Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 17 of 18)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,394 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 17 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Mar 102008

G6 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering fails seemingly when it's very cold, as I live in Ohio.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #20

Jul 302005

G6 6-cyl

  • 480,010 miles
I took a lease over of a 2005 G6 less than a year ago. I have had nothing but problems with it from the very beginning. A lot of times it doesn't start just sputters repeatedly. Took it in to get it checked out of course they say they can't find anything wrong. Right after we got the car we had to have the brakes replaced and also there was a clunking noise. Had to have both right and left front struts replaced. Clunking noise still had not gone away, everytime I take it in I complain of the clunking and eachtime they say it is due to something else that needs to be replaced. Have had a pulsation problem when brakes applied. Power steering went on it quite a few times, had it replaced and has done it since. The rearview mirror snapped right off when being adjusted. Visor cover snapped off. Door lock knob snapped off. Most of the work we have had done was covered by warranty. The warranty is now up and the right ball bearing now needs to be replaced which is why I hear clunking is what I was told. How come it is always something different causing the clunking noise? is going to cost around $500 to fix. What a piece of junk. We will never buy another North american made piece of Jun again!!!

- Tilbury, 00, USA

problem #19

Feb 082008

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
I have had problems with the powersteering going out. It has happened several times but when brought to the dealer they said it came back on there is nothing they can do. The last 3 days in a roll I have had no power steering after driving the car 10 minutes. And it won't turn on until the car sits for at least 5 hours. Only to go off again after ten minutes.

- Beecher , IL, USA

problem #18

Dec 012007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Pontiac G6 2005 that I have had since April 2005. Starting this year I noticed a rattling sound coming from the steering. I found a tsb (technical service bulletin) about it stating it was a lubrication problem. The problem with this where the lubrication was need you had to take the steering apart to lube it. What? in other words the warrant would not covered this problem because it was a lube problem. Great engineering. Just starting this month (December 2007) I have noticed my steering has been really tight turning at slow speeds, for instance, when leaving my driveway, and increasing in frequency. I stumbled on this website and became curious and found that so many G6 owners have had the same symptoms and needed the same fix. I have a very good question, "your steering gives out while driving, is this not a safety issue"" how is it that this is not a recall problem yet? is because no one was killed yet" it appears the sensor is a serious issue and it needs to be recalled, before someone is killed.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #17

Sep 222006

G6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
I thought it was only my Pontiac G6 that had power steering problems, but it was not. At times when turning the steering wheel to the left, it takes the strength of two men and when I turn it to the right, its so loose a baby can turn it. I even had it brought in to the dealership twice to get it corrected and each time they said they corrected the problem, but never did.

- Dunwoody , GA, USA

problem #16

Dec 072007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
Power steering loss when attempting parking or manevuers at low speeds.

- Ararat, VA, USA

problem #15

Nov 152007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Pontiac G6 GT: Within the first year of ownership, we had the vehicle into the dealership twice for a leaking panoramic roof. The second time it leaked, the dash shorted out. Then at about 36,000 miles we started hearing popping noises when steering at low speeds. At around 42,000 miles the popping noises got significantly worse. It was at this point, we decided to take the vehicle back to the dealership for service. The man at the service desk seemed to know right away what was wrong with the vehicle without even diagnosing it. He told us that he had seen this problem in a lot of G6S. I asked him if it was something to worry about and he said no. He told me it would cost $550 to fix it and that the cost would be on me as I was out of warranty on mileage. After I returned home I decided to do some surfing on the internet to see if anyone else was experiencing G6 steering issues. I found page after page of people experiencing similar steering issues. In fact, I noticed that the NHTSA was even investigating GM for G6 power steering failure affecting some 176K vehicles. Frankly, this scared me to death! so much so, that the very next day I went down to the local Honda dealership and traded in the G6 for a 2008 Honda Accord ex-L (5-star rating). I took it in the shorts on the trade-in, but I cannot tell you how happy I am to get rid of this nightmare! parting question: Since when is "power steering failure" not worthy of a recall. Shame on GM!

- Brigham City, UT, USA

problem #14

Oct 112007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
Power steering failure. The wheel just got stuck.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 062007

G6

  • miles
The power steering has failed more times then I can count. The most recent time, however, almost caused an accident. I will be driving and it will just lock up so I cannot steer.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #12

Sep 142007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,286 miles
Leaving work as usual I started my vehicle and began driving home. While on rte. 9 I noticed that I could not easily turn to the right, as it felt as though I had lost steering control on that side only. However steering to the left the wheel seemed to over compensate and dramatically veer left. I continued to carefully drive and safely arrived at my residence. The following day, as I returned to my vehicle from lunch, I started my car when I noticed the dic red "power steering". I made my way out of the parking lot and noticed the steering was barely there. I in-turn had to shift my weight to turn the wheel out of the parking lot and navigate several other turns back to the office, a mile and a half away. I immediately called the local dealership and brought the vehicle in. The steering came back upon starting vehicle again and they could detect no problems through the diagnostics. The dealer told me I would have to replace the steering column as well as the electric motor that goes with it.

