NHTSA — Steering Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 16 of 18)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,310 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 16 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Dec 122008

G6

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had a problem with the steering of my 2005 Pontiac G6 from the day it was purchased. The steering has been fixed under warranty but he issue continues. I'm told by my dealer that it just seems to be an issue that I need to live with. I am also really afraid this will cause me to crash and kill myself or someone else. There needs to be a recall on this car. It seems that others are having the same problems.

- Turnersville, NJ, USA

problem #42

Oct 152008

G6

  • 300,000 miles
Pontiac sent a letter regarding the loss of power steering. As of today, the steering in my Pontiac G6 has been repaired 3 times, the gas cap has been replaced at least three times, and the radio has been replaced 5 times, 3 of which have been in the past three weeks. I SE an investigation was opened regarding the steering in 2007 and I see no results of the findings. The issues have been persistent for about a year and Pontiac dealers refuse to test for electrical issues. I have been going round and round with the Pontiac company for three weeks with no solution. The car has been in the shop for three times in the past three weeks. Please help. I see other customer complaints regarding the 2005 Pontiac G6 and others seem to report the same issues. I no longer feel safe driving my child around in this car and Pontiac doesn't seem to want to resolve the issue.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #41

Oct 302008

G6

  • 80,000 miles
I have loss of power steering intermittently, this occurs mostly at low speeds but is occurring with more frequency as of late. The car also is starting to shake around 60mph, the tires are one year old (replacement tires) and the alignment was done when it was completed. I went back and they double checked the alignment and said it was perfect. I am afraid that the steering issue will occur at higher speeds while either my wife or I are driving it, causing an accident. This is clearly a safety issue and should be resolved, not by simply posting a tsb but by posting a recall for this issue because of its severity and potential cause for personal harm.

- Monroe, OH, USA

problem #40

Oct 292007

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had a problem with the steering of my 2005 Pontiac G6. It has been fixed under warranty for gear assembly 2 times. Sway bar link. Popping when turning steering wheel. And again at 38,000 miles it is doing the same about every 10 months it does this, I am really afraid this will cause me to crash and kill myself and my children or someone else. There needs to be a recall on this car I have talked to several people with this same make and model and they are having the same problems.

- Aynor, SC, USA

problem #39

Jun 162005

G6

  • 23,000 miles
Steering locked up at start up for the first few minutes. Had problem looked at prior to it becoming an issue while driving. Dealership replaced the steering column. At this time I do not know if this fixed the problem.

- Kapolei, HI, USA

problem #38

Sep 232008

G6

  • miles
Ongoing noise in power steering shortly after purchasing the G6 new in 2005. There's always been a clunk when turning right or left at slow speeds (ie: Parking lot). Two different dealers have determined (until now) that the noise is normal. The noise level has increased over the past 3+ years and now at 40,000 miles the "intermediate steering shaft" needs to be replaced. I'm hoping the extended warranty will cover the $450 repair job.

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #37

Sep 172008

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My power steering will lock up, my steering wheel will free spin to the left and tight to the right.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #36

Sep 172008

G6

  • 25,000 miles
I own a 2005 Pontiac G6 which I purchased from a dealer after it had been leased for 1 year. The vehicle had 12000 miles on it when purchase. Numerous problems have occurred with this vehicle after purchase. Starting with a noise, clunk in the steering. This has been in the repair shop for upwards to 7-8 times, each time new repairs done on different parts. This problem has never been resolved. Now at 64500 miles the noise is still there after repairs only 4000 miles ago. Starting in October of 2007 I began having problems with the brake lights and cruise control. Brake lights working only sporadically as well as the cruise control. There has been documented repairs on the is of 7-8 times as well. This problem also has never been resolved. On September 17, 2008 my car was involved in a rear-end automobile accident in most part and no doubt due to faulty brake light system. Many other problems have occurred with this vehicle as well including poor sunvisor manufacturing, leaky map lights in overhead console, rapid wear of brake pads and rotors, rapid tire wear, starting drags when starting, occasionally the car will not shift out of park when the car is running and brake pedal is applied.

