Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Tires Problems Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,874 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #4

Nov 032004


  • 20,998 miles


I purchased a Pontiac G6 from a dealer in palmdale, ca in 2004. Problems have been as follows: 1. won't hold alignment - pulls to left - in shop 12/14/05. 2. new tires @20,998 miles due to alignment problems. 3. won't hold alignment - pulls to left - in shop 3/27/07. 4. won't hold alignment - pulls to left - in shop 11/02/07 5. won't hold alignment - pulls to left - in shop 9/05/08 6. new tires @ 41,753 miles due to alignment problems- 4/24/09 7. new rotors, drums and brakes - 4/24/09 8. alignment - pulls to left - swapped front tires - 8/02/09 8. alignment and new rear brakes - 8/29/09 9. alignment - pulls to left - in shop 9/15/09 the list of parts & labor have been extensive and I am on my 3rd set of tires and currently only have 48K on my car. The tires only lasted for 20K miles!!! I've had a total of 6 alignments and countless rotations and nothing works. I have also been through 2 sets of brakes and rotors in this time period as well. When I blogged about this issue there are a lot of other folks having the same problems with this make and model. I contacted the BBB auto line and they said my complaint is not within their jurisdiction. I contacted Pontiac / GMC and they said they can not help me. The car is dangerous to drive and hopefully it won't take an accident for someone to realize that the car is a lemon and unsafe.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 182009

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The vehicle has Continental conti trac touring tires, size P225/50/R17 (na). The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for repair. The technician observed that all four tires exhibited severe defects at the inner sidewall. The contact was strongly urged to replace the tires due to the safety hazard. The tires have not been replaced. The manufacturer was notified, but has not provided assistance. The failure and current mileages were 20,700. Updated 07/14/09 updated 07/16/09.

- Ironton, OH, USA

problem #2

Mar 292009


  • miles
3 incidents of car skidding, sliding and doing a 360 when driving in the snow. 1st time, thought it needed new tires. 2nd time had gotten new tires, but thought it needed a slight alignment. Both incidents occurring while turning. 3rd incident, had gotten tires and alignment and driving slowly down a straight path when slid into the other lane with me having no control, thankfully no cars were coming, but did a complete 360 turn.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #1

Aug 172005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Too many complaints to write them all up, here are a few: Engine makes metal grinding "whooshing" noise independent from acceleration-dealer cannot replicate, warped rotors-dealer wanted over $1,000 to fix, have had radio replaced 5 times due to disc errors-dealer keeps replacing, had steering rack and water pump replaced at 30,000 miles-dealer covered, sensor that turns on lights went-dealer replaced, power steering problems, hard to turn and rough, but no "lock-ups" like others have had(thankfully)-dealer cannot replicate, had drivers side front panel sunroof drain clog, water soaked front carpet(3 inches of water)-dealer fixed but left me with a moldy carpet!, engine flutters/stutters to a start on random-dealer has no answer for me, trunk lid was scraping rear bumper due to latches being tightened wrong-dealer fixed, headlamp full of condensation-dealer fixed, car ridiculously bad in the rain and snow, stability control makes loud grinding noises and causes the car to buck, replaced tires with snow tires, still bad-dealer has no answer for me, large deep scratch across windshield right in the line of view from Contour oem windshield wipers, dealer said too bad. Those are just a few, I cant remember them all, this car is such a lemon. Im sticking with Toyota from now on! I learned my lesson!

- East Bridgewater, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?