Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 16 of 17) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,702 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 16 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Sep 172008


  • miles


My power steering will lock up, my steering wheel will free spin to the left and tight to the right.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #36

Sep 172008


  • 25,000 miles
I own a 2005 Pontiac G6 which I purchased from a dealer after it had been leased for 1 year. The vehicle had 12000 miles on it when purchase. Numerous problems have occurred with this vehicle after purchase. Starting with a noise, clunk in the steering. This has been in the repair shop for upwards to 7-8 times, each time new repairs done on different parts. This problem has never been resolved. Now at 64500 miles the noise is still there after repairs only 4000 miles ago. Starting in October of 2007 I began having problems with the brake lights and cruise control. Brake lights working only sporadically as well as the cruise control. There has been documented repairs on the is of 7-8 times as well. This problem also has never been resolved. On September 17, 2008 my car was involved in a rear-end automobile accident in most part and no doubt due to faulty brake light system. Many other problems have occurred with this vehicle as well including poor sunvisor manufacturing, leaky map lights in overhead console, rapid wear of brake pads and rotors, rapid tire wear, starting drags when starting, occasionally the car will not shift out of park when the car is running and brake pedal is applied.

- Waupaca, WI, USA

problem #35

Aug 232005


  • 3,704 miles
Purchased this car new April 9, 2005. My car first went to the garage with steering problems on August 23, 2005 with a current mileage of 3,704. The car was towed after the power steering locked up and I maneuvered several curves and a hill to stop on the side of the road. My car remained in the garage until 8/27/05 and now had 3,716 miles on it. I drove my car for a few days to have the same problem occur when my husband was turning the steering wheel to make a left turn. On September 6, 2005 we again called for our car to be towed back to the garage. Car now has 3,899 miles on it. This time they replaced the steering column assembly with motor. Mileage upon return was 3,948 miles. Now in September 2008 my car has a little over 38,000 miles and I am having what the dealer tells us is a different problem and will be our expense. We are having a popping noise in the steering in the front end. The dealer tells us this is possibly the steering shaft assembly. This is ridiculous that this car is so unreliable and it seems the same problems are continuing with GM cars even in 2008 models. I think that GM should be offering to purchase our vehicles back the same as I have recently heard a friend say that Toyota did for them at a percentage over the current value of the vehicle. Different from GM they have taken responsibility for their problems. It seems that GM is denying the problems with their vehicles. I have already researched the lemon laws. Maybe more owners should do the same. GM should do something about this problem before someone dies with the major steering problems they have. Also another problem we have had is that the information center displays are effected by the outdoor temperature.

- Hillsville, VA, USA

problem #34

Aug 302008


  • 70,000 miles


I am the owner of a 2005 Pontiac G6 four door sedan. For the past two months the engine check light has come on along with a warning on the audio display showing "power steering". these incidents were infrequent and no particular reason was found for the warning. Up until last week I attributed the problem to a faulty sensor. Last week I started my car and the check engine light came on, the "power steering was displayed in the audio system, and I had no power steering to for the vehicle. I turned the vehicle off then back on and the problem was gone. On Saturday 08/30/2008 while driving on a straight road the warning lights came on again and I lost power steering in the car again. I pulled to the side of the road, turned the car off then back on and the problem was gone. On 09/03/2008 I started my car and the warning lights again came on and I again had no power steering. I again turned the car off then back on and the problem was gone. I then drove to red hoagland Pontiac in bradenton, fl for repairs where I was told two modules needed to be replaced and it would cost me $1,095. I read a recent blog that stated there had been about 19 similar complaints for this vehicle and that a recall would probably be coming soon from your Agency. The cost of the repair is outrageous but more importantly if there is a serious problem with the power steering this vehicle should be recalled.

