Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Vehicle Speed Control Problems Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,315 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #14

May 092016

G6 6-cyl

  • 202,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while in park, the vehicle began to roll backwards without warning. In addition, the contact stated she was able to remove her keys but the vehicle continued to roll away. The brake pedal required to be depressed in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 202,000. Updated 07/27/16 the consumer referenced a shifter cable recall. Updated 07/28/1996.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #13

Aug 042014

G6 6-cyl

  • 123,244 miles
While driving home my alarm system light blinked on then stayed on. The headlights shut off and turned on. After I parked the car and turned off the engine the theft deterrent system activated and my car would not start for 45 mins. I followed all reset procedures nothing worked. Had to disconnect and reconnect alarm. Now alarm will not work and the trunk/doors open or unlock randomly, radio turns off, lights turn off. Problem has been happening for a few weeks now noone in town knows how to fix.

- Topeka , KS, USA

problem #12

Sep 082014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), 14V153000 (steering), and 14V224000 (power train). The parts needed for the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lampasas, TX, USA

problem #11

Aug 252014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), 14V153000 (steering), and 14V224000 (power train); however, the parts needed for the repairs were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain about when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #10

Jun 032014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #9

Jul 282009

G6 6-cyl

  • 54,756 miles
I have been having issues with the brake lights on my vehicle for almost the entire time I have owned the vehicle. As it has been revealed in a recall for this vehicle (NHTSA campaign number: 09V036000) the brake lights do not function properly -- they turn on when I am not hitting the brakes and turn off when I do hit the brakes. In July 2009 I thought I had the issue fixed when I took the car to a GM dealer to be repaired under the recall. However, despite the vehicle being fixed under the recall the brake lights still do not work properly. I just got approached by someone following me a couple of days ago that my brake lights are not working again.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #8

Jan 052014

G6 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


01/05/2014 as I was traveling down the road, and applied my brakes. Several minutes later, a truck pulled up next to me and told me that my brake lights weren't working - however they had been just a moment before. 01/10/2014 the same thing happened on this date. The brake lights were working (however I was not breaking), and there was a driver that pulled up next to me and informed me that my brake lights were malfunctioning. I have also had issues with my cruise control. It does not work at all, however the fuse is not damaged.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #7

Dec 082013


  • 136,000 miles
I was pulling into a parking space and began to apply the brakes to stop when the accelerator stuck and threw us forward which resulted in us running into some cement pillars. I had to shift the car into park in order to get the car to stop. The entire front end of the car up to the radiator was crunched. I am thankful that we hit the cement pillars an not another car or person, but am definitely worried about it not being fixed properly and happening again.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #6

Sep 182012

G6 6-cyl

  • 76,854 miles
The brake lights will stay on after I remove my foot from the brake pedal, there are also times they do not illuminate when I have my foot on the brake. I also have problems shifting out of park. I have to push the brake pedal very hard for my car to shift. I have also had problems with my cruise control not engaging when I tried to turn it on. I hit the button for cruise & the light just flashes back off instead of staying on like it should.

- Minersville, PA, USA

problem #5

May 202013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
The date of the incident is not the first incident...only one of them. The problems have been ongoing. For some time now, I have experienced trouble off and on with taking the gear out of park. This doesn't happen every time, but when it does, I have to press the brake pedal several times real hard for it to release and let me move the gear stick. Also experienced our cruise control didn't work when on vacation in Florida in May 2013. Had no idea what was going on then. Thinking back on it now, the brake lights were probably acting up during that time! recently, the cruise control has been working. Clearly an electrical issue. I've had several people tell me after following me, that I'm "riding" my brakes and when I stop, the brake lights go off! I am finding that this is happening all the time now. Trying to contact our GM dealership, which knows nothing of a past recall. Contacted the national GM and they have no "active" recall for my car. Copied it off the website along with others' same complaints with the remedy to the problem to present to our local GM service department. Will have to pay for this defect if I want it fixed. I'm afraid to even drive it now with my lights working backwards!! this has been a great car for 8 years with this being the only problem that I've had. Need help with getting this past recall reactivated and paid for by GM. Asking for reimbursement for the repair if and when the recall is reactivated after I've had it fixed.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #4

Jun 232011

G6 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles


When the brakes are applied, the tail lights go out. While driving the brake lights are on causing cruise control not to engage. The brake pedal position sensor has already had the dielectric grease put in the connector but still malfunctions.

- Stanley, NY, USA

problem #3

Apr 152012


  • 125,000 miles
The issues started by the cruise control unexpectedly disengaging while driving. It has now progressed to it the cruise control comes on when you press the brake. That was almost a year ago. Now, the cruise control starts when the brake is pressed. However, when it comes on with the brake it stays on approximately 11-12 seconds and the disengages. The brake lights come on when the brake pedal is not being pressed. When, the brakes are being pressed the brake lights do not always come on. These issues have been happening since spring of 2012.I have taken my vehicular to GMC before and I was told their were no recalls and they have never heard of my problems before. But, if I pay there diagnostic fee to find out what's wrong in the electrical system that they can replace the electrical system but it would be a costly repair. I was then informed it would be cheaper to just trade it in. I was appalled.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #2

Feb 022010


  • 65,553 miles
I own a 2005 Pontiac G6 and having issues with the cruise control. It will disengage while on and then the brake lights will go on and off. Yesterday, my 16 year old son was driving it home from school and had the cruise on. It started accelerating and he could not get it to come off immediately. It took him close to 2 minutes to get it to go off. It had accelerated close to 90 mph. I notified GM and they took my information and said it would be documented. I am afraid it has something to do either with the brake system or computer issues. This is very scary with everything going on with Toyota and to know it could be happening to other cars also.

- Berlin, GA, USA

problem #1

Sep 142009


  • 65,000 miles
Pontiac G6 brake lights were operating opposite (brakes lights illuminated while driving and not illuminated while brake is applied). Cruise control not engaging. Apparently there was a recall for some models of the G6 but was told by Pontiac that my G6 was not covered under the recall for the exact same issue.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?