- Waupaca, WI, USA

problem #35

Aug 232005

G6

  • 3,704 miles
Purchased this car new April 9, 2005. My car first went to the garage with steering problems on August 23, 2005 with a current mileage of 3,704. The car was towed after the power steering locked up and I maneuvered several curves and a hill to stop on the side of the road. My car remained in the garage until 8/27/05 and now had 3,716 miles on it. I drove my car for a few days to have the same problem occur when my husband was turning the steering wheel to make a left turn. On September 6, 2005 we again called for our car to be towed back to the garage. Car now has 3,899 miles on it. This time they replaced the steering column assembly with motor. Mileage upon return was 3,948 miles. Now in September 2008 my car has a little over 38,000 miles and I am having what the dealer tells us is a different problem and will be our expense. We are having a popping noise in the steering in the front end. The dealer tells us this is possibly the steering shaft assembly. This is ridiculous that this car is so unreliable and it seems the same problems are continuing with GM cars even in 2008 models. I think that GM should be offering to purchase our vehicles back the same as I have recently heard a friend say that Toyota did for them at a percentage over the current value of the vehicle. Different from GM they have taken responsibility for their problems. It seems that GM is denying the problems with their vehicles. I have already researched the lemon laws. Maybe more owners should do the same. GM should do something about this problem before someone dies with the major steering problems they have. Also another problem we have had is that the information center displays are effected by the outdoor temperature.

- Hillsville, VA, USA

problem #34

Aug 302008

G6

  • 70,000 miles
I am the owner of a 2005 Pontiac G6 four door sedan. For the past two months the engine check light has come on along with a warning on the audio display showing "power steering". these incidents were infrequent and no particular reason was found for the warning. Up until last week I attributed the problem to a faulty sensor. Last week I started my car and the check engine light came on, the "power steering was displayed in the audio system, and I had no power steering to for the vehicle. I turned the vehicle off then back on and the problem was gone. On Saturday 08/30/2008 while driving on a straight road the warning lights came on again and I lost power steering in the car again. I pulled to the side of the road, turned the car off then back on and the problem was gone. On 09/03/2008 I started my car and the warning lights again came on and I again had no power steering. I again turned the car off then back on and the problem was gone. I then drove to red hoagland Pontiac in bradenton, fl for repairs where I was told two modules needed to be replaced and it would cost me $1,095. I read a recent blog that stated there had been about 19 similar complaints for this vehicle and that a recall would probably be coming soon from your Agency. The cost of the repair is outrageous but more importantly if there is a serious problem with the power steering this vehicle should be recalled.

- Myakka City, FL, USA

problem #33

Jul 152008

G6

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my car in July and the very same day my dad was driving it and said that the steering wheel jerked out of his hand as he was turning a corner which resulted in him driving into the oncoming lane. I drove the car right after him and had the same issue, the steering wheel doesn't lock, it feels as if someone is pulling it in the other direction. Took my car to the dealership where it sat for a few days and they said they couldn't get it to do it for them so they gave it back. Few weeks later I was driving my car down the highway and it was giving me tension while I was driving in a straight line. Every time I turn I have to brace for the wheel to jerk out of my hand and use all of my body weight to pull the wheel back. My car is in the shop now and they are telling me that the whole steering column needs to be replaced and needs to be re aligned. This is a very serious problem and if it had happened in the winter there would have been an accident for sure.

- Kalispell, MT, USA

problem #32

Aug 072008

G6

  • 80,643 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving 45 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. Soon after, the vehicle became difficult to steer. The vehicle has not been to the dealer and the contact did not notice any differences beforehand. The current and failure mileages were 80,643.

