Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel/Propulsion System Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

1.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
109,062 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #17

Jun 242016

G6

  • 84,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car is smelling like gas I have a leak and im thinking its the fuel pump leaking. My son is a certified mechanic and he looked at my car. He is the one who also said that is probably the fuel pump.there were recalls on 2006 and up in years on the fuel pump. I have one a year 2005. I think they need to check on the 2005S for this problem.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #16

Jun 072016

G6

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. After the vehicle was driven, a strong fuel odor was present. There was no indication of a fuel leak. The vehicle had to be cranked several times before it would start. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact stated that the failure started approximately six months ago. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000....updated 07/13/16 updated 08/31/16

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #15

Oct 102015

G6

  • 120,000 miles
When I drive my car, a strong odor of gass fills up my car. It is so strong that it gives me a killer headache. I have a gas leak coming from the back of the car. The shop I take my car to have told me that it is more than likely a fuel pump leakage. They have told me that they have had to fix many, many fuel pump leakages on Pontiac G6S. Also, my tail lights have stopped working for some reason. They both stopped working at the same time. The gas leakage seems to leak durring and after I drive it. The tail lights... I had just gotten off of work when I got into my car and the police officer I work with told me they were not working. That same night I got home and locked my car. I went to get something out of it and they were working fine. After a few days I was pulled over again because they had stopped working again. They currently do not work. The officer also brought up the strong smell of gas she present.I got pulled over on an innercity road.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #14

Mar 052015

G6

  • 168,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I randomly started smelling gas was driving one day and breaks stopped working and car randomly dies while turning a corner

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #13

Apr 012015

G6

  • 46,000 miles
I first noticed the smell of gasoline when the car was parked. If it was parked on a slight incline, there was a puddle of gas on the driveway. Because I saw online that many others were having a similar problem, I checked to see if there was a recall...but there wasn't. I finally had the fuel pump replaced because I was afraid of a fire. Will I be reimbursed if there is finally a recall done on this very dangerous issue?

- Marysville, CA, USA

problem #12

Apr 292015

G6

  • 158,000 miles
Took my car to the GMC. Dealer to get recalls fixed. They also noticed strong gas odor. Inspection stated I had a gas leak at the top of my tank and it was dangerous but no recall on this so almost 300$labor +parts... I called GMC and they said my car had too many miles. And 10 years old. I don't feel like I should have to pay for an issue that is clearly from the manufacturer. Any help or advice please! my car could burst into flames.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Feb 022015

G6 6-cyl

  • 107,110 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up at the gas station there is a strong smell of gas outside and inside of my car until the gas has been ran out a little and it is so strong that my car is not drivable. I have been told that the fuel line to the fuel pump has a crack in it... updated 02/19/15

- Radcliff, KY, USA

problem #10

Sep 012014

G6

  • 108,000 miles
Vehicle smells like gasoline. No visible leak yet. The smell is strong and is coming from the area of the top of the fuel tank. Since the smell started, the car has gotten harder to get started.

- Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 252014

G6 6-cyl

  • 182,000 miles
On September 2014, I purchased a 2005 Pontiac G6 with about 182,000 miles for the purposes of driving me to work. I was not aware or made aware of a strong fuel smell emitting from outside and inside the car at low or high speeds. I drove the car to my local mechanic for inspection a few days later. I was later advised that a fuel pump connector was possibly cracked and leaking gasoline above the gas tank. My mechanic also advised me not to drive my car any further since it posed a fire danger. In addition, GM recalled the 2007-2009 Pontiac G6 vehicles for the same issue but not for the 2005-6 Pontiac G6 cars. My car currently has two recalls which my local GM dealership will fix in the upcoming week. Many customers have complained about the same issue and no recall has been made to address this problem. Why hasn't this issue been recalled with the faulty fuel pumps" why should I have to pay out of pocket for a manufacture defect"

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 132014

G6

  • miles
Fuel pump leaking gas, car will not overturn properly, hazard.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #7

Aug 012014

G6

  • 246,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated fuel fumes were emitted in the vehicle. The contact's husband inspected the vehicle and found that there was a leak at the top of the fuel tank. Neither the manufacturer nor the dealer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 246,000.

- Adrian, GA, USA

problem #6

Feb 242014

G6

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that there was a strong smell of gasoline inside and around the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the return port was cracked and there was a fuel leak. As a result, the fuel pump module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 85,000.

- Pearl City , HI, USA

problem #5

Nov 052012

G6

  • 100,000 miles
I smelled a very strong odor of gas as I walked up to my car. The check gas cap display came on. I replaced the gas cap and warning is still displayed. The smell of gas has continued to worsen and seems to be coming from the gas tank. It doesn't matter if the car is running or not. I have researched and found many owners of the same year and make car are having the same problem however, nobody has found the exact cause. Suggestions have been to check evaporative solenoid, gaskets, tubing to and from tank. I've done all and the odor continues to worsen.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #4

Sep 152012

G6

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the ignition had to be started three times before the engine began to operate. A strong odor of fuel emitted inside and outside of the vehicle. The failure also recurred sporadically when driving at various speeds. A certified mechanic repaired the vehicle for an unrelated repair and noticed fuel leakage. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #3

Aug 272012

G6 6-cyl

  • 66,648 miles
We started smelling gas in the passenger compartment a few weeks before 8-27-12 and could not locate the gas leak. Then on Sunday 8-26-12 my daughter drove up and the smell of gas was overwhelming. I looked under the car and saw gas running through the vents in the metal shield covering the gas tank. The car was parked until it could be inspected by a mechanic. I did a online search for a gas leak for the 2005 G6 and could only find reference to this same problem on the 2007 and later models. I called two GM dealers and they showed no recalls on the 2005 model for gas leaks and could not give me an estimate for total repairs unless I agreed to spend approx. $300 dollars for an inspection. I called my mechanic and they removed the exhaust system and gas tank from our 2005 G6. I made a video of the gas setting around the fuel pump and on top of the gas tank. They cleaned up the tank, then did a pressure test which showed a crack in the elbow which is made onto the fuel pump assembly. The old fuel pump assembly is still a working part except for the crack which I believe is defective workmanship. I made a video of the new fuel pump assembly after its installation and I see no difference in the way the part is made. I also have the old working part with a video of where the cracked elbow is located. On 8-27-12 I spent $505.06 for the fuel pump assembly, $44.82 in sales tax and $225 in labor. I am concerned that the new part will do exactly what the old part did and I will be stuck with a leak again. I find no comfort in knowing my daughter could be riding around in a car that could literally be a bomb. If someone checked the facts, I think this particular fuel pump assembly has been used for quite some time and has always had problems but were out of the warranty period. How convenient! I always thought that buying GM meant made in America. Guess not!

- Chickasha, OK, USA

problem #2

Sep 252012

G6

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that she walked near the vehicle and smelled gasoline. The vehicle was taken to a certified mechanic for inspection and they stated there was a fuel leak and as a result, the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they stated that there was not recall on her vehicle. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Hudson, FL, USA

problem #1

Aug 012012

G6

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked fuel was leaking. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 115,000 and the current mileage was 117,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?