- Myakka City, FL, USA

problem #33

Jul 152008


  • 39,000 miles
I purchased my car in July and the very same day my dad was driving it and said that the steering wheel jerked out of his hand as he was turning a corner which resulted in him driving into the oncoming lane. I drove the car right after him and had the same issue, the steering wheel doesn't lock, it feels as if someone is pulling it in the other direction. Took my car to the dealership where it sat for a few days and they said they couldn't get it to do it for them so they gave it back. Few weeks later I was driving my car down the highway and it was giving me tension while I was driving in a straight line. Every time I turn I have to brace for the wheel to jerk out of my hand and use all of my body weight to pull the wheel back. My car is in the shop now and they are telling me that the whole steering column needs to be replaced and needs to be re aligned. This is a very serious problem and if it had happened in the winter there would have been an accident for sure.

- Kalispell, MT, USA

problem #32

Aug 072008


  • 80,643 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving 45 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. Soon after, the vehicle became difficult to steer. The vehicle has not been to the dealer and the contact did not notice any differences beforehand. The current and failure mileages were 80,643.

- Fallon, NV, USA

problem #31

Aug 262008


  • 71,599 miles


Sitting a light today my check engine light came on with a notice of "power steering". I was barely able to turn my car into a parking lot. I'm 35 miles from home and was informed by customer service at 800-222-1020 that I would need to have it towed to a Pontiac dealership to be checked. I have 71,000 miles on my car and my warranty expired at 70,000 miles. I was quoted by a Pontiac service center that the could would be about $1000. This should be a recall or covered by Pontiac!

- Longmont , CO, USA

problem #30

Aug 152008


  • 45,000 miles
I was 30 minutes from home and I went to get in my new car I had just purchased 2 weeks ago and the powersteering was out. We tried everything to fix it and nothing worked. We couldn't even find anywhere for the power steering fluid to go. It's been in the shop a day now and they can't find the cause of the problem. I read on a auto blog website that this problem was under investigation in 2007 and there is no recall. Well there needs T be!! I had my 2005 Pontiac G6 for 2 weeks now and its in the shop already for a problem that could have been avoided if a recall on this problem had been issued in the first place.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #29

Aug 122008


  • 73,225 miles
My Pontiac G6 2005 had extreme power steering issues. The power steering over a period of 4 months would go in and out. Whether on the freeway or on local roads. When money was available to repair, the car was taken to a Pontiac licensed dealership. After analyzing the problem, the servicing team said that the complete steering column had to be replaced because the problem (electric power steering) was within the column. With labor and replacement of entire steering column the total cost for the repair came to $806.80. The mechanics did say after 70,000 the problematic power steering going out on G6's made in 2005 begins to occur in the car and the replacement of the steering column in alot of instances needs to be replaced entirely. Update (10/7/08): Loss of power steering assist made it very difficult to turn the steering wheel. The power light initially did not come on. As the problem became more frequent, within the two weeks prior to the repair, the warning light began to light up. Since the repair (steering column), I have not had a recurrence of this problem.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #28

Jul 172008


  • 89,459 miles
Power steering went out.

- Constable, NY, USA

problem #27

Dec 202006


  • 4,000 miles


Recurring issues with the front end and steering on a 2005 Pontiac G6. Problem first occurred at 4000 miles within 6 months of purchase. Issues are locking of the steering, drifts and wanders, shoots uncontrollability to the side of road when hitting larger bumps without movement of the steering wheel, 'loose' noises, popping and general sounds like front is going to come out from under it. Started a 4K miles, now has 23K miles with same issues and 6 trips to 3 different dealers. They don't have a clue what the problem is and tell me it's 'normal'. no injuries yet but it's just a matter of time.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #26

Jun 132008


  • 53,000 miles
Driving car out of parking lot went to turn the wheel and the power steering went out. I could barely move the wheel. It use to happen only on really hot days, but now is always going out. Almost everytime I turn on the car it is out. Took it to the dealer they said it needed to be re-calibrated, it worked for about two weeks and went back to the same problem of no power steering.

- Boulevard, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 202008


  • 54,000 miles
Power steering failure. The power steering on my car has went out multiple times (over 5) causing near accident.

