac G6 warped rotor problems. Warped rotors have had to be replaced approx. Every 13K miles. GM assumes no responsibility for defective rotors. My daughters 05 G6 (which I co-signed) has had four rotor replacements with only 54K miles on the car. This is not an isolated case. There are numerous blogs and sites sitting the exact problem. Please give consideration to an investigation. Thank you

- Crown City, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 112006

G6

  • 9,000 miles
Well it all started for my stupid purchase of a ?!@#$% car, I have had numerous problems with this car costing me tons of money. 6 times I have had to replace my rotors and my brake pads because of a jolting shaking feeling with this car and I was told that the rotors are warped and that they need to be replaced. They never changed the rotors all they did was mill them down, 3 times they milled them down and the problem kept coming back until my warranty ran out they said your on your own. Sometimes I try to start my car and it will shake and put and die out and then it I will try it again and it will start, but I have had my car not start back up 2 times and had to get it towed and fixed and all they said was it was a dead battery but this happened 2 times with in a year and it still happens now. I started my car and started to drive and my steering wheel would violently jolt it self to the left and the right and it actually hurt my wrist from this and then the car died out and had to pay for towing and problem was a dead battery is what they said. Passenger door some how filled up with water and caused all my electrical to go haywire in my car and showing door ajar over and over again and it would go off causing my interior lights to not go off, my flood lights wouldn't work, cd player and radio only work when they want to work now, and some of the lights in the car go on and off when they want. Power arm in my car has been replaced 2 times already costing me a fortune and it needs to be replaced again, wonder if that has to do with the shotty rotors and brake problems. After revealing this to GM all I have heard back from them was to take it in a get a diagnostic test which I will have to pay for and then they might do something about it. Don"T buy any Pontiac cars, the warranty only means if there is a problem they will do nothing to fix it and when warranty is up your on your own. Still haven't had anything resolved with this vehicle.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #8

Mar 022009

G6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving 65 mph, the driver attempted to apply the brakes, but the brake pedal extended to the floor. The vehicle did not come to a complete stop, but it did slow down gradually. The contact felt that the brakes were not working properly. The dealer found that the brake caliper wore down into the rear driver's side rotor and brake pads and caused a release of brake fluid. The mechanic repaired all the defects on the wheel. Soon after the repairs, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the shop and the mechanic stated that the ABS module unit failed and was beginning to affect the front brakes. The mechanic replaced the module and the failure ceased. The contact believes that the failure was due to a manufacturer defect. The current and failure mileages were 33,000. Updated 04/21/09. The left rear cliper seized. The ABS unit was faulty. Updated 04/21/09.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #7

Mar 302008

G6

  • miles
2005 Pontiac G6 has problems with the brake lights, brake pads, and rotors. The day after purchasing the vehicle, the consumer had to take it back to get an alignment and have the rotors replaced. In June 2008, the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer because the brakes were making a noise. The dealer was unable to duplicate the issue. Two weeks later, the front pads had to be replaced because they were worn. The sunroof had to be repaired due to a rattling noise it was making. After the sunroof was repaired, it began to make a different noise. A technician determined a pipe had ruptured. The brake lights were on when the vehicle was in drive. The consumer then received a recall letter in the mail regarding the defective brake lights after already paying for a sensor that didn't resolve the issue.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #6

Feb 172009

G6

  • 35,000 miles
3rd brake light (rear of vehicle) stays on when vehicle is running and when vehicle is off when key removed. It is necessary to pull the fuse to turn off the 3rd brake light to prevent the battery from draining when vehicle is off.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #5

Oct 282008

G6

  • 50,000 miles
Brake pedal and lights malfunction...frequently (90% of the time) the brake pedal does not let me shift out of park until after 2 or 3 tries. Most importantly...my brake lights stay on while driving and go off when using the brake. I have been stopped several times by other drivers. The dealership claimed the problem was a broken brake wire but they replaced it and that did not fix it. They do not seem to know how to fix it. I am afraid someone will run into me especially at night because my brake lights frequently go off while I'm braking.

- Grafton, OH, USA

problem #4

Jun 052008

G6

  • 47,200 miles
I bought my car on June 2, 2008, when we left the dealership we could smell oil burning, we thought they just overfilled the fluids, on Thursday, June 5th, 2008 while going to lunch, my transmission gave out in my car, it went back to the dealership for eleven (11) days while they replaced the transmission. When we got it back from the transmission repair the air conditioner was no longer working and the brakes were squealing. We took it back to the garage a week and a half later for this and they said everything was fine. In the beginning of August, we noticed that the oil kept going low. On August 14th, 2008 we had to take it back to the garage because there was horrendous, mass amount of oil collecting under the motor. The garage kept my car again, because the rear main crank shaft seal went in the engine. They replaced the rear main crank shaft seal, it was in the garage until August 21, 2008, on this day when we picked the car up, we had to take it right back to the garage because it was hesitating to start and the transmission was shifting hard. The garage determined that wires were unplugged on the engine. On, September 5th while leaving work the car broke down on me again, this time the engine blew in the car. The car was in the garage until September 17th, 2008, while they replaced the engine. So in the few months that I have owned the car it has been in the garage for almost a month getting repair after repair done to it.

- Nanty Glo, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 142008

G6

  • 74,600 miles
The seal on my panoramic roof leaked during a torrential downpour. I did not drive the car for a few days because of having surgery. 2 days after the rain storm when I opened my car I found an inch of water covering the floor and mold covering most of the interior. Mold was also located inside the air conditioning system when turned on. The heated seats were ruined as were any electrical devices inside the car. All personal items and infant seat were also ruined. I am still waiting to hear what is going to be done. They are trying to convince me it can be cleaned, but with the amount of mold and my existing asthma it is a detriment to my health to be inside the vehicle. I also have an infant which cannot come into the vehicle at all because of said mold. I still don't know after contacting GM if they will fix the problem or if I need to scrap the car. This is the second problem I have had, however the first involved the brake rotors grinding too quickly and causing the car to shake violently when braking at any speed. I have had to have the brakes done at least every 3 months to correct the problem for the past 2 and a half years.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?