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #11

Aug 012007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While placing the vehicle into gear, the electric power steering locked up intermittently and prevented the contact from steering the vehicle. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The VIN was unknown. The current mileage was 41,560 and failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 01-11-08. Updated 12/12/07

- N. Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #10

Aug 292007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,414 miles
1. intermit loss of power steering while driving home from work. 2. couldn't drive the car and had it towed. 3. steering column/sensor assembly replaced due to failure of the torque input sensor. Updated 01-16-08.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #9

Aug 102007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
My wife was almost killed yesterday when the steering locked up at 50mph+ while driving down the road. She has complained of steering issues/noises/control in the past, but never had it lock up completely. The car was still running, was difficult to stop, and she was almost hit by two different vehicles. This is the last of double digit issues with this vehicle. I will not take it back from the dealership. When the tow truck showed up the steering light went off and worked again.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #8

Feb 242007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,800 miles
When I left my home 2 blocks away I approached a stop sign and completed the stop. I was in the process of completing a left hand turn when midway through the power steering failed and the engine almost stalled. This caused my vehicle to become very difficult to steer to the nearest dealership which was less than a.25 mile away. During my brief trip the steering never returned and the engine continued to run ruff. There was one repair regarding my power steering done. A part was replaced it was something like a servo motor dealing with the electronic power steering. That repair was done sometime in the summer of 2006. This time no faults where found in the system. There was no repair done to the vehicle. I feel this is not the last time this will happen.

- Copperas Cove, TX, USA

problem #7

Nov 282006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,500 miles
My car had a power steering failure on November 17, 2006. My wife had picked up the car from the dealership, and while attempting to pull out of a parking lot, the steering locked. When she let go of the steering wheel, the wheel turned left to the stop without outside input. She was able to get the car back to a parking lot, and the car was towed back to the dealership and a steering gear replaced. On 11/28/2006, my wife picked up the car, and on the way home, the steering locked while she was driving. She drove off the road, hit a curb and scraped a telephone pole, rendering the car undriveable. GM sent a technician to assess the problem, and determined that there was no failure of the power steering, despite the first hand information supplied by both my wife, and the tow driver stating that the power steering was locked and the wheel would not turn. Phone interview update (March 12, 2007): Dealer thought the steering pull was caused by the rack and pinion unit and replaced it. The steering lock-up afterward and the vehicle crashed. Dealer service manager found fault code C0545 from the computer. GM issued a tsb to address that fault code.

- Hernando, MS, USA

problem #6

Sep 272005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
Steering locks up. Dealership has attempted to fix it 3-4 times to know success. When steering locks there is no way to steer the car. This has happened to me atleast 20 times over the past 3 months. 3 times I have almost put the car in a ditch, drove into oncoming traffic and drove into a 4 foot high snow bank.

- Litchfield, OH, USA

problem #5

Dec 162005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,050 miles
I was making a sharp left turn in a parking lot. The car stalled and the steering locked up for a couple of seconds. I saw that the rpms had dropped to zero. Everything came back on and I continued. A very funny and scary few seconds. I see by reading other complaints, this is a problem with the new G6.

- Dinuba, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 302005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Newly purchased 2005 Pontiac G6 4 door sedan; have had 4 failures of power steering. Dealer replaced power steering motor; power steering failed again; taken back to dealer, dealer found C0176 sys thermal error, removed and replaced power steering control module; power steering failed again. Dealer now states that 1 tire may be underinflated causing power steering to fail. Dealer unable to explain why power steering fails. Car has had to be towed twice.

- St. Albans, NY, USA

problem #3

Oct 292005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,750 miles
Steering wheel appeared to 'lock" when sitting in traffic, would not turn in either direction for about 2-3 seconds, then resumed normal operation. Did same thing again next day as I was pulling out of my driveway onto the street, would not turn and went straight into the street. In both cases, was not traveling very fast. Took vehicle to dealer within 2 days and they could not replicate the problem. Opened case with tech assistance.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #2

Jun 292005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,450 miles
Steering on this vehical has locked up multiple times, causing the vehical to go off the road. GM has investigated the car after the previous incident and claimed there was no problem and will not check the car again. Most recent steering lockup occured at 8400 miles.

- Floyd, VA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?