- Greenbrier, AR, USA

problem #24

Apr 012008


  • 50,000 miles
I purchased a 2005 Pontiac G6 3 mos ago. There are 50K miles on the car now. Within a month of purchasing the used vehicle, the power steering warning appears on the display and within the next 30 seconds, all power steering ability is lost. The manual explains to turn the steering wheel from side to side and the alarm will go away. This does not work. I have to bring the car to a stop which is very difficult as it is almost impossible to turn the car. I have to turn the ignition off and restart the car. In addition, there is a popping noise when turning the steering wheel from side to side. I did purchase an extended warranty with the car. I have contacted the warranty company and they have instructed me to have a mechanic contact them once the problem has been diagnosed which I will be doing this week. The warranty company will then let me know if the problem is covered under warranty.

- Shawnee, OK, USA

problem #23

May 232008


  • 45,000 miles
I was turning into a gas station when my steering wheel abruptly jerked out of my hand. The center console display in my 2005 Pontiac G6 GT notified me that my power steering had gone out. My car has only 45,000 miles on it. When taken to a repair shop and worked on for several hours by a mechanic, he stated that it needed to be taken to the dealership because he did not have the proper equipment to fix it. Upon starting it up later that night, it drove properly without any problem with the power. Update (10/5/08): Very difficult to steer but able to turne. The local dealership replaced the entire steering [column] assembly under a hidden warranty 7 year 70,000 miles. It is working great now.

- Inman, SC, USA

problem #22

May 052008

G6 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Power steering on my 2005 Pontiac G6 fails periodically. Took it to dealer while it was under warranty and they said there was nothing wrong.. probably caused by "low" tire pressure.. now the car is out of warranty and the same problem is happening.. checked tire pressure and it is perfect... this problem has to be solved.. I read many issues concerning this and I believe GM should issue a recall and pay to have the problem fixed>>>>> I got a report from a tech engineer who stated that Pontiac put the electrical power steering out prior to it being fully tested>>>.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #21

Mar 102008

G6 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Power steering fails seemingly when it's very cold, as I live in Ohio.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #20

Jul 302005

G6 6-cyl

  • 480,010 miles
I took a lease over of a 2005 G6 less than a year ago. I have had nothing but problems with it from the very beginning. A lot of times it doesn't start just sputters repeatedly. Took it in to get it checked out of course they say they can't find anything wrong. Right after we got the car we had to have the brakes replaced and also there was a clunking noise. Had to have both right and left front struts replaced. Clunking noise still had not gone away, everytime I take it in I complain of the clunking and eachtime they say it is due to something else that needs to be replaced. Have had a pulsation problem when brakes applied. Power steering went on it quite a few times, had it replaced and has done it since. The rearview mirror snapped right off when being adjusted. Visor cover snapped off. Door lock knob snapped off. Most of the work we have had done was covered by warranty. The warranty is now up and the right ball bearing now needs to be replaced which is why I hear clunking is what I was told. How come it is always something different causing the clunking noise? is going to cost around $500 to fix. What a piece of junk. We will never buy another North american made piece of Jun again!!!

- Tilbury, 00, USA

problem #19

Feb 082008

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
I have had problems with the powersteering going out. It has happened several times but when brought to the dealer they said it came back on there is nothing they can do. The last 3 days in a roll I have had no power steering after driving the car 10 minutes. And it won't turn on until the car sits for at least 5 hours. Only to go off again after ten minutes.

- Beecher , IL, USA

problem #18

Dec 012007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
I have a Pontiac G6 2005 that I have had since April 2005. Starting this year I noticed a rattling sound coming from the steering. I found a tsb (technical service bulletin) about it stating it was a lubrication problem. The problem with this where the lubrication was need you had to take the steering apart to lube it. What? in other words the warrant would not covered this problem because it was a lube problem. Great engineering. Just starting this month (December 2007) I have noticed my steering has been really tight turning at slow speeds, for instance, when leaving my driveway, and increasing in frequency. I stumbled on this website and became curious and found that so many G6 owners have had the same symptoms and needed the same fix. I have a very good question, "your steering gives out while driving, is this not a safety issue"" how is it that this is not a recall problem yet? is because no one was killed yet" it appears the sensor is a serious issue and it needs to be recalled, before someone is killed.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?