Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering: Electric Power Assist System Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 2 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

3.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,756 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Jun 272006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,965 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electrical steering problems with 2005 Pontiac G6. They have replaced my steering twice the second time they replaced the control arms. 10K mile later the car is making the same noise again.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #10

Jun 222007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
Sudden poweer steering loss. Usually when parking, resulting in increased steering effort. The car is a Pontiac G6. 2005. Dealer claimsed thiswas a normal condition on models with electric steering. Update (10/13/08): Pontiac G6 has electric steering. The loss of power came on suddenly and with no warning. If I waited a few minutes it would return then go out again. The dealer said it was normal for this to happen with electric steering. I got no satisfaction from the dealer and the regional rep. Wouldn't even reply to my complaint.out of frustration I traded the car in on a different brand. Obviously I lost money and to this day I am still angry. Anything you could do would be most appreciated.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #9

Jun 222007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,300 miles
Had several incidents that started out intermittently turning left only. Finally had total failure which activated the service light. Pulling off the road and restarting vehicle would reset the failure. Visited Pontiac dealer on 06/21/07 and they didn't try to fix it because the last failure was 2 weeks prior and it was stored as a history code. The very next day (06/22/07) the failure recurred except a restart will no longer reset the power steering. Most failures occurred when outside temps were between 74 and 78 degrees Fahrenheit. I consider this issue very dangerous when the power assist goes away unexpectedly.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 132007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,319 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering loss. Update (10/13/08): The electric steering was very difficult but able to be turned. Power steering light was on. Yes I did turn off and restart the car numerous times, steering was still out and light remained on. Repair was done at the Pontiac dealership, electric steering was completely replaced.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #7

Jun 052007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,960 miles
On June 5th, 2007 I have received warning (dash info system) about power steering failure in my car. In happened twice during the day. Warning is not on today, June 6th 2007, but I will be goint to the dealership on 06/08/07 to see if anything could be done to eliminate the failure. Update phone log: The steering was a little tight; the dealer did something and fixed it. No repair invoice was given.

- Elizabeth City, NC, USA

problem #6

Apr 302007

G6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
About 7 months ago I noticed a significant decrease in power assistance for the steering while I was parallel parking. I had taken it to the dealership to get it looked at, and they told me that they couldn't duplicate the problem so they did nothing. This continued for another 5 months and it progressively got worse. Then the starter stopped functioning properly, and the starter got replaced. Then the headlights and heat/ air conditioning blower began dimming when coming to a complete stop along with the power assistance going away. So I took it the dealer, and they said they couldn't duplicate the problem. I took it to a different dealership. This time the alternator was replaced. Thought that would do it, but a couple of days later the power steering problem came back. Took it to the dealership, and they couldn't duplicate the problem. So they gave me a data loggerhead record the problem. It happened while I was driving, so it pushed the button and recorded the problem. Took the data logger back, and I haven't heard back from them since last week when I took it back. This car was a nightmare and unsafe car to drive.

- Cockeysville, MD, USA

problem #5

Sep 182006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,241 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is an addendum to complaint with ODI id# 10152492. After first steering failure, G6 brought to dealership 13 March 2006. Diagnosis claimed that steering system power source was emitting low voltage. Motor and controller assembly of power steering system was replaced. Steering failed again on 29 May 2006. G6 brought to dealership next day. Tech could detect no current faults under road test. No service was done to vehicle. Steering failed 04 August 2006. G6 brought to dealership same day. Diagnosis claimed internal steering gear failure. Whole power steering system and gear assembly was replaced. Received car more than five weeks later on 12 September 2006. Steering failed 18 September 2006. G6 brought to dealership same day. Investigation pending. In all instances steering failed within minutes of ignition. Steering wheel tightened moderately then stiffened immediately. Service wrench icon illuminated followed by power steering message in dic display. Steering took increased effort; like opening a rusty valve in order to merge into another lane or onto curb.

- Jenkintown, PA, USA

problem #4

May 032006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,500 miles
I have had 7 incidents of the power steering in my Pontiac G6 2005 sedan locking up or failing. This seems to happen on the interstate and is very dangerous. The dealership and GM claims no problems with this issue, yet there are tons of articles and forums on the internet with people having this exact problem.

- Holly, MI, USA

problem #3

Mar 112006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,749 miles
2005 Pontiac G6 vg. 16755 miles. Steering locked up on first use morning of 3/11/06. Steering wheel started to tightly shift left and right at random intervals during first minutes of use. Within 3 minutes, steering wheel tightened considerably, making turns difficult. Pulled into parking lot. Parked car. Turned off ignition. Waited half a minute. Turned ignition. Steering wheel tightened almost beyond use, took incredible efforts to make turns. Power steering appeared on dic within 30 seconds of ignition, followed by service icon in the dash display. Car parked and shut off again. Not returned to for another 75 minutes. Steering problem did not reappear. Subject driving in residential area; no faster than 30 mph at any time with only two sharp left/right turns -- mostly straight away. Temperature 70 degrees F.

- Jenkintown, PA, USA

problem #2

Oct 302005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,912 miles
The contact complained about excessive difficulties with the steering wheel. The vehicle has been to the dealership twice, and power steering was replaced each time. The vehicle continued to have the same problem, and will be towed to the dealership for further repairs.

- Saint Albans, NY, USA

problem #1

Oct 292005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,750 miles
Steering intermittently "locking-up" while driving. Twice while driving I have turned my wheel to the right with it 'locking-up" after only about an 1/8 of a turn. Would not budge either way for approximately 2-3 seconds, after which it began working normally. This has been reported to the service manager at my local Pontiac dealership as well as a customer service representative at GM.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?