- Fallon, NV, USA

problem #31

Aug 262008

G6

  • 71,599 miles
Sitting a light today my check engine light came on with a notice of "power steering". I was barely able to turn my car into a parking lot. I'm 35 miles from home and was informed by customer service at 800-222-1020 that I would need to have it towed to a Pontiac dealership to be checked. I have 71,000 miles on my car and my warranty expired at 70,000 miles. I was quoted by a Pontiac service center that the could would be about $1000. This should be a recall or covered by Pontiac!

- Longmont , CO, USA

problem #30

Aug 152008

G6

  • 45,000 miles
I was 30 minutes from home and I went to get in my new car I had just purchased 2 weeks ago and the powersteering was out. We tried everything to fix it and nothing worked. We couldn't even find anywhere for the power steering fluid to go. It's been in the shop a day now and they can't find the cause of the problem. I read on a auto blog website that this problem was under investigation in 2007 and there is no recall. Well there needs T be!! I had my 2005 Pontiac G6 for 2 weeks now and its in the shop already for a problem that could have been avoided if a recall on this problem had been issued in the first place.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #29

Aug 122008

G6

  • 73,225 miles
My Pontiac G6 2005 had extreme power steering issues. The power steering over a period of 4 months would go in and out. Whether on the freeway or on local roads. When money was available to repair, the car was taken to a Pontiac licensed dealership. After analyzing the problem, the servicing team said that the complete steering column had to be replaced because the problem (electric power steering) was within the column. With labor and replacement of entire steering column the total cost for the repair came to $806.80. The mechanics did say after 70,000 the problematic power steering going out on G6's made in 2005 begins to occur in the car and the replacement of the steering column in alot of instances needs to be replaced entirely. Update (10/7/08): Loss of power steering assist made it very difficult to turn the steering wheel. The power light initially did not come on. As the problem became more frequent, within the two weeks prior to the repair, the warning light began to light up. Since the repair (steering column), I have not had a recurrence of this problem.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #28

Jul 172008

G6

  • 89,459 miles
Power steering went out.

- Constable, NY, USA

problem #27

Dec 202006

G6

  • 4,000 miles
Recurring issues with the front end and steering on a 2005 Pontiac G6. Problem first occurred at 4000 miles within 6 months of purchase. Issues are locking of the steering, drifts and wanders, shoots uncontrollability to the side of road when hitting larger bumps without movement of the steering wheel, 'loose' noises, popping and general sounds like front is going to come out from under it. Started a 4K miles, now has 23K miles with same issues and 6 trips to 3 different dealers. They don't have a clue what the problem is and tell me it's 'normal'. no injuries yet but it's just a matter of time.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #26

Jun 132008

G6

  • 53,000 miles
Driving car out of parking lot went to turn the wheel and the power steering went out. I could barely move the wheel. It use to happen only on really hot days, but now is always going out. Almost everytime I turn on the car it is out. Took it to the dealer they said it needed to be re-calibrated, it worked for about two weeks and went back to the same problem of no power steering.

- Boulevard, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 202008

G6

  • 54,000 miles
Power steering failure. The power steering on my car has went out multiple times (over 5) causing near accident.

- Greenbrier, AR, USA

problem #24

Apr 012008

G6

  • 50,000 miles
I purchased a 2005 Pontiac G6 3 mos ago. There are 50K miles on the car now. Within a month of purchasing the used vehicle, the power steering warning appears on the display and within the next 30 seconds, all power steering ability is lost. The manual explains to turn the steering wheel from side to side and the alarm will go away. This does not work. I have to bring the car to a stop which is very difficult as it is almost impossible to turn the car. I have to turn the ignition off and restart the car. In addition, there is a popping noise when turning the steering wheel from side to side. I did purchase an extended warranty with the car. I have contacted the warranty company and they have instructed me to have a mechanic contact them once the problem has been diagnosed which I will be doing this week. The warranty company will then let me know if the problem is covered under warranty.

- Shawnee, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?